Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,828 ✭✭✭visatorro

whelan2 wrote:
    Did you get any rain yesterday?

Drizzled for a while, but the warm breeze would dry it off quick enough. Little bit this morning. Nothing Haywire

whelan2 wrote:
    Did you get any rain yesterday?

You get much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,748 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Ye got a good bit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,623 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

visatorro wrote: »
    Am afraid to look at this stage!!

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Just wondering if I got pig slurry spread with a dribble bar would it help with moisture on bare paddocks or would it be a disaster??
    Things getting abit hairy here

No help with moisture. 2k gals per acre is 2mm approx. It will give your gr a serious kick in the pants once the drought breaks. When we could take in pig slurry we always felt that a man would easily earn his wages for the week drawing pig slurry between the milkings in dry weather. You can get a bit if a burn on the grass but at this stage how would you tell what caused it? One thing to note is that pig farms have very little to no leeway about accounting for where slurry goes. I was haunted by a manager of a local pig unit to account for around 30k gals of pig slurry a couple of years ago. He was just doing his job but the farm would have storage for upto 10 million gals. 30k would be less than a single tanker to a lot of dairy farms.

Freedom is when you say kick in the pants does that mean hold it back or drive it on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Freedom is when you say kick in the pants does that mean hold it back or drive it on?

Drive it on. I think it's that you have organic N just sitting there waiting to go. Tillage farmers are often a bit wary of pig slurry because the N in it can take a while to be fully utilised. If they don't correctly account for it this can lead to lodged crops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

We’re hiring!

Due to unforeseen circumstances, namely a bollix getting caught twice driving his car with no insurance, the position has come available for milking and some yard work.

Students for summer work considered.

We’re hiring!

Due to unforeseen circumstances, namely a bollix getting caught twice driving his car with no insurance, the position has come available for milking and some yard work.

Nah doesn't suit. Cows don't like me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,282 ✭✭✭alps

Growth on this farm has officially stopped...

Paddocks grazed last few days now have brown patches, and absolutely no hint of a regrowth...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭farisfat

We’re hiring!

Has the dairy industry hit wall regards labour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,705 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

alps wrote: »
    Growth on this farm has officially stopped...

Paddocks grazed last few days now have brown patches, and absolutely no hint of a regrowth...

2018 the year that just keeps giving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭older by the day

mahoney_j wrote: »
    2018 the year that just keeps giving

Seriously he lads with dry land don't know what your missing. I've spent thousands every year in drainage. I have some places that I can only travel every few years. I got stuck to the bollocks spreading bag last weekend. Poor you have to cope with a dry week. 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,400 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Seriously he lads with dry land don't know what your missing. I've spent thousands every year in drainage. I have some places that I can only travel every few years. I got stuck to the bollocks spreading bag last weekend. Poor you have to cope with a dry week. 😂

I USED to think the same.
    But seeing growth slow right back and it looks like I'll be back in now with silage and ground cracking open I've changed my tune.
    Cows back in milk and I could be using scarce silage for next year. Then I've a reseed that I stupidly reseeded at the beginning of this spell that is just starting to come right now. There's bare patches that may be seeded again but such is life. I was expecting two cuts of silage off this but how and ever at this stage.

If it was just a dry week it wouldn't be too bad but there's no rain in sight for another two weeks at this stage on top of the past 6 weeks.

Grass is starting to get scarce with me but there's a hell of a lot of lads getting/gone into a serious situation now.
    I'd be on a dampish farm but there's just been no rain.

Fodder is going to be scarce this year no two ways about it. An expensive year for many it seems.

