Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 3) *Updated Warning in 1st Post Re:Boxing match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,686 ✭✭✭monty_python

fyi mcgregor thread, not trump thread :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Mellor wrote: »
    I stopped reading at this sentence.
    I never once said it was ok or excused Trump.

And I when I went to copy that line I noticed you edited it out of your post. :(

It was a rhetorical question.

Anyway. Conor is great, John is great, I hope Trump does great and doesn't get us all killed. Meryl was crap in Mamma Mia.

Now, normal order is resumed.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Second Toughest in_the Freshers

I liked Mamma Mia...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

I liked Mamma Mia...

Ok it's up to you to defend Meryl from now on :)

I will just quickly add her performance in The Deer Hunter is pretty stunning and far beyond "play pretend" like the upcoming World Coach of the Year said.

In other news, sort of interesting how UFC 209 will keep Conor in the spotlight, even when he's doing absolutely nothing. You can be sure Woodley, Khabib and Ferguson will have plenty to say about him and generate a lot of headlines.

Its funny how sensitive everyone is these days about absolutely everything. Its a sad state of affairs. Even people in the fight game and pro fighters are sensitive because MMA gets mentioned in that little speech. Hardly an attack on MMA, but immediately the MMA community is up in arms like she had wronged the world, and questioned the very essence of the sport.
    The sensitive are up on arms if Trump does anything, but happy to have a go with tirades of insults against him listing whatever ism's they can possibly think of without realizing the hypocrisy of it and their own vitriol which is often worse then whatever he did
    Trump is as sensitive as they get himself, and in some ways his sensitivity is spurring on the sensitivity of the people who hate him! What a shambles.

Be nice if everyone toughened up a bit, instead of egging each other on in the completely wasteful pastime of being outraged. DW and JK should have ignored Streep

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Lads this the Conor McGregor thread..take the Trump and Meryl Streep talk to the off topic forum, thats what ye wanted it for..make use of it and stop clogging up this one with crap about the above and if Limerick is wealthy or not.

Back on topic..

• Site Banned Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Second Toughest in_the Freshers

Floyd Mayweather seems to rule out fight with Conor:
    http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/general/boxing/floyd-mayweather-rules-out-fight-ufc-conor-mcgregor-a7525416.html
    “I'm a businessman and I like making money but I'm retired now on my record of 49 and 0,”

could have something to do with that Tweet from Conor the other day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭CitizenFloor

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

https://twitter.com/MMAFighting/status/819991262065553408

Interesting, low ball offer but its a start, I would go as far to say its a certainty we see this fight now amazing how the so called professionals and experts like Helwani rubished it from beginning yet will be all over it when it happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Django99

Gamebred wrote: »
    https://twitter.com/MMAFighting/status/819991262065553408

Interesting, low ball offer but its a start, I would go as far to say its a certainty we see this fight now amazing how the so called professionals and experts like Helwani rubished it from beginning yet will be all over it when it happens.

The world just doesn't make sense anymore. I too felt that this was nonsense at the start, but now I can't see a reason it won't happen.

Django99 wrote: »
    The world just doesn't make sense anymore. I too felt that this was nonsense at the start, but now I can't see a reason it won't happen.

You/we call it nonsense, but we will tune in and thats all they care about $$$.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭Buffalobill29

Will Mcgregor be back before October... Maybe in May?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,764 ✭✭✭ASOT

Will Mcgregor be back before October... Maybe in May?

I doubt hed want to miss the first few months of his childs life; I can see him being out until later 2017 anyway

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 4,611 Mod ✭✭✭✭TherapyBoy

If they can get it organised with everyone happy I could see McGregor fighting next year with Mayweather, make enough money to live happy for a long time, handing back his UFC lightweight belt & retiring from MMA.
    I don't think defending titles holds any interest for him. Get in, make money & get out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

What gym would he do camp at? Would he be with other Irish lads at MGM in Marbella or get a big name US trainer flown in to Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

Freddy roache said he would train him - albeit he'd need 3 years to do it!

ardinn wrote: »

I don't think they'd be a good fit anyways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

Hope Conor sits out and lets the Mayweather situation develop. Would be a big dent in his bargaining power if he were to lose to Khabib/Ferguson even though I think he has the beating of both of them.

If he's smart he wont take another MMA fight until after he fights Mayweather or it becomes an certainty that it wont happen, whichever comes first.

