Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭cute geoge

Let who ever owns them horses know that you are going to the guards and ispca first and give them a chance to move them to better secure fenced ground

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Timmaay wrote: »
    I got a problem with some horses grazing some rough ground beside me, they have broken into here a few times over the last few weeks. One of the evenings that I drove them back in, that night a neighbour was driving home in the dark and came around a dangerous enough corner at my gate only to meet them galloping for him, said he had to swerve off the road to miss them. Even though it wasn't my fault I was feeling a little guilty that I had jsut punted them back into their paddock afew hrs before. Anyways they were back in here yday again, my dad put them back into their paddock, and now I'm after finding them back the bloody road inside in my rented land, right beside the maize feild! (left open because the lads were meant to sow today). Anyways I've them locked into another paddock at the minute, but what should I do with them? Call the gardai? Ispca?
    Call the Gardai and tell them you have stray horses that aren't staying where they were put and you don't want to put them back in in case they stray out on the road but you have no place to keep them because they might frighten your cattle out onto the road.

ISPCA as well might help get them moved sooner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

cute geoge wrote: »
    Let who ever owns them horses know that you are going to the guards and ispca first and give them a chance to move them to better secure fenced ground

In fairness after a ' few weeks' the owner has had ample opportunity to move them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

I got a problem with some horses grazing some rough ground beside me, they have broken into here a few times over the last few weeks. One of the evenings that I drove them back in, that night a neighbour was driving home in the dark and came around a dangerous enough corner at my gate only to meet them galloping for him, said he had to swerve off the road to miss them. Even though it wasn't my fault I was feeling a little guilty that I had jsut punted them back into their paddock afew hrs before. Anyways they were back in here yday again, my dad put them back into their paddock, and now I'm after finding them back the bloody road inside in my rented land, right beside the maize feild! (left open because the lads were meant to sow today). Anyways I've them locked into another paddock at the minute, but what should I do with them? Call the gardai? Ispca?

I suppose dealing with the owner is out of the question?
    Does the owner even know they're breaking out?
    It shouldn't be you putting them back in their paddock.
    You could get yourself into some serious trouble if anything happened and the owner didn't know.
    If they break out again call the guard's and report the loose horses on the road.
    They should be microchipped anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Called the local gardai station, phone rang out... I'll give yas one guess at who owns the horses ha, they ain't leaving without a fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    I suppose dealing with the owner is out of the question?
    Does the owner even know they're breaking out?
    It shouldn't be you putting them back in their paddock.
    You could get yourself into some serious trouble if anything happened and the owner didn't know.
    If they break out again call the guard's and report the loose horses on the road.
    They should be microchipped anyway.

They are still in our bloody feild now eating grass ha, left them locked in there, I defo don't have time today to be moving them back the road to where they belong today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Have a CH cow bulling.
    Use Eurogene & thinking of Delboy or Comber.
    Both Kilbride farm.
    Anyone a recommendation or know much on these

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

blue5000 wrote: »
    I reckon if she realizes how close you are she'll move them herself. Had a trail cam set up and I saw them being moved one at a time. Sorry don't have the pics anymore.

Well was reading on interweb that they hate the smell of ketchup. Doused the area behind the garage Thurs night before it got dark. No sign since!. Id say your explaination is more likely the reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,736 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Had cow try to jump on my back in the collecting yard this morning. I know she's is 'a bulling'.......It's myself I'm wondering about
    About 15 years ago, I had a 2 year old bullock jump up on my back. I had my back to him and he had a leg over each shoulder. I was roaring like a lunatic. Couldn't move as I thought he'd damage my back. He slipped off after a while.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

About 15 years ago, I had a 2 year old bullock jump up on my back. I had my back to him and he had a leg over each shoulder. I was roaring like a lunatic. Couldn't move as I thought he'd damage my back. He slipped off after a while.:(

So are you saying that you stood there and took it like a man!?!
    That explains the roaring I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,736 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    So are you saying that you stood there and took it like a man!?!
    That explains the roaring I suppose.
    A bullock, thank God.:D

You didn't have to go for the morning after pill so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

We're you wearing a hi vis jacket again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Anyone here using herdwatch? Signed up there during the week and I'm struggling to put up vet scripts on it. Do I have to put the stuff into the virtual cabinet each time or can I just put in that the animal got a shot of something? Tia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 795 ✭✭✭CHOPS01

CHOPS01 wrote: »
    Had a bullock late this evening lame with a scald.
    Only had a previously opened bottle of alamycin until I get something in the morning.It was gone black but gave him a shot of it. Will it do him any good or more importantly will it do him any harm.

