Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sets of faahve

• Registered Users Posts: 17,527 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

July 10. W26D2

SBD warmup routines, going no higher than 80% of projected 1RM.

Squat:
    20kg x 5
    50kg x 5
    70kg x 5
    * sleeves *
    100kg x 5
    * belt *
    120kg x 3
    130kg x 2
    140kg x 2

Squats felt bad. Couldn't find the right spot for the bar on my back all morning, no matter what I tried. Probably needed more time to wake up. Who knows.

Bench:
    20kg x 10
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    75kg x 3
    85kg x 2
    90kg x 1

Also felt bad for some reason. Left elbow got a little sore during warmups. 90kg isn't part of my planned warmup routine (95kg is next) but stuck it in there to do something to keep within 80%. But the 90kg felt light AF. So, consolation.

Deadlift:
    70kg x 5
    120kg x 5
    * belt *
    140kg x 3
    150kg x 2
    160kg x 2

Form felt better than Tuesday. And still everything flew up. Graaand.

Re squat and bench; Perhaps deep down, I knew this was going to be a sub-optimal session and subconsciously didn't give a sh1t. If that's the case, then wtf am I doing. But anyway, all the hard work is done. Now I need to make sure I don't do something silly to myself between now and Sunday.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,577 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

I can't remember the last time my squat felt good in the last session before a competition.

July 15. Competition day

Relaxed the day before and ate plenty as I knew I was well under weight. Weighed in at 90.5kg. Grand. Only my stomach is dodgy and I kept needing to go to the bathroom. Not ideal when you're getting ready to squat.

Squat warmups felt a little weak. Form and depth was fine but going by how slow my 140kg was, I decided to drop my opener from 160kg to 150kg. Was a solid opener. 160kg 2nd was solid but really slow. 162.5kg was 100% an RPE 10. Had been hoping for 175kg today but no way was it possible. 3/3 and a 7.5kg comp PB so can't complain.

Bench warmups felt solid. 85kg and 95kg were fine so stuck with my opener, but I was told I was heaving so needed to watch for that. 100kg flew up, but got a single red light for head rising. 105kg got two reds for ass rising. Repeated and all whites. Delighted with the recovery. 10kg comp PB.

Deadlift warmups felt weird. I'm always conscious of having iffy deadlift form so perhaps being in a warmup room with people watching threw me. Dunno. Anyway, 160kg was slow so decided to drop from 180kg to 175kg and skip my last warmup of 170kg. 175kg flew up. Easy. 185kg was slow and difficult. 190kg was awful and I failed at the knees. I did something wrong; could have been lazy with lats. I dunno. But still got a 10kg comp PB.

452.5kg total. Day could have gone better. But it was a hell of a lot better than my previous comp. Next I have to do what I did today, but do it all for reps!

Just realised... 997lb! Missed a 1000lb total by one increment. Oh well.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,693 ✭✭✭Deano7788

Well done man, congrats on the PBs!:)

Hard to be píssed off with the PBs but I know what it's like to come off a trsining cycle and have numbers in mind you don't get. But the training effect is still there...bigger numbers are still there. Next time, innit

Another thing to consider is that I've been training with cheap plates for a long time. Gym got in a calibrated set and the difference in feel is frightening.

Out of curiosity, the owner weighed some of the older plates. The 25kg plates averaged around 23.2kg while the 20kgs varied from 18.5-19.3kg. So the numbers I was lifting before could have been up to 7kg lower than I thought, which meant that my optimistic expectations were even further off.

July 19

No specific plan for today. My general fitness level is awful and I often find myself short of breath early into warmup sets. That isn't good. I need to increase my work capacity as my ability to do high rep sets is laughably bad. Rough plan for the next few weeks is to do some high rep sets and time my rest periods. Start light and follow some progressive overload. Also, make my legs stronger so more HB and front squats. Haven't HB squatted in 1.5 years.

HB squats:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 8
    80kg x 8
    80kg x 8
    80kg x 8
    80kg x 8

5x8 with 120s rest. I think my form was good. Bit tricky trying to remember where the bar is supposed to sit. Didn't record anything so going purely by feel. Was a little tired by last set but that's alright.

Bench (tng)/chinup:
    20kg x 10
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    70kg x 10/x 5
    70kg x 8/x 5
    70kg x 4

60s rest between exercises. Only lift I could do high reps at was TNG bench. Managed 92.5kg x 8 a few months back. Thought 5x10 at 80kg would be possible, but not timed or supersetted, so went to 70kg. No feckin way. Arms were starting to fall off me by the 3rd set and I started to feel sick by the 4th set, so stopped. Christ, I'm weaker than I thought.

Lateral raise:
    5kg x 10
    5kg x 10
    5kg x 10
    5kg x 10
    5kg x 20

Had planned on doing OHP but decided to do these instead because why not. 90s rest between sets and AMRAP for last. Have had problems using traps in the past so used a cue of imagining my elbow is the fulcrum, which meant I was contracting my lats in the concentric phase.

Felt genuinely ill for a while after this morning. I know there's post meet fatigue and whatnot, but it can't explain how absolutely crap I felt. I think doing a few months of the stuff I hate will benefit me massively.

July 20

Knew I was going to do pause deadlifts, but hadn't decided what else to do. Was going to do something for triceps (probably CGBP or JM) but decided dips would keep things interesting. And if in doubt, add back stuff.

Pause deadlift:
    70kg x 5 (no pause)
    120kg x 3 (no pause)
    120kg x 1 (no pause)
    120kg x 1
    140kg x 3
    140kg x 3
    140kg x 3
    140kg x 3
    140kg x 3

5x3 @ something easy, 120s rest. Spent a bit of time at 120kg trying various setup changes. Seems like I've lost my ability to engage lats properly. Trying to raise my chest extends my lower back. Flexing my triceps hard doesn't seem to be enough. Need to work on this more. Oh well, at least I got to move a little bit of weight.

Dips/lat pulldown superset:
    x5/41kg plate x 12

60s rest between exercises. Haven't done dips in forever so was just trying to get used to them. 5 reps BW was far too easy though. Will increase reps for next time before adding weight. 41kg was also too easy.

Seal rows/facepull superset:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 8
    50kg x 8/29kg plate x 20

60s rest between exercises. Nothing taxing here either. Just find breathing to be irritating when all the weight is on my chest.

Almost every part of my posterior chain got a workout today. Almost.

#teamnocalves

July 23

Squat:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    * belt *
    100kg x 5
    100kg x 5
    100kg x 5
    100kg x 5
    100kg x 5

High bar again. 120s rest between sets. Still can't figure out the old spot on my traps where I used to keep the bar, so everything in that area felt uncomfortable. Weight wasn't heavy, but I kept finding myself reverting to the LB movement pattern every now and again and having to correct myself.

Bench:
    20kg x 10
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    70kg x 5
    70kg x 5
    70kg x 5
    70kg x 5
    70kg x 5

90s rest between sets. Wasn't in any way taxing. If anything, the last set was the easiest.

BTN press/weighted chinup superset:
    20kg x 8
    30kg x 8/x3
    32.5kg x 8/10kg x 3

60 rest between exercises. Haven't done BTN press in a few months so this weight was surprisingly easy.

Grand day overall, but verrry sweaty.

Also, another thing I've started doing is throwing on headphones for my last warmup set and worksets for each exercise. I never really bothered with music before and my gym's music is grand (bit hit and miss). But in an effort to be more productive, less distracted and generally more 'in the zone' I'm giving this a try. Liking it so far. This morning's album was Ecate by Ufomammut. Heavy, yet slow, rhythmic and hypnotic. Perfect music for me for lifting.

July 24

Deadlift:
    70kg x 5
    100kg x 5
    120kg x 5
    140kg x 5
    140kg x 5
    140kg x 5
    140kg x 5
    140kg x 5

120s rest between sets. Have widened my stance to get my hips closer to the bar, which required extra mobility work. I had previously been pulling more like a wide stance conventional than proper sumo, but this morning was proper sumo. Bar never felt too heavy, but I was still wrecked by the end. Needs more practise.

DB press/facepulls:
    15kgs x 10/29kg plate x 10
    20kgs x 10/35kg plate x 15

60s rest between exercises. I don't have much experience with DB press so they felt crap at the start, but got easier as it went on. Didn't feel much of a pump or anything so probably too light for me. Still, just practise.

Front squat/DB row:
    60kg x 5
    70kg x 3/20kg x 8
    80kg x 3/20kg x 10

60s rest between exercises. Nothing too taxing. All practise for now.

