Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No meat allowed on Christmas Day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

That's not political correctness. That's people talking through their hoop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

don't give lovindubin the clicks. who cares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

No one is telling you that you can't eat meat on Christmas day. It's an awareness campaign, feel free to ignore it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Old Bill wrote: »
    The anmial rights brigade are now telling us that we can't eat meat on Christmas Day.

This is another example of Political Correctness gone mad.

https://lovindublin.com/pics/pics-this-bizarre-animal-rights-protest-took-place-on-oconnell-street-this-morning

https://cloud.lovindublin.com/images/_featuredImage/vegan.jpg?mtime=20161206115950

Have you ever looked at the meaning of political correctness or do you just apply it to anything you dislike?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,708 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I think I say it best when I say would they ever fook off and keep their dietery opinions to themselves, same to that clown who won't accept the new £5 notes because they contain a meat product in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

The anmial rights brigade are now telling us that we can't eat meat on Christmas Day.
    No, they're telling us we shouldn't eat meat.

I have no problem with this trend of women getting naked to try and make me stop eating meat. I'm not going to stop eating meat no matter how naked they get, so it's win, win.

I must say, it never crossed my mind to eat 1/2 naked ladies on Christmas Day- until now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

If you must preach, it is more palatable if you are largely in the nip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Calm down OP, it could be an anti-sprouts campaign.

Gonna have my steak on xmas day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Grayson wrote: »
    Have you ever looked at the meaning of political correctness or do you just apply it to anything you dislike?

Bang of Political Correctness off this post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Must be baltic in your undies in that weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭BeerFarts

I don't know if it's a joke or not but if it's not then that's the best signature to go along with the post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭CFlat

She looks delicious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

Other than that protest today, I'm pretty sure that this isn't a recent development.

People have different opinions, it doesn't mean that you have to listen to them. I will be honouring the animals this Christmas by eating them, in order to ensure that they did not die in vain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

https://lovindublin.com/pics/pics-this-bizarre-animal-rights-protest-took-place-on-oconnell-street-this-morning

https://cloud.lovindublin.com/images/_featuredImage/vegan.jpg?mtime=20161206115950

Yet again somebody misuses the PC term.

This has nothing to do with political correctness nor are telling you to do or not do something. It's a protest, a campaign even but they are in no position to 'tell' you anything.

This has like. absolutely nothing to do with PC. at all.

You do know PC doesn't mean "opinions I disagree with/don't like"??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 299 ✭✭Old Bill

bluewolf wrote: »
    This has like. absolutely nothing to do with PC. at all.

You do know PC doesn't mean "opinions I disagree with/don't like"??

This has everything to do with Political Correctness the climate change brigade are now also telling us that we must all become vegetarians in order to "save" the planet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

The first time I heard the term 'political correctness' was during the first gulf war when they came out with phrases like 'friendly fire' and 'collateral damage'. I've always thought it meant to sugarcoat your words rather than to say something horrible like "a moronic Yank in a plane has dropped a bomb on a hospital full of innocent civilians".

Not only is a blood soaked woman on a plate not political correctness but I'd say it's the exact opposite of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 664 ✭✭✭9or10

ScumLord wrote: »

I have no problem with this trend of women getting naked to try and make me stop eating meat. I'm not going to stop eating meat no matter how naked they get, so it's win, win.

And there was me about to skim over another AH thread. This is worthy of my attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I remember a girl years ago who used to get naked and eat meat.

God I miss that girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

They'll be telling me that I have to go to mass on Christmas Day next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,717 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

blond in the Bridget Jones's....mmmmmm :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,714 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Old Bill wrote:

Ha. Someone you don't know is protesting about something you don't care about and nobody is going to make you do anything as a result.

Jeez, it must be tough being you. Seeing vegans under the bed too? If symptoms persist, consult your physician.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

mfceiling wrote: »
    I remember a girl years ago who used to get naked and eat meat.