Makes me think that there may actually be solid reasoning behind the creation of the new LW Interim title from the UFC's point of view. Let the rest of them fight it out for the mickey mouse belt while Conor sits on the sidelines sorting out a fight with Mayweather. Sucks for the rest of the LW division but they aint bringing in the big bucks like McG is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

ardinn wrote: »
    Lukker- wrote: »
    I don't think they'd be a good fit anyways

How is Freddy Roache, healthwise, these days?

John_D80 wrote: »
    Hope Conor sits out and lets the Mayweather situation develop. Would be a big dent in his bargaining power if he were to lose to Khabib/Ferguson even though I think he has the beating of both of them.

If he's smart he wont take another MMA fight until after he fights Mayweather or it becomes an certainty that it wont happen, whichever comes first.

Makes me think that there may actually be solid reasoning behind the creation of the new LW Interim title from the UFC's point of view. Let the rest of them fight it out for the mickey mouse belt while Conor sits on the sidelines sorting out a fight with Mayweather. Sucks for the rest of the LW division but they aint bringing in the big bucks like McG is.

Yeah the interim belt makes sense if he's taking a year out to fight Mayweather.

John_D80 wrote: »
    How is Freddy Roache, healthwise, these days?

Very well for someone who has had Parkinson's so long. Doing pad work has supposedly helped him retain his motor skills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭Useful.Idiot

I think Conor would save this as a retirement fight, negotiations and sorting out all the hurdles for making that fight happen would probably take at least a year, maybe longer.

He could fight in the UFC before then.

As regards the baby I thought the main reason he was taking a break is so that Dee doesn't have a stressed pregnancy in any way. I could see Conor taking a fight at some stage in summer. Sure he does his whole camp at home so he'd get to see the kid a lot more than most other fathers would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

As regards the baby I thought the main reason he was taking a break is so that Dee doesn't have a stressed pregnancy in any way. I could see Conor taking a fight at some stage in summer. Sure he does his whole camp at home so he'd get to see the kid a lot more than most other fathers would.

A Mayweather fight wouldn't be all that stressful for her you'd imagine. It's a meaningless fight in a sport he doesn't complete in. Nothing to lose career wise. It's actually perfect timing in that sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,670 ✭✭✭✭rob316

I think Conor would save this as a retirement fight, negotiations and sorting out all the hurdles for making that fight happen would probably take at least a year, maybe longer.

He could fight in the UFC before then.

The Diaz trilogy is the retirement fight, this is the last big payday, he could lose 2 fights in a row and still draw huge for this.

He has absolutely nothing to lose by fighting mayweather.
    Lose - everyone expected it, biggest payday ever
    Win - He's the guy who puts a 1 next to that 49, he'll be legend, biggest payday ever.

Conor just wants to get paid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭red ears

I think if conor loses to anyone again the mayweather fight is probably off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,670 ✭✭✭✭rob316

red ears wrote: »
    I think if conor loses to anyone again the mayweather fight is probably off.

Definitely, its now or never I reckon or unless he can finish the rest of his UFC career undefeated but even then Mayweather isnt getting any younger.

Conor is a 2 weight world champion in his respective sport, he's at the top.

I still don't think it will happen, Floyd has too much to lose and he's fighting a guy who has it all to gain. As amateur as Conor is, he is a dangerous opponent in that regard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭thierry14

All a bit silly really

Conor has no chance if it's just boxing and Floyd no chance if its ufc

Question

In Ufc how big a size advantage would a pro boxer need to beat Conor?

I reckon the pro boxer would need to be about David Haye size, not a modern heavyweight/not a cruiser about 210-220lb to beat Conor at his weight of
    170lb or so, would need to be a lot bigger anyway.

Vice versa I think a pro Ufc guy would need to be 190-200lb to beat Mayweather at just boxing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

Lukker- wrote: »
    Very well for someone who has had Parkinson's so long. Doing pad work has supposedly helped him retain his motor skills.

remember seeing an interview with him a while back that when hes on the pads or goes at a heavy bag his tremors disappear completely!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

thierry14 wrote: »
    All a bit silly really

Conor has no chance if it's just boxing and Floyd no chance if its ufc

Question

In Ufc how big a size advantage would a pro boxer need to beat Conor?

I reckon the pro boxer would need to be about David Haye size, not a modern heavyweight/not a cruiser about 210-220lb to beat Conor at his weight of
    170lb or so, would need to be a lot bigger anyway.

Vice versa I think a pro Ufc guy would need to be 190-200lb to beat Mayweather at just boxing.

I know what your asking but its a mental question - you can have a 400lb boxer v conor and if it goes to ground conor wins! vice versa - what rules are you talking?