Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 3.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Not directed to anyone here, more a general point...

To those that want him "fired", why don't you just not listen? Isn't that enough?

When it comes to people courting controversial opinions, I've often heard the argument that censorship will only strengthen them, and that the best cause of action is to ignore them, let everyone see how silly they are, and they'll eventually stop/die off. But is there any evidence that this actually works? Because my gut is that recent years has proven almost the exact opposite - allow certain opinions to linger and they will eventually gather momentum and legitimacy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Sorry Buer but you've lost me on that analogy.

The point being that if you ignore something or it doesn't impact you directly, are you exempt from any obligation to speak out?

People can turn off Newstalk but they will still feel they are morally obliged to speak their conscience on such a matter.

Neil3030 wrote: »
    When it comes to people courting controversial opinions, I've often heard the argument that censorship will only strengthen them, and that the best cause of action is to ignore them, let everyone see how silly they are, and they'll eventually stop/die off. But is there any evidence that this actually works? Because my gut is that recent years has proven almost the exact opposite - allow certain opinions to linger and they will eventually gather momentum and legitimacy.

The point is valid in and of itself, what it fails to account for however is people that make a living out of being controversial as opposed to people who just have daft ideas.

Katie Hopkins indulges the ignorant for personal wealth. She has a unique talent to twist things and paint a picture of circumstances that appeal to a very low common denominator.

It's mind blowing the damage Rupert Murdoch has done to the west.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,002 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Teferi wrote: »
    You should read 'So you've been publically shamed' by Ron Jonson. You can no longer make a mistake, receive a bit of grief about it and then apologise when you realise you've made a mistake. It's returned to the days of the town stock - you must be shamed into oblivion for the rest of time.

Jon Ronson!! He's very, very good and his books are great. Love hearing him talk. He did a very good podcast about his conversations with a "psychopath".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,732 ✭✭✭✭MJohnston

Not directed to anyone here, more a general point...

To those that want him "fired", why don't you just not listen? Isn't that enough?

Its honestly not enough, because really the point isn't to change George Hook's mind about anything, its about the fact that he shouldn't be allowed to spread such a poisonous idea on a radio show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

mfceiling wrote: »
    Jon Ronson!! He's very, very good and his books are great. Love hearing him talk. He did a very good podcast about his conversations with a "psychopath".

I hope you reversed the charges!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

You have gloriously missed the point and misrepresented me completely. Awful stuff.

The point was: I don't think he is as conservative as he is being painted (which I pointed out with the gay marriage speech). I think he spouts nonsense. This time he has crossed the line and got the usual suspects from the authoritarian left on his case.
    I didn't miss the point, I just thought humor was the most appropriate response. Saying he doesn't really believe what he's saying, because he's previously expressed liberal opinions on another issue isn't much of an argument really. It's more of a condemnation really, especially since he had a national audience. This isn't a leftist authoritarian backlash, it's a reaction to a shameless self publicist finally running out of credit and crossing one line too many.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

stephen_n wrote: »
    This isn't a leftist authoritarian backlash, it's a reaction to a shameless self publicist finally running out of credit and crossing one line too many.

Perhaps next time you'll halt in your rush to attempt humour and actually read what people write instead of reading what you want to read. I accused the authoritarian left of being the authoritarian left, I didn't accuse the entire left (of which I am one) of being authoritarian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Just watched episode 8 of Twin Peaks season 3...

Shant be sleeping anytime soon so... :eek:

Perhaps next time you'll halt in your rush to attempt humour and actually read what people write instead of reading what you want to read. I accused the authoritarian left of being the authoritarian left, I didn't accuse the entire left (of which I am one) of being authoritarian.

It isn't the authoritarian left (what ever the feck that is) that's causing this, it's very much the reaction of the centre. Hook would not have faced sanction if it wasn't for the actions of Dalata and Tesco. They didn't act because of any authoritarian left response, they reacted because his comments very much pissed a broad spectrum of people off. I was making light of your defense though, not your blaming of the "authoritarian left".

I would say they acted as part of a PR strategy and, in part, actually fostered and drove some of the anger rather than purely reacting to the outcry.

Their CEO went to the press and spoke about how he has two daughters when discussing the comments. All seems very orchestrated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

You should read 'So you've been publically shamed' by Ron Jonson. You can no longer make a mistake, receive a bit of grief about it and then apologise when you realise you've made a mistake. It's returned to the days of the town stock - you must be shamed into oblivion for the rest of time.

Excellent book. With Twitter etc. public shaming really has gotten out of control

Buer wrote: »
    I would say they acted as part of a PR strategy and, in part, actually fostered and drove some of the anger rather than purely reacting to the outcry.

Their CEO went to the press and spoke about how he has two daughters when discussing the comments. All seems very orchestrated.
    I don't know, it's unusual for corporate entities to drive anything. Everything is done to protect their commercial not personal interests. It would be unusual for two major companies to react out of personal opinion, rather than what they believed to be a threat to their brand. There is also the issue of the letter from the newstalk staff, it seems this has snowballed out of an accumulation of grievances with Hook and his opinions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

The RTE Secret Producer Twitter account is wonderful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,002 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I've just woken up after a lovely snooze on the couch and my lot are watching x-factor.

Awec how do you watch this shìte? My granny is dead, my mum had a heart attack and my goldfish had a heart attack yesterday and this is my last chance to be a singer.

Fcuk off you pile of shìte.

• Sorry to hear about your granny, your ma and your goldfish.

Will definitely vote for you even if you can barely whistle.

Great entertainment and exhibition. First time in a long time I've had no nerves watching an All Ireland final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Fair play Mayo, feel terrible for them

• Administrators Posts: 55,083 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Mayo should take up another sport.

• Very good game.

Vaughan will not sleep well tonight.

Ah lads. Poor Mayo.

Vaughan will feel sick this evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Fantasy football people - you have 15 minutes to set your roster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

Non Fantasy footballers..... go about your normal Sunday afternoon of swearing at the footie with beer in hand!

Vaughan will not sleep well tonight.

Probably because there's a posse with pitchforks, burning torches and switchblades waiting for him the moment that bus passes Ballaghdereen.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Gutted for Mayo

Dublin, the All Blacks, the Buccaneers. Truly exceptional sides in their fields.

Chicago Bears. :(

Ah good old NFL season is back, I'd forgotten how wonderful US pharmaceutical ads are

Anti-ligind Buer is having a great Fantasy week so far. 50 points with only 3 players.

I'd trade it all for a Jets win. Actually, no....I wouldn't.

Back to The Sunday Game. Thought the less vaunted midfielders had great games today. Tom Parsons is one of the most unsung players in the country. Great first half. James McCarthy scored two of the sweetest struck points you'll see too and came to the fore when others were starting to hide.

The sheer depth Dublin have is silly. Kilkenny didn't get a kick in the first half. They bring Connolly in and he runs the show from deep with his boot.

It was the old heads that took it home. For all the tyros, Flynn, Brogan, Connolly and McMenamin were the ones on the field in the closing stages.

I reckon Andy Moran might get the sympathy vote and get FOTY although he had a cracking Championship in his own right. I'd be tempted to give it to Cluxton who had a huge championship. Con O'Callaghan is favourite but today passed him by and he's a cert for YFOTY so reckon he'll miss out.