Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Budget 2017

• Registered Users Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Ragnar Lothbrok

No, absolutely not. That witch and my views are not comparable.

Did I touch a nerve there :D

• Registered Users Posts: 16,510 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Welfare benefits here are one of the most generous in the world, while most people are looking for work quite a few others are happy to sit at home doing nothing.

And others won't take a minimum wage job to keep them going until the job they want comes up.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,736 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Move into a Rathmines studio for €700 a month then quit your job/get fired - suddenly the €193 a week (minus €10 a week for rent following the €660 a month rent supplement) isn't so bad to live off.

What utter bollocks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

See my previous reply.

Jesus, it's so easy for non-smokers to come out with absolute cr@p like this. Did none of ye ever realise it's an extremely strong addiction that more often than not began at a young age, before we were old enough to know any better?

We're just an easy target - slap an extra 50c on fags, sure who cares apart from those poor, deluded smokers?

Where's my tiny violin?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Ragnar Lothbrok

rob316 wrote: »
    Encourage you to quit? Bad for your health and your pocket, the dog on the streets knows the benefits of quitting.

You can always look to the black market too if paying our taxes is such a burden for you.

I've tried black market cigarettes. No thanks, they are just awful.

Taxation is a burden on all of us though, isn't it? It's the unfair proportion of taxes I pay simply because I'm a smoker that I object to.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,255 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

awec wrote: »
    80% or more. It's saying people who pay 25% deposits don't apply. Basically if you can afford to pay a larger deposit than the minimum required you are not eligible.

The 10% of 220k + 20% of the remainder still applies.

If for example you are buying a new house at 300k, the deposit would be:

Current rules: 38k

New rules: 38k, of which the government will pay up to 15k (depending on how much tax you have paid the last 5 years), which means YOU only need 23k.

Yeah I know, that's what I'm saying, I would be paying more than 20% deposit - doesn't mean I'm loaded though, just saved hard for the last 6 years and still can't manage to get on property ladder. I don't want to have an 80% + mortgage hanging off my neck (couldn't afford it anyway) so why should I not benefit just cos I have a bigger deposit to pay? I'm a first time buyer too and of course I'm single which makes it harder again. I suppose it doesn't matter anyway cos I can't find any houses in my price range :-(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Joshua J

Maybe if Trump doesn't win we can get him. He'd soon sort out these filthy lay-abouts.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,510 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

There's nothing in this Budget for working people.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭kittensmittens

Typical dirge about a measley €5 increase to the bottom of the rung.....TD's gave themselves a lovely €5000.00 raise, but hey, dont let that get in the way of a good aul rant by some.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

How unhappy do you have to be to begrudge people a measly €5 per week? It must be nearly a decade since the last social welfare increase.

Typical dirge about a measley €5 increase to the bottom of the rung.....TD's gave themselves a lovely €5000.00 raise, but hey, dont let that get in the way of a good aul rant by some.
    Come on it's the lads with their nagins and a box of fags that means we're broke. If it wasn't for them we'd be driving gold cars and going on 12 holidays a year.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,016 ✭✭✭✭rob316

The people on the average industrial wage get railroaded again, a scratch in the USC.

I absolutely hate to lash out at SW recipient's but I heard something today from someone who has a tenant on rent allowance.

He works 40 hours a week, Gross €30k, net €25k. His tenant on SW and RA has a yearly income of €29k.

Like seriously why the **** would you work?

The system is broken, for the people who can genuinely show they are jobseeking give them what they are getting and more, the scroungers set a countdown on them, drop there payment month by month until they see the light.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

Time to book my flight to Singapore by the looks of things.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,799 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

About a fiver a week, but if you're renting that'll be eaten (and more besides) by the rent increases that have just been made worse by the decision to up rent supplement.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Don't forget Christmas bonus is back. Celtic tiger part II

• Registered Users Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

RayM wrote: »
    How unhappy do you have to be to begrudge people a measly €5 per week? It must be nearly a decade since the last social welfare increase.
    Well I have a personal philosophy that the nation's resources should go to those who deserve it most instead of buying votes for politicians.

