Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Kovu , hows the heifer that was in the ditch? Had a cow fell over the bridge into the river this evening, alls good, delayed me half an hour getting her out though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

whelan2 wrote: »
    Kovu , hows the heifer that was in the ditch? Had a cow fell over the bridge into the river this evening, alls good, delayed me half an hour getting her out though

She's grand, thanks :) Still a bit himac-ish round the head, she's stiff so has to move her whole body to look around her. Won't go near dad though. Can't blame her, if someone threw a rope on me, dragged me out of a ditch and then pulled me on a halter behind the tractor for a few fields, I'd be pretty pissed too :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Kovu wrote: »
    She's grand, thanks :) Still a bit himac-ish round the head, she's stiff so has to move her whole body to look around her. Won't go near dad though. Can't blame her, if someone threw a rope on me, dragged me out of a ditch and then pulled me on a halter behind the tractor for a few fields, I'd be pretty pissed too :P
    The father bought a young bull ears ago on a farm and had to put a ring in his nose before we could go home. The farmer and my father told me to get out of sight in case the bull blamed me so I left them to it.

We had that bull for 4 years and I could do anything to him but as soon as my father appeared, the bull would go into full-on psycho mode until my father left again.

Just talking about Irish college in the Gaeltacht here and apparently you can get a 20%(?) discount if the student is a member of a GAA club.

It might be of use to someone:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Some washout today. Was at a festival of fun in west Clare, they had to cancel all the field events for the kids. A lot of vintage left early. One fella didn't take his ford off the trailer for fear of getting dirt on the tyres.

Took forever to get daughter to wear wellies and then a lifetime to walk back to the. Car as every puddle was fun.

Managed to get bull into shed and away from heifer so he didn't bull her but the bull with two legs got to service her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭Odelay

Just talking about Irish college in the Gaeltacht here and apparently you can get a 20%(?) discount if the student is a member of a GAA club.

It might be of use to someone:)

Thanks, but it turns out I'm too old for the Gaeltacht these days. Fond memories form teenaged years tho.

How much does the gaeltacht cost? Managed a b in honours Irish in my leaving cert without going there

Apparently, 730euro for 2 weeks and a rebate of 140 if the child is in the GAA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

Hay cut here Friday, was silage yesterday evening. Contractor was very lucky to have it done before today.

Shannon757 wrote: »
    Hay cut here Friday, was silage yesterday evening. Contractor was very lucky to have it done before today.
    lads went baling hay after they did my silage today, dont know when it was mowed, raining here now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Shannon757 wrote:

I knocked meadow Saturday morning, turned it Saturday and Sunday and the contractor baled and wrapped here at 11 this morning. It turned into lovely stuff almost haylage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Recession must be over, was at the wineport last night and it was packed.
    The cost for three meals last night would've bought six meals anywhere else,
    More power to them if they can do it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

rangler1 wrote: »
    Recession must be over, was at the wineport last night and it was packed.
    The cost for three meals last night would've bought six meals anywhere else,
    More power to them if they can do it
    Well la di da :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Shannon757 wrote: »
    Well la di da :rolleyes:

freebie luckily, nice to see how the other half live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

the mother was in the union in work so I got gaeltacht scholarships through them, not sure how much I learned but it was good craic and gave me the grá for the language which is why 6 years after the leaving cert I still use Irish as a living language to talk to friends, read in or listen to the radio in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Apparently, 730euro for 2 weeks and a rebate of 140 if the child is in the GAA.
    Wow!!
    Do they still do the scholarship?
    Remember when I won it, it was £120 if you won the scholarship & £220 if you didn't.
    Good 3 weeks, but I was too young

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Well done. Most in my old school (including myself) aimed for a D in ordinary level. Never worked at it at all.

Tà bron orm anois.:(

Farrell wrote: »
    Wow!!
    Do they still do the scholarship?
    Remember when I won it, it was £120 if you won the scholarship & £220 if you didn't.
    Good 3 weeks, but I was too young

No idea, I'm afraid. The eldest is talking of going next year so only looking into it now.

Just thinking £100 was a lot of money in those days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Well done. Most in my old school (including myself) aimed for a D in ordinary level. Never worked at it at all.

Tà bron orm anois.:(

Failed pass Irish. Despised that fact that it was compulsory and no ****ing use in this wide earthly world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

No idea, I'm afraid. The eldest is talking of going next year so only looking into it now.

Just thinking £100 was a lot of money in those days.

does the school do a scholarship? most do one or two each year

No idea, tbh. Still struggling to admit being old enough to have a teenage son :P

Don't worry about that. A friend of mine is turning 42 next week and is already a granny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,632 ✭✭✭✭Water John

I thought you were a young lad Darragh and your now cosying up to grannies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,722 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Failed pass Irish. Despised that fact that it was compulsory and no ****ing use in this wide earthly world

I got a D in it I think, everything ended up half Irish half German with me. I actually had some grasp of German but I always made a balls of the Irish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

I got a D in it I think, everything ended up half Irish half German with me. I actually had some grasp of German but I always made a balls of the Irish.

Hate the language with a passion I think it's more to do with the way it is taught in school than anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭charolais0153

I said wrote: »
    Hate the language with a passion I think it's more to do with the way it is taught in school than anything else.

Its my joint worst subject along with english

Water John wrote: »
    I thought you were a young lad Darragh and your now cosying up to grannies.

Myself and wayne rooney are in the same boat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Myself and wayne rooney are in the same boat

Hair transplant?

I said wrote: »
    Hair transplant?

I'll have you know i have a fine head of hair.