Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Immigrant in London slams immigrants

• Registered Users Posts: 8,247 ✭✭✭Maguined

It would stop any EU citizen from freely entering the UK and would allow the UK to decide for itself it's own level of immigration and from which countries.

The UK decided for itself to allow the CTA between Ireland and the UK and if they they left the EU they could keep it or repeal it upon their own wishes rather than being obliged to obey the immigration policy decided by the EU.

Whether you are for or against remaining in the EU you simply cannot deny that being part of the EU means you do not have full control over immigration policies for your own country.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,257 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

AFAIR the legislation for the CTA was incorporated into the free travel stuff years ago. It doesn't exist any more. Somebody tell that men he's voting to get himself fcuked out! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,247 ✭✭✭Maguined

AFAIR the legislation for the CTA was incorporated into the free travel stuff years ago. It doesn't exist any more. Somebody tell that men he's voting to get himself fcuked out! :D

It continues to exist as long as neither Ireland or the UK join the Schengen area. If either joins then the CTA would cease to exist.

He could vote for the UK to leave the EU and then subsequently the UK could repeal the CTA but the first does not cause or affect the second directly.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,070 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

What a gob****e, no self awareness at all

• Registered Users Posts: 34,069 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Kinda why I always laugh at Polish People I know complaining about Ireland having too many foreigners

• Registered Users Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭marienbad

The sense of entitlement goes on .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭The Randy Riverbeast

Been a few weeks since looked this up so might be off a little. In the top 10 countries people emigrated from to the UK germany, Poland and Ireland are the only 3 EU countries. The Irish will be going nowhere, so reducing immigration in the UK mostly means less polish and Germans.

They haven't put much thought into it, next they'll want to give doctors a box of plasters to close the wound after surgery.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

What an ignorant gobsh*te.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

what a hypocrite

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

I would question the validity of any CTA if there was a Brexit one county would be in the EU the other wouldn't

If Irish are allowed why not other European states?

Maguined wrote: »
    It would stop any EU citizen from freely entering the UK and would allow the UK to decide for itself it's own level of immigration and from which countries.

The UK decided for itself to allow the CTA between Ireland and the UK and if they they left the EU they could keep it or repeal it upon their own wishes rather than being obliged to obey the immigration policy decided by the EU.

Whether you are for or against remaining in the EU you simply cannot deny that being part of the EU means you do not have full control over immigration policies for your own country.

They don't just get to decide you know. Treaties have to be drawn up with respect to existing laws

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭12Phase

mansize wrote: »
    I would question the validity of any CTA if there was a Brexit one county would be in the EU the other wouldn't

That's actually how it was for decades before we joined though.

The downside is that while the CTA gives absolute freedom of movement between Ireland and the UK for Irish and British citizens, but it never, ever applied to goods and services.

That means you'll have customs borders and Ireland cannot unilaterally negotiate customs agreements as we are fully part of an EU customs union and single market.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 608 ✭✭✭For ever odd

1) Why was he looking for work at 15 years of age?
    2) Judging from the photo, he was 15 around 20-25 years ago (guess), there were hardly any immigrants coming to Ireland at that time; And Mayo was hardly the number 1 destination to those that did.

Here is a detailed examination of the CTA and implications regarding Brexit

http://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/brexit-theresa-villiers-misleading-on-return-of-border-controls-1.2613920

Key point is UK couldn't stop New Irish Citizens without stopping all. And welfare issues are outside the CTA

12Phase wrote: »
    That's actually how it was for decades before we joined though.

The downside is that while the CTA gives absolute freedom of movement between Ireland and the UK for Irish and British citizens, but it never, ever applied to goods and services.

That means you'll have customs borders and Ireland cannot unilaterally negotiate customs agreements as we are fully part of an EU customs union and single market.

We both joined the EEC/EU together

The CTA existed long before that though.

The UK - Irish freedom of movement never actually ended on independence. We still treat each other's citizens as non-aliens. Those things extend far beyond EU rights and it's why we didn't join Schengen fully.

That's not a right that came from EU membership. What came from that was the removal of trade and customs barriers between the two (and opened up the rest of the EU too).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭The Masculinist

He has a vote, which makes his opinion more important than yours in this matter.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,070 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

He has a vote, which makes his opinion more important than yours in this matter.

I have a vote as well and his opinion is of a dullard who has no sense of his own hypocrisy

Like most humans he is selfish. The difference is he is being honest about it. "I want what's best for me so I will vote to leave".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

As regards the dissonance of what this chap said a large swathe of Irish people in Britain may see themselves as emigrants from home (Ireland) yet paradoxically not as immigrants, given the fact they're from these islands, white, english speaking, have grown up surrounded by British media and culture,etc,etc. They're also not seen or regarded as immigrants by U.K people which reinforces this feeling that they're not immigrants like others are.

Like our taoiseach he is just some lad at a GAA match. Can we just ignore his opinions and move on like?

The UK was not so welcoming to the Irish either... "no blacks, no Irish"

They keep focusing on movement of people and security issues.

Labour, people, and security have always been cooperated on. I can't see the UK just removing itself entirely from the information systems and so on.

Also Ireland does not operate Schengen visas and never has so, whatever the EU's immigration rules are for non EU citizens are irrelevant anyway and always have been.

Sure someone from Germany desperate for fish and chips could attempt to get into the UK via Ireland but they wouldnt be able to legally work or have any EU rights there should it leave.

Non EU nationals would be subject to Irish customs and immigration rules as they always have been and those are cooperated on with the UK to an ever increasing degree under BIVS.

What would cause absolutely huge damage is the reimposotion of customs barriers. They'll have the effect of having border checkpoints, stopping people with their groceries and so on all over again.

Ireland and Britain haven't any preexisting common customs union. We got that from the European Union.

Ireland is in a customs union with the rest of the EU and if we open our backdoor to the UK it means that we would have a backdoor for UK goods and services into the European Union. That's not something we are likely to be allowed to agree while being in the EU as all customs agreements are done as a bloc.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

1) Why was he looking for work at 15 years of age?
    2) Judging from the photo, he was 15 around 20-25 years ago (guess), there were hardly any immigrants coming to Ireland at that time; And Mayo was hardly the number 1 destination to those that did.

1) Many Irishmen went to England in their mid-teens for work, I know a few lads who came here at 14 or 15 and were straight on site at that age. Often people left school at an early age and there was literally no other option available to them bar moving abroad.

2) Mayo has nothing to do with it. He's worried Eastern European migrants in the UK are making it difficult for Irish workers in the UK. I worked in construction for years over here and amongst many Irish tradesmen there is a real dislike for Eastern Europeans who are perceived as less competent and keen to undercut for jobs and work for lower rates.

Basically the same arguments which were made against us in the 1980s.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

The UK was not so welcoming to the Irish either... "no blacks, no Irish"

Still crying over 1 sign in a B&B 50 years ago :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 14,822 ✭✭✭✭First Up

Maguined wrote: »

So the UK has a CTA with Ireland. Ireland has a CTA with the rest of the EU. Therefore......

Think about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭jimmy blevins

He's seeing his livelihood destroyed and more than likely hasn't had the optionions open to lot on here ie education and career opportunities.
    The real hypocrisy is the contemptuous, im alright attitude to workers in semi skilled employment and trades whose wages have remained stagnent with reduced rights.