Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the weather like in your area 2

• Registered Users Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

New Year’s Day evening.:D.....not so nice today. Blustery and spiting rain.:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭davidk1394

A lovely sunny day here, 8°C on the clock

• Registered Users Posts: 1,436 ✭✭✭148multi

Mild and dry 7. Degrees

• Registered Users Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Tileman

Beautiful day here. Neighbour chancing spreading slurry . Brave man with all the houses nearby but again shows the mockery of the calendar farming. Ground in great condition here.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Ground soft down here, a good blast of rain yesterday and last night

• Registered Users Posts: 575 ✭✭✭Farmer_3650

Cold day today in Roscommon but luckily no rain. Haven't seen ground this dry at this time of year for years.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Lovely day today. So tempted to spread with the ground conditions and descent growth. 13 days left to wait though.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,207 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Lovely day today. So tempted to spread with the ground conditions and descent growth. 13 days left to wait though.
    It will probably be pissing outta the heavens then. This calendar farming is some craic :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Air temperature 12c.
    Soil temperature 10c.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,364 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Air temperature 12c.
    Soil temperature 10c.

Was at a football game today. Felt like 0 degrees

whelan2 wrote: »
    Was at a football game today. Felt like 0 degrees

That'll teach you for running across the pitch in the nip.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

I think we attend different sports.

You wouldn't want to see em throwing the hammer in athletics in the nip.

Air temperature 12c.
    Soil temperature 10c.
    I see the grass is greening up and growing.

Base price wrote: »
    I see the grass is greening up and growing.

Urea ordered and contractor booked for the 16th.

One thing very noticible this spring is the greener grass where the contractor spread slurry just before the closing date. One bit of a paddock that didn't get slurry is noticibly yellower and behind in cover compared to the rest of the paddock.

Still expecting heavy rain on the 15th though:(

Ye must play a different type of football in your part of the country

whelan2 wrote: »
    Ye must play a different type of football in your part of the country

Ah i was spying on ya in the bushes.
    Don't be denying your oneness with nature .

(Is the streaker a thing of the past now at soccer matches??)

Ah i was spying on ya in the bushes.
    Don't be denying your oneness with nature .

(Is the streaker a thing of the past now at soccer matches??)

We were in oriel park. Not too many bushes there. Been at alot of games and never saw a streaker yet.

One thing very noticible this spring is the greener grass where the contractor spread slurry just before the closing date. One bit of a paddock that didn't get slurry is noticibly yellower and behind in cover compared to the rest of the paddock.

My own hunch is and I don't know if it's or frankly I don't care proven by science.

Is that the carbon in the slurry held onto nutrients for the grass over our wet autumn/winter. The thicker the slurry the better it did it's job.
    I see the same up here where dung was spread. Still green.

Conversely I've seen a newly reseeded dairy tillage conversion farm just in the last few years and the whole thing looks like it's been sprayed with round up.

Carbon counting has to be and should be offered at soil testing. I know teagasc do om but jaysus. Times and talk move on.

You'd even be able to tell then what effect that urea has on soil carbon stocks, if any.

Edit: Although I read a post on social media about a study in northern Ireland that were building soil carbon up through animal slurry treated with slurry bugs feeding the soil biota with results and one of these social media disruptors declared it nonsense for no reason. So you can't always win.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Another dirty day here. Will ring slurry contractor in the morning to line up but will depend on a dry enough period coming tbh. Have storage to spare but will pump from large concrete tank to the tower to have the job out of the way in case weather doesn't suit. Temps up but paddocks thst were stopped earlier have a yellow tinge paddocks grazed later much greener but without the cover. New contractor this year as old one has exited hopefully he'll work out ok. Hoping tonight's bit of a storm won't be too bad

I wonder could I get a floating forage harvester into the lagoon cause there is a serious growth of grass on it over the last 6 weeks :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

Base price wrote: »
    I wonder could I get a floating forage harvester into the lagoon cause there is a serious growth of grass on it over the last 6 weeks :)

Find a dutch forum, they love creating needlessly complicated equipment. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,091 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Heavy rain and high winds forecast for the coming week

• Registered Users Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Very strong wind here now

• Registered Users Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Wind and rain. Wheres the high stool?

Ground saturated after the rain the last 2 nights. Cold and damp today with a cold breeze.

Was 11 degrees here at 6am. Started rain g at 11am still lashing down

Ground saturated after the rain the last 2 nights. Cold and damp today with a cold breeze.

As usual ground conditions will be crap for the end of the slurry spreading deadline

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Mortelaro

Current conditions
    Tractor windscreen wipers flat out

• Registered Users Posts: 5,091 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Orange weather warnings for South and West for Monday, yellow for rest of the country

https://www.met.ie/warnings#