Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

First Dates Ireland *read first post*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭Username exists

He's got the pocket geography all wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

Croatian girl was an absolute stunner. Yerman was decent looking but his teeth were horrible, he was awkward and he couldn't manage eye contact.

Thought the two lads going as a pair was sad. Just do it yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Im interested to see the show now because how stunning everyone is saying this croatian girl was..how pretty can she be haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

wakka12 wrote: »
    Im interested to see the show now because how stunning everyone is saying this croatian girl was..how pretty can she be haha

It's the body more than the face....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭w/s/p/c/

Good to read I am not the only one sick of the sob stories.  Last night the fella from the north who was 49, mentioned his brother died when he was 7.  42 years ago... Sad as it is to lose a sibling at any age, why would you talk about that on a blind date with someone?!?  The producers of this show must be picking people based on any hardships they may of had in their life as it seems to make "good TV".  Used to like watching this, was a bit of craic, but gone downhill big time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,577 ✭✭✭tinpib

w/s/p/c/ wrote: »
    Good to read I am not the only one sick of the sob stories.  Last night the fella from the north who was 49, mentioned his brother died when he was 7.  42 years ago... Sad as it is to lose a sibling at any age, why would you talk about that on a blind date with someone?!?  The producers of this show must be picking people based on any hardships they may of had in their life as it seems to make "good TV".  Used to like watching this, was a bit of craic, but gone downhill big time.

Ya, I agree, and it seems most on here do too. The producers have decided to go for the X-Factor style sob stories. I haven't seen UK First Dates, do they do it too?

But I think it's a big mistep, there is no need for it. Part of the appeal is that the people appearing are just normal Joe and Josephine Soaps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭johnpatrick81

I dunno lads, think ye are being a bit harsh. I can't remember the context, but say she asked if he had a big family, or brothers or sisters, how would he NOT bring that story up?

Sadness or tragedy are parts of most people's lives, and if you're on a sit down first date based solely on conversation, they more than likely will come up. It's only a small part of the date, so yes, it might seem more in your face in the TV edit, but I wouldn't hold it against the daters or deem them weird for bringing it up. It's a huge part of their lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,394 ✭✭✭PhiloCypher

w/s/p/c/ wrote: »

Some of it is I'm sure prompted and encouraged by the production company but not all of it. A lot of these things would come up naturally on a first date. Like if someone is asked if you have ever been married , is the guy/girl meant to just say yes and not elaborate . Or if your asked do you have any siblings do you just say no not anymore and leave it at that . I mean I know it's a bit of heavy of a conversation for a first date but these are all commonly asked questions and if you shut them down with a one word answer you wouldn't be getting a second one in, real life or the show.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,227 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

If it comes up naturally it's fair enough but some do seem to just shoe horn it in there:

Dater A: So, how are you?
    Dater B: I'm fine now, but 20 years ago my granny was killed in a tragic knitting accident so that was pretty tough for me.

Every date seems to have at least one sob story which has to be more than a co-incidence especially when they talk about it on their own when they're being interviewed by the show in the green room. Even when it is brought up naturally, some seem to go into a lot of detail about it for a first date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

https://gfycat.com/ComfortableTenseGalapagosmockingbird

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Not to be mean, but I think it was kinda ****ty of the show to pair the two gay guys one being quite a lot better looking than the other, Id feel so awkward if they matched me with somebody way better looking than me

Both seem like lovely chaps though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,805 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Not to be mean, but I think it was kinda ****ty of the show to pair the two gay guys one being quite a lot better looking than the other, Id feel so awkward if they matched me with somebody way better looking than me

Both seem like lovely chaps though.
    I did like the part when he saw the Canadian guy walk past the window and he just said....Oh jesus!

He was very handsome in fairness and amazing teeth!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Feels like a lot of these dates are people trying to out 'misery' each other, its boring and tiresome. 'Oh I was feeling bad cos I'm the wrong gender and in the wrong body' 'yeah well I had ball cancer so' 'I'm tired of being single despite the fact I'm only 18 and don't which way is up yet' etc etc.

gmisk wrote: »
    I did like the part when he saw the Canadian guy walk past the window and he just said....Oh jesus!

He was very handsome in fairness and amazing teeth!

that's what you call a juxtaposition really, the teeth I mean, not to be horrible but it was very obvious. ah sure in fairness the oul delph on em was on par with a tom cruise type smile for gods sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,394 ✭✭✭PhiloCypher

The one thing that always annoys me is when they match people from opposite ends of the country. For most people the chemistry would have to be off the scale to consider a second date or indeed a relationship over long distances. I mean by all means feature people from all over the country and not just Dublin where the show is based, but at least match them with somebody on the same side of the country to them.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,878 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

The one thing that always annoys me is when they match people from opposite ends of the country. For most people the chemistry would have to be off the scale to consider a second date or indeed a relationship over long distances. I mean by all means feature people from all over the country and not just Dublin where the show is based, but at least match them with somebody on the same side of the country to them.

Agreed, sometimes it's hard to get invested in watching a date when you know it's highly unlikely they'll be seeing each other afterwards. Heck, it must have been difficult for the dates themselves to get invested in it.

I mean take the Donegal and Cork date. For them to try and keep it going there's no direct public transport between the two, so to drive it's a five and a half to six hour trip. It's actually be just as hard, or maybe even slightly easier it the distance was say, Cork to London.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,878 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Was behind a few episodes on First Dates but all caught up now. I think the quality has stepped up in recent weeks, much more variety in the dates. Particularly liking the older ones. I recognised Jamie from last night's show, he used to work in Killarney. I felt a bit sorry for him, it was an obvious mismatch from the beginning. Although he says he's seeing someone now so it's all worked out handy for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,431 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Is easily relocate for a girl ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,431 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Agreed, sometimes it's hard to get invested in watching a date when you know it's highly unlikely they'll be seeing each other afterwards. Heck, it must have been difficult for the dates themselves to get invested in it.

I mean take the Donegal and Cork date. For them to try and keep it going there's no direct public transport between the two, so to drive it's a five and a half to six hour trip. It's actually be just as hard, or maybe even slightly easier it the distance was say, Cork to London.
    My mum is from Cork and Dads from Donegal. They started dating in the 70s.
    If you like the person it works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,837 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Mila holy Jaysus :O

Why does every series have a lad whip his top off? Felt sorry for the Welsh guy hes so nice, too many sob stories, anyone feel the date between Mila and Jack was a lil short :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,838 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Caught up with the episode on the Player.

The (sort of) French speaking woman seemed really nice and genuine and was very attractive for her age. I can see why she turned down the chicken farmer from NI though, they didn't seem to have too much in common.

The Croatian girl was lovely, quite shy but very sweet. I get the feeling that Portuguese based bloke was a tiny bit up himself and I had an idea he'd turn her down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,034 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Your man from Tallaght must be Philly Tallafornia's old lad.

5 minutes into the date and he's on about ****fests and masterbation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭Greybottle

Yer mans daughter will be mortified tomorrow, what with him talking about her periods and potty training. Mad as a badger.

How is that Cork woman single? She is an absolute beaut!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭jeff bingham

Jesus you would need the break for the ads. Total awkwardness that I can't stop watching!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Your man from Tallaght must be Philly Tallafornia's old lad.

5 minutes into the date and he's on about ****fests and masterbation.

Seems really immature or something

Not this Cork woman at the moment I might add. The beauty from Kinsale with the killer smile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,805 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Lovely as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,739 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

What's with all the farmers this year?!

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,577 ✭✭✭tinpib

gmisk wrote: »
    Lovely as well

Very genuine too. Runs her own business, all very attractive. If you browse boards then pm me!