Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What time do you get up at the weekend?

• 08-08-2016 7:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭

I was chatting with 2 friends at the weekend and the topic of what time we get up at the weekends came up.

One of the girls is up on Saturday & Sunday by 8am at the latest even if she is out really late the night before. Wants to make the most of the weekend. Would have all the chores done by 10am and them out and about for the day and unless it is a big night out would be in bed by midnight. Married, they would go walking, play golf, meet friends, head for a coffee, go for dinner, the pub but pretty much have something planned for all weekend

The other girl it is lunch time or later, could even be 2pm when she finally does decide to get up. She is married and her husband also would be a late riser but would be up, showered and ready by 11am. They would go out on a Saturday night to the cinema, pub or for dinner but home by midnight but wouldn't go to bed until 3am or after on a Friday or Saturday night. Watching tv mainly. She says she has to get up during the week so enjoys just sleeping in and when she wakes reading or messing on her phone. Her husband is starting to get a bit fed up of it but she says she isn't stopping him going off and doing whatever he wants. It is tending to cause a few rows now. It is also a pain trying to catch up with her as she doesn't want to meet before late afternoon on a Saturday.

Both ladies work full tine in demanding roles, married, early 40's and have no kids.

So I was just wondering what time Do the ladies of the Ladies Lounge get up at the weekend. I tend to want to make the most of my weekend but can't claim to be up by 8am more like 10am and in bed around 1-1.30am. Saturday get the house work done, get ready and go for lunch with my husband. Maybe meet a friend for a coffee in the afternoon. Go out a couple of Saturday nights a month for dinner or drinks, if not watch a movie and have a bottle of wine or have friends over for dinner. Sunday nice brunch, try to get a walk in or go see someplace , have a coffee after. Either home to cook dinner or have dinner out or get a take away. would be home around 9pm and watch tv for a while.

So what time do you get up at the weekend and what do you do? I have no desire to get up at the crack of dawn nor lie in bed all day. I think I would be depressed if I did that.

Thinking of couples or singles really as if you have kids then you are more than likely to have to get up anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

I'm usually awake by 10-10.30 but will often hang out with in bed with my partner and the cat for a while, just reading and chatting really. My OH often does her own hobby early on Saturdays so i tend to lounge happily with the place to myself. :) Every now and again I like to snooze until midday but it's getting less and less often these days. I don't want to miss the whole weekend.

Then usually it's some housework and grocery shopping. Don't usually go out much anymore, maybe around to friends or have people over for board games or something. Maybe go to the cinema (usually on the Sunday though there's 2 for €10 tickets Sunday- Thursday in our local cinema, I'm not paying the full whack for the pleasure of dealing with crowds on a Saturday!)

We've recently bought a house and are planning our wedding so a lot of our time is spent doing home improvements or wedding research.

Nearly always quiet on the weekends. I like it like that if I'm honest. I don't like pubs and most of my socialising is done at ticketed events or birthdays or something.

We're mid-30's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Roesy

Pre kids maybe 10/10.30. If I woke early I'd get up and have something to eat before going back to bed. The odd day I would have stayed in bed until 11/11.30 reading. My husband would have been up at 8/8.30 most of the the time. Our babies are young so 7.30 is the stuff of dreams on a weekend but we tend to take turns to alternate having a lie in which would usually be until about 9.30/10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Around 8.30. He's always meeting someone for training and I'll go cycling for a couple of hours too. I don't do a second sleep! Once I'm awake I'm awake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

I work about one weekend a month and find it's got me in a routine of getting up early regardless of whether I'm in the office or not. My body will naturally wake at about 6.30am and I'll lie in until 8 or 9 and then up and ready to go.

I do love a sleep-in, but it's taken me about a lifetime to knock the night-owl out of me and be in bed by a decent hour, and that tends to prevent me from lying in all day. Also the memories of my mother yelling at me to get up and "not to waste the day" when I was a teenager :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Anywhere between 5 and 8 - 4 month olds have no concept of "weekend"! I find it hard to get back asleep if he feeds after sunrise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,974 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Anywhere between 8 and 10. I'm either in the gym or coaching soccer on saturday mornings so I still have an alarm set. Sunday is no alarm day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

About 8. It feels like a lie in because during the week I'm up at 6. I like being up, getting out with the dog early and then coming back for a lazy breakfast. I'd be really annoyed with myself if I was up later than that. I'd feel I'd wasted my morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

Myself and my husband take turns getting up with the toddler on weekends. We'd usually lie in til around half 9 on those days. I get impatient after that and have to get up!

