Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Seamus Power - PGA Tour Winner 2021/22

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭Scrabbel

it's great to see him back in contention going into the final round and getting lots of coverage (pun intended). Hopefully a good finish (and again!) today to get him moving back up the rankings. Obviously, hoping for a win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭OEP

Nice interview with Kimmage in the Independent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,945 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

It's a difficult course. If you are a little off your game it'll eat you alive.

Hopefully he is on today. He's playing in the last group with Mitchell so he has an early target and that's to catch Keith. If he gets there then it's game on. He's stayed in contention in most events where he goes into the final round high on the leaderboard.

• Registered Users Posts: 806 ✭✭✭jams100

38 putts for Justin Thomas yesterday...can happen to anyone I guess, hope for us mere mortals yet

Cmon Seamus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,588 ✭✭✭✭M.T. Cranium

Got any live coverage? I do, Power (and Keith Mitchell) just parred hole #1 and none of the many in contention are moving up so far, Schauffele is moving up well in front of leaders (gained 5 11-14) but I don't think he can get to -10 (Keith Mitchell's current leading score). Fairly average day for scoring and I would say -13 or -14 will be winning score.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,492 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

Mitchell just dropped a shot so he's back to -9. Very crowded leaderboard. As of 18:24 there's 15 players within three shots of the leader (-9 down to -6) and only four of them are on the back 9. All to play for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,479 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

I've now seem Seamus on 2 holes i week and it's a bogey both times...Time to turn off again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,288 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Shot dropped on 2nd. 3 behind now, Bad start but hopefully he gets it back soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭big_drive

Shaky enough start for Power, but no other player doing too much either so it keeps him in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Birdie on 5...so only 1 off the lead

And bogey again. All shots very expensive with such a bunched leaderboard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,776 ✭✭✭abff

Apologies if you thought I was being nasty. I just felt that your comment was having an unwarranted dig at the previous poster.

Really poor first 10 holes...down to T14....hopefully can make it into the top 10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,499 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Wheels coming off

• Registered Users Posts: 92 ✭✭The Aul Switcharoo

Very scruffy front nine. Looked very nervous on the first. Duffed an easy pitch on the first.

20ft for eagle on 11 to get back into it though

Into the water at 12, that's a pity. Oh well, first significant contention after injury so maybe no surprise. Doesn't help that Mitchell is having a stinker too, +6 today

Triple after dumping it in the drink

Needs to settle and try and make a few pars. Burning money and points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,945 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

If your game is a bit below normal on this course you pay a big price, very tough course if it's an off day.

Disaster....pity its fallen apart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,785 ✭✭✭Trampas

Seamie and Mitchell couldn’t get going to drag other one along

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭Dan Steely

Disappointing for Seamus.

Anyone know why Malnati got the drop on 16?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭Barnaboy

Finishing T26 playing in last group is going to hurt. Low quality field as well. But i suppose it was great that he got there in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,499 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

When do his exemptions last until?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,492 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

To the end of 2025. See 'Exempt status' at the end of the Bio section of his profile on the PGA Tour website....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭billy3sheets

Only won $60k out of the Valspar.😕

Malnati was standing on sprinkler so could move a club length away from nearest point of relief. He even said it was some break. Funny chap all the same

close this thread until after Sunday

Poor back 9 yesterday...hopefully can hold it together over the weekend..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,781 ✭✭✭Motivator

smashing round of golf from Seamus tonight, -5 for his round with only one dropped shot. He’s 4 behind but unfortunately he’s 4 behind Scheffler. A good round tomorrow and a top 5 finish would do wonders for his confidence and his season. Huge money on offer here with $800,000 for 5th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭The Big Easy

Good stuff from Seamus so far, but he'll need to shoot well into the 60s to hold onto a top 10, anything around level and he'll be run over.

He had a really bad last round when in contention earlier in the year. Hoping for a better one tonight, but he's obviously in better health and trending the right way, good chance to put himself in a great spot for the rest of the year tonight.

Good luck Seamus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭Barnaboy

Looks like you cursed him! +1 assuming he pars the last 12th place is very respectable.

Must be really annoying for him to come back later today to play half a hole!

Especially after the amount of money and fedex points he burnt near the end

I think the rain upset him. Coming from Waterford he wouldn't be used to it 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Doc07

ye the 2 back 9 bogeys cost him the guts of 200g but considering where he was a couple

Months ago, it’s a solid top 15 in an event that is the next most competitive outside of the majors and has all the top guys (except LIV) He’s back in the top 70 standings which he needs for the FedEx playoffs but a lot of work to do. The standard needed to maintain a high place on the PGA tour nowadays is insane

• Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭GolfPar

Projected 69th in the Fedex standings now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,421 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

70th in the Fedex standings. 107 in OWGR.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,192 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

107, wow, hadn't been tracking him, that's some drop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭coillcam

It's just like the WHS when a few big scores drop off the record. A run of shite results drops the bell curve in the wrong direction. The calculation runs over nearly 2 years and weighs recent results heavier, hence Aberg getting a huge jump from nowhere to top 10 very quickly (he's been exceptional tbf).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭mitchelsontour

You're forgetting that he has had an injury and just getting back in to the routine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭coillcam

Injury is the reason his form dropped off a cliff and ranking system doesn't take injuries into account. You'll see posts from myself and others last year where we suspected he was playing injured for some time ahead of the open. He had pulled out of the dunhill and we thought he'd miss the open but was able to tog out. The injury was later confirmed in an interview iirc.

Tbf he's had some bad luck with injuries. Hopefully a clean bill of health and he can kick on again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭paulos53

The top 100 in the world rankings after this weekend should get invites to the USPGA. Probably needs a top 15 to be in with a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,961 ✭✭✭blackwhite

I think the top 100 part is at the discretion of the PGA - depending on field size. It would be very unusual not to be invited once in the top 100 - but it's not guaranteed.

https://www.nbcsports.com/golf/news/how-players-qualify-for-the-pga-championship-eligibility-for-2024-at-valhalla-golf-club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭bigtimecharlie

Likely to miss the cut with -2 for 36 holes.

He's slipping away and need's a turn in fortunes.

• Registered Users Posts: 700 ✭✭✭bamayang

gave up 5 strokes on last 3 holes!

Awful awful finish.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭Dan Steely

What happened to Seamus over the final holes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing