Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 3.0

• Administrators Posts: 55,121 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

kuang1 wrote: »
    Congrats!
    Did you ask her dad's permission first?

I never did. Mainly because there was a realistic chance he would've said no!

I didn't either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

I did because he's a retired detective who is trained in firearm use, knows how to hide a body where it'll never be found and the first weekend I visited he showed me how big the boot of his car was along with a shovel and a bag of lime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,878 ✭✭✭b.gud

kuang1 wrote: »
    Congrats!
    Did you ask her dad's permission first?

I never did. Mainly because there was a realistic chance he would've said no!

Nope because there was no point, regardless of his answer it wouldn't have affected my plans. It's not that I'd ignore his opinion or anything I just don't believe that in this day and age it matters when it comes to me proposing to his daughter.

Besides if he said no he'd have to pull his neck in fairly lively when she gets onto him after I tell her that we can't get engaged cos her dad said no :)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,813 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

b.gud wrote: »
    Nope because there was no point, regardless of his answer it wouldn't have affected my plans. It's not that I'd ignore his opinion or anything I just don't believe that in this day and age it matters when it comes to me proposing to his daughter.

Besides if he said no he'd have to pull his neck in fairly lively when she gets onto him after I tell her that we can't get engaged cos her dad said no :)

I got into a discussion with some female colleagues in work who all thought I was a weirdo because I thought the concept of asking the father's permission was, frankly, pretty vile. Apparently its traditional and beyond question. Do not understand how it persists at all.

My wife said she didn't really care but felt it was her decision and not her Dads.

He'd have said yes anyway without question.

Podge_irl wrote: »
    I got into a discussion with some female colleagues in work who all thought I was a weirdo because I thought the concept of asking the father's permission was, frankly, pretty vile. Apparently its traditional and beyond question. Do not understand how it persists at all.

It's funny how that old-fashioned tradition survived while the old fashioned brides parents paying for the wedding didn't 🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Ended up coming back from this a few grand poorer. My OH keeps telling me to stop saying that though, apparently the more appropriate phrase is to say we got engaged

Congrats! Another good man down... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,555 ✭✭✭swiwi_

sullivlo wrote: »
    But saying commited implies blame/fault/crime.

It's how the samaratins, pieta house, medical professionals refer to it.

The suggestion died by suicide seems a better way to phrase it.

NZ went through the same thing too - trying to destigmatise suicide by changing the language around it. I think at one stage the trend was to turn it into a verb "he suicided".

I think it can go too much the other way though by suggesting the whole thing is passive - whether it's through depression, money difficulties, relationship struggles etc, there is an action involved, you don't catch suicide like you catch cancer or a heart attack. If you make it all passive, it can be harder to address underlying issues maybe.

Not really my area of expertise, there are no doubt people on this forum much better placed to comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

mfceiling wrote: »
    Toe is covered in congealed blood, is a kind of black and bends to the right. Pretty sure that's not normal!!

Shouldn't complain...a lad on a job before Xmas fell down his stairs and ended up dead!!

My ankle is completely messed up because I fell down the stairs.

Was half-running down them and slipped and landed on the top of my foot which then folded under my leg and subsequently under my entire body weight. It still hasn't fully healed, I'm hoping it'll be alright by pre-season for my glorious return to Irish rugby.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,107 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

It's funny how that old-fashioned tradition survived while the old fashioned brides parents paying for the wedding didn't 🀔

In that light it makes some sense asking the father if it's all right to saddle him with a bill for 50,000. Plus dowry.

It's funny how that old-fashioned tradition survived while the old fashioned brides parents paying for the wedding didn't 🤔
    Do you have frontage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I asked my wife's father for his permission. Mind you it was 12 years ago. It was more a "ah sure look it's a nice tradition and it'll keep her oul pair happy". For her oul lad I think it was a way for him to have a verbal contract that I was definitely taking her and he could get rid of her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Buer wrote: »
    I did because he's a retired detective who is trained in firearm use, knows how to hide a body where it'll never be found and the first weekend I visited he showed me how big the boot of his car was along with a shovel and a bag of lime.

3I5IxRR.gif

In that light it makes some sense asking the father if it's all right to saddle him with a bill for 50,000. Plus dowry.

Hmm I wonder if it's too late to try and negotiate a dowry?
    awec wrote: »
    Do you have frontage?

None that's of any use in an anyway decent location

Hmm I wonder if it's too late to try and negotiate a dowry?

None that's of any use in an anyway decent location

No frontage? How did you convince her to say yes?

My huge personality

snm.gif

My huge personality

snm.gif

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Lads, if you fancy an aneurysm throw on Channel 4 there, documentary called 'Has Political Correctness Gone Mad?' is on. Bunch of absolute head melters on both sides. The only one talking sense is the presenter.

Cannot believe Leicester have sacked ranieri. An absolute disgrace.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Teferi wrote: »
    Lads, if you fancy an aneurysm throw on Channel 4 there, documentary called 'Has Political Correctness Gone Mad?' is on. Bunch of absolute head melters on both sides. The only one talking sense is the presenter.

I started watching it hoping to get an insight that would help with modding the politics cafe.

Switched it off after five minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Given the nature of modern football I'm amazed he lasted this long.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,341 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

That's the game.

I do laugh a little when you hear people giving out about players not having loyalty anymore. Neither do clubs and that's the game.

Which add-ons for Kodi do you lads use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,018 ✭✭✭✭bilston

My favourite part of the Bible is the book of Exodus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,018 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Sadly I'm not surprised but still it's very harsh.

I hope Leicester get relegated now. Their owners deserve it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

IKEA run today. 7 hours driving a massive van. 4 hours in the place filling 3 trolleys. Think I lost the will to live somewhere between stylish bathrooms and space-saving wardrobes. Probably had the thousand-yard stare by the time we got to functional yet modern bookcases. If there had been topless models lounging on the modular, easy-to-assemble Swedish chic sofas I wouldn't have even noticed. Hadn't eaten so was rather hangry too, and we didn't have time for meatballs. If I never see the place again it will be too soon... fcuk you, Sweden!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Zzippy wrote: »
    IKEA run today. 7 hours driving a massive van. 4 hours in the place filling 3 trolleys. Think I lost the will to live somewhere between stylish bathrooms and space-saving wardrobes. Probably had the thousand-yard stare by the time we got to functional yet modern bookcases. If there had been topless models lounging on the modular, easy-to-assemble Swedish chic sofas I wouldn't have even noticed. Hadn't eaten so was rather hangry too, and we didn't have time for meatballs. If I never see the place again it will be too soon... fcuk you, Sweden!

You live far away from it. Count yourself very lucky.

The hungover visits on a Sunday afternoon resulting in me drop kicking children (some mine, some not) over chests of drawers to clear my path to the food court has occurred more than once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Buer wrote: »
    You live far away from it. Count yourself very lucky.

The hungover visits on a Sunday afternoon resulting in me drop kicking children (some mine, some not) over chests of drawers to clear my path to the food court has occurred more than once.

The thought of going to Ikea on a weekend would terrify me. The only time to go, if you really have to, is a mid-week evening. We're about to move into a new house so I've been out a couple of times in the last month or two. The sooner I can put that behind me the better!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,813 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

My work building is basically adjacent to IKEA.

Sometimes I just go for meatballs and no furniture.

There's some sort of IKEA collection point in Carrickmines now. I think you have to order online beforehand and get your order delivered to IKEA carrickmines.

Useful if you know exactly what you want and don't want to drive the whole way to Ballymun.