Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 3) *Updated Warning in 1st Post Re:Boxing match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Django99

Jesus Wept wrote: »
    What did you have for tea?

Ok illl rephrase it for you in an attempt to get you to answer the question. Would it be funny if anyone other than McGregor deliberately broke the rules in an attempt to do something dangerous, ruin the event as a sporting occasion and forfeit all the money he would be earning?

A 5 year old would probably find it funny, but once it had been explained to him the repercussions I'm sure he'd realise it wouldn't be a smart thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

The thing is, everyone in Ireland loved him when he was all about Ireland on the way up making a name for himself. Now as others have pointed out, it's just another guy out there to make as much cash as he possibly can, and fair play to him for that, but it's hard for a country to get behind someone as much when his heritage is rarely brought up anymore. He's not doing it for Ireland, he's doing it for himself, and that's absolutely fine, more power to him and best of luck to him in August.

I'm just saying, if he was really about Ireland, he'd take the hit on PPV sales for just one fight and come over here and do a stadium fight in Dublin. A little thank you to the thousands that spend thousands travelling across the globe to cheer him on. If he really wanted that to happen, the powers that be could pull it off even with the logistical problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Django99

joeguevara wrote: »
    What's not easy to get behind? He is a proud Irishman and is world champion. Absolute legend! Rose tinted glasses..of course....bias...of course.....but he is one of our own and I will look past any flaws!

This logic is very dangerous, to support anyone who is Irish regardless what they do or say. If we all did this we would end up supporting some very bad people.

You said a couple of posts above that he is an arrogant cnut. That is what people find hard to get behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,247 ✭✭✭joeguevara

Django99 wrote: »
    This logic is very dangerous, to support anyone who is Irish regardless what they do or say. If we all did this we would end up supporting some very bad people.

You said a couple of posts above that he is an arrogant cnut. That is what people find hard to get behind.

My local has stopped showing any combat sport on television or big screen..they are trying to say it is not a good thing to show..yes I called him an arrogan Cnut but I never said that was a bad thing....if you are a boxer or a fighter you have to be arrogant, it's all part of mind games....I don't understand about 'if we did that we would end up supporting some very bad people'! He is Irish, brings sinead o Connor to sing ring entry song, drapes himself in the tricolour......what's not to love....supports upamd coming fighters....hasn't jumped ship to other gyms....I understand that people outside Dublin might dislike him...but as a tipp man living in dun laoghaire I love him...very similar to country people disliking the series 'love hate'....but I digress...everyone should get behind him because he is pure Irish...we are not here to take part, we are here to take over....another disclosure...I am sponsoring Richie smullen, and if you want to make a few quid bet on him winning his next fight in a submission in the 1st round!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,729 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

He is Irish, brings sinead o Connor to sing ring entry song, drapes himself in the tricolour......what's not to love....

As pointed out above, there's a dangerous logic to supporting someone (not just McGregor, but in general) for blind nationalism alone.

Example? I will support any Irish person when competing. Why wouldn't you? I'd love to know about the reasoning behind a dangerous logic? Do you think they are murderers or other despicable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

The dangers of supporting a national representive in sport?

They can't give you an answer. I cannot understand how an Irish person would not support another Irish person...and to call it dangerous to do so is bizarre.

Nationalism is the reason we support our country...especially when he displays his love of Ireland explicitly...for example bringing the tricolour into the octagon....also always bigging up Irish fighters...how is this dangerous?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

martyos121 wrote: »
    The thing is, everyone in Ireland loved him when he was all about Ireland on the way up making a name for himself. Now as others have pointed out, it's just another guy out there to make as much cash as he possibly can, and fair play to him for that, but it's hard for a country to get behind someone as much when his heritage is rarely brought up anymore. He's not doing it for Ireland, he's doing it for himself, and that's absolutely fine, more power to him and best of luck to him in August.

I'm just saying, if he was really about Ireland, he'd take the hit on PPV sales for just one fight and come over here and do a stadium fight in Dublin. A little thank you to the thousands that spend thousands travelling across the globe to cheer him on. If he really wanted that to happen, the powers that be could pull it off even with the logistical problems.

