Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New girlfriend with bad relationship history

• 23-04-2016 6:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭

I've been seeing my girlfriend (age 25) for about two months . She's kind, considerate and has good values.

My niggling doubts are:

She was treated extremely badly in her previous relationships. I've asked why she allowed this but says she doesn't know herself.. I've asked her does she value herself but she's unsure. She's from a "good" background - relatively stable and no significant parental issues.

She's highly emotionally intelligent but she doesn't seem to understand how the world works.

She doesn't have many friends and is possibly looking to her boyfriend for too much.

I haven't met anyone like this before and am unsure whether to continue in the relationship.

Has anyone been in a relationship with someone like this or do you have any insight?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭Mark Tapley

<SNIP> no need to quote OP

It's difficult to phrase this in a polite way. You are judging your girlfriend on her past experiences and seem to suggest she brought it on herself. Your discription of her character seems cold and unemotional. She doesn't understand how things work ? How do you think things work?
    It sounds like she needs someone to be kind and boost her self esteem. Not someone who will negatively critique her personality.
    "Relatively stable and no significant parental issues" bloody hell.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭CaraMay

Well in fairness to the op he's trying to figure out why she would allow herself to be repeatedly treated like crap. He's entitled to do that when he is trying to figure out if she is gf material or not. He would be crazy not to consider it.

I'm not sure op. No one wants to take on someone who needs to be fixed. It would be a worry that she hasn't set herself up in a socially comfortable position - whether that's 1 or 50 friends. Sounds like she would put up with anything to have a bf :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭magneticimpulse

as others have said you speak very cold of your girlfriend. If I was herid be questioning how well you are treating her and how crap as well by the way you've described her on here. You don't seem to value her at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

There are plenty of perfectly normal people who have been treated badly in the past. It happens. It doesn't mean they need fixing or that there is necessarily something more psychological about it.

You're reading too much into her history. If anything you see as a negative manifests itself in time, then you will need to make a call but until there is anything that concerns you about her in the relationship then surely you should just carry on as normal.

• Administrators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,910 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

Some people are arseholes. Seems like your gf is a nice girl, trusting and kind and got taken advantage of by immature arseholes. All she can be guilty of is being too trusting of people. I'd rather be trusting and nice than cynical and hard.

If you don't treat her badly, then I don't see the issue. You don't need to "fix" her. Her personality is what it is, and you seem to like her for it. You're 2 months in. Don't patronize her with psychoanalysis. By trying to work her out and find cause and solution rather than just enjoying your time with her and liking her for the person she is you are actually slightly guilty of treating her badly too. She's not a project. She's your gf. If you like her then appreciate you have her and can treat her well.

Oh come on people there's a list of red flags there. Op it's down to you whether you like her enough to take a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

CaraMay wrote: »
    Oh come on people there's a list of red flags there. Op it's down to you whether you like her enough to take a chance.

These red flags only exist in the OP because of the context the OP has framed them in. It's speculation.

There are plenty of people who have been mistreated by more than one previous partner who aren't psychologically flawed, for want of a better description.

Time will tell whether or not there is anything for the OP to be concerned about but right now he is just second-guessing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Some people are more likely than others to end up in abusive relationships. This girl has a limited social life and that makes it harder to see the signs that someone may not be right for you. A history of abuse will make you vulnerable and abusive partners exploit that. It's also worth remembering that an abuser rarely starts out that way and by the time they show their true colours, it's usually too late.

The past is the past OP, if you are a nice bloke then she's already broken the pattern. As others have said it's not your job to analysis her past choices or try to fix her. She's able to make that decision for herself. Unfortunately it's also true that she may bring some emotional baggage with her that impacts on you in which case I think you're well within your rights to suggest she gets help for it but until then just enjoy the relationship. Treat her well, encourage her to have a life outside of you, set clear boundaries on that and have fun. Don't make problems if none exist.

• Administrators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,910 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

What are the red flags? You mention OP that she has no "social network". Where does she find all these boyfriends then? I agree with the previous poster. Your "findings" are subjective. You say she "doesn't know how things work". I'm nearly 40, and not terribly worldly wise! I would have been a very innocent naive 20 year old. I still am. But I'm fine. I manage very well in the world. People have treated me very very badly in the past. And I let it go on for longer than it should have because I generally like to think well of people. I'm nice, so I believe everyone is nice. Sometimes it takes a while to realise they're not. The fact that these people are absolute arseholes says more about them than me.

