Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Australians starting to see through the fiction!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,742 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

What?

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Not surprised. There's a lot of clowns out there pissing it up and another gang (travellers) going around scamming people out of loads of money. Our reputation is not good out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

What?

Ps: If your an alcoholic or heavy drinker!? you will not understand or have any empathy towards my post.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Ps: If your an alcoholic or heavy drinker!? you will not understand or have any empathy towards my post.

I am both but I do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,742 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Yeah my bad read the link and see where your coming from.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

Jesus. wrote: »
    I am both but I do

Well that's something(sorry to hear btw), so you know what I'm getting at, about young Irish lads treating emigration as a lonnnnnnnnng holiday of sorts :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,086 ✭✭✭duffman13

If you have a construction or medical background you can do well out there on a working holiday visa. The restrictions on the visa (max 6 months with one employer) is why employers advertise for permanent residents only (I've never seen a job advertised for Australians only) This restriction means a lot of people have to work in customer service jobs that the Australians don't want.

A lot of people got out there with a degree and no experience and expect to be given a great job when the reality is far different. That being said a customer service jobs (call centre work) can pay upwards of 27 dollars an hour. Also people on a working holiday visa are extremely unreliable.

duffman13 wrote: »
    If you have a construction or medical background you can do well out there on a working holiday visa. The restrictions on the visa (max 6 months with one employer) is why employers advertise for permanent residents only (I've never seen a job advertised for Australians only) This restriction means a lot of people have to work in customer service jobs that the Australians don't want.

A lot of people got out there with a degree and no experience and expect to be given a great job when the reality is far different. That being said a customer service jobs (call centre work) can pay upwards of 27 dollars an hour. Also people on a working holiday visa are extremely unreliable.

That's all well and good,, but going by what my contact is telling me 27$ an hour sounds like 'bread-line'. He gave me a run down of>>rent, groceries, clothing etc etc>>serious money..... Anyway I'm more interested in the psyche of the Irish when they move away from Mammy, apparently the girls are nothing to be proud of either!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover54

This makes no sense. Have you drink taken?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover54

Not surprised. There's a lot of clowns out there pissing it up and another gang (travellers) going around scamming people out of loads of money.

They deserve to be sentenced to a booting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,004 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Yeah it's everyone else's fault we can't understand you.

That's all well and good,, but going by what my contact is telling me 27$ an hour sounds like 'bread-line'. He gave me a run down of>>rent, groceries, clothing etc etc>>serious money..... Anyway I'm more interested in the psyche of the Irish when they move away from Mammy, apparently the girls are nothing to be proud of either!?

If someone is earning 850 dollars a week after tax feels they are on the breadline they are drinking too much. I lived 15 mins from Melbourne CBD, was paying 190 for a room, 60-100 a week for groceries, 40 for unlimited transport. Bills were included in my rent. I had half my wages left for entertainment or saving.

Even if I wanted just a one bedroom apartment just for me I'd still have 250 a week for myself, an apartment share makes way more financial sense though.

This makes no sense. Have you drink taken?

Ahhhh here we go, listen>>> would you ever go away and bury yourself in denial and let the adults worry about the Irish reputation abroad....

duffman13 wrote: »
    If someone is earning 850 dollars a week after tax feels they are on the breadline they are drinking too much. I lived 15 mins from Melbourne CBD, was paying 190 for a room, 60-100 a week for groceries, 40 for unlimited transport. Bills were included in my rent. I had half my wages left for entertainment or saving.

Even if I wanted just a one bedroom apartment just for me I'd still have 250 a week for myself, an apartment share makes way more financial sense though.

An apartment share.. Yeah sounds just like the 'apartments' in Kilburn North London back in the 80s lol.. Is that really a life :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

An apartment share.. Yeah sounds just like the 'apartments' in Kilburn North London back in the 80s lol.. Is that really a life :confused:

Except it's not. LINK

That's just around where I live in Brisbane. Complete slums right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

It's only for 6 months maximum though, not like you're going to raise a family in it.

People nowadays are too sensitive and too soft regarding living spaces etc, I remember living in places where the washing machine was the bathroom sink and a box of handwashing powder. That would never be acceptable today.

Except it's not. LINK

That's just around where I live in Brisbane. Complete slums right?

