If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Nissan Navara rusting chassis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,774 ✭✭✭Kat1170

CianRyan wrote: »
    So what about every 90's Merc, 2000's Alfa, Toyota etc.
    Should everyone who currently owns one of those be compensated because they all can suffer from terminal rust?

The fact that they're offering anything is a testament to the brand but somehow the only brand that are offering money back to its customers are the ones getting slated.

None of them had to change their whole corporate identity because their name became synonymous with RUST. ;););)

DATSUN =====> NISSAN :rolleyes::P

history repeating itself ????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭VeVeX

compensation offered.

Compensation? They're buying back cars because they made a hames of it rather than risking a flurry of legal action. Subsequently why anyone with even the slightest degree of intelligence would opt for a new Navara is beyond me, even at a discount. It would be like catching your finger in a door then doing it a second time to see if it was less painful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Yep, go ahead and disregard my opinion because I work in a garage that services Nissans. It's not like a Nissan mechanic would know anything about Nissans. :rolleyes:
    Well, I hope for my managers sake none of you live near to where I work, to date we've had nothing but pleasant customers with this issue.

I'm out of this conversation anyway, anything I have to say seems to be wasted on deaf ears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Yep, go ahead and disregard my opinion because I work in a garage that services Nissans. It's not like a Nissan mechanic would know anything about Nissans. :rolleyes:
    Well, I hope for my managers sake none of you live near to where I work, to date we've had nothing but pleasant customers with this issue.

I'm out of this conversation anyway, anything I have to say seems to be wasted on deaf ears.

Yeah you would clearly know nothing about it ya big ham :P Only work on the things every day.

We get a fair few calls about the issue in work and some are having difficulty dealing with the dealers. Perhaps (probably) some of the dealers are less than helpful and some are very helpful indeed. I would suggest to the OP to try dealing with another Nissan dealer to see if you have a more positive experience with them. I doubt they'll give any more money buy they might be more willing to help you, explain more of what is happening etc.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,296 ✭✭✭J.pilkington

Hang on a second, you are the one who made an amateur comment stating that compensation should equal the current market value of Navaras on DoneDeal so esessintally the customer who has been fecked over by Nissans shocking production standards should accept the scrap / diminished value

It's like saying pyrite affected home owners compensation should be based on the open market value of other pyrite affected houses and not a proper house which wasn't built with pyrite and in the process they suck up the lost value attributed to the pyrite.

You haven't addressed this point at all

Customer service ain't as great as you make out, google it / check out the post above / check out the farming forum here, plenty of pissed off owners with well minded Navaras falling apart and dealers fobbing them off.

Maybe the gap between reality and how you see it is related to the feelings of pissed off owners not filtering through from Nissan sales / warranty staff to the Nissan mechanics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭porsche boy

Kat1170 wrote:
    None of them had to change their whole corporate identity because their name became synonymous with RUST.
    Kat1170 wrote:
    DATSUN =====> NISSAN

They were two separate companies that merged. Nothing to do with rust or poor build.

CianRyan wrote:

Their not deaf. Your just upsetting them with your lies, them Navaras that have been on a farm since day 1 are all spotless and worth at least 5 grand more then a new one. Away with your 'lies' and 'experience'.

I'm out too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

Hang on a second, you are the one who made an amateur comment stating that compensation should equal the current market value of Navaras on DoneDeal so esessintally the customer who has been fecked over by Nissans shocking production standards should accept the scrap / diminished value

It's like saying pyrite affected home owners compensation should be based on the open market value of other pyrite affected houses and not a proper house which wasn't built with pyrite and in the process they suck up the lost value attributed to the pyrite.

Customer service ain't as great as you make out, google it / check out the post above / check out the farming forum here, plenty of pissed off owners with well minded Navaras falling apart and dealers fobbing them off.

Maybe the gap between reality and how you see it is related to the feelings of pissed off owners not filtering through from Nissan sales / warranty staff to the Nissan mechanics

Hold on your horses there. Or should that be get off that big horse you're riding on..

Anyway, the chap works for a main dealer as a mechanic, he has a fair right to a valid opinion here as opposed to toeing the corporate line. Do you work for Nissan? Do you own a Navara that was affected? how did you get treated?

I await your answer, otherwise you're throwing around a lot of brown here for someone with no experience (unlike other posters here).