Enjoying the productivity. Today's top set soundtrack was Bongzilla - Stash. Subject matter of this music is on the WADA banned substance list.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,309 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

What made it more sumo than wide Conv? Closer to the bar?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,693 ✭✭✭Deano7788

bluewolf wrote: »

I'd imagine the hands inside the legs part may have helped it be sumo...:p:pac:

What I meant by wide conv is that it looked like sumo (ie arms between the legs) but mechanically, I was pulling more like conventional. My femurs weren't rotated externally enough

Yesterday, all I did was put my feet further apart and concentrate on opening up my hips so my knees were as far out as my feet. Made my hips closer to the bar which meant my torso was more upright. And it felt like sumo is probably supposed to feel like, i.e. harder to break the ground but easier to lock out i.e. proper sumo. And today, I can feel it in weird places.

What do I know anyway. Can't even pull 200 :-/

July 26

Squat:
    20kg x 8
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 8
    80kg x 8
    80kg x 8
    80kg x 8
    80kg x 8

120s rest between sets. Weight was just as easy as it was last week, but I think I've gotten used to bar position again. But the major difference was no nausea.

Bench TNG/NG chins:
    20kg x 10
    40kg x 10
    60kg x 10/x 5

60s rest between exercises. No struggling this week and no fear of failure. I decided to widen my grip on TNG just for a slightly different stimulus. I usually go pinky just inside ring but today went ring finger on ring. Doesn't feel much different, but that could be because of the weight.

Lateral raise:
    5kg x 10
    7.5kg x 10
    7.5kg x 10
    7.5kg x 10
    7.5kg x 10
    7.5kg x 10

90s rest between sets. I was meant to superset this with front plate raises but couldn't remember what it was. Oh well. Will start them next week.

Big sweat worked up today. The weights I'm lifting these days are light and borderline boring. I was listening to the NL podcast with Eamonn Harford and the topic of work capacity came up. To paraphrase him, you can't peak unless you have a base to peak from. If you're building a pyramid, the smaller the base, then the lower the peak. Makes perfect sense, and kinda confirms that what I'm doing is what my training needs. While sets of 8 aren't massive, they're tough for me so I'm going to keep doing them, going a little heavier each week for a while and reestablish after a few months.

Today's soundtrack was Jason The Dragon by Weedeater. More WADA banned topics.

July 27

Couldn't wake up this morning. Got up and had a coffee and wanted to go back to bed. Had to do loads of mobility and activation work to get not just my body, but my head ready.

Pause deadlift:
    70kg x 5 (no pause)
    100kg x 5 (no pause)
    120kg x 3 (no pause)
    120kg x 1
    140kg x 3
    140kg x 3
    140kg x 3
    140kg x 3
    140kg x 3

120s rest. Again, light, but doing my best to nail the new stance and technique. Hips were opened up properly and low and close to the bar. Everything felt good. Except I banged my shin when walking up to the bar for first workset and cut myself, like a dope. My fault for not wearing long socks.

Dips/lat pulldown:
    x 3/47kg plate x 6
    x 8/47kg plate x 12

60s rest between exercises. Dips were a struggle towards the end. One more week of bodyweight at this rep range before I add weight.

Bulgarian split squats/seal rows:
    x 8/40kg x 8
    10kg x 8/50kg x 8

60s rest between exercises. My balance for BSS is terrible on my left side but ok for my right side. Performed near a rack for support if I needed it, which I did a lot at the start. My single leg work is awful so this was nice and light to begin progressive overload from.

Sweaty, but not a difficult day. Listened to Doom For The Black Sun by Major Kong. Slow and groovy instrumental.

July 30

Another weekend of very little moving about. Was part laziness and part weather being crap. Lots of mobility required this morning. But I'm off work this week so don't need to sit at a chair all day.

Squat:
    20kg x 10
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    100kg x 3
    105kg x 5
    105kg x 5
    105kg x 5
    105kg x 5
    105kg x 5

120s rest between sets. Was going to jump 2.5kg but made a 5kg jump today because I'm an impatient idiot. Form was shakey for first work set but solid for the rest. But I had a bit of nausea after the last set. Work capacity still not there yet.

Bench:
    20kg x 10
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    70kg x 3
    75kg x 5
    75kg x 5
    75kg x 5
    75kg x 5
    75kg x 5

90s rest between sets. Same as above; went up 5kg when I should have been patient. Weight was fine but felt heavy on last set.

BTN press/weighted chinup:
    20kg x 10
    30kg x 8/x 3
    32.5kg x 10/10kg x 3

60s rest between exercises. BTN press was tough but chinups were definitely easier than last week. Will up the reps a bit next week.