If you like her stay with her. If you think she's too weak/meek for you let her go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

Your post is worrying, considering you are already in a committed relationship with this girl.

She is not responsible for the actions of other people, therefore it is NOT her fault if previous boyfriends took advantage of her good nature.

You seem fixated on the fact that she doesn't know why she was treated badly, the reason is those men were idiots. Why would she be concentrating on the reasons previous relationships didn't work out when she has already moved on with you? I'd actually be more concerned if she was still obsessing over these old boyfriends, but it's actually you that has the issue with them.

She sounds possibly a bit insecure which is why she's coming across as dependant on you. Encourage her to socialise with her friends a bit more if this is a concern for you.

She needs someone who will build her self esteem, make her feel loved and special after how she has been treated. If you, as her boyfriend, can't do that, then let her go so she can grow as a person with someone who actually appreciates her as she is. We all have a past.

I agree with the comment that you sound cold and critical when talking about her. Seems like your just looking for a way out and are blaming her history as an excuse to do so, when it actually has no influence on your relationship at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭Nick Lawson

I don't mean to come across as cold and judgemental - I was trying to keep my question brief.

I feel terribly guilty for having doubts as she's such a good person. I want her to be "right" for me and don't want to hurt her. The problem could be we're just not suited - I don't know..

I keep having mixed feelings..

It's obviously not just on my terms - she might have huge reservations about me!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,555 ✭✭✭Augme

Don't feel guilty, there's absolutely nothing wrong with having these doubts. I'd be the same. If I was you I'd probably leave but if your not sure then at the very least tread very carefully and slowly.

These red flags only exist in the OP because of the context the OP has framed them in. It's speculation.

There are plenty of people who have been mistreated by more than one previous partner who aren't psychologically flawed, for want of a better description.

There not really speculation though. She has had bad boyfriends, didn't know why she stayed with them, she's unsure if she values herself and doesn't have many friends. All of those things are facts and in my eyes red flags. While there are plenty of people who have been mistreated by more than one partner who aren't psychologically flawed there are also plenty of people who are psychologically flawed.

WhiteRoses wrote: »

She needs someone who will build her self esteem, make her feel loved and special after how she has been treated. If you, as her boyfriend, can't do that, then let her go so she can grow as a person with someone who actually appreciates her as she is. We all have a past.

I strongly disagree with all of this. If this girl needs someone else to built her self-esteem and make her feel loved and special then I'd turn and run fairly fast. Relying on other people to prop up your self-esteem is never going to work in the long-term and it puts huge, and unfair pressure, on a partner. She needs to build her own self-esteem, not get someone else to do it.

Thank you for your nuanced reply Augme
    Augme wrote: »
    If I was you I'd probably leave but if your not sure then at the very least tread very carefully and slowly.

Could you tell me why you'd leave
    She has had bad boyfriends, didn't know why she stayed with them, she's unsure if she values herself and doesn't have many friends. All of those things are facts and in my eyes red flags.

Could you explain in which way they'd be red flags to you?

I'm shocked by some of the details of her exs' behaviours - that they could treat someone in that way; and that she would allow them to - repeatedly..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭daisybelle2008

WhiteRoses wrote: »

She needs someone who will build her self esteem, make her feel loved and special after how she has been treated.

That's not his job! It's her job to figure out herself and value herself.

OP I agree with Augme and CaraMay, I'd see huge reflags!
    Sounds like she gets too dependent on boyfriends, has no standards how people treat her. It's hard to respect someone who acts like a doormat. people like this are actually very selfish and needy (not 'too nice' and too 'trusting').

I think your gut is telling you she is not right for you. Listen to it.

I'm shocked by some of the details of her exs' behaviours - that they could treat someone in that way; and that she would allow them to - repeatedly..

This is why I would leave. I would really not know how to handle someone who repeatedly took abuse like this.

That's not his job! It's her job to figure out herself and value herself.

OP I agree with Augme and CaraMay, I'd see huge reflags!
    Sounds like she gets too dependent on boyfriends, has no standards how people treat her. It's hard to respect someone who acts like a doormat. people like this are actually very selfish and needy (not 'too nice' and too 'trusting').

I think your gut is telling you she is not right for you. Listen to it.

Needy yes but not selfish.

Ending it is indeciciveness on my part...and perhaps cowardice..
    This is why I would leave. I would really not know how to handle someone who repeatedly took abuse like this.