Nationalism is a social construct something to comfort people when they want to categorise themselves. Conor is Conor and fascinating with that and he appreciates the fans. Dana has looked into Croke Park before, it's not like it wasn't discussed, this is a ufc business decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,729 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Nationalism is the reason we support our country...especially when he displays his love of Ireland explicitly...for example bringing the tricolour into the octagon....also always bigging up Irish fighters...how is this dangerous?

You think something as simple as carrying a flag shows love for your country? You're easily pleased.

Simply being Irish is, in my opinion, not worthy of support in an individual sport. He's not representing Ireland, he's representing himself.

As for how can it be dangerous, think about Jamie Kavanagh or Anthony Stokes. Should they be blindly supported for being Irish despite the fact they're complete scumbags?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭jcd5971

cloudatlas wrote:
    Nationalism is a social construct something to comfort people when they want to categorise themselves. Conor is Conor and fascinating with that and he appreciates the fans. Dana has looked into Croke Park before, it's not like it wasn't discussed, this is a ufc business decision.

More power to McGregor but it's not really a ufc decision anymore if Conor after this Mayweather fight wants to fight in Dublin he will, he has all the cards now, however if he does the ppv numbers most likely drop therefore so would his share of ppv.

So why give up the money to fight in ireland, can't say that I blame him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

jcd5971 wrote: »
    More power to McGregor but it's not really a ufc decision anymore if Conor after this Mayweather fight wants to fight in Dublin he will, he has all the cards now, however if he does the ppv numbers most likely drop therefore so would his share of ppv.

So why give up the money to fight in ireland, can't say that I blame him

I thought there were issues with getting the big stadiums because of curfews.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 4,611 Mod ✭✭✭✭TherapyBoy

Taking Croke park as an example, to comply with local stadium curfews the event would have to finish by say 11pm, to maximise pay-per-view revenue the event needs to begin around 2am.

While there's ppv money to be made it's not happening in Croke Park.

You think something as simple as carrying a flag shows love for your country? You're easily pleased.

Simply being Irish is, in my opinion, not worthy of support in an individual sport. He's not representing Ireland, he's representing himself.

As for how can it be dangerous, think about Jamie Kavanagh or Anthony Stokes. Should they be blindly supported for being Irish despite the fact they're complete scumbags?

That makes no sense..:so we cannot support an individual as Irish....so why do people support Irish teams? Aren't they just a collection of individuals? I will be proud of who I want to be proud of and I will celebrate an Irishman who is the best at his sport because he is Irish. Same as I was proud of Ken Doherty, Steve Collins, Padraig Harrington etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

They can't give you an answer. I cannot understand how an Irish person would not support another Irish person...and to call it dangerous to do so is bizarre.

Why blindly follow someone just because by a twist of fate you were born on the same piece of rock as them?? If he was Northern Irish would you follow his as much? Or do invisible, man made lines decide who you support blindly??

Do you see Netflix shows like Narcos and El Chapo and say, they're rubbish, they should be making shows about the Kinehans/Hutches, they're the best gangsters!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Lift us as a nation? Wise up, it's one lad out to make as much cash as possible. Fair play to him and good luck but let's not go crazy here.

If he produces a miracle victory, I'd certainly defend the argument. Only in victory though and by that I mean actually winning the fight, none of this 'moral winner' stuff. If he loses, ignore the below! That should save some of you time :)

I've seen economists argue that Ireland's performance in Italia '90 succeeded in providing a small boost to the collective confidence of the nation and that it certainly didn't hurt the economic recovery and subsequent growth period we experienced. It was suggested that it put Ireland on the map and into the global consciousness in a way we hadn't seen before.

Statistics back up the initial premise - Emigration fell. Foreign investment rose. Tourism boomed. Obviously there's tons of other reasons for those trends (collapse of Soviet Union, taxation changes and initiatives to attract FDI etc) but plenty of respected people give a small bit of credit to the Italia' 90 feeling of optimism.

If Conor McGregor goes out and defeats the best boxer in the world in the highest profile fight of the decade with a massive global audience, I honestly believe it could provide a similar (small) boost to our collective confidence. It's got all the ingredients of Italia '90 - the plucky yet technically limited Irish going into battle, over-matched against a technically superior opposition.