It's two if not more different climates in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

We've done the same with drainage, have 18 acres where the drainage spent is passed what was paid to buy it. Doesn't mean long dry spells don't cause issues, just different ways of managing it. Grass quality and quantity is down, and for all the giving out about rain I do it's the reason the grass grows at all. Now having said that easier to buffer an manage animals in a dry spell than prolonged wet but as years go this one seems to have it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Mooooo wrote: »
    We've done the same with drainage, have 18 acres where the drainage spent is passed what was paid to buy it. Doesn't mean long dry spells don't cause issues, just different ways of managing it. Grass quality and quantity is down, and for all the giving out about rain I do it's the reason the grass grows at all. Now having said that easier to buffer an manage animals in a dry spell than prolonged wet but as years go this one seems to have it all

Its the amount of moisture in the soil that grows grass. If you can keep moisture in soil, dry weather wont impact as much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭older by the day

I USED to think the same.
    But seeing growth slow right back and it looks like I'll be back in now with silage and ground cracking open I've changed my tune.
    Cows back in milk and I could be using scarce silage for next year. Then I've a reseed that I stupidly reseeded at the beginning of this spell that is just starting to come right now. There's bare patches that may be seeded again but such is life. I was expecting two cuts of silage off this but how and ever at this stage.

If it was just a dry week it wouldn't be too bad but there's no rain in sight for another two weeks at this stage on top of the past 6 weeks.

Grass is starting to get scarce with me but there's a hell of a lot of lads getting/gone into a serious situation now.
    I'd be on a dampish farm but there's just been no rain.

Fodder is going to be scarce this year no two ways about it. An expensive year for many it seems.

It's two if not more different climates in this country.

I'm sorry for your situation, I didn't know things were so tight,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,400 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

I'm sorry for your situation, I didn't know things were so tight,

Oh don't be sorry. ffs :D

There's even posters on here way worse than me. Have drier farms.

I'll manage through. I've dirty water getting spread on that reseed as I post.

Too wet and too dry are extreme situations for any farmer.
    Too wet and maybe you can grow the fodder but can't use it so have to feed indoors.
    Too dry and no fodder grows but you can feed whatever fodder you have saved outside.

Reggie. wrote: »
    Nah doesn't suit. Cows don't like me

You’re a cow whisperer, you just don’t know it yet. :)

Nothing like walking down the steps of a milking parlor knowing that cows will shyte down your back. Bloody luxury.

Btw, went with another Claas rake. €2.5 cheaper than a Lely... you know what talks...

The wheel weights are off a Puma 225... cheap to you if they’ll fit.
    ( they’re for 42” rims)

farisfat wrote: »
    Has the dairy industry hit wall regards labour.

Not a wall. It’s a challenge.

Anyhow it’s not just dairy, it’s throughout every industry.

Rte one now on about ornua and cheese

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,705 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

I’m not whining ,quite happy with this weather much easier keep stock content t .i have wet land too u know ,lost half a day last week trying to free a keltec drawing bales that went to ours axels .this has been the most mentally drawing years I’ve put down due to weather extremes which have upset normal farming practices

You’re a cow whisperer, you just don’t know it yet. :)

Nothing like walking down the steps of a milking parlor knowing that cows will shyte down your back. Bloody luxury.

Btw, went with another Claas rake. €2.5 cheaper than a Lely... you know what talks...

The wheel weights are off a Puma 225... cheap to you if they’ll fit.
    ( they’re for 42” rims)

A claas..... ah lad you disappoint me :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,323 ✭✭✭orm0nd

just over 2 weeks ago we made about 50 bales of surplus off the grazing block :):)

look like we will be opening some of them in the next day or 2 :eek: :eek:

orm0nd wrote: »
    just over 2 weeks ago we made about 50 bales of surplus off the grazing block :):)

look like we will be opening some of them in the next day or 2 :eek: :eek:

After feeding out bales made a week ago here :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭Snowfire

Did you feed inside or out?

Snowfire wrote: »
    Did you feed inside or out?

Outside rolled it out. Twas all gone the following morning but will see if I can nab the neighbours bale trailer, less waste and cleaner in field. Could feed inside but would be wary of slipping on slats when it's so dry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,282 ✭✭✭alps

Bales going in here today as grass allowance will have to drop off to the minimum.

Guys in the east may be more used to this scenario.. what meal/silage/grass levels work best, and any reccomendations on rations....ingredients, protein etc?

Is it a case of going for best energy and protein inclusion, or go for a lower cost meal just for dry matter reasons..?

5 kg of 14% off the shelf nut here. 3kg of silage and after grass paddocks. Trying to work it so silage 2nite and none for weekend as I'm away til sun nite. Yield has still fallen about 2L a cow

Was the heat gone from those bales?