Could you explain that?

She's assured me she's changed and wouldn't tolerate abuse again

If she has put up with all sorts, I'd be questioning was she with me because she liked and valued me and our relationship.
    If she sticks around no matter how sh*tty it gets or horrible the person is, you'd have to question what's the point of having a good relationship with this girl she doesn't care. Someone who doesn't like and value themselves would not appeal to me, I want a person with a healthy self esteem, not a bloody fix up project. And the lack of friends and social circle, that would be a big red flag for me.

Don't feel guilty, there's absolutely nothing wrong with having these doubts. I'd be the same. If I was you I'd probably leave but if your not sure then at the very least tread very carefully and slowly.

There not really speculation though. She has had bad boyfriends, didn't know why she stayed with them, she's unsure if she values herself and doesn't have many friends. All of those things are facts and in my eyes red flags. While there are plenty of people who have been mistreated by more than one partner who aren't psychologically flawed there are also plenty of people who are psychologically flawed.

I strongly disagree with all of this. If this girl needs someone else to built her self-esteem and make her feel loved and special then I'd turn and run fairly fast. Relying on other people to prop up your self-esteem is never going to work in the long-term and it puts huge, and unfair pressure, on a partner. She needs to build her own self-esteem, not get someone else to do it.

Perhaps needs was the wrong use of word, but the whole point of being in a relationship, in my opinion, is to build each other up and grow together and if OP can't do that then it's time to cut ties and let her meet someone who is willing to do that with her. I don't think this is an unrealistic expectation. I wouldn't say it's an unfair pressure to expect your partner to make you feel loved and special.

Let us be reminded that the girlfriend has not presented any issues on these fronts, it's OP who has concerns about her past relationships.

Given what you said I'd be very surprised if the girl didn't have really low self-esteem. Dating someone with low self-esteem can be a massive mental drain and would very likely have a big knock effect to your own happiness. Given it's the early stage I'd cut my loses and I just wouldn't want to risk going down that road. Once you go down that road it becomes harder and harder to turn back as time goes by.

Could you explain in which way they'd be red flags to you?

The reason I think they're red flags is because they all point to low self-esteem. I can't think of any other reason she got herself in those situations.

As you say, why would you allow yourself to be treated so badly repeatedly? The only reasons I can think of is because she just really wanted to have boyfriend and hated the idea of being single, again, have to ask why did she hate being single so badly? Some people simply think because they have a partner that it suddenly makes them important, or valued, and they think "Well if this person likes me, I can't be that bad?" and thus ignore how badly they are treated because they think the other option, of being single, is far worse. That's a really worrying attitude to have.

The fact she doesn't know if she values herself is a huge worry, I just can't understand how someone can't value themselves, or isn't even sure. If they don't value themselves then they clearly don't have a lot of self-esteem.

Similarly, I have to wonder why she doesn't have any friends? But more importantly because she doesn't have any friends is she going to expect me to be her sole friend and person she spends time with? That's going to cause a lot of pressure on you.

While it might not be noticeable straight away I just can't imagine how her low self-esteem wouldn't leak into your life and be a huge negative for you. Do you have female friends? Will she be happy with that? Will she be happy with you texting/talking to them? Will she get jealous? If you meet a new female friend how will she react to that? How will she feel when you go on a night out with the lads and she has to stay in on her own for a Saturday night? There just so many ways that it can have an impact.

The problem is the impact is so small that you won't really pay much attention at first but eventually you'll reach a point where the straw will break your back and that's very much what it's like. At first you barely notice these little bits of straw about her behaviour until it's too late.

Now she might not be like that at all, that's why I also mentioned treading carefully and if you decide to do that then keep an eye on behaviour like that and if you see signs of it that's when you need to bail.

Op I can't top what Augme has said. I think they are reading my mind :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭Calypso Realm

Given what you said I'd be very surprised if the girl didn't have really low self-esteem.

Hang on , low self-esteem isn't a disease nor is it a life-long condition effectively condemning the OP to a life a misery! With help and support and encouragement this can be overcome. Frankly, I'd prefer a partner with this than someone abusive and controlling.

It's not a disease but it's not a quality I would want in a partner. Everyone is entitled to choose what they want in a relationship. I would only want to be in a relationship with an equal, I don't want to have to fix anyone.

I don't want to have to fix anyone.

But the OP doesn't have to fix her. From what I can tell she hasn't asked him to.