They're nice :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Advbrd

So from the article linked we have “we only hire Australians” followed further down by "they know that the Irish are the best workers”. That does not make sense.
    Not sure what the reference to "alcoholic or heavy drinker" is about. There is no reference to drink in the linked article apart from “They paint this picture of ‘it’s all cocktails and beaches’ but it’s really not". They could have just as easily said "its all milk and honey".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭brandnewaward

that documentary sounds like its gonna be a heap of ****e .the pic on the article where the two boys are standing was taken in the cross. no doubt there will be plenty of footage of the boys living it up in O Malleys , probably the scummiest pub in the southern hemisphere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Many Australians were racist? News to me...

Any apartment share, yeah there was 3 of us in a 3 bedroom apartment, two minute walk from a train station, the apartment is a new build. You seem to want to make a comparison to London which doesn't exist. Your contact is filling you full of **** by the sounds of it, get on the ground and have a look around and see for yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Not surprised. There's a lot of clowns out there pissing it up and another gang (travellers) going around scamming people out of loads of money. Our reputation is not good out there.

So Irish people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭Noo

Yeah because renting in Dublin is such value for money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

$27 an hour? Breadline? That's just north of $50,000 a year! What planet is this contact from? I was on less than that an buying fillet steak and lobster when the mood struck - and no, that is not hyperbolic! Fillet steak in Paddy's Market, and lobster from the fish market. You can get a decent steak or chicken parmesan dinner out most nights of the week for $10, with a side salad and mash or chips included - not just in dingy spots either, good places on Darling Harbour etc.

I was on min wage for most of it (sales job so I earned a good bit in commission on top but saved about 90% of that for when I came home). That was $21.82 a week, if I recall $770 over a 35 hour week, $660ish after tax. Rent and bills were about $220ish a week (they do weekly rent over there, not monthly) first in Surry Hills and then in a lovely place in Kingsford, both with two other roommates. The public transport pass covered all trains, buses and ferries, and if I recall cost about $40. Factor in phone credit, household items like bog roll, bin bags etc and I still had about $375 or so disposable income per week. Again, on min wage without even touching my commission!

If people want to go out on the cheap, there are places that do $2-3 drinks until late, and that usually extended to a good 2-3 beer brands, 2-3 wines, and 2-3 types of spirits. Cheap booze and usually (not always!) in dives granted, but the fact is you could go out somewhere decent for a steak dinner after work, then go for 4-5 drinks after, and not even go through one hour's worth of wages.

Food shopping is reasonably expensive there, but not obscene. I've been cooking for myself since I was about 6 so had an advantage, but I kept pushing it on people and still do - google is basically an infinitely huge cookbook, and you can eat very well on very little money in most places if you know how to cook for yourself, rather than eating out all the time or buying overpriced ready meals/frozen pizzas etc. You can make your own 9" cheese pizza for less than a dollar for example and top it off with whatever is in the fridge, or a big pot of bolognese for about $1-1.25 per portion and so on. But even for those too lazy for that, you have $375 a week to feed yourself on - that's about $75 a day when a steak dinner costs $10!!!

The people complaining about not having a penny to scratch together in Australia were a mix of those working part time only, those who insisted on going to the ultra expensive nightclubs 3-4 times a week every single week, people who loved to spend half the nights coked out of their brains or on pills

As for the Irish having a bad reputation over there or the psyche, I was sheepish as f*ck when I arrived and almost apologetic to them because of us having that reputation... almost every single Aussie was confused as nothing else about what the hell I was talking about? It's over blown self pitying nonsense by and large, spread by people who go to live in the likes of 'Irish/British backpacker ghettos' like Bondi or St. Kilda, insist on only going to Irish bars, only wind up hanging around with Irish people (and maybe the token Brit or two), typically working for Irish people, etc etc and basically do everything they can to ensure that they might as well have stayed at home and turned up the temperature. Then they turn around and say "the Aussies don't even want to know us!" and play the victim card. Also, Aussie employers tend to love Irish and British workers, we've got an excellent work ethic according to most of them.

