Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bad Taste Halloween Costumes

• 21-10-2016 9:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭

We have a halloween company BBQ this weekend and its fancy dress. Each department / team was asked for the laugh to try and coordinate their costumes e.g. the data team are going as Ninja turtles all 6 of them. We decided for the laugh to go as kinda Damo and Ivor inspired Chav's (5 of us in the team 4 lads 1girl) we thought it was a gas idea , Celtic tops stained grey cotton trackies fake nike basball hats , hoopy earings , leopard print etc.

We all went for chavs over southsiders because we felt most of us probably dress like stereotypical southsiders (only one of the lads is though) anyway with me 2 of the lads and the girls boyfried all being leinster season ticket holders etc , leinster tops and chinos woulda been a bit of a cop out, given its a regular on causal friday anyway in our team when the lads are playing a home game the friday night.

Anyhooo long story short we got wind yesterday that a few people in other teams had taken a bit of offence to our idea and felt we were making a laugh of poor people or something. Apparently one person suggested yesterday that we might as well be doing black face or going as Nazis which i thought was a bit much , but that said i'm totally unscrupulous with this stuff have gone as a Nazi and Jimmy Saville previously out with the lads for a bit of shock factor and a laugh, would never consider it for a work gig though.

So what i want to know is do people think this is in bad taste or is it just a bit of a laugh ?

and should we change the idea given its a work event ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

If you have already gotten wind people are offended then I'd change it.

Common sense really.

I'm all for saying f you to the PC brigade but not at work.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

6 ninja turtles?
    The data team - surely they should be better at numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Walter H Price

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    6 ninja turtles?
    The data team - surely they should be better at numbers.

hahahahaha that's been a running joke in the office for the last week and a half believe it or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Go as sexy nuns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,639 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Do Irish people really use the term chavs? Very english.

Skangers or skobies for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

How could people get offended by that? Seriously

biko wrote: »
    Go as sexy nuns.

Already a team of all lads doing that one :P
    murpho999 wrote: »
    Do Irish people really use the term chavs? Very english.

Skangers or skobies for me.

Yeh i think all three and Pov's are probibly used , think it depends what part of Dublin your from or the country
    How could people get offended by that? Seriously

I have no idea like but apprently some people who are from more working class areas thought it was in really bad taste and were apprently very bent outta shape yesterday , i wasnt in the office at all the last 3 days but got filled in over brekie this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Crow92

If people are taking offence to what they perceive as you mocking poor people then they themselves are saying that poor people are basically skangers?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭ectoraige

No, bad taste would be dressing up as a collapsed balcony, what you described is just unimaginative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,760 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Get the costumes of priests with small childlike dolls attached at the groin.

That will make them wish you'd worn the skanger ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭IamMetaldave

Another case of easily offended jerk offs.

ectoraige wrote: »
    No, bad taste would be dressing up as a collapsed balcony, what you described is just unimaginative.

id fully agree with that like, for me bein like offensive would be like the guys who went as the smiler crash victims in the UK or going as like rapefugees or something like ive seen floating around facebook.

I thought the skangers/Chavs thig would be no more contoversial then people goin as priests and nuns and that given theres probibly a few religious ppl in the office.

we actually had thought we were keeping it prety middle of the road like gien its a work thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,760 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Sounds like a story for the Corporate Bullsh!t thread too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

You're looking for advice from people on here relating some office gossip you heard over breakfast this morning? Over-exaggerated office drama is happening up and down the country day in and day out.

Act like a grown-up and try to resolve the issue face-to-face with the person or persons is the only advice you should be given.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭midnight city

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Make it more specifically about Damo than skangers in general. I haven't watched the programme but there must be something you can add to the costume that'll shout "Damo". Or you could wear badges saying Damo1, Damo2, Damo-etta etc.

dav3 wrote: »
    You're looking for advice from people on here relating some office gossip you heard over breakfast this morning? Over-exaggerated office drama is happening up and down the country day in and day out.

Act like a grown-up and try to resolve the issue face-to-face with the person or persons is the only advice you should be given.

i was more looking to know if others thought this was an offensive idea given the 5 of us are a bit perplexed as to why some people are suggesting this is the same as doing black face or whatever.

I fully intend to have a chat with one or two of those ive been told made this an issue the last few days and just let them know that we can change it if its gunna cause a bit of drama

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭The Mulk

Make it more specifically about Damo than skangers in general. I haven't watched the programme but there must be something you can add to the costume that'll shout "Damo". Or you could wear badges saying Damo1, Damo2, Damo-etta etc.

Why not go as the cast of Damo and Ivor, have a southsider go as Damo and a northsider go as Ivor, everyone is offended equally.
    Job done

The Mulk wrote: »
    Why not go as the cast of Damo and Ivor, have a southsider go as Damo and a northsider go as Ivor, everyone is offended equally.
    Job done

we don't have any real northsiders in the team , 1 lad from Rathfarnham , 1 from Swords , 1 girl from sandymount and the other two lads are from Kildare and Carlow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,762 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

we don't have any real northsiders in the team , 1 lad from Rathfarnham , 1 from Swords , 1 girl from sandymount and the other two lads are from Kildare and Carlow

Swords is north side :confused:

1 see one northsider and one southsider (male) and a southsider female.Flip a coin for the non-Dub lads.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Keep the skanger outfit.

Kick the shít out of anyone who complains.

Claim you're just keeping in character.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

Swords is north side :confused:

More North county and he's probibly the most middle class out of the lot to be honest hahahaha

I do get the idea to be honest but , he would be a hard sell as a proper Northsider if that was there issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Kev_2012

I seen a guy dressed as a member of the KKK in Limerick for Halloween about 5/6 years ago! :eek:

Can understand taking offence to that but then again, people in Limerick don't care. I think Political Correctness is banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,283 ✭✭✭Patser

This bunch are in trouble for dressing up as victims of the Alton Towers roller-coaster crash, including missing legs. So if you do want to offend as a group....

https://www.google.ie/amp/www.bbc.co.uk/news/amp/37714159

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,962 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

Wear hats with massive peaks like Damo does and then everyone will know you are being a specific comedy character.

apprently the issue is more to do with the fact that none of us are working class, they think were just taking the P!ss out of people from working class areas and that's not on.

I don't really see it like that to be honest , taking the p!ss out of skangers maybe but i dont think that represents even half of the people who live in working class areas and certainly no one we work with.

apprently the issue is more to do with the fact that none of us are working class, they think were just taking the P!ss out of people from working class areas and that's not on.

I don't really see it like that to be honest , taking the p!ss out of skangers maybe but i dont think that represents even half of the people who live in working class areas and certainly no one we work with.

Ironically, the assumption that all working class people are skangers is more offensive than your costume idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Anyhooo long story short we got wind yesterday that a few people in other teams had taken a bit of offence to our idea and felt we were making a laugh of poor people or something.

Get your gang to go dressed as snowflakes... and at the party, be sure to go around giving out about everything in a 'OMG, so UN PC' type manner...

Those that 'took some offense' may get the message.

(if not, find them and put extra extra spicy sauce on their falafel burger...)

They sound a bit precious to me!

Not all skangers come from working class areas.

If you wanted real shock value, pitch a tent in the car park and say you live there

GLaDOS wrote: »
    Ironically, the assumption that all working class people are skangers is more offensive than your costume idea.

my thoughts exactly like , i think there just winging for the sake of it tbh

whiskeyman wrote: »
    Get your gang to go dressed as snowflakes... and at the party, be sure to go around giving out about everything in a 'OMG, so UN PC' type manner...

That Sir is a fking genuis idea , im gunna suggest we go as the PC police to the lads now hahahahaha had out Micro agression tickets hahahaha and lil snowflakes

Id tip my Burberry hat to you but im chucking that away now hahahahaha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

A bit lacking in imagination, a Uni crowd in engerland had a mixed reaction to dressing as Alton Tower crash victims,

Creative and cheap to make, but very risque all the same.

A bit lacking in imagination, a Uni crowd in engerland had a mixed reaction to dressing as Alton Tower crash victims,

Creative and cheap to make, but very risque all the same.

see thats the kinda thing that i would say ok fair enough it caould be taken as bad taste , likewise going a Jimmy saville , the KKK ,Nazis or Hittler , Berkly victims etc .... Orginally I though our idea was playing it a little to safe to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭RayCon

The school reminded students that anyone who is offended or troubled by an incident or a costume, they could seek counseling at the wellness center or alert the school’s Bias Education Response Team which provides support to those who were impacted.
    “If you are troubled by an incident that does occur, please know that there are many resources available. Please take advantage of the 7 day a week presence of the U Matter, We Care program at the University of Florida by emailing umatter@ufl.edu. Additionally, there is a 24/7 counselor in the Counseling and Wellness Center available to speak by phone.”

Seriously ... FCUK OFF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,298 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

You're history's greatest monster OP, they're called scangers round these parts not Chavs.

Me I'd go in a Donald Trump mask ala Nixon. I am not a crook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Katgurl

I can't believe you consider yourselves so inherently middleclass it wouldn't make sense for half of you to go as 'southsiders' given you're from swords, rathfarnham & Kildare.

