Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 3.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Buer wrote: »
    Kilbane was on OTB the other night talking about it. He said the treatment is obviously very shabby but, when the grievances of not being given tracksuits was put to him, he was incredulous. The mens team don't get tracksuits either, apparently. He said they're expected to hand them back and they're passed on to the younger teams, the U18 sides etc.

It seems that 15 years on, the lessons of Saipan are still somewhat unlearned. Ironic given Keane is now sitting on the other side of the table now.

I've heard him say that on newstalk too, but then I heard from elsewhere that it's not quite true any more, for the last while.

Also mad that the men's team were allowed representation when they went to the FAI, but for some reason the women's team were not allowed to use the PFAI, and absolutely no reason given by the FAI for that. There could be a good reason for that but it absolutely screams corruption.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

Buer wrote: »
    Kilbane was on OTB the other night talking about it. He said the treatment is obviously very shabby but, when the grievances of not being given tracksuits was put to him, he was incredulous. The mens team don't get tracksuits either, apparently. He said they're expected to hand them back and they're passed on to the younger teams, the U18 sides etc.

It seems that 15 years on, the lessons of Saipan are still somewhat unlearned. Ironic given Keane is now sitting on the other side of the table now.

Don't think Keane has any involvement in women's footie

Erik Shin wrote: »
    Don't think Keane has any involvement in women's footie

He has none, beyond the odd very rare appearance, but he has crossed over to the dark side.

Which is a shame, not a lot of people remember this, but he was the chosen one. He was supposed to destroy the FAI, not join them. He was supposed to bring balance to the sport, not leave it in darkness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,833 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

Also mad that the men's team were allowed representation when they went to the FAI, but for some reason the women's team were not allowed to use the PFAI, and absolutely no reason given by the FAI for that. There could be a good reason for that but it absolutely screams corruption.
    Possibly because they are not all professionals?

But a lot of them are.

And its even worse if they're not professionals. That'd mean they're forcing nurses and teacher and bakers and candlestick makers to negotiate with professional sports administrators.

But a lot of them are.

And its even worse if they're not professionals. That'd mean they're forcing nurses and teacher and bakers and candlestick makers to negotiate with professional sports administrators.
    That wasn't what I was getting at. Having them represented by the PFAI may be seen as a tacit acknowledgment of their being professionals. And thus requiring pay. Not a very pretty picture, but once lawyers get involved, things are never pretty.

It's ludicrous that there is any shortage of gear at all. The gear sponsors absolutely dump the stuff on national teams. In my sport I'd get 2 - 3 full sets a year and I still have bags of the stuff un-opened at home from nearly 10 years ago that I still hand out to people as I'll never use it.

The FAI is horribly administered but much like the OCI there are a couple of lads in decision making positions that have votes and vote to maintain the status quo in their interest and not in the sports.

The lack of gear isn't a lack of money, it's a lack of planning and organisation and a "sort it out yourself" mentality.

I've absolutely zero interest in soccer at any level but a friend of mine from school who is fairly involved says that the club game in Ireland is close to mutiny at the FAI at this stage.

That wasn't what I was getting at. Having them represented by the PFAI may be seen as a tacit acknowledgment of their being professionals. And thus requiring pay. Not a very pretty picture, but once lawyers get involved, things are never pretty.

I don't think that's the reason. I think it's either that they have 'preferred' agents to deal with or else they'd prefer to be negotiating with unrepresented players as individuals so that they can more easily divide them on issues.

Quite probably. Wouldn't surprise me in the least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,002 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

FAI have reached agreement with the women's internationals. Talks didn't finish up until something like 3am, as far as I'm aware they got everything they were after. Fair play to them.

Fellow in work said that the women were asked what was the problem. "Nothing". Well what do you want? "Well if you don't know we're not going to tell you"

I laughed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,551 ✭✭✭swiwi_

Sun, 20 degrees, first BBQ of the season

*checks Dublin - 13 degrees* :D

swiwi_ wrote: »
    Sun, 20 degrees, first BBQ of the season

*checks Dublin - 13 degrees* :D

Weather is fantastic here today, not sure what youre checking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Weather is fantastic here today, not sure what youre checking!

Perhaps:

2dkxoih.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Facebook messenger, Snapchat are all believed to be private when they are not. People use them all the time.

So you're saying that all data travelling through ISPs in the US will be sold. All data? Files, database replication, backups etc.?

You do realise that most of that traffic never goes near a server?

In effect yes, but the reality is most corporate documents will be heavily encrypted. The act itself doesn't differentiate between what types of data are accessible and what isn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

Other half is a northsider and as a direct result of that I'm being brought along to the Dublin Kerry game today. Only my 2nd time in Croke Park for a game.

stephen_n wrote: »
    In effect yes, but the reality is most corporate documents will be heavily encrypted. The act itself doesn't differentiate between what types of data are accessible and what isn't.
    You're missing the point that this data doesn't get near ISP's servers. The data goes through routers and switches and although they will know (in the case of their own customers) where it's coming from and going to and even possibly the type of data in some cases, it's never stored. It would be massively impractical to do so.

The current investigation of the Trump connections with Russia can only identify (from the traffic) the routes and connections and size of data flows. Without access to the endpoints, there's no way of knowing (other than educated guesswork) what was actually transmitted.

You're missing the point that this data doesn't get near ISP's servers. The data goes through routers and switches and although they will know (in the case of their own customers) where it's coming from and going to and even possibly the type of data in some cases, it's never stored. It would be massively impractical to do so.

The current investigation of the Trump connections with Russia can only identify (from the traffic) the routes and connections and size of data flows. Without access to the endpoints, there's no way of knowing (other than educated guesswork) what was actually transmitted.

Isn't the point that the sale of this data to 3rd parties opens up all sorts of issues with privacy?

Regardless of whether they have access to the data, knowing when and where data is being requested/accessed is an issue. Governments have already been using and absuing the power to access this information, I'm not at all enthused by the prospect of the private sector also being able to do so.

Snowden did an excellent job of explaining why the "I've got nothing to hide" argument is inadequate in all this, the case that can be built against someone who is entirely innocent can be incredibly persuasive if people are able to frame certain circumstancial evidence in certain ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,549 ✭✭✭OldRio

Bridge93 wrote: »
    Other half is a northsider and as a direct result of that I'm being brought along to the Dublin Kerry game today. Only my 2nd time in Croke Park for a game.

That game could be very tasty. Enjoy.

Isn't the point that the sale of this data to 3rd parties opens up all sorts of issues with privacy?

Regardless of whether they have access to the data, knowing when and where data is being requested/accessed is an issue. Governments have already been using and absuing the power to access this information, I'm not at all enthused by the prospect of the private sector also being able to do so.

Snowden did an excellent job of explaining why the "I've got nothing to hide" argument is inadequate in all this, the case that can be built against someone who is entirely innocent can be incredibly persuasive if people are able to frame certain circumstancial evidence in certain ways.
    In case it's unclear, I'm wholeheartedly against this legislation. It's a complete perversion of privacy rights. Apart from an individual's personal privacy concerns, the concept of selling such data represents a massive security concern.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

Sooo, my 9yo daughter has wanted to dontate her hair for quite a while now.... Rapunzel foundation makes wigs for children and she thought it was a great idea...So yesterday she did the deed and go her locks chopped.mmmm...As some of you may have noticed, I'm an argumentative curmudgeonly auld fecker....But because it took so many attempts to have her with Ivf, and i know she's going to be my only child...And to a point, my legacy l, i try to instill in her a good sense of values and morals...And for once I've just come on here as I'm a proud father and wanted to boast a little

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,331 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Who are you?

Fallen_film_poster.jpg

Time is on my side, yes it is.