It didn't do him any harm anyway !
    Trip to the vet this morning and got oxytetracycline.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

CHOPS01 wrote: »
    It didn't do him any harm anyway !
    Trip to the vet this morning and got oxytetracycline.

I think alamycin is tetrcycline or vice versa...it works with scalds in the sheep any way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Called the local gardai station, phone rang out... I'll give yas one guess at who owns the horses ha, they ain't leaving without a fight.

Had a similar problem last year with one dropped into one of my fields. Rang county council section that deals with it and got a reply 3 days later that I should contact "mr Nevin" to ask him to remove his horse as he had to entitlement.

Rang guards and they said ring the horse pound. Rang the horse pound and said field was not secure etc. He said fine he would collect t but could only collect it one he got a call from a guard.
    Rang back guards and it was a change of shift so went through whole story again. Told guard all he had to do was authorise pond to collect it. I'm not sure he says I'll have to check with sargant.

I Had managed to capture the horse and tie him up at this stage. Next day no call from guards surprise surprise so horse found an open gate and an anomonous phone call to guards of a horse loose on the road and they were out in 10 mins and spent half a day trying to catch him for the pound.

Moral of the story unless you get rid of him no one else will do it for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Victor wrote: »
    416022.png
    Watch out in South Kerry, it looks like it will be pi$$ing rain tonight:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Watch out in South Kerry, it looks like it will be pi$$ing rain tonight:pac:

That's your fault now for complaining about the dry weather.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Have a few yearling bulls with horns that were supposed to be skulled last week but we cancelled the Vet when we saw that the weather was turning cold. Found one of them dead this evening with a skin wound on his underbelly. I reckon he must have mounted another bulls head and got jabbed by a horn that caused internal damage.
    On a positive note youngest sat his final exams in uni this week. I can't believe how fast the 4 years went although my pocket won't :-)).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭The man in red and black

Base price wrote: »
    Have a few yearling bulls with horns that were supposed to be skulled last week but we cancelled the Vet when we saw that the weather was turning cold. Found one of them dead this evening with a skin wound on his underbelly. I reckon he must have mounted another bulls head and got jabbed by a horn that caused internal damage.
    On a positive note youngest sat his final exams in uni this week. I can't believe how fast the 4 years went although my pocket won't :-)).

Jesus that's awful bad luck sorry to hear that! There'll always be something unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Jesus that's awful bad luck sorry to hear that! There'll always be something unfortunately.
    I'm pragmatic about things like this. We should have skulled them a few weeks ago when the weather was fine but we were too busy buying and rearing calves. As luck would have it the dead bull was a good black whitehead and not a FR or FRx.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,411 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Clear test yesterday :):)

Tails clipped again and out to fresh grass, hope they don't see the crush again till July.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Doing a few tags for the BDGP and had to tie the mad whitehead up in the crush to hold her still. Walked up to another one on the slats and tagged her while scratching her, some fecking difference between homebred and bought in for tameness! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,453 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Twin lambs here this morning, dad reckons i should stay at home full time as the ewes are only lambing when im home :p . debating taking them in now or leaving them out as its threatening rain.

Are they far from the shed? I leave a bedded down trailer on the out farm for times like these.
    If there very weak bring um in, if there hardy and sucking they'll be grand I'd say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,542 ✭✭✭tanko

Doing a few tags for the BDGP and had to tie the mad whitehead up in the crush to hold her still. Walked up to another one on the slats and tagged her while scratching her, some fecking difference between homebred and bought in for tameness! :D

Tagged a yearling heifer here as she stuck her head out through the barrier at feeding time, almost missed her ear, the tag is only a centimetre from the edge of the ear. Got the sample which is all that matters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭davidk1394

I'll enjoy this :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,453 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Are they far from the shed? I leave a bedded down trailer on the out farm for times like these.
    If there very weak bring um in, if there hardy and sucking they'll be grand I'd say

I brought them in, they are hardy as anything but a night inside will do the ewe no harm. will put them out again before i head back to england tomorrow evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,632 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Well, you know the great question, David. Is the glass half full, or half empty?