I'm up around 5 and running or swimming during the week, so 7 is a lie-in for me. I still go running or swimming at weekends. After that, Saturday mornings are for housework and laundry, and Sunday mornings for sorting out work for the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Between 8 and 10. It depends how early kids wake up and how tired OH and I are. Usually I go out for a run and I make pancakes for breakfast on Saturday but after that we could be doing anything. I need my sleep but if I sleep too long I get headache so wouldn't roll around the bed till 2 anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,190 ✭✭✭✭sammyjo90

Just in case all the lazy people are too afraid to post. I am 26,childless,boyfriendless and if I have nothing on I will stay in bed till...dare I say it. 12. Could even be later.

If I have nothing on there is nothing I like better to do than keep rolling over and going back to sleep. Then I will make a slap up brunch for myself and more than likely spend the rest of the weekend cooking and cleaning.

Oh I can be lazy and become the couch for the rest of the day, but I can't lounge around in bed ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭AppleBottle

I tend to wake up early enough. Usually between 8:30-9:30 is the usual time. But this is a lie in for me as I'm up at 6am on weekdays. Most weekends I'm of the opinion that I don't want to waste the weekend - I like to do something, even if it's going out for an hour to the shop. Then other weekends I'm totally up for saying in my jammies from Friday evening until Monday morning, but would still wake up around the same time.

There are times where I will be so knackered that I will sleep in later than 8:30-9:30.

I'm in my mid 20s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭Loveinapril

I have always worked most weekends (shift work) so my days off have always been different. I just started a new job so will have weekends off for the first time in my life. I can't wait to see what that's like! I am a natural early bird though, on my days off I am usually up by 9.30am. My husband could easily sleep until lunch time but he likes to stay up later than me too.
    Malari wrote: »
    Oh I can be lazy and become the couch for the rest of the day, but I can't lounge around in bed ;-)

I am like this too. Once I wake up, that's me up for the day... but I am more than happy to stay in pjs and weld myself to the sofa for the day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Usually between 7 and 8am. My body doesn't seem to allow me to sleep any later, even after nights out. Very occasionally (I think it's been twice in six months), I'll sleep til 9-10am. I'd love to be able to sleep later, himself sleeps til midday or sometimes even later on his days off :pac:

I am like this too. Once I wake up, that's me up for the day... but I am more than happy to stay in pjs and weld myself to the sofa for the day!

Ah, this is a no-no for me as well. PJs are for bed only :D I need to get up and shower and dress, even if I'm planning on lounging around for the day.

Malari wrote: »
    Ah, this is a no-no for me as well. PJs are for bed only :D I need to get up and shower and dress, even if I'm planning on lounging around for the day.

You don't have PJ days?! :eek: If I'm not going anywhere for the day, I'll shower and all that, but it's pyjamas and a dressing gown all day :pac:

No, not really. Only if I'm sick!

My PJs consist of OH's old t shirts (one has a skull that glows in the dark - I 'm 38) and underpants. It probably isn't exactly respectable enough outfit to wear during the day.

Anyway I think sleeping habits change with time and also obligations you have - work, children and similar. One of my favorite things when away from kids overnight is to go for a hotel breakfast and then get the newspapers and go back for a bit of lie in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

We are a married couple with an 11 y/o boy, both work Mon-Fri 9-5/6. Cos we know we are off work every weekend we can plan well in advance for our weekends. As a result we tend to get pretty booked up, we try to squeeze in as mush as we can into our weekends and would rarely have a weekend of doing nothing or going nowhere.

A weekend at home though would see alarm set on Saturday for 8, be up by 8.30 to get ready to go to parkrun. After that it's out for breakfast then whatever else we have planned for the day.

Sunday is when we try to get a lie in if there's nothing on. Would probably wake about 8.30 or 9, might laze in bed for an hour on the phone or reading a book. The child is at the age now where he will lie on in bed with the tablet or he'll get up and curl up infront of the playstation eating all the breakfast cereal! A few times a year we marshal at motorsport events so that's an early start, we could be up at 6am.