That's just me though.

Zilch, if you are in the 30k to 50k bracket like me, its heartbreaking as usual.

• Registered Users Posts: 136 ✭✭pidgeoneyes

People giving out about the price of cigarettes. They can cost people (very) roughly around four grand per year. If that's not reason enough to quit then what is!?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,183 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Move into a Rathmines studio for €700 a month then quit your job/get fired - suddenly the €193 a week (minus €10 a week for rent following the €660 a month rent supplement) isn't so bad to live off.

My rent is less than that. When you include all my bills and standing orders I need to borrow money from family to survive. You sir, are talking out of your arse.

I apply for jobs every day. I have phone screenings a few times a week.
    I haven't been in a pub in months. I went to the cinema to see Deadpool and that was the last time I went. I can't afford to socialise at all. I'm on dating sites but I can't actually date because I can't afford a few drinks never mind a dinner date. I sit at home everyday applying for jobs and upgrading my skills. At weekends I have friends who call over for coffee. Being on the dole is a horrible experience. My entire life is on hold whilst I'm unemployed. My life isn't enviable it's fcuking horrible.

You seem to have this idea in your head that people who are on the dole are layabouts. You see one scumbag on the streets in Dublin and you think that everyone on the dole is that same. That is a stupid, myopic, blinkered view.

• Registered Users Posts: 39 medi_bai

It's not just a fiver a week, the christmas bonus of €195 for pensioners and €164 for other recipients. So 450 a year for pensioners & 420 for other social welfare recipients. compared to 225 for the average full time earner at 45k.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

Grayson wrote: »
    You seem to have this idea in your head that people who are on the dole are layabouts. You see one many many scumbags on the streets in Dublin and you think that everyone on the dole is that same. That is a stupid, myopic, blinkered view.

FYP

People giving out about the price of cigarettes. They can cost people (very) roughly around four grand per year. If that's not reason enough to quit then what is!?

Cancer, heart disease and a load others. Thing is smoking is an addiction. People who smoke are addicts. The cost and risk is secondary to the addiction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    Well I have a personal philosophy that the nation's resources should go to those who deserve it most instead of buying votes for politicians.

That's just me though.

And my philosophy is that anger should be directed towards those who deserve it most; not towards those surviving on less than €200 per week.

• Registered Users Posts: 28 willj85

What's stopping you from, y'know, getting a job??

You should employ him.

My rent is less than that. When you include all my bills and standing orders I need to borrow money from family to survive. You sir, are talking out of your arse.

I haven't been in a pub in months. I went to the cinema to see Deadpool and that was the last time I went. I can't afford to socialise at all. I'm on dating sites but I can't actually date because I can't afford a few drinks never mind a dinner date. I sit at home everyday applying for jobs and upgrading my skills. At weekends I have friends who call over for coffee. Being on the dole is a horrible experience. My entire life is on hold whilst I'm unemployed. My life isn't enviable it's fcuking horrible.

You seem to have this idea in your head that people who are on the dole are layabouts. You see one scumbag on the streets in Dublin and you think that everyone on the dole is that same. That is a stupid, myopic, blinkered view.

Welcome to Boards

eeguy wrote: »
    FYP

There's hundreds of thousands of ppl on the dole. You see them too. They walk past you every day. You see them in the supermarkets. You just don't know they're on the dole. You see alcoholics and druggies and think that is everyone else too. That's still stupid.

For someone that just lost their job or genuinely cant get one it shouldn't be. I feel bad for you, like I said the system is broken. The dole should be a horrible experience for the people who refuse to work.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

RayM wrote: »
    And my philosophy is that anger should be directed towards those who deserve it most; not towards those surviving on less than €200 per week.

So society should continue handling out 200 euro a week to people without any debate.

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    So society should continue handling out 200 euro a week to people without any debate.
    Whats your solution. 10 unemployed fight to the death and the last man standing gets €5?

willj85 wrote: »
    Whats your solution. 10 unemployed fight to the death and the last man standing gets €5?
    Work camps I'd imagine. Or some sort of conformity training.