God I miss that girl.

mmmmm, anxious for some surf 'n' turf myself now.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

I'm not going to stop eating meat no matter how naked they get, so it's win, win.

So unless we stop eating meat, blonde ladies will continue to carry out semi naked protests on the streets.

There may be a weakness in this strategy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

This has everything to do with Political Correctness the climate change brigade are now also telling us that we must all become vegetarians in order to "save" the planet.

You're very fond of brigades. "The animal rights brigade!" "The climate change brigade!" "The politically correct brigade!"

Great craic altogether.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

But aren't they the guys who tell us not to meat on every other day of the year too ?

The only way this would be mildly interesting is if they said "Eat meat on Stephen's day instead."

NO! You're too politically correct to understand but there are whole brigades, BRIGADES, of policitally correct, animal rights brigadiers that are try to steal the turkey and ham from your children's mouths.

Next thing you know the fire brigade will be telling us not to commit arson. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

I should have been informed of this protest earlier :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭CFlat

goz83 wrote: »
    I should have been informed of this protest earlier :pac:

It was the early bird menu.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

PETA, against eating meat? Well I never.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Man has been killing and eating animals since he first walked on this planet OP.
    I don't think this practice is in danger of being banned anytime soon. :p

PETA have a right to voice their opinion and you have the right to ignore them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

I remember when we were allowed to reverse our cars through shop windows and fill the boot with chocolate bars and crisps and drive off again but political correctness put an end to that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

And that is not 'political correctness' either.

Please learn what the term means.

Damn PC brigades with their veganism and catalytic converters and their naked women.

Sure you can't even commit a bit of murder anymore without being sent to prison like a criminal. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

I didn't eat meat for like 6 Christmasses and it was graaaaaand. I drove my mam mad cos she couldn't do the roasties in the goose fat or the cabbage in the meat water. She HATE me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,611 ✭✭✭muddypaws

I didn't eat meat for like 6 Christmasses and it was graaaaaand. I drove my mam mad cos she couldn't do the roasties in the goose fat or the cabbage in the meat water. She HATE me.

Hmmmm cabbage in the meat water, that intrigues me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭mikhail

Damn politcal correctness. Time was you could call out crazy people for wild ramblings where they misconstrue the meaning of a term and ascribe the actions of lone oddballs such as themselves to some sort of grand conspiracy to rob their food. These days, the mods may actually card this post for insulting this lunatic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

muddypaws wrote: »

You've never done your cabbage or sprouts in the water from your ham?! Ah here!! I was rared on it!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 299 ✭✭Old Bill

Please learn what the term means.

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=political%20correctness
    political correctness

Organized Orwellian intolerance and stupidity, disguised as compassionate liberalism.

Well, that's me stumped. The Urban Dictionary is nothing if not renowned for it's accuracy.

It doesn't get more accurate than Urban dictionary.

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Computer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,002 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Anyone who wants a bit of a laugh, I highly recommend having a look at this lad's posting history for all the things he thinks of as examples of "political correctness gone mad". Not being allowed dump rubbish on the side of the road was my favourite one.

The actual definition of political correctness.

http://www.learnersdictionary.com/definition/politically%20correct

"agreeing with the idea that people should be careful to not use language or behave in a way that could offend a particular group of people"

Offending a group of people, in this case meat eaters, is the exact opposite of political correctness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

If you want to eat meat go ahead and eat it. If you don't want to that's fine too. Who cares what this fool of a woman on a plate thinks.

Urban Dictionary being used to cite the accurate definition of a term. We're through the looking glass people.

I wanted to believe it was tongue in cheek.

But it wasn't. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

muddypaws wrote: »

Add the Cabbage into the saucepan when you are boiling some bacon or ham and it tastes great! just make sure that the stock pot or saucepan is big enough:D

Now back to Christmas and the 7 bird roast, leg of lamb, roast beef, ham and smoked salmon and there might be some veggies too.