I'm often pretty tired going into work on Monday mornings, I keep saying I'll take it easy next weekend but that ends up not happening. I wouldn't be a late to bed person. During the week it's about 11. At weekends I'm lucky to be still awake by midnight!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭intheclouds

The ideal weekend for me is up before 8am on Saturday and out for a walk/hike/exercise for an hour or so. Then home to a nice brekkie and out of the house by 11am to do the weekly shopping. Back for some chores and study and then either get dinner ready and have some drinks and a movie at home or get ready to go out.

Sunday - if I havent been out, awake around 9ish, up by 10 for sure (later if Ive been out) - brekkie, chores, study, and then the long sunday cookout where I prepare meals for during the week and lunches and things plus the sunday roast. I like to treat myself to a couple of drinks at the end of this and then have dinner and flake out for the evening.

If left to my own devices I could sleep til noon but I find I feel a bit brain damaged if I sleep too long so I try to avoid it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,843 ✭✭✭SarahMollie

If we've nothing on I'd say its typically around 10-11am. Like to get up and make a cooked breakfast, typically egg, banana and oat pancakes on Sat and a (lean) bacon and egg sandwich on Sundays. Makes a nice change from cereal/porridge drudgery during the week.

Sometimes its earlier for me because I'd often schedule appointments early on a Sat, like hair, nails etc as I'd be keen not to have them interrupting my day.

I do like to book activities for us to do, be that meals with friends, or even just stealing my parents puppy and going to the park. Its nice to get out and about. When I was single I probably would have spent all my time shopping at the weekends but now thats a total no-no, which is probably for the best really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,658 ✭✭✭Milly33

Thank god Malari!! Jes ye ladies are all up very early.. While i sit here in my PJ's typing... I would say defo the weekend is for sleepy time.. I am a night owl always have been so come Saturday it is a sleep in normally 12 ish but getting older now and have been waking up around 10.30.. Get up then have brekkie, do a few bits washing, cleaning..I may not change out of the PJs until i am going anywhere..

If we have something on great we will head out, but mostly we love to take the dog to the beach or something see, what is washed up..Then maybe a good movie bottle of vino nice dinner later..Sorted then Sunday more or less the same..Would be newly married no kids

Milly33 wrote: »
    Thank god Malari!! Jes ye ladies are all up very early.. While i sit here in my PJ's typing... I would say defo the weekend is for sleepy time.. I am a night owl always have been so come Saturday it is a sleep in normally 12 ish but getting older now and have been waking up around 10.30.. Get up then have brekkie, do a few bits washing, cleaning..I may not change out of the PJs until i am going anywhere..

If we have something on great we will head out, but mostly we love to take the dog to the beach or something see, what is washed up..Then maybe a good movie bottle of vino nice dinner later..Sorted then Sunday more or less the same..Would be newly married no kids

Thank god Malari what!? :confused::D

Oh sorry I read the wrong name i meant SammyJo my bad see still asleep even when i am awake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,190 ✭✭✭✭sammyjo90

Haha yay someone like me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

This morning I was up at 6.30 to drive to a cycle. If I have a cycle, I'm up early.

If I have no plans, I tend to sleep until 9.30/10.

I can't remember the last day that I had a proper duvet day. I had them all the time in Cork - wouldn't get dressed. I miss those days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭R.D. aka MR.D

I used to love a good lie-in but I can't do it any more. I usually wake up around 8 but then just relax. My husband usually works weekends. So, today I'll just be lying about until maybe 12 then do some housework and then make dinner for him coming home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,914 ✭✭✭✭Eeden

Late sleepers are made to feel like losers

I don't think there's anything inherently "good" about being an early riser. We night owls can't easily change, so we adapt when we have to (e.g. during the week, or when we have little kids) and then revert when we can (weekends).

Eeden wrote: »
    Late sleepers are made to feel like losers

I don't think there's anything inherently "good" about being an early riser. We night owls can't easily change, so we adapt when we have to (e.g. during the week, or when we have little kids) and then revert when we can (weekends).

I think someone has to have a particularly bad persecution complex if they think you're being discriminated against because you like a lie-in of a weekend.