Absolute bullsh*t, that is. I'm not joking when I say I had more bad run ins with Irish people giving out about me mixing with Aussies, than I did from Aussies giving me grief for being Irish - the latter of which happened to me exactly once. There was plenty of 'banter' bullsh*t but that's just how they are, it's very rare that it's coming from a bad place with them. Also Australian women absolutely live up their reputation of being stunning, and absolutely love the Irish accent. :D

In Canada I saw people struggling to make ends meet on their working holiday visas quite regularly, where prices are about the same but min wage is $11/hr. Australia (min wage $21.82)? Not a chance! Anyway sorry, I've gone off on a bit of a rant. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Advbrd

So, steak and lobster, cheap drinks, reasonable minimum wage, nice people, stunning women, sunshine etc.... sounds like a sh1thole to me.

that documentary sounds like its gonna be a heap of ****e .the pic on the article where the two boys are standing was taken in the cross. no doubt there will be plenty of footage of the boys living it up in O Malleys , probably the scummiest pub in the southern hemisphere.
    Trying to run through my mind... is there anywhere in the Cross that isn't horrific? :pac:

Feck though, this thread now has me missing Manly, The Rocks & Harry's Pies. :(

Billy86 wrote: »
    Trying to run through my mind... is there anywhere in the Cross that isn't horrific? :pac:

Feck though, this thread now has me missing Manly, The Rocks & Harry's Pies. :(

Harrys!!!!!

The cross is all but closed up now really.
    kings cross hotel and the sugarmill is still going but everything in between on that side of the road is gone

Advbrd wrote: »
    So, steak and lobster, cheap drinks, reasonable minimum wage, nice people, stunning women, sunshine etc.... sounds like a sh1thole to me.
    The steak and lobster was a serious find! :D

Paddy's Market is a massive food market in their CBD, very famous in Sydney. Thing is, it's closed Mon-Wed, so if you go on a Sunday you can get potatoes, tomatoes, etc at $1-2/kg, fruit at similar prices, fillet steak at $25 (and it's good stuff straight off the loin, not pre cut or anything)... and then down in the Sydney fish markets about a 20 min walk from there you can get all sorts of fish at incredibly low prices. If I recall, the lobsters were $4 each - small ones yeah, but not overly so.

Of course more Irish people would know this if they talked to the locals a bit more!! :p

Honestly though, both there and in Canada Irish people living abroad really can be incredibly insular.

Harrys!!!!!

The cross is all but closed up now really.
    kings cross hotel and the sugarmill is still going but everything in between on that side of the road is gone
    Wow really? Had no idea! I worked briefly at 100 William St (the Westfield sign between Hyde Park and the Coca Cola sign), can't say I'll miss much of those spots so good riddance.

But if you want the mightiest pie of them all, go to Hamlet's on the Manly corso. There are no words!! They also sell (or as of 2012, sold) them frozen to take home and pop in the oven when you want. I'd advise you to bring a suitcase. :D

yeah , i lived across the road for a bit on william street. working in the lord Roberts on Stanley street for the past 3 years part time. love that area.

cheers for the tip , Im well overdue a trip out to Manly soon...
    haha, must try and watch this documentary and see how BS it actually is , might be worth a giggle

yeah , i lived across the road for a bit on william street. working in the lord Roberts on Stanley street for the past 3 years part time. love that area.

cheers for the tip , Im well overdue a trip out to Manly soon...
    haha, must try and watch this documentary and see how BS it actually is , might be worth a giggle
    Apart from Kingsford, the other place I lived was right across the road from The Winery on Crown & Oxford street. Amazing place, though my first day walking to work past Stonewall and The Midnight Club was... interesting. Quite the ego boost though, because my god it turns out I'm popular with the gay crowd!! :pac:

First date tip - Shady Pines! Love that place. Randomly enough when I arrived in Canada and was staying in a backpackers (if you ever move to Toronto go to Planet Traveler if you're staying in a hostel at first, as good as Bounce or Wakeup) I wound up in the same room as an ex bartender there and a manager from Good God Small Club down on Liverpool Street. Small little world. :)

You can also get (or in 2012 could at least) Butler's chocolate at Thomas Dux right beside The Winery. Pricey, but as you know yourself even though they have to to stop it from melting, the chocolate in Australia is muck. A room mate of mine from around Paramatta freaked out completely because it started melting in his fingers, had to laugh at that one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

This is like one of those conversations you overhear on a bus :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I lived in Toronto and agree that the Irish can be very insular- in my case it was just that I found the Canadian sense of humour didn't generally mesh very well with my own and the Irish did. Don't get me wrong- I made many Canadian friends who I still speak to regularly.
    I definitely found that there was a sense of "we're away from Mammy so we can get away with anything!!" mentality with a lot of Irish I met there. I saw more coke in the year I was there than in the 27 years previous in Dublin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭Pete Moss

This is like one of those conversations you overhear on a bus :p

From a load of lads at the back, slugging cans of Stonehouse cider and making statements like "Australia?? Sure isn't that where Arnold Schwarzenegger's from??"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,570 ✭✭✭RandomName2

Sure going abstention! Today I'm understood having reading yous poster (posts) thinking though that the meaning your after having is implied by your language. Or well, the usage of it, at least.

