Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Connacht v Ulster - The Big One

• Registered Users Posts: 17,075 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

Very disorganised performance from Ulster, and they gave away way too many penalties.

• Administrators Posts: 53,562 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Best team won, fair play to Connacht.

Ulster, away and have a word with yourselves. Disgraceful for most of that mtach.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,950 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Ulster really do have a mediocre pack.

Will never win anything because of it.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Craiger.........

Is Henderson injured? Had a quiet night and really struggled to make an impact, Best also - bit anonymous.

Some positives for both sides, good to see Connacht get that spark back.

Aki got through a mountain of hard work at the breakdown. Big improvement from him.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,745 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Ulster couldn't stop shooting themselves in the foot in that one. How many times did they get into a scoring position only to cough up silly penalties? Some of their tackling was embarrassing as well. Ulster pack was pretty average. Definitely confirms for me that the recruitment of Piutau ahead of a quality forward was stupid business.

• Registered Users Posts: 166 ✭✭xavier8228

Stick that in your pipe Neil Francis!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Great game and well deserved victory for Connacht.

Black - rubbish
    Best - rubbish
    Ah You - rubbish
    Diack - rubbish
    Browne - dire
    Henderson - rubbish
    Ross - rubbish
    Wilson - rubbish
    Marshall - dire
    Jackson - rubbish
    Gilroy - rubbish
    Cave - meh
    Ludik - meh
    Bowe - meh
    Payne - meh

lol. Browne was possibly your best player.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,965 ✭✭✭connachta

flogthebog wrote: »
    who is this payne guy anyway? :-). must not be playing tonight but heard great things about him :-)
    Someone who was offered a central contract to stay in his adoptive province, just like Aki next year! :)

lol. Browne was possibly your best player.
    He was pretty terrible.

BBC saying no one will come out of the Ulster dressing room o talk to them!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

What size of a bra was Henderson wearing?

• Registered Users Posts: 184 ✭✭Redsock

Well done Connacht. Best team won. That said you were playing a largely AIL quality pack.

• Subscribers Posts: 41,294 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Good result for leinster ;)

Ferris really laying in to the Ulster forwards.....unacceptable tonight he says.......he's right.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,798 ✭✭✭LostArt

Enjoyed that game, well done Connacht

• Registered Users Posts: 24,745 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

vienne86 wrote: »
    Ferris really laying in to the Ulster forwards.....unacceptable tonight he says.......he's right.

Also saying a forward pass should have been referred to the TMO for foul play.

After their respective performances you would have to have Dillane ahead of Henderson at the moment.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,438 ✭✭✭launish116

Ulster just have no bite, its seriously depressing with our backs.
    Even more worrying are best baller carry is back, mcloskey is going to miss Europe gonna be a long few weeks!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 259 ✭✭flogthebog

apparently this payne guy scored (just bet on a whim with him) so I ended up the right side of things. toh was an utter disappointment to my financial gain. otherwise a feckin good fullback. just wish he scored tries rather than setting everybody else up for touch downs. it was a big question about the game as if it would be payne or toh for Ireland at fullback. that was sorted tonight. payne is a centre

After their respective performances you would have to have Dillane ahead of Henderson at the moment.
    Provincial form is irrelevant apparently.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

Blade, Heffernan and the all of the back 3 were huge tonight. Delighted with the win. Can't help but wonder why Kiss decided to rest Pienaar tonight, Marshall was pretty poor. Fingers crossed he's vindicated with a good start to Europe over the next 2 weeks.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,438 ✭✭✭launish116

Can't agree! Henderson may of been quiet but he put himself about and put in a massive defensive shift.
    Dillane was on the wing for most of the match.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,950 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Payne is the best full.back in the country as evidenced by his displays against South Africa. Isn't in too form right now by the looks of it. ToH is a very capable understudy. Unless Kearney hits too fork right away he really shouldn't be in the 23 for the November internationals.

awec wrote: »
    Provincial form is irrelevant apparently.

Yup, Henderson has delivered at international level and that counts for a lot.

But I really thought he had a very poor game tonight to the point that I wonder is he carrying a knock.

Bazzo wrote: »
    Blade, Heffernan and the all of the back 3 were huge tonight. Delighted with the win.

Who could have predicted, with their barely average opening 3 games, that Blade, Heffernan and Kelleher would be the standout players of a quite high-standard game???

7 tries , BP win for my team, and I can't help but remember AhYou making a one hand pass after breaking the tackles. Sparkle of genious from nowhere when you're used to watch "no hands" Rodney

• Registered Users Posts: 7,811 ✭✭✭Tigerandahalf

Great game to watch. Very impressed with Blade tonight. Great passing and always asking questions of the fringe defence.

The connacht players' handling skills are superb and their style of play is a joy to watch. The outhalves hardly kicked the ball.

That Ulster pack are going to really struggle this year. Very poor tonight. Poor recruitment could end their season early. I can't see that pack going far in Europe.