People who literally can't get up for work are few and far between, most night owls just enjoy the opportunity to enjoy their own schedule at the weekends and function perfectly well during the week.
    Whether disparities can be fixed by altering schedules to better suit chronotypes hasn't undergone rigorous scientific testing.

Pertinent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

I work some weekends. On weekends I work I'm usually up by 7.30am. If I'm off it really depends on what my plans are! Usually would be up by around 9 at the latest. Unless I'm extremely hungover it would be 11ish...which is very rare! My OH can easily stay in bed till 12 on the weekends.

I like that article.. So question too for the night owls and early birds. were ye always the same.. I know from a young age i was always a night owl, could not sleep when going to bed. Even now going to bed i could not sleep straight away i would have to read or do something....If i went for 40 winks during they day then thats it sleep at night was a no go...I tried everything but nothing works I think ive just admitted to myself now im a night owl and thats that. Only thin annoying is nothing is open late

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭Loveinapril

I have definitely always been an early bird. Once my alarm went off for school I hopped out of the bed whereas my brother was like a corpse. You would nearly have to hit him with the alarm to get up. We are still the same 20 years later! I much prefer going to bed at 10.30pm and getting up early. If I have a late night (minus booze) it takes me a few days to feel normal again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭cazzer22

I love a Saturday sleep in, I'm a divil for it. I could be in bed until 12 ish and usually go to bed around 12:30-1am. Sundays are relatively the same and we usually go for brunch so might get up a little earlier. I tried and do a bit of batch cooking on Sundays and listen to music. There's also PLENTY of time for coffee over the weekend. I love a good coffee date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,974 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Milly33 wrote: »
    I like that article.. So question too for the night owls and early birds. were ye always the same.. I know from a young age i was always a night owl, could not sleep when going to bed. Even now going to bed i could not sleep straight away i would have to read or do something....If i went for 40 winks during they day then thats it sleep at night was a no go...I tried everything but nothing works I think ive just admitted to myself now im a night owl and thats that. Only thin annoying is nothing is open late

Definitely haven't always been an early bird. Given the right conditions, I could easily revert to being a night owl. I was good at getting up in secondary school and would get about 7 hours sleep. I did no exercise in college, I didn't eat well and as a result I ended up struggling massively with getting up in the morning!

I have found that regular fresh air (I work outside) and a good diet has turned my sleep around. I average 8.5 to 9 hours sleep. I go to bed at 10.30, usually asleep by 11.30 and up at around 8.30.

The concept of early birds and night owls is gaining huge attention in biological research where they are trying to assess the impact of the circadian rhythm in how people fight infection. Some incredible results!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭GuessWhoEh

The last couple of months, my weekends tend to be me waking up between 8:30-10. Any time after 10 is a late morning for me. I get up, potter about, do washing etc then ask around who's doing what for the day so I can try and be out and about all day. If no one is doing anything, or people are working, then its relaxing day for me. Reading, catching up on shows or visiting grandparents and relatives just to pass time. I try and take it easy on the weekends. I hardly drink. Not much of a drinker so I night out for me is usually an occasion for someone else. I've been spending some weekends going to Bray or Howth and going for a little walks. It helps clear the head.

I've noticed a strange kind of attitude among some women when it comes to the time you get up at on days off. They are usually the same ones who say "Oh I could never eat a whole pizza! Would you not feel sick"! Or, "You drink by yourself"?! "I could never do that".
    When it comes to sleep it tends to be "8 am is a lie in for me. I'd feel so lazy and missing out on the day if I was to do what you do".

Fück off.

Sometimes I'll stay in bed the whole day. Other days I'll get up at noon or 10am. I'm in bed right now in fact. Alas I have things to do so will get up. Soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭intheclouds

When it comes to sleep it tends to be "8 am is a lie in for me. I'd feel so lazy and missing out on the day if I was to do what you do".

Really?

I LIKE feeling lazy and missing out on the day from time to time!

Actually, I like to do the extra sleeping on the other side of it sometimes and am proud to say I occasionally go to bed at 8 so I can have a big long sleep! Waste a whole evening I do!

But for me its usually about the sweet spot - too little sleep I feel crap, too much I feel crap.

I also enjoy early morning as my favourite part of the day so I like to arrange my sleeping so that I am up and about during that time.

