whelan2 wrote: Did you get any rain yesterday?
visatorro wrote: » Am afraid to look at this stage!!
visatorro wrote: » Just wondering if I got pig slurry spread with a dribble bar would it help with moisture on bare paddocks or would it be a disaster?? Things getting abit hairy here
visatorro wrote: » Freedom is when you say kick in the pants does that mean hold it back or drive it on?
Gawddawggonnit wrote: » We’re hiring! Due to unforeseen circumstances, namely a bollix getting caught twice driving his car with no insurance, the position has come available for milking and some yard work. Students for summer work considered.
alps wrote: » Growth on this farm has officially stopped... Paddocks grazed last few days now have brown patches, and absolutely no hint of a regrowth...
mahoney_j wrote: » 2018 the year that just keeps giving
older by the day wrote: » Seriously he lads with dry land don't know what your missing. I've spent thousands every year in drainage. I have some places that I can only travel every few years. I got stuck to the bollocks spreading bag last weekend. Poor you have to cope with a dry week. 😂
Mooooo wrote: » We've done the same with drainage, have 18 acres where the drainage spent is passed what was paid to buy it. Doesn't mean long dry spells don't cause issues, just different ways of managing it. Grass quality and quantity is down, and for all the giving out about rain I do it's the reason the grass grows at all. Now having said that easier to buffer an manage animals in a dry spell than prolonged wet but as years go this one seems to have it all
Say my name wrote: » I USED to think the same. But seeing growth slow right back and it looks like I'll be back in now with silage and ground cracking open I've changed my tune. Cows back in milk and I could be using scarce silage for next year. Then I've a reseed that I stupidly reseeded at the beginning of this spell that is just starting to come right now. There's bare patches that may be seeded again but such is life. I was expecting two cuts of silage off this but how and ever at this stage. If it was just a dry week it wouldn't be too bad but there's no rain in sight for another two weeks at this stage on top of the past 6 weeks. Grass is starting to get scarce with me but there's a hell of a lot of lads getting/gone into a serious situation now. I'd be on a dampish farm but there's just been no rain. Fodder is going to be scarce this year no two ways about it. An expensive year for many it seems. It's two if not more different climates in this country.
older by the day wrote: » I'm sorry for your situation, I didn't know things were so tight,
Reggie. wrote: » Nah doesn't suit. Cows don't like me
farisfat wrote: » Has the dairy industry hit wall regards labour.
Gawddawggonnit wrote: » You’re a cow whisperer, you just don’t know it yet. Nothing like walking down the steps of a milking parlor knowing that cows will shyte down your back. Bloody luxury. Btw, went with another Claas rake. €2.5 cheaper than a Lely... you know what talks... The wheel weights are off a Puma 225... cheap to you if they’ll fit. ( they’re for 42” rims)
orm0nd wrote: » just over 2 weeks ago we made about 50 bales of surplus off the grazing block look like we will be opening some of them in the next day or 2 :eek: :eek:
Mooooo wrote: » After feeding out bales made a week ago here
Snowfire wrote: » Did you feed inside or out?