Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

National demonstration against the rising cost of insurance

• Registered Users Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭alta stare

shietpilot wrote: »
    I've seen Shane Byrne posting messages about insurance companies before on Facebook and it went something like "insurance companies are scumbags so I'm driving my Skyline uninsured". Just from reading that you know the kind of people you're dealing with.

Not worth the hassle going there and looking like a tool with all the other idiots.

Oh right Jesus he does seem like a twat that will act the fool. Yeah maybe ill reconsider myself if that's the kind of people who are going en mass. I guess it tells the kind of person if he is posting that on facebook alright.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

alta stare wrote: »
    Oh right Jesus.

No worries

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34 greengone

Optimistic. Didn't they work out that just incorporating tax alone into the cost of fuel was gonna add over 30c to the price of a litre? (37c seems to be stuck in my head for some reason)

sorry you lost me

last I recall is south Ireland fuel tax is something like €0.60 a liter .
    So even if oil companies gave the fuel for free we would still have to pay that 60cents per liter

the independent today confirms that the average crash with injuries payout was €22,878 (compared to my simple maths of less than €25,000)

"independent.ie/business/personal-finance/the-growing-insurance-gap-34693565.html"
    indo wrote:
    In 2015 the Injuries Board made 11,734 awards (of which 75pc were motor claims) with a total value of €268m, an average award of €22,878.

that indo report makes interesting reading and exposes the car insurance industry is raping us stupid bend over and take the shaft with no lube even
    indo wrote:
    "The insurers slashed premiums, undercharged and under-reserved as a result, drove competitors from the market (e.g. Quinn, Royal Sun Alliance and Setanta) and now, with far less competition, are massively increasing premiums on the backs of the long-suffering motorists", says Law Society chief executive Ken Murphy.

"It is outrageous that they are completely unjustifiably seeking to blame lawyers and claims costs. This is a complete red herring. In no way do any changes in these costs justify premium hikes of 20pc, 30pc or more in annual premiums."

Realisticaly less than €0.07 cents fuel tax on top of fuel would cover this injuries claim figure but I just chose €0.10 cent to keep the maths more simple and allowsome head room

"confused I dont know what this 37 cents tax you talk about"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34 greengone

It seems the Indo has seen the boards or something they are reporting the Protest with car drivers for July 2nd a Saterday outide the Lienster House (when the Gaff is closed for the well heeled boyos with government paid cars to be gone fopr thier drinking sprees back in thier local counties)

"independent.ie/life/motoring/car-news/thousands-of-cars-thousands-of-voices-all-united-against-our-oppressors-young-drivers-urged-to-join-demonstration-against-rising-cost-of-car-insurance-34705551.html"

The protest groups Face book name is Ireland underground
    indo wrote:
    “On July 2nd, we will undertake the largest cruise this country has ever seen. Thousands of cars, thousands of voices all united against our oppressors. Join the fight, on July 2nd we go to war.”

The group has also called on participants to contact their local TDs.

• Registered Users Posts: 31 Kiangriffin

I reckon it was inevitable that some people would plan to go along and end up acting the idiots which would probably get more coverage than the actual demonstration itself.

Ill be going anyway and I know a few others who are going. This could be a big thing given the coverage seems to be gaining traction. Hope the dopes stay away tho.

The Guards are being consulted, they will be monitoring the entire thing. Nobody is permitted to join without having a full windscreen. All drivers are required to give their word that there will be no messing. (Can't exactly get them to sign a legally binding contract).

I've been talking to Byrne and stressed this to him too. This will all be above board I promise that much.

• Registered Users Posts: 73,429 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Stickers with the amount of insurance paid this year, like those wheelie bin stickers on the cars would be a good idea IMO.
    That said, it's a bit odd protesting outside an empty building.

The Guards are being consulted, they will be monitoring the entire thing. Nobody is permitted to join without having a full windscreen. All drivers are required to give their word that there will be no messing. (Can't exactly get them to sign a legally binding contract).

I've been talking to Byrne and stressed this to him too. This will all be above board I promise that much.

The Guards won't be monitoring from start to finish so plenty of scope for idiots. Hopefully it will go well with no messing.

They will, I'll be keeping them informed. (I'm the one organising all this). Desperate to keep the idiots in check

Oh right good stuff. Do you think it will have less of an impact with nobody in Leinster House that day? What is the actual plan for the day?

Once the numbers are there it won't matter. It was proving very hard to get people to go midweek. So I went with the Saturday to get more numbers.

There will be meeting points all across the country and everyone will be coordinating to arrive in Dublin at midday. I'm trying to get a stage for speeches and maybe some music. But if not it will just be a case of driving through the city.

Once the numbers are there it won't matter. It was proving very hard to get people to go midweek. So I went with the Saturday to get more numbers.

There will be meeting points all across the country and everyone will be coordinating to arrive in Dublin at midday. I'm trying to get a stage for speeches and maybe some music. But if not it will just be a case of driving through the city.

