Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

First Dates Ireland *read first post*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,577 ✭✭✭tinpib

We dont need to work too hard to figure out which one either :D

This is the lovely Rebecca's business by the way. Some of her treats look almost as good as she does

https://www.facebook.com/Rebeccskitchen/?hc_ref=ARROnYtPRarLz2YNHlopCSr5l4H1ps37SgAwwd2jiHmG2cLaqqbfXe_hKjx2TmOLRj0&fref=nf

Good stuff, hopefully this slightly invasive Boards stalking of her Facebook page, of which I am an eager participant, gives her business a boost. Though she does seem to be doing very well anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,739 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

I'm still stunned by the dad of two's conversation with his date!
    'She handed my ex a ****'.
    I think I would have excused myself and left then.
    I know he was talking about a child but it still wasn't appropriate talk for a first date!

To thine own self be true

tinpib wrote: »
    Good stuff, hopefully this slightly invasive Boards stalking of her Facebook page, of which I am an eager participant, gives her business a boost. Though she does seem to be doing very well anyway.

Last week a girl from Clonmel who owned a chipper was on it. This week its a girl with a bakery in Cork. hmmmm, im starting to wonder if finding a boyfriend is the real motivation here :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

The one from Chicago was a pain in the hoop! She also looked like Evelyn Cusack

• Closed Accounts Posts: 872 ✭✭✭martyoo

They usually do a good job putting people together but the lecturer and mr. Inappropriate were not similar in any way. Complete mismatch.

Thought the girl with the food business came across really well. Her chap seemed decent too.

anna080 wrote: »
    The one from Chicago was a pain in the hoop! She also looked like Evelyn Cusack
    I kept thinking of ways she would benefit from a make over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,912 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I'd sort of know the guy with the Tattoos at the end. They didn't last because he's in a relationship with somebody else now.

He seemed quite mature for his age.
    The girl he was with could have been as nice as pie but if I was meeting her for a date and she flashed me that Mad Hatter tattoo, I'd have run out the door.
    I have an absolute phobia for Alice in Wonderland. It frightens the bejaysus out of me since I was a child and if I had to look at that tattoo every day I'd be admitted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,394 ✭✭✭PhiloCypher

ted1 wrote: »
    My mum is from Cork and Dads from Donegal. They started dating in the 70s.
    If you like the person it works.

Oh absolutely, nothing is insurmountable if the chemistry is there and you really like the person. But this isn't the 70's, we live in the tinder era where a more conveniently situated partner is possibly a mere swipe away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,034 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

I'm still stunned by the dad of two's conversation with his date!
    'She handed my ex a ****'.
    I think I would have excused myself and left then.
    I know he was talking about a child but it still wasn't appropriate talk for a first date!

Well that was already after he said he would have loved to have gone to college as it was supposed to be a fúckfest. And something else about masterbation in Boston.

I'm definitely no prude but even I know it's a bit much to speak like that to someone you just met. He came off fairly immature for someone in their mid 40's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,431 ✭✭✭✭ted1

tinpib wrote: »

Last week a girl from Clonmel who owned a chipper was on it. This week its a girl with a bakery in Cork. hmmmm, im starting to wonder if finding a boyfriend is the real motivation here :D
    Busy girls who work for themselves putting on long hours. I believe that they are very genuine ( neither mentioned the business name )

ted1 wrote: »
    Busy girls who work for themselves putting on long hours. I believe that they are very genuine ( neither mentioned the business name )

I said that a bit tongue and cheek tbh. Yes both are genuine lovely women and you are right they didnt mention where their business is.

They were set up with very vain boys but perhaps that is what they specified that they look for in a partner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,766 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

That Angie lady, her back story was tough, would like a happy ending for her

No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change this World

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,878 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Great dates this week, but it none of them developed into anything after it seems? They never followed up on Rebecca or Fiachra either, so safe to presume nothing happened there either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,113 ✭✭✭✭cgcsb

That American girl was starved. Her legs were like two bandy matchsticks walking in the door. God love her probably an eating disorder. Then yer man she was with just kept talking about sh1t. Disaster.

No same sex daters this week?

Great dates this week, but it none of them developed into anything after it seems? They never followed up on Rebecca or Fiachra either, so safe to presume nothing happened there either.

https://twitter.com/RTE2/status/968615047223304192

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,662 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

Rebecca is still single lads!

Time for ye to jump into those shkin tight jeans, ditch the socks and head down south to ask her out.

Go on, ye know ye wanna😜

cgcsb wrote: »
    That American girl was starved. Her legs were like two bandy matchsticks walking in the door. God love her probably an eating disorder. Then yer man she was with just kept talking about sh1t. Disaster.

I actually thought she was a lovely girl , very intelligent and very engaging with a lovely smile 😊. This is what most of us look like without hair extensions, fake tans, fake lips , fake nails, and a couple of layers of makeup. Lots of men would be attracted to a natural woman like her .

It’s a bit unfair to label someone with an eating disorder and comment on their physical appearance. How many of us would appear on First Dates and face the comments and scrutiny of people who don’t even know you ? She was far nicer than most of those teenagers (gay and straight) who were on earlier episodes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

I actually thought she was a lovely girl , very intelligent and very engaging with a lovely smile 😊. This is what most of us look like without hair extensions, fake tans, fake lips , fake nails, and a couple of layers of makeup.

Fake eyelashes, veneers, face and body contouring, balayages, the list goes on....I don't think many men realize a lot of women will have all of the above on the go at once these days! (Through pressure to look perfect or whatever)

I too thought she was a really nice woman, and a hell of a lot more open than Jeff or whatever his name was gave her credit for! Easily offended, I doubt it!

Fake eyelashes, veneers, face and body contouring, balayages, the list goes on....I don't think many men realize a lot of women will have all of the above on the go at once these days!

We do realise..

I actually thought she was a lovely girl , very intelligent and very engaging with a lovely smile 😊. This is what most of us look like without hair extensions, fake tans, fake lips , fake nails, and a couple of layers of makeup. Lots of men would be attracted to a natural woman like her .

It’s a bit unfair to label someone with an eating disorder and comment on their physical appearance. How many of us would appear on First Dates and face the comments and scrutiny of people who don’t even know you ? She was far nicer than most of those teenagers (gay and straight) who were on earlier episodes!

Yeah i think she is a fierce nice lady. Feel sorry for her with the pleb they set her up with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭Greybottle

cgcsb wrote: »

No way does she have an eating disorder, you might need to research the topic a bit more. Terrible insult to give somebody.

Jorie would be really pretty if she ditched the side fringe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,113 ✭✭✭✭cgcsb

I actually thought she was a lovely girl , very intelligent and very engaging with a lovely smile ��. This is what most of us look like without hair extensions, fake tans, fake lips , fake nails, and a couple of layers of makeup. Lots of men would be attracted to a natural woman like her .

Sorry, I wasn't being negative about the girl. Just felt sorry for her because she looked starved. She was pretty though and a very nice person.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 93 ✭✭Unicrons Dad

The blond waitress on the show Alice is absolutely gorgeous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,226 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

I like this auld lad.

Hope the older couple click, they seem very nice. Loneliness is a very hard thing when you've been with someone all your life.

Saw the promo for these two; the blond and the Afghani. She's not very diplomatic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Omg the actual state of them two yokes with the tan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,034 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Is this fella of foreign ancestry or did he just bathe in Ronseal woodstain?