Either do Damo & Ivor theme or don't. Dressing up as scobies IS offensive.

Katgurl wrote: »
    I can't believe you consider yourselves so inherently middleclass it wouldn't make sense for half of you to go as 'southsiders' given you're from swords, rathfarnham & Kildare.

Either do Damo & Ivor theme or don't. Dressing up as scobies IS offensive.

How ? like i said we all are pretty middle class so leninster hoodies / jersey whatever and |Chinos would be failry standard of a casual friday for the lads on my team. short of actually sticking on a pair of Dubes not sure how we could do the Ivor piece hahaha

But seriously, hows it offensive ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Butters1979

yes he's asking peoples opinions from outside the office, you worried we're gonna run out of internet or something?

I actually dressed up as a skanger myself for Halloween before, many many years ago :D

Got a lot of compliments for it, anyone being offended wasn't even a consideration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I think Whiskeyman is onto a winner.
    Apparently one person suggested yesterday that we might as well be doing black face or going as Nazis which i thought was a bit much ,
    Bunch of joyless curtain pullers. They should just skip to being a grumpy old fecker youth doesn't suit them. If someone had said that to me I would have gone as a black face nazi. if they're that easily upset they deserve everything they get. They seem to want to stick to childrens cartoon characters that they're mammies have approved. But that cartoon promotes the abuse and trade of exotic animals.

GLaDOS wrote: »
    I actually dressed up as a skanger myself for Halloween before, many many years ago :D

Got a lot of compliments for it, anyone being offended wasn't even a consideration.

What were the complaints GLaDos , i'd love to know ... spoke to a few in here at lunch who wee saying it was about the fact none of us were working class and we just looked like snobs looking down on working class people and areas.

I would still contest that the a typical skanger / Skobie / Chav caricature we were going as is not representative of even half of working class people or people from those kind of areas.

I think it more had to do with the fact none of us are from that backround in fact one of the girls who had an issue said exactly that which seemed a bit odd to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

If that was my group I would now dress up as the PC Police and hand out tickets to all those that took offence to your initial idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

Jesus christ people are moany bloody cnuts these days aren't they.

Offending poor people. Sweet jesus.

Poor people aren't all skangers like. Most of them are obviously, but not all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

yes he's asking peoples opinions from outside the office, you worried we're gonna run out of internet or something?

He's asking for people's opinions based on hearsay. The OP hasn't actually been approached by anyone complaining about his costume, he's merely passing on office gossip from the canteen.

Without seeing the actual costumes or, more importantly, the behaviour of the people when wearing the costumes, I'll hold back on slapping the OP and his mates on the back and telling them they're great lads.

Every year there's someone offend by someone offended at their costume.

Perhaps it is offensive to some people, perhaps we don't have all the details, perhaps everyone in the company think that the OP and his friends are all pr*cks and are using this as an opportunity to have a go at them.

jester77 wrote: »
    If that was my group I would now dress up as the PC Police and hand out tickets to all those that took offence to your initial idea.

talked to my own group at lunch and we've decided to do exactly that , were trying to come us with stupid reasons to be offended and out raged by all the other groups outfits hahahaha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

He's asking for people's opinions based on hearsay. The OP hasn't actually been approached by anyone complaining about his costume, he's merely passing on office gossip from the canteen.

Without seeing the actual costumes or, more importantly, the behaviour of the people when wearing the costumes, I'll hold back on slapping the OP and his mates on the back and telling them they're great lads.

Perhaps it is offensive to some people, perhaps we don't have all the details, perhaps everyone in the company think that the OP and his friends are all pr*cks and are using this as an opportunity to have a go at them.

Here pal, AH is fcuked. All we gots left is other peoples office drama and housemate arguments and the occasional rogue creature scaring the shyte out of someone. Don't go trying to take it away from us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

whiskeyman wrote: »

This. Be sure to include saying "triggered" at least once a minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,552 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Jesus christ people are moany bloody cnuts these days aren't they.

Offending poor people. Sweet jesus.

Poor people aren't all skangers like. Most of them are obviously, but not all.

That's the thing isn't it though. It's not like something is offensive or not. It's a sliding scale. The costume is kinda offensive. It's pretty low on the offensiveness scale. It's certainly not a nazi level offensive.

As someone on the first page said, it's for work so **** it, don't use that costume. HR tend not to see a sliding scale for them it's either offensive or not.

i wast really here say it was said to two member of the team yesterday at lunch directly and there was a bit of row over it , then they let us no we might have to change the idea before we went and got customes and acessories and s!it today.

I was only really asking if anyone actualy found this offensive or were the others over reating and should we change plan