Look it's easy to be cynical and dismiss it but I can't think of many Irish people in history who will have held a global stage of this magnitude - sport or otherwise. The only realistic comparison to be made is Bob Geldof during Live Aid because I can't think of another event headlined by an Irish person that will have this sort of global attention.

For people who a) don't like Conor and b) who think this fight is a joke, the above might be a tough-sell and that's fine...

But in purely factual terms, the McGregor-Mayweather fight *announcement* produced almost triple the amount of google searches and almost four times the social media impressions of the Mayweather-Pacquiao announcement. It made headline news in Indonesia, Uruguay, Brazil, Bolivia, Russia.

(Obviously social media has grown in the past 2 years but they are still impressive numbers.)

We're getting very close to the point if you ask people across the world to name 5 things associated with Ireland, Conor will be a name that comes up regularly alongside Guinness, St. Patrick, U2, James Joyce, WB Yeats.

This is going to be massive globally and even if you disagree with every word I've written above, it certainly won't hurt the image of Ireland abroad if he goes in there and shocks the world and raises the tricolor above his head.

Why blindly follow someone just because by a twist of fate you were born on the same piece of rock as them?? If he was Northern Irish would you follow his as much? Or do invisible, man made lines decide who you support blindly??

Do you see Netflix shows like Narcos and El Chapo and say, they're rubbish, they should be making shows about the Kinehans/Hutches, they're the best gangsters!!

If they are born in the island of Ireland and they themselves identify as Irish yes I will support them. Similarly if they are born outside Ireland but identify as Irish I will support them too.

Your analogy regarding tv shows is ridiculous. Saying that I am always happy when an Irish person wins an oscar, or gets number 1 in the charts (e.g when sinead o Connor did that with nothing compares to you). I also was proud when we used to win the Eurovision. Yes I like the little things but up to me!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Wonder you should be making click bait articles for the Mac Life how on earth you came up with that essay of drivel and managed to get Bolivia into post on McGregor is incredible, have you considered pr work?

Andre Ward with some interesting comments...

"Don't get it twisted Floyd will win this fight but I can see a scenario where it's close on the scorecards in the 6th due to Conor's awkward movement and that'll represent a big success (for Conor)".

He's a big MMA fan as well and a very good boxer so that's an interesting opinion.

Gamebred wrote: »
    Wonder you should be making click bait articles for the Mac Life how on earth you came up with that essay of drivel and managed to get Bolivia into post on McGregor is incredible, have you considered pr work?

:pac: I'm not the one who suggested Italia '90 fed into a spirit of optimism that's respected clever people who said that! Nobody suggested it was a huge factor, just that it fed into a feeling of optimism of the period.

I can just see only positive tangential things happening if Conor wins.

You know well if he wins it'll be front page news in almost every country on Earth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

I think Andre is being diplomatic there. Conor will not be landing enough for it to be close after 6. He might not be landing at all.

Why do people keep accusing others of "diplomacy" when they give Conor some sort of chance?

Is it not possible he actually believes Conor might just be extremely awkward to time and pinch the first few rounds while Floyd figures him out?

I.e. Can we not just take people at face value instead of saying "diplomacy" or "he doesn't really believe that"?

I've a hard time figuring out why Ward would say anything good about this fight after the low-blow of announcing it during his fight week.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

https://www.mmafighting.com/ufc/2017/7/1/15900866/conor-mcgregor-sparring-partner-he-lifted-me-off-my-feet-with-his-right-hand

Interview with his sparring partner, hope Conor is paying bonus money for the pr hes doing here for him.

Gamebred wrote: »
    https://www.mmafighting.com/ufc/2017/7/1/15900866/conor-mcgregor-sparring-partner-he-lifted-me-off-my-feet-with-his-right-hand

Interview with his sparring partner, hope Conor is paying bonus money for the pr hes doing here for him.

Petesy Carroll signed up by MMA Fighting. Is there anyone he doesn't work for?

So much for a non-disclosure-agreement...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,649 ✭✭✭Whelo79

Petesy Carroll signed up by MMA Fighting. Is there anyone he doesn't work for?