You need to educate yourself of the extent of the rust/ destruction. This is not a little surface rust on a wing. These 4by4s are dangerous.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Y1hijOHhB3Q

Also a 90s bla bla car is a hell of a lot older than a 2008 4by4.
    Hahaha, mate I work in a Nissan main dealer. I know how bad the rust issue is.
    Fine then, take the NB MX5 as early as the mid 2000's with the same issue. Cassis rusting from the inside our, no major recall or compensation offered.
    Ahh now your reply makes sense! Toeing the corporate line:rolleyes:
    VeVeX wrote: »
    Compensation? They're buying back cars because they made a hames of it rather than risking a flurry of legal action. Subsequently why anyone with even the slightest degree of intelligence would opt for a new Navara is beyond me, even at a discount. It would be like catching your finger in a door then doing it a second time to see if it was less painful.

166man wrote: »
    Hold on your horses there. Or should that be get off that big horse you're riding on..

Anyway, the chap works for a main dealer as a mechanic, he has a fair right to a valid opinion here as opposed to toeing the corporate line. Do you work for Nissan? Do you own a Navara that was affected? how did you get treated?

I await your answer, otherwise you're throwing around a lot of brown here for someone with no experience (unlike other posters here).

That'll do lads, back on topic please.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,296 ✭✭✭J.pilkington

166man wrote: »

Look i appreciate you are backing up your mate but his initial post was dismissive of the fact that Nissan messed up big time (check out the YouTube video I posted, as I said we are not talking about surface rust on the wing of a 15 year old car like your mate wants us to believe) and Nissan are not owning up to a serious production issue and fairly compensating the owners.

I challenged him on the point he made regarding the compensation amount only then was a disclosure made that he works for Nissan.

What car I drive is not relevant here. This is a motoring discussion board where all motoring topics can be discussed / debated.

Anyways I am joining your mate and bowing out of this topic before more reinforcements are sent in.

Kind regards

I know I said I was out but just for my own credibility, I mentioned in my first post in this thread that I work in a Nissan garage.
    And for the record, I do not work for Nissan Ireland (because obviously I work in a dealer) and Nissan Ireland are not the same Business as Nissan Europe. They are a private venture in Ireland and are not involved in manufacture. FYI. ;)

Both out? Lovely :)

Yes, sorry. I'm unsubbing this thread. That just irked me!

They were two separate companies that merged. Nothing to do with rust or poor build.

No they were not. Nissan always 'owned' the Datsun brand. Datsun was just another name for Nissan in certain markets, most notably the US.

Kat1170 wrote:
    No they were not. Nissan always 'owned' the Datsun brand. Datsun was just another name for Nissan in certain markets, most notably the US.

Wrong.
    Separate companies. Google is your friend.

/my participation in this thread of 50k second hand Navara's and posters that don't research.

Wrong.
    Separate companies. Google is your friend.

/my participation in this thread of 50k second hand Navara's and posters that don't research.

You might want to do a bit of research yourself, they merged way back in 1933*, so to claim that as the reason for the name change in the 80's is stretching it a bit.

*From Wikipedia ....
    In 1931, DAT Jidosha Seizo became affiliated with Tobata Casting, and was merged into Tobata Casting in 1933. As Tobata Casting was a Nissan company, this was the beginning of Nissan's automobile manufacturing.

Nissan Motor founded in 1934
    In 1934, Aikawa separated the expanded automobile parts division of Tobata Casting and incorporated it as a new subsidiary, which he named Nissan Motor Co., Ltd.

You've left this thread so many times you must be getting dizzy at this stage :rolleyes:

Kat1170 wrote:

Note the above, your claim that Nissan ALWAYS 'OWNED' Datsun. This claim is wrong and I corrected you on it.
    Kat1170 wrote:
    You might want to do a bit of research yourself, they merged way back in 1933*, so to claim that as the reason for the name change in the 80's is stretching it a bit.

Now you acknowledge the truth. I don't need to research a company I worked for for years. I never claimed any reason for any name change in the 80's. As far as I was concerned it was to do with streamlining the corporate image. It was you who suggested it was to do with rust. I claim nothing beyond knowledge on this subject of which I have had to educate you on.