Although I get up early every day now, I don't see what's wrong with getting up late. How is it a waste getting up at midday? It means you're doing what you want with your time off - hardly a waste if you're doing what you want!

I used to be a late riser, I'd go to sleep between 3-5am and get up around 10-11am. Early nights and early mornings suit me better but that doesn't mean they're better in general. Sometimes I'd kill to be able to sleep til midday!

I've been up since 7am today, my boyfriend has a day off and is still asleep, fair play to him!

I've noticed a strange kind of attitude among some women when it comes to the time you get up at on days off. They are usually the same ones who say "Oh I could never eat a whole pizza! Would you not feel sick"! Or, "You drink by yourself"?! "I could never do that".

Fück off.

Sometimes I'll stay in bed the whole day. Other days I'll get up at noon or 10am. I'm in bed right now in fact. Alas I have things to do so will get up. Soon.

There's nothing wrong with being up early, or not being a drinker or anything like that. Just as there's nothing wrong with liking a lie-in.

People are as entitled to like being up early as they are to stay in bed all day, nobody needs to label anyone in an unflattering light or make assumptions about the kind of person they are.

People are different and allowed to say they are whether they're night owls or early birds, each has it's drawbacks and benefits.

That's like me saying that late risers tend to be lazy, or get nothing done. It's not true and just a lazy judgement.

Candie wrote: »
    There's nothing wrong with being up early, or not being a drinker or anything like that. Just as there's nothing wrong with liking a lie-in.

People are as entitled to like being up early as they are to stay in bed all day, nobody needs to label anyone in an unflattering light or make assumptions about the kind of person they are.

People are different and allowed to say they are whether they're night owls or early birds, each has it's drawbacks and benefits.

That's like me saying that late risers tend to be lazy, or get nothing done. It's not true and just a lazy judgement.

No you've picked me up wrong. There is absolutely nothing wrong with it. It's when some people actually look down at me by saying similar to what I posted that I have the problem with.

People who look down on anyone are best avoided in general. Nobody likes passive-aggressive digs about anything, never mind anything as trivial as sleeping in or what you eat.

Exactly. Two of those people were friends of mine once. There were lots of odd little comments they would make from time to time.
    We don't talk anymore :)

You're better off. I've cut someone out recently but unfortunately it's a case of running into her fairly often and while I'm perfectly civil, I still get the little one-upping digs. It's so childish and says much about her.

Anyway, back on topic, I've watched my cousin sleep 14 or 15 hours in a row after a long shift. I've hoovered the floor around him and he hasn't budged. I would dearly love to sleep as deeply as that, but I'm cursed with very light sleeping patterns and once I'm awake, I can't get back to sleep. My early rising is a result of me trying to make the best of a bad, bad deal.

I'm my own worst enemy though, because I do love a snoozie during the day if I get the chance. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

I'm my own worst enemy though, because I do love a snoozie during the day if I get the chance. :)
    Love a nap on the couch, it's so refreshing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭Gunslinger92

Definitely early, was out til after 4am on Saturday and I woke at half 8 :(:( Disgusting! When I was a teenager I would sleep til noon or 1pm no problem, nowadays that only happens after a night out plus being tired regardless of the night out.

Sunny Dayz wrote: »
    Love a nap on the couch, it's so refreshing!
    I had a nap on Sunday and it was incredible. No regrets.

You're better off. I've cut someone out recently but unfortunately it's a case of running into her fairly often and while I'm perfectly civil, I still get the little one-upping digs. It's so childish and says much about her.

Anyway, back on topic, I've watched my cousin sleep 14 or 15 hours in a row after a long shift. I've hoovered the floor around him and he hasn't budged. I would dearly love to sleep as deeply as that, but I'm cursed with very light sleeping patterns and once I'm awake, I can't get back to sleep. My early rising is a result of me trying to make the best of a bad, bad deal.

There is always one or in my case five :p

I can't sleep in front of TV. Exception would be if I was up 48 hours straight or something. Naps on couch are out and even in bed I am only able to have one sometimes in the morning never in the afternoon.

Nowadays I have to be very disciplined about sleep and go to bed early enough not to be tired next morning. It's not that I am particularly enthusiastic about doing stuff and being busy it's just that I have no choice. :)