Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭charolais0153

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    Do you still have it?

Why wouldn't I . won't spend it on sucks thats for sure:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

_Brian wrote: »
    I did my leaving at 16, definitely wasn't mature enough to be moving off to college at 17 but I did and just about made it through, never lived at home again, other than the night before my wedding.
    I lived longer with my mother in law than my own mother !!

Joined up myself at 17

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭charolais0153

dzer2 wrote: »
    Left school myself at 17 but had a job got, and the boss insisted I do the leaving. I got with the second highest points of the school that year and didn't do college.
    Both Brother and sister had to do an extra exam to get the points for college.

Were ya homeschooled?;)

Know of a lad that was sprinting and came 2nd but only two in his class:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

Reggie. wrote: »
    Joined up myself at 17

I should be 19 the week after my Leaving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Shannon757 wrote: »
    I should be 19 the week after my Leaving.

That's a good age to be doing the leaving

Reggie. wrote: »
    That's a good age to be doing the leaving

It'll be handy that I can drive myself to school anyway ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

It'll be handy that I can drive myself to school anyway ;)

Do you know what you want to do when you finish school?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,106 ✭✭✭visatorro

_Brian wrote: »
    I lived longer with my mother in law than my own mother !!

They say that women turn into their mothers so looks like I'll be living with my mother in law for the rest of my day's!!

whelan2 wrote: »
    Do you know what you want to do when you finish school?

I'm hoping to do Aeronautical engineering or similar in college. If not I might apply to the Air Traffic Control apprenticeship. And if that doesn't work out I'll probably end up doing something with cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,995 ✭✭✭dzer2

Were ya homeschooled?;)

Know of a lad that was sprinting and came 2nd but only two in his class:D

Ah not that lucky 34 in class in primary school and 89 in 3rd yr over 4 classes and 90 in sixth yr over 4 classes. It was the start of ordinary lads going to college. Done night classes after tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,995 ✭✭✭dzer2

I'm hoping to do Aeronautical engineering or similar in college. If not I might apply to the Air Traffic Control apprenticeship. And if that doesn't work out I'll probably end up doing something with cars

If you like computing and a chair under your bum there is a severe shortage of robotic and software engineers out there. Real good ones.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

If you like computing and a chair under your bum there is a severe shortage of robotic and software engineers out there. Real good ones.:cool:

Computer applications, dcu.
    Head down for 4 years.

I wouldn't be that good enough with computers for that. Aviation leasing is the main goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,416 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Odd-Ear the blonde calved for me yesterday, massive culard heifer, got totally stuck at the hips for 20mins or so, was sure she would suffocate with the roars out of the calf and the cow spinning round and round on the slats. Wasn't until the cow fell down that we could get the jack on proper and take it. Still not walking but stood for me earlier, seems a bit of weakness in one back leg.
    Poor aul Oddie lay for an hour after it too, so we let the calf suck lying down.
    How's both now
    After a hard Calving, It could be best to wash her out ( think after 15 days).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

I wouldn't be that good enough with computers for that. Aviation leasing is the main goal.

I've an uncle doing that for ge? out of shannon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

How's both now
    After a hard Calving, It could be best to wash her out ( think after 15 days).

Both good, just milked her (while Airbnb stayer watched fascinated!) and fed the calf, stood for 10mins or so, much better than earlier. Cow dropped a bit more afterbirth too which explains why I was scratching my head earlier with her pins still down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭davidk1394

The Transition years in my school had to pay €500 for 3 days in London on top of the €500 for doing TY.

Massive showers and thunder here atm

I did TY. Shìte enough only for our enterprise project. Won awards in the county, in the provence and even all Ireland. Only for that it would have been a boring year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,416 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Both good, just milked her (while Airbnb stayer watched fascinated!) and fed the calf, stood for 10mins or so, much better than earlier. Cow dropped a bit more afterbirth too which explains why I was scratching my head earlier with her pins still down.
    Are you tubing or bottle?
    Hopefully she'll get up soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

i hate ppl watching me when I work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Are you tubing or bottle?
    Hopefully she'll get up soon

Oh bottle, she's greedy enough, just taking a bit of patience as need to stop every 15 sucks or so for her to get her breath.
    Am back to Monaghan tomorrow so unfortunately have to leave her to Dad :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Air Atlantic in Shannon are looking for apprentices. Could be a fall back if those didn't work. It has a really impressive set up. I've three former students working there and they love it there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Talking to man last night who repeating a 'sign of the times' statement

'Time was any mother was proud to have a priest in the family, now she is proud to have a homosexual in the family' :)

Air Atlantic in Shannon are looking for apprentices. Could be a fall back if those didn't work. It has a really impressive set up. I've three former students working there and they love it there.

That would be more hands on and physicalthan what I'm hoping to do. Unfortunately I can't do that because of my bad health.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

I checked the cows after milking last night and there was one springing down heavy so I put her in the shed so I could check later on and feed before bed.

Came in home and decided to visit the family grave as it was my fathers anniversary so we headed off and said a few prayers and went to the shop for icecream and I bought a few packets of Doritos. My sister had just done the same and called in on the way home for a cup of tea and a chat. The craic was good and a bottle of wine was opened. And then a second one in case the first got lonely. The party broke up around 1 and off I went to milk my cow and feed the calf, a little the worse for wear and feeling sorry for myself. There was my cow and her Poly calf and she sucking away, happy as Larry.

You gotta love Polys:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

I checked the cows after milking last night and there was one springing down heavy so I put her in the shed so I could check later on and feed before bed.

Came in home and decided to visit the family grave as it was my fathers anniversary so we headed off and said a few prayers and went to the shop for icecream and I bought a few packets of Doritos. My sister had just done the same and called in on the way home for a cup of tea and a chat. The craic was good and a bottle of wine was opened. And then a second one in case the first got lonely. The party broke up around 1 and off I went to milk my cow and feed the calf, a little the worse for wear and feeling sorry for myself. There was my cow and her Poly calf and she sucking away, happy as Larry.

You gotta love Polys:)

They are hardy little feckers alright. Give him 2 days and you'd have some job on your hands trying to catch him in the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

Talking to man last night who repeating a 'sign of the times' statement

'Time was any mother was proud to have a priest in the family, now she is proud to have a homosexual in the family' :)

Hehe! My mother in law probably wanted a priest in the family - she got one, but it is me (female, just in case ye don't know)! I'm sure not exactly what she wanted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

An old saying regarding what constitutes a progressive farm.

A bull in the field
    A pump in the yard
    A 3 column hayshed
    And a priest in the family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Suckler

An old saying regarding what constitutes a progressive farm.

A bull in the field
    A pump in the yard
    A 3 column hayshed
    And a priest in the family.

The priest was a good source of farm funding as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Suckler wrote: »
    The priest was a good source of farm funding as well.

There were 2 priests here back at the start of the 20th century that caused ferocious family upheaval. Solicitors were busy for years. Put 1 brother in a lunatic asylum and evicted my grandfather from the farm for a spell. Men of the cloth how are ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Any time I think about a priest in the family this comes to mind:

https://youtu.be/B3jJHdHW1iI