To be brutally honest I was just trying to set you straight without being too offensive, I can see now that in your mind your still right. Honestly, I have a wife that I can argue with if I want.

Second warning chaps.

The thread has gone so far off track you'd need a Navara to reach it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 questions for days

Well Rebel OC.
    I suffered the same fate as you 3 weeks ago. Mine is an '07. Failed the DOE as well.
    Brought the wagon to the dealer for the inspection etc etc.
    There has been no word back out Nissan Ireland since, trying to call them gets nothing more than a receptionist service. Really annoying.
    Just wondering if you have heard anything back yourself?
    I was trying to follow the thread there but it got a little off point. . .

Well Rebel OC.
    I suffered the same fate as you 3 weeks ago. Mine is an '07. Failed the DOE as well.
    Brought the wagon to the dealer for the inspection etc etc.
    There has been no word back out Nissan Ireland since, trying to call them gets nothing more than a receptionist service. Really annoying.
    Just wondering if you have heard anything back yourself?
    I was trying to follow the thread there but it got a little off point. . .

The jist of it is -
    You're not alone, most D40 Navaras suffer from some form of chassis rot, a manufacturing/design fault.
    Nissan are buying back the vehicles to be subsequently scrapped. But rather than doing a blanket and transparent recall they're dealing with owners on a case by case basis through their dealer network.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 RebelOC

Hi VeVeX,
    It has a 10 year warranty so you NEED to get this agreed soon as 2017 is looming. I'm also hoping that you own the Navara for more than 18 months as that will be the first question that you will be asked. Basically you need to bring the DOE failure report to a Nissan dealer, get them to put it on the ramp and take photos of the rusted chassis which will be sent along with your DOE failure report to Nissan Ireland. I know the receptionist service is infuriating but there only seems to be one guy looking after all the deals / scrapage so PERSIST until they get back to you. Persistence worked for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭sc86

very fair of nissan to offer more than market value for these
    plenty would not
    7500 for a 2007 is crazy money
    i bought a 07 in dec 2012 for 5200 - test tax the lot
    easy enough buy them handy as they can be hard sold
    this was long before they got a reputation for rust
    because before that they had reputation for mechanical issues
    back in 06 07 07 nissan refunded customers for newish jeeps due to the mechanical issue the first batch were giving
    i found them a great jeep for the money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭mickmac1

My 08 navara just failed the test due to rust also. How much should I expect Nissan to offer for it and how long does the process take ? It has been inspected in a main dealers and they have sent pics to Nissan Ireland .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Story in the Sunday times yesterday about this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 navaralad

There is no recall policy from Nissan as yet,
    This is the reply I got from my Nissan garage yesterday:
    Hi Fergus,

It is correct that there have been a number of instances of chassis corrosion on Nissan Navaras.

As I'm sure you can understand, corrosion is a gradual process, and so, if it occurs, could be expected to be picked up, either at DOE time, or during routine servicing of the vehicle, before reaching the point where it becomes in any way advanced.

We would be very happy to carry out a complimentary inspection of your Navara to see if there is anything to be concerned about. We would need the vehicle for about 45 minutes to carry this out.

Please contact myself or my colleague, Colin Burke, to arrange a time convenient to you to have this done.

Best regards,

Stephen Briggs

Sales Director

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 caoimhin1980

From what I've been told first hand from people that have their jeeps bought back through a limerick dealership its a €1000 for the year. So basically 07 is €7000 , 08 is €8000 etc. I've also heard that it's hard enough to get the money off them too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,577 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Some rather shocking photos of chassis damaged vehicles in this article in The Sun...
    https://www.thesun.co.uk/news/2791663/nissan-navara-safety-fears/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭Stoolbend

A customer had one that passed the cvrt but a month later he noticed the rust himself.

We took the bed off to inspect it and it broke in half.

Stoolbend wrote: »
    A customer had one that passed the cvrt but a month later he noticed the rust himself.

Ours looked fine until it was tapped with a hammer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,944 ✭✭✭pete4130

Stoolbend wrote: »

It was probably the bed holding it together giving it any structural integrity.

My work ute is a Navara with a tub and canopy. Without it I'm sure it'd be in 2 halves. On hot days (here in Australia) the kick up on the auto box doesnt work....4K revs at 60kmh, no boost from turbo....it's a dog.