Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 3) *Updated Warning in 1st Post Re:Boxing match

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

PM please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,719 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Ah go on, me too please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Still waiting btw. Mail is slow this time of year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 RJPala

We had "The Fight Professor" Stephen Quadros on the OFT show this week and he gave his opinion on McGregor boxing Mayweather. If you watched PRIDE FC or Strikeforce, you should recognize him. He's been around combat sports forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

pm the goss, pls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,210 ✭✭✭maximoose

I got it on whatsapp yesterday but assumed it was an old story, had heard something similar before

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Pee ems scent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

I didn't get a PM?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,196 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

This isn't going to be the same as those pictures that were doing the rounds a while back that showed him 'doing heroin' which just turned out to be a picture of him holding a lighter, is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,140 ✭✭✭dashoonage

Saipanne wrote: »
    I didn't get a PM?

I got two...do you want one ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭empacher

I'll take a pm if ones going

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Lads if you want a pm ask whoever is sending it out by pm instead of clogging up the thread thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Old news everyone is at it and everyone knows the story with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

Lots of people asking for a PM.

On a completely other note here's a completely random picture that is not meant to offer any insight in to what I was sent on whatsapp yesterday

giphy.gif

He's also about ten months from a fight. Jon Jones used to do it ten days before a fight and it never affected him.

I suppose he should probably be training for mayweather

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Boys will be boys.

On a side note did anyone actually receive a PM?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,534 ✭✭✭xtal191

Whats this whatsapp thing all about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,409 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

I've only just spotted his Instagram now. I was in town (Dublin) yesterday and that McLaren pulled up beside me, dropping someone off ;)

Gutted I didn't know at the time it was Conor though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,933 ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

This all seems a bit harmless, there's a post on reddit trying to link him to the kinahans,which is a good bit dodgier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Question for ye in the know about matters such as these..

Let's say McGregor doesn't fight Floyd in the next year, but instead ends up fighting 3 times in the UFC by next year sometime (we'll say April just for the sake of argument), is there any chance that the UFC would dick him around for the final fight on his contract?

Obviously my reason for asking this is that if he's out of contract he'd be (as far as I know) free to negotiate his own contract for a potential Mayweather fight, cutting the UFC out of a big payday.

Another question as well for those who could answer it, what'll happen after his fourth next fight in the UFC with regards to his contract? I'm assuming he'll have a lot more bargaining power at the least?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

THFC wrote: »
    Another question as well for those who could answer it, what'll happen after his fourth next fight in the UFC with regards to his contract? I'm assuming he'll have a lot more bargaining power at the least?

Champions clause I'd gather if he is champion when his contract is due to end he'll automatically be signed on for like 3 more bouts with the company. He'll have more bargaining power sure but he won't be going on a sole venture anytime soon is my guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

Question for ye in the know about matters such as these..

Let's say McGregor doesn't fight Floyd in the next year, but instead ends up fighting 3 times in the UFC by next year sometime (we'll say April just for the sake of argument), is there any chance that the UFC would dick him around for the final fight on his contract?

Obviously my reason for asking this is that if he's out of contract he'd be (as far as I know) free to negotiate his own contract for a potential Mayweather fight, cutting the UFC out of a big payday.

Could he not buy himself out of his contract if that was the case?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭Fromvert

And the UFC have an obligation to offer you a fight within a certain time period (say 6 months, not sure of the exact figure), if you reject it, your contract gets automatically extended.
    Not sure how it works with injury (I'd assume you'd have to prove it).

This I think was how GSP was trying to get out his contract, claiming they hadn't offered him a fight within that time frame making his contract void.

He had made himself available to fight and on the last day of the time period they supposedly sent him a potential offer which his lawyer said wasn't an offer. Vaguely rememeber hearing his lawyer say this on Luke Thomas' radio show.

He would resign his contract long before it runs out. I highly doubt they'd let him turn into a free agent, no matter how short the window.
    He'll resign a nerw contract after his 2nd or 3rd fight I'd guess.
    His bargaining power depends a lot on those next 2/3 fights

Fromvert wrote: »
    And the UFC have an obligation to offer you a fight within a certain time period (say 6 months, not sure of the exact figure), if you reject it, your contract gets automatically extended.
    It doesn't get automatically extended. If you have one fight left, and your turn down an offer. You still have one fight left, you just can't use no fight offer as breach of contract. Which is what GSP was/is trying to argue.

Ah I wasn't clear, I was referring to the time not number of fights as the OP asked could they dick him around on his last fight. I took that as just letting him sit on one fight for as long as they want. They can't as they have to offer a fight within a certain time frame.

If you turn down a fight your contract length (time) gets automatically extended.

Fair enough, I was thinking of extended in the traditional sense.
    I imagine the UFC gets another 6months grave if you turn it down.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10 HillBillyElegy

Long time lurker. Joined in the hope that someone would be kind enough to forward on the pm?

Where is the reddit post linking him with the Kinihans?

Always a shame when icons/heros etc don't live up to it in their personal lives.

I quite enjoy the Pegasus ads and McGregor's acting is solid for a first timer I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭CitizenFloor

Long time lurker. Joined in the hope that someone would be kind enough to forward on the pm?

Where is the reddit post linking him with the Kinihans?

Always a shame when icons/heros etc don't live up to it in their personal lives.

I quite enjoy the Pegasus ads and McGregor's acting is solid for a first timer I think.

I that you, Conor?

I'll guess gutter 'journalist'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,209 ✭✭✭The Ayatolla

Prob Joe.ie or some other click bait ****e.