Grand day. Was longer in the gym than I should have been due to taking a few minutes after squats to make sure I felt fine. Wasn't just gym productivity; cut the grass when I went home and before my shower. Today's soundtrack was Atma by YOB - groovy and proggy heaviness.

July 31

Deadlift:
    70kg x 5
    100kg x 5
    120kg x 5
    142.5kg x 5
    142.5kg x 5
    142.5kg x 5
    142.5kg x 5
    142.5kg x 5

120s rest between sets. Everything felt solid and somewhat light. Things started to feel a little heavy towards the end of 4th and 5th sets. Grand.

DB bench/facepulls:
    17.5kg x 8/29kg plate x 15
    22.5kg x 8/35kg plate x 15

60s rest between exercises. Like last week, DB bench got easier as the sets went on, which could be lack of warmup. Grand.

Front squat/DB row:
    60kg x 5/22.5kg x 3
    82.5kg x 3/22.5kg x 8

60s rest between exercises. Front squats felt really light. Rows felt light. Grand.

Everything today was grand. Again, massive sweat worked up. But nice productivity. First time listening to From Mars To Sirius by Gojira in a long time and was great for dialing in some controlled aggression, even if it was overkill for the weights lifted today.

August 2. Wtf happened to July?

Squat:
    20kg x 1
    20kg x 8
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 3
    85kg x 8
    85kg x 8
    85kg x 8
    85kg x 8
    85kg x 8

120s rest between sets. Took a while to get things going with an empty bar as something didn't feel right. Realised I wasn't bracing my core. For jaysus sake, lads. Had to have a sweaty lie down on the floor after these. I'm really, really badly conditioned right now.

Bench tng/NG chinups:
    20kg x 10
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 3/x 3
    65kg x 10/x 6

60s rest between exercises. Started to feel bad from 2nd bench set. 4th set was an RPE 9.5 (@65kg lol). Took an extra rest before the last bench set (felt like 10s, probably more like 100s) and somehow grinded everything out. So goddamn unfit.

Lateral raises/front overhead plate raise:
    5kg x 5/10kg x 5
    5kg x 10/10kg x 10

60s rest between exercises. Stayed at 5kg because I was wrecked and because I was supersetting this week. Good call. Mahoosive upperback/shoulder pump from this.

Today just felt awful, but I managed to get through it. Have a massive amount of respect for bodybuilders after today, considering they would probably look at a routine like this and laugh. Today's soundtrack was some classic Sepultura.

60s rest between exercises. Started to feel bad from 2nd bench set. 4th set was an RPE 9.5 (@65kg lol).

Reminds me of the first session of a conditioning block recently. Set of 10 @9 on incline bench with 60s rest to AMRAP each set. Then neutral grip DB benxh doing sets of 12/10/8/6 with increasing weights. 25 mins in I'm at a tri set of wide grip bench/curls/flys.

Close to failing wide grip with 50kg by the 3rd set of 12 :D

Humbling

August 3

Pause deadlift:
    70kg x 5 (no pause)
    100kg x 5 (no pause)
    120kg x 3
    142.5kg x 3
    142.5kg x 3
    142.5kg x 3
    142.5kg x 3
    142.5kg x 3

120s rest between sets. Everything felt solid as a rock. Paused lower than usual because that's where sticking points on sumo generally are. Weight never really felt heavy.

Dips/lat pulldown:
    x 3/41kg plate x 10
    x 8/47kg plate x 15

60s rest between exercises. Form in dips was far better and only one or two reps had me flopping from side to side. Nice burn from the pulldowns.

Bulgarian SS/seal row:
    x 8/40kg x 8
    12.5kg x 8/55kg x 8

60s rest between exercises. Still did BSSs near a rack for balance but didn't need it anywhere near as much as last week, so perhaps I'm getting used to unilateral leg work. Rows were grand. I should probably do more reps for these two. After all, hypertrophy and work capacity is the aim.

Grand day. Dips/pulldown were the only crazy difficult thing today, but still much sweat was, uh, sweated. Soundtrack was High On Fire for a mix of groove and anger.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Mmmm lat pulldown machine.

I have one in the shed Fap Fap fap

August 6

Squat:
    20kg x 8
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    100kg x 3
    107.5kg x 5
    107.5kg x 5
    107.5kg x 5
    107.5kg x 5
    107.5kg x 5

120s rest between sets. Last reps for every set were slow grinds. Feck sake. But HB form is holding up at least.