Good stuff. I'll be along anyway with a few others.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,684 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

The guys in the chavved up sh*tboxes will get the coverage unfortunately and are likely to misbehave as is their norm.

The whole (in my view sincere but misguided) aim of this protest could very easily backfire badly.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,282 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

I'm definitely not going to this demonstration now. Apparently Shane Byrne from Dublin Meets (the same muppet who was on RTE's show about boyracers) is organising a convoy from Clondalkin. I'd say there will be a few drag races involved now...

ohh crap, thats the whole thing screwed, one donut, one burnout , one crash into another car or one interview with an idiot who admits to having undeclared performance mods and thats it, whole thing is a media nightmare. one of those things will definitely happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 73,429 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Really, you want ordinary joes in ordinary cars for this sort of thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,282 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Really, you want ordinary joes in ordinary cars for this sort of thing.

, the reality is going to be a bunch of lads wearing argos rings smoking joints out the side of poorly modded civics and '2.0 on de logbook' 330d's blaring 'choons' ,

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,635 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Unlike water protesters most of us work during the week. ;):p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭shietpilot

Insurance protest & coffee meet anyone? :pac:

Unlike water protesters most of us work during the week. ;):p

Haha yeah but the thing is the water protests were also on a Saturday so they must of been busy painting their placards during the week if they werent working. :D

, the reality is going to be a bunch of lads wearing argos rings smoking joints out the side of poorly modded civics and '2.0 on de logbook' 330d's blaring 'choons' ,

Which is why, with even the smallest degree of common sense, the Gardai would figure out the primary routes to dublin, and have checkpoints galore.

(I'd actively encourage this, too).

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

What exactly are your demands?
    Have you any suggestions on what should be done to meet these demands?
    Have you a timeline of when you want your demands made?
    Have you anyone "noteworthy" to assist your cause or will it simply be reported as some anonymous car enthusiasts causing trouble?
    What media outlets have been notified?
    Who will be speaking at this event?
    Assuming you get the stage, how will your protesters gather in front of it - will they be sitting in their cars or will they have left to find a parking spot?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 772 ✭✭✭the dark phantom

Sounds good might tag along ;)

kbannon wrote: »
    What exactly are your demands?
    Have you any suggestions on what should be done to meet these demands?
    Have you a timeline of when you want your demands made?
    Have you anyone "noteworthy" to assist your cause or will it simply be reported as some anonymous car enthusiasts causing trouble?
    What media outlets have been notified?
    Who will be speaking at this event?
    Assuming you get the stage, how will your protesters gather in front of it - will they be sitting in their cars or will they have left to find a parking spot?

1 million dollars
    Yes, sell your prized possessions including your family unless of course they are annoying fu(kers If so you can keep em
    By 12 o clock tomorrow morning....or else the kitten gets it
    Joe Duffy is on board he loves a good moan
    Respectable media outlets of course like Pornhub, Spankwire etc
    Enda Himself...Sound lad so he is
    Everyone can park up outside Leinster House the big screen will also show movies during a two hour long interval, one big drive in movie.....class

Sorry i was bored :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,560 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

Have you insurance for this protest?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,485 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Have you insurance for this protest?

I was just going to ask, public liability insurance won't be cheap :D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 15,298 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

I was all for this until the usual ****e talkers started showing up on Facebook with their stupid ideas.

For sure this will lose all credibility when people start doing burnouts and doughnuts.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Vicxas wrote: »
    I was all for this until the usual ****e talkers started showing up on Facebook with their stupid ideas.

For sure this will lose all credibility when people start doing burnouts and doughnuts.

Indeed, to be taken seriously at all the cars actually need to be left at home, ironic as it sounds a protest march with a predefined route worked out with Gardai to a meeting point with some sort of speakers is the only way this will be noticed in a positive manner.

As it is, its just going to be a load of cars congesting a city not designed to handle a load of cars peppered with idiots acting like tools and with "music" blaring out the windows.

No matter how good the intentions are, making it a "cruise" or car meetup will bring out these people and their behaviour follows shortly thereafter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭shietpilot

I saw Shane Byrne organised a little meetup in Ballymount last night. Some serious handbrake turns...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭robarmstrong

I saw Shane Byrne organised a little meetup in Ballymount last night. Some serious handbrake turns...

If this is to be in anyway successful or have any form of positive outcome that absolute goon needs to be kept as far away from this as possible.

Would it be worthwhile getting in touch with a few classic car groups and the likes? A few old yokes hovering around might balance out the scummer element, and seeing an odd array of cars (vintage stuff) will attract positive attention, no?

Also, could be worth hiring the A-Team.

Or at least, getting their van. Or a Starsky and Hutch car, or a Stone Cold pick-up truck, etc. to lead in the route, to draw people's attention..?

As it is.. it might not look like a protest, but instead just look like.. you know.. traffic..