OP, not everybody is built the same. Not everybody is sociable and confident and outgoing. You are being sketchy with the details, which is fair enough.. but the scenarios some posters are building with "what ifs" out of a few non specific lines is a bit crazy.

I think from your post you're just not feeling a spark with this girl. She's "nice" but there's no chemistry and you are trying to come up with some very elaborate explanation as to why it's not going to work out. It's ok if you're just not feeling it. But rather than analyse her and come up with a fault, just admit it. Please don't give her the "it's not me, it's you" line! You have admitted to cowardice in not ending things. You say you want her to be a stronger person? Well 'man up' and end it.

A relationship is the worst place to be trying to overcome low self esteem. People with low self esteem like this girl end up in abusive and controlling relationships and over dependent on the relationship as a 'fix'. There is something off about that girl and someone with high self esteem and high standards would not be attracted to her.

Staying out of relationships until you value yourself is pretty good advise. This girl needs to be single for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

So she allowed herself to be treated badly in the past. Hell, she's only 25! Is that not what dating in your late teens/early 20s is all about, finding out about yourself& about others, how relationships work, etc? Grand if you're one of the lucky ones who meets "The One" immediately, but for 99.9% of us, you've to kiss a few frogs before you meet your prince!

Thanks again for the replies.

I generally agree with the low self-esteem conclusion. I've never heard of someone being treated so badly. She did end relationships though but always went back with them.

She has seen me doing basic things in my life - meeting friends occasionally, going to the cafe - and said her life seems boring, she's not jealous though and actively encourages me to do things. A bit confusing..

How do people end up with so little self-worth?

She has no family living here and has been courageous in her life choices, which is at odds with low self-esteem..

I can't 'fix' her but feel sad for her. She's so kind, giving and thoughtful. I'll miss her..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭Mark Tapley

Thanks again for the replies.

I generally agree with the low self-esteem conclusion. I've never heard of someone being treated so badly. She did end relationships though but always went back with them.

She has seen me doing basic things in my life - meeting friends occasionally, going to the cafe - and said her life seems boring, she's not jealous though and actively encourages me to do things. A bit confusing..

How do people end up with so little self-worth?

She has no family living here and has been courageous in her life choices, which is at odds with low self-esteem..

I can't 'fix' her but feel sad for her. She's so kind, giving and thoughtful. I'll miss her..

At least after you have put her life under a microscope and found it not worthy you can find comfort in pity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 385 ✭✭batmanrobin

You kinda sound like you're talking about the family pet!! It's not coming across great.

Look, you're not feeling it, that's fine. Next time you get involved with someone don't play the role of counsellor as it creates an unhealthy dynamic.

When you do end it, don't tell her it's because of her. No need to add insult to injury. All you need to say is there's no spark. You don't need to tell her you pity her etc.

Very true. But for someone to fix it they also need to realise they have low self-esteem and be willing to get help for it, ideally professional help. At the start of a relationship telling your partner that you think she has low self-esteem and should get help for it isn't guaranteed to work. Not too mention that while she gets help it can be very difficult and trying. Not exactly a way to spend the "honey moon" period of a relationship.

sdgcvv wrote: »
    So she allowed herself to be treated badly in the past. Hell, she's only 25! Is that not what dating in your late teens/early 20s is all about, finding out about yourself& about others, how relationships work, etc? Grand if you're one of the lucky ones who meets "The One" immediately, but for 99.9% of us, you've to kiss a few frogs before you meet your prince!

I think there is a massive difference between kissing a few frogs and continuously dating different people who treat you like dirt and then even going back to them numerous times while they treat you like dirt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,089 ✭✭✭Lavinia

TBH I think if you walk away do not lie that it is because of her - it is because of you and your selfishness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭StripedBoxers

You could be describing me in your opening post, OP.

I have to say, if I was seeing a guy who described me or spoke about me like you are speaking about this girl, I would hope he'd leave me. I would hate to think any partner could speak of me like you do of this girl.

If you are having these doubt two months in its probably a signal that you aren't overly happy or comfortable and for her sake and yours you should leave her and find someone who you think is more suitable for you.

Whatever you do, don't string her along if you are unsure, its the most cruel thing you could do to be honest, as she would develop stronger feelings for you and would be more devastated when (if) you do break up. You'll be the asshole then for stringing her along knowing you feel/felt the way you do.

There's a lot of misunderstanding here. I like her - a lot- I just can't get my head around certain things, hence the post!