I lived in Toronto and agree that the Irish can be very insular- in my case it was just that I found the Canadian sense of humour didn't generally mesh very well with my own and the Irish did. Don't get me wrong- I made many Canadian friends who I still speak to regularly.
    I definitely found that there was a sense of "we're away from Mammy so we can get away with anything!!" mentality with a lot of Irish I met there. I saw more coke in the year I was there than in the 27 years previous in Dublin!

Yeah I get what you mean there, I was around Kensington and the annex and found it less of an issue there but it still could be and was really bad in certain areas. Mainly in terms of turns of phrase.

Oh listen come here to me... No no, I didn't literally mean for you to wall fight over to me! :D

But yeah, a tonne of that mentality around and it was a bit of a pain in the arse frankly. Couple of places like mcveighs or around yonge/eg were particularly bad for it in my opinion.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭HensVassal

Yeah, 10 piss soaked mattresses on the floor (including the hall and jacks floor). You'd need to be hammered drunk to bear that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭HensVassal

$27 an hour? Breadline? That's just north of $50,000 a year! What planet is this contact from? I was on less than that an buying fillet steak and lobster when the mood struck - and no, that is not hyperbolic! Fillet steak in Paddy's Market, and lobster from the fish market. You can get a decent steak or chicken parmesan dinner out most nights of the week for $10, with a side salad and mash or chips included - not just in dingy spots either, good places on Darling Harbour etc.

I was on min wage for most of it (sales job so I earned a good bit in commission on top but saved about 90% of that for when I came home). That was $21.82 a week, if I recall $770 over a 35 hour week, $660ish after tax. Rent and bills were about $220ish a week (they do weekly rent over there, not monthly) first in Surry Hills and then in a lovely place in Kingsford, both with two other roommates. The public transport pass covered all trains, buses and ferries, and if I recall cost about $40. Factor in phone credit, household items like bog roll, bin bags etc and I still had about $375 or so disposable income per week. Again, on min wage without even touching my commission!

If people want to go out on the cheap, there are places that do $2-3 drinks until late, and that usually extended to a good 2-3 beer brands, 2-3 wines, and 2-3 types of spirits. Cheap booze and usually (not always!) in dives granted, but the fact is you could go out somewhere decent for a steak dinner after work, then go for 4-5 drinks after, and not even go through one hour's worth of wages.

Food shopping is reasonably expensive there, but not obscene. I've been cooking for myself since I was about 6 so had an advantage, but I kept pushing it on people and still do - google is basically an infinitely huge cookbook, and you can eat very well on very little money in most places if you know how to cook for yourself, rather than eating out all the time or buying overpriced ready meals/frozen pizzas etc. You can make your own 9" cheese pizza for less than a dollar for example and top it off with whatever is in the fridge, or a big pot of bolognese for about $1-1.25 per portion and so on. But even for those too lazy for that, you have $375 a week to feed yourself on - that's about $75 a day when a steak dinner costs $10!!!

The people complaining about not having a penny to scratch together in Australia were a mix of those working part time only, those who insisted on going to the ultra expensive nightclubs 3-4 times a week every single week, people who loved to spend half the nights coked out of their brains or on pills

As for the Irish having a bad reputation over there or the psyche, I was sheepish as f*ck when I arrived and almost apologetic to them because of us having that reputation... almost every single Aussie was confused as nothing else about what the hell I was talking about? It's over blown self pitying nonsense by and large, spread by people who go to live in the likes of 'Irish/British backpacker ghettos' like Bondi or St. Kilda, insist on only going to Irish bars, only wind up hanging around with Irish people (and maybe the token Brit or two), typically working for Irish people, etc etc and basically do everything they can to ensure that they might as well have stayed at home and turned up the temperature. Then they turn around and say "the Aussies don't even want to know us!" and play the victim card. Also, Aussie employers tend to love Irish and British workers, we've got an excellent work ethic according to most of them.

