Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liveline thread 28/09/16 to date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

no mention of Duffys return

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

no mention of Duffys return

out all week I reckon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭iamnotme

out all week I reckon

He hasn't had his main holiday yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭TheHomeService

iamnotme wrote: »
    He hasn't had his main holiday yet.

But here was here all summer*!

* He was on his hoop!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Any idea where Duffy is today. If I didnt know better I would think that himself and Marion Finucane are setting up an alternative station themselves.
    Aine said Marian is back next week. I didn't hear it myself, Joe, but the wife did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Just reading the thread as I couldn't listen to the show. Rather than engage is a forensic analysis and criticism of what I read I'll just sum it up in four letters: WTAF?

Really wish we'd kept up the holiday counter on Duffy. Would make for a very interesting and more accurate take on his fees per week when the figures are released compared to weeks worked rather than dividing by 52 or 48 (to allow him "just" 4 weeks holidays) like we currently do. Given the current calculation is around €8,600 per week (based on a 52 week calendar) I'd imagine by the time he finishes this year the fees will have increased to somewhere around the €450,000 mark and he'll on current pace have worked around 38 weeks.....that's almost €11,850 per week. Not bad for 6 hours and 15 minutes "work" (incl. breakeens) per week.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Just reading the thread as I couldn't listen to the show. Rather than engage is a forensic analysis and criticism of what I read I'll just sum it up in four letters: WTAF?
    Really wish we'd kept up the holiday counter on Duffy. Would make for a very interesting and more accurate take on his fees per week when the figures are released compared to weeks worked rather than dividing by 52 or 48 (to allow him "just" 4 weeks holidays) like we currently do. ......
    Well you could always go through the Lahvline threads since January and tot it up on your abacus.

Today's output was crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,965 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

New Year's Resolution (yes, I know, I know it's not even hallowe'en yet) for Da Lahvline thread - start a Joe's Days Off Counter.

I might even offer to do it myself, if I didn't occasionally throw a strop and go into self-imposed exile for weeks on end (if ONLY I could keep it up permanently :o)

Wasn't able to listen today either - what was that really boring bit in the middle that had ye all passing out???

I'm amazed that JoeFilup didn't cover the tragic death of Anthony Foley (mind you, Joe probably would have - or Bob Dylan, whom I'm thoroughly sick of by now so much have I heard of him and his music on the airwaves since winning his gong (fair play to him btw).

snubbleste wrote: »
    Well you could always go through the Lahvline threads since January and tot it up on your abacus.

Today's output was crap.

I've an A in honours maths behind me but not sure I'd have the stomach to tackle that one!

For clarification, that's not a thinly veiled "I got an A in honours maths" post; but I have s related question:

Guess to the nearest thousand how many "well done's" I'd get from Joe for that?

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    New Year's Resolution (yes, I know, I know it's not even hallowe'en yet) for Da Lahvline thread - start a Joe's Days Off Counter.

I might even offer to do it myself, if I didn't occasionally throw a strop and go into self-imposed exile for weeks on end (if ONLY I could keep it up permanently :o)

Wasn't able to listen today either - what was that really boring bit in the middle that had ye all passing out???

I'm amazed that JoeFilup didn't cover the tragic death of Anthony Foley (mind you, Joe probably would have - or Bob Dylan, whom I'm thoroughly sick of by now so much have I heard of him and his music on the airwaves since winning his gong (fair play to him btw).

I started one last Jan. and from memory left Snubbs in charge of it when I had to vacate the thread for a while (ban I think....;) ) so I'm blaming her for ahem, failing to keep it up....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,965 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

I started one last Jan. and from memory left Snubbs in charge of it when I had to vacate the thread for a while (ban I think....;) ) so I'm blaming her for ahem, failing to keep it up....
    Snubbs is a "her"??? :eek::eek::eek:

My world has just jolted on its axis......

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Snubbs is a "her"??? :eek::eek::eek:

My world has just jolted on its axis......

Yes, it's true.

Dare's wimmin on d'interweb now so to speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,112 ✭✭✭Hitchens

That 'find me father' effort today was really edge of the seat stuff. Peter seems to have been great oul character in the days of the Raj. :)

On days when I miss the show I occasionally listen back whilst walking the dogs at night. After reading the thread yesterday I simply couldn't be arsed.

Is the full-time host doing the show today, or is it Joe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Was there an apology yesterday?

You missed nothing.

I didn't hear whether he's in for the forthnight or not.

foggy_lad wrote: »
    Was there an apology yesterday?
    No. I listened for it at the start. I gradually drifted away as the show went on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,555 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Aonghus McNally on with Anton Savage now, promoting the new touring Christy Hennessey show so to speak.

The focking meeja in Ireland is a circle jerk (off) where if you scratch my back, I'll scratch yours promote my buke/concert/album/whatever, I'll promote yours so to speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,555 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Joe will be wanting Aonghus to be making him a new jingle for the show now....

https://twitter.com/AntonSavageShow/status/788334967386476545

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

I want to subscribe to this thread but I want to pay the lower sterling charge and not the paddy-tax Euro charge Joe PBH, please listen and try to stay awayke like our Joe always dose. AND nun of yer auld GUFF!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,112 ✭✭✭Hitchens

'We should leave EU on same day as British' - Gay Byrne backs Irish EU exit if Brexit happens

Would his former valet agree?

Joe will be wanting Aonghus to be making him a new jingle for the show now....

https://twitter.com/AntonSavageShow/status/788334967386476545

Well I've been waiting for someone to record this festive rental market number I put together on the thread last year. He could have a go at this. Joe would love it so to speak:

Rushing through my show,
    For eight grand a day,
    Store my cash at home,
    Laughing all the way,

Listen to caller’s pleas,
    Pretending that I care
    I’m in it for me fees
    ‘cos I’m a millionaire

Oh,

Rent increase, Rent increase,
    Increases all the way,
    Oh what fun is it to drive,
    My Jag to Clontarf bay.

Rent increase, Rent increase,
    Increases all the way,
    Oh what fun is it to drive,
    My Jag to Clontarf bay.

Won't be in today so to speak.....hope it's better than yesterday's show for those of you who listen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Hitchens wrote: »
    'We should leave EU on same day as British' - Gay Byrne backs Irish EU exit if Brexit happens

Would his former valet agree?

Byrne hates the EU with a passion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

How do I join?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭A Shaved Duck?

Perception of crime?...what the absolute ****k is PBH on about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭A Shaved Duck?

Byrne hates the EU with a passion

I tell you what when i want an opinion on the EU im certainly not gonna be taking it from gay "i lost my pension so get a handy nixer or two from Rte" byrne!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭TheHomeService

I'm bored already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Jesus ,another hour of ' good lords ' , middle class outrage , goordai and jolly hockey sticks with PBH .