Bench:
    20kg x 10
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    70kg x 3
    77.5kg x 5
    77.5kg x 5
    77.5kg x 5
    77.5kg x 5
    77.5kg x 5

90s rest between sets... or it was supposed to be. I'm usually in the gym early by myself but it being a bank holiday, I had to go later and people from the gym's powerlifting team were coming in and chatting to me. Had to reciprocate because they're all sound and I never see them otherwise. Only two of the four rests were timed. Last set was a bit grindy but everything else was fine.

BTN press/weighted chinup:
    20kg x 10/x 3
    30kg x 8/x 4
    35kg x 8/10kg x 4

60s rest between exercises and these were actually timed properly. Small bit grindy but overall, not too difficult.

Grand day. Went for a 6km hike up the Wicklow mountains afterwards so legs will probably be in bits tomorrow for deadlifts and front squats. Oh dear.

August 7

Deadlift:
    70kg x 5
    100kg x 5
    120kg x 5
    * belt *
    140kg x 3
    145kg x 5
    145kg x 5
    145kg x 5
    145kg x 5
    145kg x 5

120s rest between sets. Was generally all grand.

DB press/facepulls:
    20kg x 5/29kg plate x 10
    20kg x 10
    25kg x 8/35kg plate x 18

60s rest between exercises. DB press started easy but got difficult by 4th set. Forgot my gym towel so was running out of dry patches of my t-shirt to wipe my sweaty hands on. Otherwise, grand.

Front squat/DB row:
    60kg x 5/25kg x 5
    70kg x 3
    80kg x 1
    85kg x 3/25kg x 10

60s rest between exercises, except for one rest period when some Monster guys walked in to the gym to give out free samples and I was the only one they saw, so had to chat to them for a bit. Got a free drink out of it at least. But front squats felt surprisingly heavy. Could be tired legs from yesterday.

Grand day. Listened to some Sleep but battery in my wireless headphones went out half way through DB press/facepulls so felt like a lost some momentum. Listening to music probably does help as I did feel a difference.

August 9

Have started trying to go for evening walks every day. Considering I gym 4 days a week, I still live an extremely sedentary life. I work from home most of the time which means on a given day, I'll sit on my ass from 9am til bedtime, aside from trips to get groceries and food/toilet breaks, etc. I can blame sets of faahve all I want, but my lifestyle does need certain tweaks if I want my conditioning to improve.

There's a nice route nearby that is a 3.5km circuit which I walked in ~30 minutes on Tuesday evening. My legs were like rocks after Tuesday's session, so it probably helped loosen them up after sitting down all day afterwards.

Squat
    20kg x 5
    20kg x 8
    60kg x 10
    80kg x 3
    87.5kg x 8
    87.5kg x 8
    87.5kg x 8
    87.5kg x 8
    87.5kg x 8

120s rest between sets. HB bar path had been a little off, resulting in weight shifting forward at the bottom. Think I figured out what I was doing wrong this morning. Many reps were slow, but I was grand after this, all things considered, i.e. sweaty but no sign of puking.

Bench tng/NG pullup:
    20kg x 10
    40kg x 10/x 5
    60kg x 5
    67.5kg x 10/x 7
    67.5kg x 10/x 5

60s rest between exercises. Was awful and wanted to die by the 3rd superset. Had to dig deep to grind out the last few bench reps of the 4th and 5th sets... at 67.5kg! Ffs. Then my arms had given up and couldn't finish the pullups.

Lateral raise/overhead front plate raise:
    5kg x 8/10kg x 8
    5kg x 12/10kg x 12

60s rest between exercises. Massive shoulder burn. And incredibly difficult to finish each set comared to last week, which is mad considering I only added an extra two reps each.

Tiring day. Sick Of It All got me through it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,309 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

I was thinking the same as you. For all the stuff i log I'm 100% sedentary otherwise. Walks are a good plan!

It's feckin obvious though. Also, it gives the Asics I bought after gait analysis 6 years ago some use.

Most people at the very least walk a bit to work. They might walk 10 mins to a bus, then 10 mins to their office etc. Doing that twice a day wouldn't be considered exercise, but at least it's some sort of movement and is more than what I've been doing for the last 1-2 years.

If for no other reason, it's just good to do some sort of activity on days off that doesn't have any negative impact on your following day's training.

Walking is great for just getting out to clear your head or for listening to podcasts but while it seems like the definition of boring it's actually quite enjoyable.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,757 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Stan Efferding has high praise for 10min daily walks

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Stan Efferding has high praise for 10min daily walks

Especially in conjunction with the vertical diet