I don't like writing people off, I have empathy - I don't 'pity' her or anyone else.

I'm wondering what this forum is actually for.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 17,425 ✭✭✭✭Conor Bourke

There's a lot of misunderstanding here. I like her - a lot- I just can't get my head around certain things, hence the post!

I don't like writing people off, I have empathy - I don't 'pity' her or anyone else.

Do you mind me asking how old you are yourself, OP? I don't mean to be rude or pick holes in your story but perhaps it would be helpful to know what your experience in life is in relation to hers. You sound like you're both young and maybe you're a little naive in your own way so you're finding it hard to understand where your girlfriend is coming from? (If I'm being too nosy or am way wide of the mark, feel free to tell me to piss off :o )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭Rachiee

The dynamics created in an abusive relationship are complex. There is huge amount of victim blaming in your post. Sometimes abusers are highly skilled at manipulation and even someone with average self esteem can fall victim and that self esteem be eroded over time by the abuser.
    She may very well be vulnerable to abuse at this point but if you are planning on treating her right why is this a problem. I get that low self esteem is a turn off it would be for me too but I don't think it's fair to judge her current esteem levels on past behaviour when you don't really know what was going on for her at that time.

The forum is for giving advice, not telling people what they want to hear.

You say you like her but you shouldn't be trying to deconstruct her. It's not healthy for either party.

Abuse doesn't just happen straight into a relationship, OP. It's a slow decay that chips away at a person's self esteem each day. It can wear a person down before they realise what's happened. Trying to build back up the self esteem can be very difficult after that as it's ingrained in the person's head that they're worthless. So yes, I can see how she might be susceptible to getting involved with the same type of man.

But you need to decide whether you wish to proceed with caution or call it a day.

Do you mind me asking how old you are yourself, OP? I don't mean to be rude or pick holes in your story but perhaps it would be helpful to know what your experience in life is in relation to hers. You sound like you're both young and maybe you're a little naive in your own way so you're finding it hard to understand where your girlfriend is coming from? (If I'm being too nosy or am way wide of the mark, feel free to tell me to piss off :o )

No problem. I'm significantly older - maybe that's part of the problem..

I'm feeling intensely sad and guilty for asking these questions / analysing / deconstructing or whatever term fits.

I'm feeling intensely confused about my own feelings. I know we're all responsible for our own lives but I can't help but feel in some way worried about her future without me.

I'm not boasting but I'm good to her - from what she's told me, treating her better than anyone else has. Whether I could or couldn't, I have no desire to treat anyone badly.

This is a lot about me - I find it difficult to decisively end a relationship because it's not "right". Like I said, I'm afraid of hurting people

You don't come across like you have much respect for her tbh. Repeatedly asking yourself why she thinks so little of herself that she ended up with bullies sounds like you think she's damaged goods or something. There is obviously something redeeming about her if you're dating her. Try treating her like you would any other girlfriend instead of a problem to be solved or someone who needs protecting.

eviltwin wrote: »
    You don't come across like you have much respect for her tbh. Repeatedly asking yourself why she thinks so little of herself that she ended up with bullies sounds like you think she's damaged goods or something. There is obviously something redeeming about her if you're dating her. Try treating her like you would any other girlfriend instead of a problem to be solved or someone who needs protecting.

I'm not treating her like 'damaged goods' - I could be more damaged myself..

I am treating her like any other girlfriend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭Emme

No problem. I'm significantly older - maybe that's part of the problem..

This surprises me because you come across as being her age or even a bit younger. Life experience usually brings wisdom and helps us deal with people in a kinder way.
    I'm feeling intensely sad and guilty for asking these questions / analysing / deconstructing or whatever term fits.

I'm feeling intensely confused about my own feelings. I know we're all responsible for our own lives but I can't help but feel in some way worried about her future without me.

I think she will be just fine without you. You seem very unsure of your own feelings which is not good news for a relationship. Do her a favour and let her go. She needs somebody who builds her up, not somebody who picks holes in her and finds fault with her. You may not be doing this to her face but you're clearly not happy with her.
    I'm not boasting but I'm good to her - from what she's told me, treating her better than anyone else has. Whether I could or couldn't, I have no desire to treat anyone badly.

I'm sure you don't, as long as they fit into whatever ideal you have concerning relationships.
    This is a lot about me - I find it difficult to decisively end a relationship because it's not "right". Like I said, I'm afraid of hurting people

The sentence "this is a lot about me" really stood out. I think this is the crux of the issue - it's really about you and not about her. Let her go and do her a favour. She will be just fine without you.