• Administrators Posts: 55,100 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Ended up buying myself a gaming PC today, haven't played games on a PC in years. Any must have pc-only games on Steam I should be looking at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

awec wrote: »
    Ended up buying myself a gaming PC today, haven't played games on a PC in years. Any must have pc-only games on Steam I should be looking at?

What sort of spec rig did you get?

.ak wrote: »
    What sort of spec rig did you get?

Pretty high spec.

Intel i7 6700K
    Corsair Vengeance LPX 16 GB
    ASUS Z170-A Motherboard
    ASUS GeForce GTX 1070 ROG Strix GAMING OC - 8 GB

And a 500gb SSD.

Also picked up one of these: https://www.acer.com/ac/en/GB/content/predator-model/UM.HX1EE.005

Withcer 3
    Arma 3 + Mods
    Broforce
    Divinity Original Sin (2)
    Dont starve
    Keep talking and nobody explodes
    Kerbal Space Program
    Space Engineers
    Monaco
    Lovers in a Dangerous Space time
    Insurgency / Day of Infamy
    Rocket League
    Rise of Nations HD
    Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion
    This war of mine
    Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Siege
    Total War: Warhammer
    Cities: Skylines

The above is a mix of old and new. Some strategy, FPS and RPS.

You will need an xbox controller for some of the above. Get a wireless one

I have steam link and I like it a lot.

Some of the above are games that you play with mods. Personally I love Arma: Exile mod and play it a good bit.

Also get Origin which is EA's version of steam and for 24quid for the year you get access to heaps of their games, some of which are quiet new.

Pretty high spec.

Intel i7 6700K
    Corsair Vengeance LPX 16 GB
    ASUS Z170-A Motherboard
    ASUS GeForce GTX 1070 ROG Strix GAMING OC - 8 GB

And a 500gb SSD.

Also picked up one of these: https://www.acer.com/ac/en/GB/content/predator-model/UM.HX1EE.005

That's a nice rig, hope you got a good case because it's going to get warm in there. Personally I'd be putting water cooling into that within a year.

Got one of these: https://www.nzxt.com/products/s340-elite-black

Going to see how it goes temp wise, might stick some extra case fans in in the next few weeks.

Got one of these: https://www.nzxt.com/products/s340-elite-black

Going to see how it goes temp wise, might stick some extra case fans in in the next few weeks.

That's almost exactly what I have. They are brilliant cases, cable management is awesome. But yeah, cooling is an issue I found, I'd defo go beyond whatever stock fans came with the setup, but can delay until sometime in the next 12 months.

Withcer 3
    Arma 3 + Mods
    Broforce
    Divinity Original Sin (2)
    Dont starve
    Keep talking and nobody explodes
    Kerbal Space Program
    Space Engineers
    Monaco
    Lovers in a Dangerous Space time
    Insurgency / Day of Infamy
    Rocket League
    Rise of Nations HD
    Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion
    This war of mine
    Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Siege
    Total War: Warhammer
    Cities: Skylines

The above is a mix of old and new. Some strategy, FPS and RPS.

You will need an xbox controller for some of the above. Get a wireless one

I have steam link and I like it a lot.

Some of the above are games that you play with mods. Personally I love Arma: Exile mod and play it a good bit.

Also get Origin which is EA's version of steam and for 24quid for the year you get access to heaps of their games, some of which are quiet new.
    Already have an Xbox One so have played some of these. Play Siege all the time, probably 250hours + .

Completed witcher 3 too, but haven't started the DLC yet. THat's next on the list.

Rocket League is good fun, have that on xbox as well.

That's almost exactly what I have. They are brilliant cases, cable management is awesome. But yeah, cooling is an issue I found, I'd defo go beyond whatever stock fans came with the setup, but can delay until sometime in the next 12 months.
    Yea there is space on the front of the case for 2 140mm fans , can stick a radiator thingy on there too.

Last time I built a PC (like 10 years ago) water cooling wasn't much of a thing (or was super expensive) so I know feck all about it.

You will have to add me on Steam. ;)