Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the weather like in your area 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭George Sunsnow

Met Éireann have issued a status RED warning for Cork Kerry Galway and Mayo
    I presume Clare and limerick will be added later

Be Aware

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭George Sunsnow

Clare added to the red status
    Probably more to come ?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,622 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,368 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Weather be like this today...

Ah piss off you.

Give me a bell later actually

• Registered Users Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

blue5000 wrote: »

Christ that's a great yoke. How up to date is it I wonder.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,155 ✭✭✭✭Base price

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    After looking at it the second time I realised that wherever up put your mouse pointer on the map and click it give you wind speed km/h along with degrees long/lat.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,622 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

TITANIUM. wrote: »

AFAIK it updates every 3 hrs. Click on the word 'earth' for more info.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,479 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Belting down rain here for last hour but wind calm.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

_Brian wrote: »

Feck all happening here weatherwise so far , bit of rain but you would expect that

_Brian wrote: »
    No rain so far in NCD tonight, a still calm misty night. Its really the calm before the storm type scenario here :(.

Base price wrote: »
    No rain so far in NCD tonight, a still calm misty night. Its really the calm before the storm type scenario here :(.

Rain is pulsing on/off but heavy here.

I headed home at 4pm yesterday leaving a muggy/misty Longford. I was surprised to meet drizzle near the Kells exit on the M3 and as I got closer to home the rain was more persistent :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

A bit windy in nth Kerry

• Registered Users Posts: 606 ✭✭✭RedPeppers

Fair gusts blowing here already in north Galway will be a long day

Rain stoped for now, foggy and blustery.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

RedPeppers wrote: »
    Fair gusts blowing here already in north Galway will be a long day

There's feck all here near Galway city yet anyhow . It's breezy but that's it

Calm with a bit of fog in NCD.
    I hear planes departing ex Dub Air but so far no incoming flights.

Windy in WH

• Registered Users Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Constant strong wind now with a bit of Rain in it. Fecking see a sheet flapping already

• Registered Users Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Wind building steadily since early here. Near tramore. No danger in it yet but feels like there's more to come.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,046 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Sitting facing the sea in west cork so we are going to get the worst of it.power still on but that wont last.it has calmed a bit for the past 1/2hour but starting to pick up.if this is going to get worse for next two hours its goimg to be a bad one.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭kerry cow

What's the time line for the storm passing by each county ?
    Here in ballydesmond and well sheltered by forestry .but radio saying a lot of trees and power put in killarney Kenmore area .
    By 12 will the worse be past kerry ?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

kerry cow wrote: »
    Here in ballydesmond and well sheltered by forestry .but radio saying a lot of trees and power put in killarney Kenmore area .

https://lovin.ie/news/these-are-the-times-ophelia-will-be-most-severe-for-each-county

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Floki

Sun is out here atm with a very warm air steadily increasing in strength.
    Only for the wind you would think it was a day in May.
    Have the cows out but I'll bring them in again around 11.

Hopefully this passes by with not much damage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

JCX BXC wrote: »
    Ah lads here go to sleep for an hour! Just woke up for a quick status check.
    6am TAF's issued, mainly upgrades. Somewhat concerning.

Cork Max gust now 75kts

Dublin Max gust now 55kts

Knock Max gust now 60kts

And to add to this list

Kerry Expecting max gust of 70kts, temporarily active between 11am-1pm TEMPO 1610/1612 14045G70KT

Waterford Expecting max gust of 75kts, temporarily between 1pm-4pm TEMPO 1612/1615 20050G75KT

Looks very concerning for those on the South Coast, especially as TAF's have upgraded further, stay safe everyone today.

I'm back to sleep for a while, good luck!
    kerry cow wrote: »
    Just came across that post in the Ophelia thread so I said I'd post it here to give some indication as to when it will peak.

• Registered Users Posts: 532 ✭✭✭wats the craic

starting to get very strong gusts on the hookhead now , dry but very windy

• Registered Users Posts: 5,038 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Max gusts so far, 148kmh at Fastnet, 107 at Roches point

Had gotten awful dark with lashing rain, then suddenly rain stopped and the sun is out now.
    Nothing more than a stiff breeze at the moment.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭stretch film

starting to get very strong gusts on the hookhead now , dry but very windy

Looking across at ye .
    Building steadily.

Wind really building up now