Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

What time do you get up at the weekend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,662 ✭✭✭Milly33

I like that article.. So question too for the night owls and early birds. were ye always the same.. I know from a young age i was always a night owl, could not sleep when going to bed. Even now going to bed i could not sleep straight away i would have to read or do something....If i went for 40 winks during they day then thats it sleep at night was a no go...I tried everything but nothing works I think ive just admitted to myself now im a night owl and thats that. Only thin annoying is nothing is open late

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭cazzer22

I love a Saturday sleep in, I'm a divil for it. I could be in bed until 12 ish and usually go to bed around 12:30-1am. Sundays are relatively the same and we usually go for brunch so might get up a little earlier. I tried and do a bit of batch cooking on Sundays and listen to music. There's also PLENTY of time for coffee over the weekend. I love a good coffee date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,209 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Milly33 wrote: »
    I like that article.. So question too for the night owls and early birds. were ye always the same.. I know from a young age i was always a night owl, could not sleep when going to bed. Even now going to bed i could not sleep straight away i would have to read or do something....If i went for 40 winks during they day then thats it sleep at night was a no go...I tried everything but nothing works I think ive just admitted to myself now im a night owl and thats that. Only thin annoying is nothing is open late

Definitely haven't always been an early bird. Given the right conditions, I could easily revert to being a night owl. I was good at getting up in secondary school and would get about 7 hours sleep. I did no exercise in college, I didn't eat well and as a result I ended up struggling massively with getting up in the morning!

I have found that regular fresh air (I work outside) and a good diet has turned my sleep around. I average 8.5 to 9 hours sleep. I go to bed at 10.30, usually asleep by 11.30 and up at around 8.30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

The concept of early birds and night owls is gaining huge attention in biological research where they are trying to assess the impact of the circadian rhythm in how people fight infection. Some incredible results!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭GuessWhoEh

The last couple of months, my weekends tend to be me waking up between 8:30-10. Any time after 10 is a late morning for me. I get up, potter about, do washing etc then ask around who's doing what for the day so I can try and be out and about all day. If no one is doing anything, or people are working, then its relaxing day for me. Reading, catching up on shows or visiting grandparents and relatives just to pass time. I try and take it easy on the weekends. I hardly drink. Not much of a drinker so I night out for me is usually an occasion for someone else. I've been spending some weekends going to Bray or Howth and going for a little walks. It helps clear the head.

I've noticed a strange kind of attitude among some women when it comes to the time you get up at on days off. They are usually the same ones who say "Oh I could never eat a whole pizza! Would you not feel sick"! Or, "You drink by yourself"?! "I could never do that".
    When it comes to sleep it tends to be "8 am is a lie in for me. I'd feel so lazy and missing out on the day if I was to do what you do".

Fück off.

Sometimes I'll stay in bed the whole day. Other days I'll get up at noon or 10am. I'm in bed right now in fact. Alas I have things to do so will get up. Soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭intheclouds

When it comes to sleep it tends to be "8 am is a lie in for me. I'd feel so lazy and missing out on the day if I was to do what you do".

Really?

I LIKE feeling lazy and missing out on the day from time to time!

Actually, I like to do the extra sleeping on the other side of it sometimes and am proud to say I occasionally go to bed at 8 so I can have a big long sleep! Waste a whole evening I do!

But for me its usually about the sweet spot - too little sleep I feel crap, too much I feel crap.

I also enjoy early morning as my favourite part of the day so I like to arrange my sleeping so that I am up and about during that time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Although I get up early every day now, I don't see what's wrong with getting up late. How is it a waste getting up at midday? It means you're doing what you want with your time off - hardly a waste if you're doing what you want!

I used to be a late riser, I'd go to sleep between 3-5am and get up around 10-11am. Early nights and early mornings suit me better but that doesn't mean they're better in general. Sometimes I'd kill to be able to sleep til midday!

I've been up since 7am today, my boyfriend has a day off and is still asleep, fair play to him!

I've noticed a strange kind of attitude among some women when it comes to the time you get up at on days off. They are usually the same ones who say "Oh I could never eat a whole pizza! Would you not feel sick"! Or, "You drink by yourself"?! "I could never do that".

Fück off.

Sometimes I'll stay in bed the whole day. Other days I'll get up at noon or 10am. I'm in bed right now in fact. Alas I have things to do so will get up. Soon.

There's nothing wrong with being up early, or not being a drinker or anything like that. Just as there's nothing wrong with liking a lie-in.

People are as entitled to like being up early as they are to stay in bed all day, nobody needs to label anyone in an unflattering light or make assumptions about the kind of person they are.

People are different and allowed to say they are whether they're night owls or early birds, each has it's drawbacks and benefits.