So much for a non-disclosure-agreement...

He's not really letting out any secrets. Conor has a good level of boxing, has awkward movement, and has a powerful punch. None of that is anything we didn't already presume.

Whelo79 wrote: »
    He's not really letting out any secrets. Conor has a good level of boxing, has awkward movement, and has a powerful punch. None of that is anything we didn't already presume.

At the end of the day I suppose it doesn't matter who says what, they have to get in there and fight.

Glad to hear he's seeing out the 12-rounds well fitness wise (assuming that's true).

A nightmare for Conor would be to gas early given all this McGregorFast stuff he's been pushing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

Why do people keep accusing others of "diplomacy" when they give Conor some sort of chance?

Is it not possible he actually believes Conor might just be extremely awkward to time and pinch the first few rounds while Floyd figures him out?

I.e. Can we not just take people at face value instead of saying "diplomacy" or "he doesn't really believe that"?

I've a hard time figuring out why Ward would say anything good about this fight after the low-blow of announcing it during his fight week.

You don't win rounds for being awkward. He's saying it's competitive over the first half of the fight? I don't believe he believes that.

Let the man himself tell you why he would say anything good about this fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

I think people are deluded if they think McGregor is going into this fight with either the notion that he can out point Mayweather or even force a close fight in that regard. He's a novice, he'd be made a show of. I hear a lot of people also saying that McGrgeor would be happy with getting a few rounds under his belt or even with them being close as then he will not have been made a show of. HA!

Anyone speaking like this must have not been paying attention to McGregor's character over the years. There is only one way he can feasible win this fight and that ain't by trying to outbox Floyd fecking Mayweather. That would effectively be pissing away a chance at causing a huge upset.... why would he do that??

McGregor will be going into this fight with one objective and that will be to see if he can knock Floyd Mayweather the fcuk out and that's why Paulie has been called in. If you listen to yesterday's audio interview with him he is already pondering the possibility of just how Conor's left could be disguised in some way so that Mayweather won't be able to do what he does best and counteract it.

Not suggesting McGregor will be successful in that regard... or indeed that he will be able to avoid Floyd's walk downs himself..... but that's what he will be trying to... as sure as eggs are eggs. And yes that could of course result in him setting himself up to be knocked out himself. So be it as they don't have another option even worth considering. Conor, nor his team, are dumb enough to think they can go toe to toe with Floyd and come out on top ffs.

This fight is all about one thing: MGregor attempting to do the unthinkable and knock Floyd Mayweather the fcuk out inside three rounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,042 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

I think people are deluded if they think McGregor is going into this fight with either the notion that he can out point Mayweather or even force a close fight in that regard. He's a novice, he'd be made a show of. I hear a lot of people also saying that McGrgeor would be happy with getting a few rounds under his belt or even with them being close as then he will not have been made a show of. HA!

Anyone speaking like this must have not been paying attention to McGregor's character over the years. There is only one way he can feasible win this fight and that ain't by trying to outbox Floyd fecking Mayweather. That would effectively be pissing away a chance at causing a huge upset.... why would he do that??

McGregor will be going into this fight with one objective and that will be to see if he can knock Floyd Mayweather the fcuk out and that's why Paulie has been called in. If you listen to yesterday's audio interview with him he is already pondering the possibility of just how Conor's left could be disguised in some way so that Mayweather won't be able to do what he does best and counteract it.

Not suggesting McGregor will be successful in that regard... or indeed that he will be able to avoid Floyd's walk downs himself..... but that's what he will be trying to... as sure as eggs are eggs. And yes that could of course result in him setting himself up to be knocked out himself. So be it as they don't have another option even worth considering. Conor, nor his team, are dumb enough to think they can go toe to toe with Floyd and come out on top ffs.

This fight is all about one thing: MGregor attempting to do the unthinkable and knock Floyd Mayweather the fcuk out inside three rounds.

^^^^ agreed. As I said, he needs to get in Floyd's head before and then ****ing charge at him at the bell. He needs to smother him and make him as uncomfortable as possible, keep him under physical pressure because if he stands back and tries to outbox him in a conventional sense he will be destroyed

Elect a clown... Expect a circus