Nick, I think you are getting a bit of a hard time but it is because of how you are coming across in your posts. You are coming across as quite patronising of your gf, and it doesn't surprise me to hear you are "significantly older" than her. You say you are treating her like any other girlfriend, but are you? Did you anaylse other girlfriends and question their history and family background so much? You're only 2 months into a relationship. Should you not just be enjoying your time together? Maybe she shouldn't have divulged so much information to you about her past relationships, but maybe you questioned her on them?

Nobody here knows the dynamic and we can only advise on what you've posted. But it is very clear that you are just not suited to each other. That doesn't necessarily mean it's her fault or yours. She is who she is. You are who you are, not everyone is compatible. Let her go, she might be upset briefly but she will get over you! It's only been 2 months, she'll move on. It's better for her to move onto a relationship where her boyfriend sees her as an equal. I know you like her and you like a lot about her, but you don't see her as equal to you. Staying with her out of a sense of duty, or guilt, will only do her more damage in the long run. She will sense it from you. If you think she's been through enough bad relationships, don't keep her in another one that you know in your heart is going nowhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,411 ✭✭✭✭woodchuck

If the relationship doesn't feel right, then just break up with her. I could be wrong, but I suspect what is happening here is that you're looking for a 'reason' to break up which is leading to all the analysis of her past etc? It sounds to me like you've already made your decision. Something that took me a long time to learn was that you don't need a reason as such to break up; trusting your gut that it's just not right is good enough.

And she'll be fine without you. Sounds like she has survived much worse. Being afraid of hurting someone is a terrible reason to stay with them. And to be honest it comes across as a little arrogant to think you would have that much impact on her life in the long term. She'll have a bit of a cry and then get over it and move on.

Really? The OP is being called selfish and a coward for having reasonable doubts about pursuing a relationship with a person who doesn t value themselves?? OP everything you said is completely reasonable. The part where she said she has no idea why she let these guys treat her like that is really concerning, if she is not self aware enough to realise that her low self-esteem is the problem with who she is attracting and she has done nothing about it, then of course she would put up with abuse again. And she still doesn t know if she values herself!!! How on earth is that someone who is ready for a decent functional relationship??

He never said he pitied her, he said he felt sad/empathetic about her situation. And it is sad that she feels that way about herself. It would be great if she didn t.

Of course she is young and still finding her way and learning, but you are in a completely different place than her.
    OP don t be afraid to bail on a relationship where you have doubts and niggles like this. Weighing up someone s suitability is completely normal. Just because she is nice is not a reason to stay. She is nice, yeah grand so are most people, but she is needy, no social life and doesn t value herself .that to me has the same rate of relationship success as with an abusive controlling person. Guess what they both suffer from low self esteem, yes even the abusive controlling person!!. Run a mile from anyone with low self esteem and make no apologies about that, they play out their neediness in different ways, all of it is dysfunctional to a relationship. Find someone who likes and values themselves, you ll have a much more carefree enjoyable relationship.

You are wise to realise that there will be problems down the line, there will be. Fair play for recognising it and considering it. Don't apologise for having high standards, not wanting to go out with someone with low self esteem is nothing to be ashamed of, it is very wise. I am surprised at the hard time you are getting.

Really? The OP is being called selfish and a coward for having reasonable doubts about pursuing a relationship with a person who doesn t value themselves?? OP everything you said is completely reasonable. The part where she said she has no idea why she let these guys treat her like that is really concerning, if she is not self aware enough to realise that her low self-esteem is the problem with who she is attracting and she has done nothing about it, then of course she would put up with abuse again. And she still doesn t know if she values herself!!! How on earth is that someone who is ready for a decent functional relationship??

He never said he pitied her, he said he felt sad/empathetic about her situation. And it is sad that she feels that way about herself. It would be great if she didn t.

Of course she is young and still finding her way and learning, but you are in a completely different place than her.
    OP don t be afraid to bail on a relationship where you have doubts and niggles like this. Weighing up someone s suitability is completely normal. Just because she is nice is not a reason to stay. She is nice, yeah grand so are most people, but she is needy, no social life and doesn t value herself .that to me has the same rate of relationship success as with an abusive controlling person. Guess what they both suffer from low self esteem, yes even the abusive controlling person!!. Run a mile from anyone with low self esteem and make no apologies about that, they play out their neediness in different ways, all of it is dysfunctional to a relationship. Find someone who likes and values themselves, you ll have a much more carefree enjoyable relationship.

