Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Grueller

tanko wrote: »
    Anyone watching "older than ireland" on RTE about the people older than 100? It's hilarious.

Hardy auld characters alright. Some fair sprightly people for over 100.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Seen it when it was in cinema on limited release. They would put a lot of young people to shame.
    Your man still driving the car had a great attitude. Keep active and have a purpose. 'Even if u went out in the morning and dug a hole in the garden and full it in in the evening, you'd be doing yourself some good.'

It's the mind people need to be taking care of more so than the body as they get older.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,736 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

tanko wrote: »
    Anyone watching "older than ireland" on RTE about the people older than 100? It's hilarious.
    Saw one of those women on the Late Late a while back. When asked about getting old - She said 'Ah, It was time we weren't here'.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭Dozer1

Thought it was a great program but depressing also when you see how many were in nursing homes or on their own.
    Loneliness was the big thing in their lives hard to imagine sitting there watching the minutes tick by. I'll gladly go long before the 100, I've no interest in just surviving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,633 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Lads, when does the DOAg pay out SFP and DA payments. Is it before the ploughing match or is it just announced at it?
    Trying to do cash flows, basically see when I can pay bills. Don't want to unload stock early.

Hear the Min got a belt of Annie May's umbrella for not sending anyone to the launch today. Not a good idea Michael.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Water John wrote: »
    Lads, when does the DOAg pay out SFP and DA payments. Is it before the ploughing match or is it just announced at it?
    Trying to do cash flows, basically see when I can pay bills. Don't want to unload stock early.

Hear the Min got a belt of Annie May's umbrella for not sending anyone to the launch today. Not a good idea Michael.
    DA payments around ploughing time, 70% advancement of bfp from 16th october

Very quiet here today eldest lad is gone back to school, will miss him, he's a great help around the place

Much obliged Whelan. No one to help with the tasks. Yeah, my fella would have zero interest, in college but can be asked to a do jobs, when he is here!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭marathon

Bit of advice needed. I have 13 steers weighing from 350 to 400 kilos. 6 Angus 6 frieisins and 1 Belgian blue. They are from 13 to 15 months. I'm going sell them on the first week of December. ( not 2nd wintering them). My q is what d cheapest feed give them for next few months along with hay. They hopefully be out to grass til November. Oh and how many kilos feed a day should they be getting? Chers

Yes, some meal to keep them thriving along with the grass, which will be falling off in value. Would off load before I'd get to the hay myself.
    Good discussion on feed mixes over on the Dairy Chit Chat forum. Similar would apply.
    What you are talking about is 90 days. There is a risk of spending too much on ration and not getting a return on it. Not sure if I would go much more than 2/2.5Kg. Others may have more knowledge here. Its a balance between, not letting them go back but to keep them thriving without over spending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

whelan2 wrote: »
    Very quiet here today eldest lad is gone back to school, will miss him, he's a great help around the place

At least he'll be home, well rested, and mad for the bit work. School will be a break from the farm work and the farm can be a break from the school work!
    Isn't it great that he's interested in the farm work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

God help the parents and family of that young boy in tubber.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,409 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

New programme starting on tv3 tonight starting pat shortt and directed by the same lad that done pilgrim hill will ye he be watching?

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

New programme starting on tv3 tonight starting pat shortt and directed by the same lad that done pilgrim hill will ye he be watching?
    I heard some discussion about it on the radio either today or yesterday.
    I developed a respect for Pat Shortt as an actor for his performance in the Garage. I will be tuning in tonight to watch it at 10pm.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,971 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I think they were all busy picking apples;)

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭White Clover

Am i missing something obvious but why should the minister send someone to the launch of the ploughing? They are after all just another private company.

Blue, whose orchard are they raiding?

What has the fact that it is an NGO got to do with it?

Most ministers will turn up to the opening of any old shebeen.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,971 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

The iphone orchard with the €14 billion tax problem:pac:

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

I like it already

Base price wrote: »
    I heard some discussion about it on the radio either today or yesterday.
    I developed a respect for Pat Shortt as an actor for his performance in the Garage. I will be tuning in tonight to watch it at 10pm.

Watching it with the parents at the moment waiting to get me marching orders now

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

waiting for it to end and the mother to go he got on grand in London didn't he

I said wrote: »
    God help the parents and family of that young boy in tubber.

Desperate sad. My own young lads would have played against the Nat School in Tubber. A right little team they had this year. That's shocking sad to read that. Life is precious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mayota

Good show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,411 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

whelan2 wrote: »

It just highlights what most of us on here know about the dangers of cattle.
    I wonder what became of the Son in all of this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

Why was she in the field with the cattle in the first place

naughto wrote: »
    Why was she in the field with the cattle in the first place

Because it was her God given right to be there 🀔

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Yesterday I managed to wheedle the father into thinking he had the bright idea of actually drenching the cows this year instead of pour ons.
    It was an ongoing job* of a few months but today I got the card to order Zanil and a hook drencher.
    Success! \o/

(*ongoing job incl putting pour-on on skittery cows that remained skittery, pointing them out each time, pointing out dry hair, the neighbours great looking cattle who get drench doses each year, the terrible wet ground this year that surely has them full of fluke, leaving the journal open on certain pages etc etc)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,411 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Yesterday I managed to wheedle the father into thinking he had the bright idea of actually drenching the cows this year instead of pour ons.
    It was an ongoing job* of a few months but today I got the card to order Zanil and a hook drencher.
    Success! \o/

(*ongoing job incl putting pour-on on skittery cows that remained skittery, pointing them out each time, pointing out dry hair, the neighbours great looking cattle who get drench doses each year, the terrible wet ground this year that surely has them full of fluke, leaving the journal open on certain pages etc etc)
    Real subtle I'd say..