That's like me saying that late risers tend to be lazy, or get nothing done. It's not true and just a lazy judgement.

Candie wrote: »
    There's nothing wrong with being up early, or not being a drinker or anything like that. Just as there's nothing wrong with liking a lie-in.

People are as entitled to like being up early as they are to stay in bed all day, nobody needs to label anyone in an unflattering light or make assumptions about the kind of person they are.

People are different and allowed to say they are whether they're night owls or early birds, each has it's drawbacks and benefits.

That's like me saying that late risers tend to be lazy, or get nothing done. It's not true and just a lazy judgement.

No you've picked me up wrong. There is absolutely nothing wrong with it. It's when some people actually look down at me by saying similar to what I posted that I have the problem with.

People who look down on anyone are best avoided in general. Nobody likes passive-aggressive digs about anything, never mind anything as trivial as sleeping in or what you eat.

Exactly. Two of those people were friends of mine once. There were lots of odd little comments they would make from time to time.
    We don't talk anymore :)

You're better off. I've cut someone out recently but unfortunately it's a case of running into her fairly often and while I'm perfectly civil, I still get the little one-upping digs. It's so childish and says much about her.

Anyway, back on topic, I've watched my cousin sleep 14 or 15 hours in a row after a long shift. I've hoovered the floor around him and he hasn't budged. I would dearly love to sleep as deeply as that, but I'm cursed with very light sleeping patterns and once I'm awake, I can't get back to sleep. My early rising is a result of me trying to make the best of a bad, bad deal.

I'm my own worst enemy though, because I do love a snoozie during the day if I get the chance. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,519 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

I'm my own worst enemy though, because I do love a snoozie during the day if I get the chance. :)
    Love a nap on the couch, it's so refreshing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭Gunslinger92

Definitely early, was out til after 4am on Saturday and I woke at half 8 :(:( Disgusting! When I was a teenager I would sleep til noon or 1pm no problem, nowadays that only happens after a night out plus being tired regardless of the night out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

Sunny Dayz wrote: »
    Love a nap on the couch, it's so refreshing!
    I had a nap on Sunday and it was incredible. No regrets.

You're better off. I've cut someone out recently but unfortunately it's a case of running into her fairly often and while I'm perfectly civil, I still get the little one-upping digs. It's so childish and says much about her.

Anyway, back on topic, I've watched my cousin sleep 14 or 15 hours in a row after a long shift. I've hoovered the floor around him and he hasn't budged. I would dearly love to sleep as deeply as that, but I'm cursed with very light sleeping patterns and once I'm awake, I can't get back to sleep. My early rising is a result of me trying to make the best of a bad, bad deal.

There is always one or in my case five :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I can't sleep in front of TV. Exception would be if I was up 48 hours straight or something. Naps on couch are out and even in bed I am only able to have one sometimes in the morning never in the afternoon.

Nowadays I have to be very disciplined about sleep and go to bed early enough not to be tired next morning. It's not that I am particularly enthusiastic about doing stuff and being busy it's just that I have no choice. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

I've never been able to lie-in. Before kids, 10am would be very late for me to get out of bed (but like Malari said, I'd have no trouble lounging around all day!).
    Unfortunately, my 4 year old seems to have inherited my early riser gene, he's awake between 6 and 7 every morning (my 5 month old actually wakes up later than him).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭Deise_vixen

Real mixed bag for me. If I have a lot on a particular weekend or if I'm meeting a friend for an early gym class then I can be up early and out of the bed early no problem. However if it's been a long week in work then it's a different story. I'd usually stay up late watching crap tv and plan a lie-in. I might have to get out of bed for a pee at 8 or 9am (that craic only started since I turned 40), but I use that as a tester. If I'm still tired it's back to bed, if I fell semi-human then I'd probably start reading or switch the telly on and climb out an hour later.

Have to admit that I do actually plan to spend some Sunday's in bed though, especially if there is rain forecast. I would actually get up, go get the papers, make tea and then get back into bed for another doze and to read the papers for a few hours. My bed is my chill out zone (can you tell that I'm single with no kids :D ).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭chuckles30

I love my Saturday lie-ins which have been very scarce recently :(

Don't get me wrong, I will normally wake between 7 & 8 (my weekday time), but I just love that Saturday feeling where I can go back to sleep. If I have nothing on or no one disturbs me, it would be about 11 when I finally drag myself out of it. Saturday tends to be my housework day.

Sundays (if I'm at home, but doesn't happen too often) would be similar time frame, but after breakfast, my ideal Sunday is to move to couch and veg in front of the tv and catch up on my sky+ recordings.

I am a night owl and always have been - it's always after midnight when I even think about going to bed. I'm a big fan of my forty winks on the sofa when I get in from work though. For the record, 40 year old single lady here ;)