You are wise to realise that there will be problems down the line, there will be. Fair play for recognising it and considering it. Don't apologise for having high standards, not wanting to go out with someone with low self esteem is nothing to be ashamed of, it is very wise. I am surprised at the hard time you are getting.

Thank you daisybelle - you've nailed it.

This is about me too. In a broader context, in addition to the obvious attraction to someone in a relationship, it can also act as a bit of buffer from the harshness of life. I've been single for long periods and managed okay but like before, I'm now thinking "here I am again - what next?" and "it's just me and world"..

I know this is no reason to stay in a relationship but it's there..Weakness on my part? Perhaps so..

Thank you daisybelle - you've nailed it.

This is about me too. In a broader context, in addition to the obvious attraction to someone in a relationship, it can also act as a bit of buffer from the harshness of life. I've been single for long periods and managed okay but like before, I'm now thinking "here I am again - what next?" and "it's just me and world"..

I know this is no reason to stay in a relationship but it's there..Weakness on my part? Perhaps so..

Nick, you're not selfish or anything else for not wanting to be in a relationship with someone with low self esteem. It's hard work and usually lots of drama.

That being said, you're coming across quite poorly in your posts - you seem to think this woman will be broken by you ending the relationship. I can guarantee you she won't.

What will upset her is knowing you continued in a relationship with her out of pity or any other naff reason.

Do not drag the ass out of this and create drama where there doesn't need to be any! The two of you aren't suited so just do the right thing and end the relationship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,089 ✭✭✭Lavinia

Gs. So (following your logic) she can think too that you have been in relationships before and all of them failed so you must be a terrible loser as a person.
    wow such a mature reflecting on life.

Nick, you're not selfish or anything else for not wanting to be in a relationship with someone with low self esteem. It's hard work and usually lots of drama.

That being said, you're coming across quite poorly in your posts - you seem to think this woman will be broken by you ending the relationship. I can guarantee you she won't.

What will upset her is knowing you continued in a relationship with her out of pity or any other naff reason.

Do not drag the ass out of this and create drama where there doesn't need to be any! The two of you aren't suited so just do the right thing and end the relationship.

Thanks for your reply, which I largely agree with, but I'm wondering how is having regard for someone be "coming across quite poorly"? I'm not being arrogant or have an overinflated opinion of myself but she likes me a lot, as do I her but have some niggling doubts. I thought this forum was for queries such as this?

Because you sound more like a shrink analysing a client than you do a boyfriend being concerned for his girlfriend.

She has low self esteem and has been in abusive relationships. She is now in a relationship with you and you have doubts as to whether she's a good enough match for you. Perhaps this is why she is in a relationship with you. Perhaps on some level she knows it's not going to work out.

We tend to attract and be attracted to the same types of people. We also tend to play out the same types of drama etc. When it's a person with low self esteem, these dramas are magnified. It becomes a self fulling prophecy. She doesn't think she's good enough or worthy enough and she attracts to her and is attracted to men who show her this.

You don't just wake up one morning in a healthy relationship when all you've ever been in are dysfunctional ones, not without serious self work. I take it she hadn't done that. She needs to and she needs to do it single.

Lavinia wrote: »
    TBH I think if you walk away do not lie that it is because of her - it is because of you and your selfishness.

How is he selfish exactly? If more people took their time and thought about getting into relationships there would be less carnage around (and no relationship issues on boards ;)) he would be nuts to continue if he guy is shouting at him.

He's already in a relationship with her, it's not like he's considering whether to commit to this girl, they are already together.
    I would be more sympathetic to OPs concerns if they were still in the dating stage but they've been together 2 months already.
    It just sounds like a cop out, this girl has not presented any issues and it's just her past OP is concerned about, and it's a bit late in the day for that. He's projecting his own issues onto her and I agree that he should move on seeing as he's uncertain of his feelings for her.

You've posted nothing about your relationship with her only her past. Yes she's had a tough time of it and that's going to take time to recover from but that doesn't mean you can't both build a good solid relationship. The fact she's dating you and not yet another bully is a good thing, she is already making better choices. I'm just a bit confused as to why you have concerns...has anything actually happened since you started dating to make you question it or is your uncertainty all based on what might happen? How much of her past were you aware of when you started going out?