Absolute bullsh*t, that is. I'm not joking when I say I had more bad run ins with Irish people giving out about me mixing with Aussies, than I did from Aussies giving me grief for being Irish - the latter of which happened to me exactly once. There was plenty of 'banter' bullsh*t but that's just how they are, it's very rare that it's coming from a bad place with them. Also Australian women absolutely live up their reputation of being stunning, and absolutely love the Irish accent. :D

In Canada I saw people struggling to make ends meet on their working holiday visas quite regularly, where prices are about the same but min wage is $11/hr. Australia (min wage $21.82)? Not a chance! Anyway sorry, I've gone off on a bit of a rant. :o

Sounds pretty sweet in all honesty. How would an experienced computer engineer make out over there? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Good point, the amount of folk I've seen coming back from Oz for holidays/weddings/permanently with a bit of a runny nose was mad.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

but sure, everyone loves us...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭Timmyr

Having lived in Oz for quite a while, I can tell you that is not the reason most places only hire Aussies.

A lot of companies don't hire people non-permanent residents because they can only be employed for 6 months, and if they want to keep them after that the employer has to pay to "sponsor" the employee, which they can only do now after the prove your skill set cannot be sourced from within Australia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Irish people applying for jobs in Australia told 'we only hire Australians'
    That's racist, Irish lives matter!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭GeneralVanilla

philstar wrote: »
    but sure, everyone loves us...

Whot hippened te the hard drinkin aussies.

Stop cryin like a bunch a sheilas. For cripes sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

I think Ireland is great all the same.

Yeah I get what you mean there, I was around Kensington and the annex and found it less of an issue there but it still could be and was really bad in certain areas. Mainly in terms of turns of phrase.

Oh listen come here to me... No no, I didn't literally mean for you to wall fight over to me! :D

But yeah, a tonne of that mentality around and it was a bit of a pain in the arse frankly. Couple of places like mcveighs or around yonge/eg were particularly bad for it in my opinion.
    Yonge/Eg is notoriously populated by Paddies. I never really strayed up that way if I could avoid it tbh- I lived at College and Bathurst, in a gaff with 8 other Irish people. Don't judge me, it was very cheap and a brilliant location.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 861 ✭✭✭MeatTwoVeg

Billy86 wrote:
    Of course more Irish people would know this if they talked to the locals a bit more!!

Well maybe if the locals actually made the effort to go to Bondi Junction occasionally we might.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,727 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

That's all well and good,, but going by what my contact is telling me 27$ an hour sounds like 'bread-line'. He gave me a run down of>>rent, groceries, clothing etc etc>>serious money.....
    It depends, minimum wage is considerably less than $27p/h so it's not inconsiderable.
    Anyway I'm more interested in the psyche of the Irish when they move away from Mammy, apparently the girls are nothing to be proud of either!?

Are you interested in the psyche of emigrants? It doesn't come across in your post. Wouldn't it be a good start to ask about it rather that rant about it?

What are you most interested in about the psyche of Irish emigrants?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

MeatTwoVeg wrote: »
    Well maybe if the locals actually made the effort to go to Bondi Junction occasionally we might.
    Bondi Jct is actually a pretty dead spot at night. Compared to other areas (Kings X or suburbs out west) of the city the trouble you encounter there is trivial.

The only reason it makes news is because a lot of the bordering Eastern Suburbs are fairly affluent areas are the folks there are worried about the price of their property falling due to backpackers coming in.

The problem the Australian government has is that they NEED backpackers/WHVers to be spending the money they earn, going out and partying, not saving it for when they move onto NZ/SE Asia/Rest of World. Otherwise the scheme doesn't make any financial sense.

Yonge/Eg is notoriously populated by Paddies. I never really strayed up that way if I could avoid it tbh- I lived at College and Bathurst, in a gaff with 8 other Irish people. Don't judge me, it was very cheap and a brilliant location.

You lived on college and Bathurst? Ha, I lived on bellevue right beside the little church with the F***ING CREEPY BEGGAR STATUE OUTSIDE! If you never got burgernator, sneakys or rasta pasta, you're a fool good sir! :D

I hated that statue!! It freaked me the f**k out the first time I saw it! And yes, I lived right opposite Sneaks so frequented it often!