Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sex Box

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

mansize wrote: »
    They can't show real sex on tv

You have not seen the Show " A girls guide to 21st century sex" then!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

allibastor wrote: »
    You have not seen the Show " A girls guide to 21st century sex" then!!!

They can simulate sex, they can't have penetrated sex

• Registered Users Posts: 3,747 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Is it a sort of nudey thing father?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

mansize wrote: »
    They can simulate sex, they can't have penetrated sex

It was on TV3 before, and yes it had full sex.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭armaghlad

I haven't watched this (yet :p ) but surely it is infinitely better than that utter crap that is gogglebox?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,440 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

armaghlad wrote: »
    I haven't watched this (yet :p ) but surely it is infinitely better than that utter crap that is gogglebox?

What? Gogglebox is one of the best and funniest shows on tv?

They actually watch 'Sex Box' on it last week and most of them thought it was rubbish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

allibastor wrote: »
    It was on TV3 before, and yes it had full sex.

I'll have to research this further

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

have a root
    G'day mate, chuck another shrimp on the barbie
    What are the poms up to now then?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,747 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

biko wrote: »
    G'day mate, chuck another shrimp on the barbie
    What are the poms up to now then?
    Less it ye flamin galah

murpho999 wrote: »
    What? Gogglebox is one of the best and funniest shows on tv?

They actually watch 'Sex Box' on it last week and most of them thought it was rubbish.
    Gogglebox is awful. Can't understand the appeal with it.

You get to know the characters on it and some of their comments are hilarious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

Is it a sort of nudey thing father?

Do you see the lot , or is it just the top half you see ?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,682 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

The people who take part in these shows are vain beyond belief. It's like the celebrity sex tape. When you hear that there is one on the go, you just know that the celebrity in question has a massive tool ! They're so proud of it that the film it and accidentally/on purpose let the tape leak for all to see e.g. Colin Farrell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

Ally Dick wrote: »
    The people who take part in these shows are vain beyond belief. It's like the celebrity sex tape. When you hear that there is one on the go, you just know that the celebrity in question has a massive tool ! They're so proud of it that the film it and accidentally/on purpose let the tape leak for all to see e.g. Colin Farrell.
    Yeah didn't Colin "Be Jaysus" Farrell upload the video himself and flood facebook and twitter with links to it ?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

You know I've noticed there's a correlation between boring people and sex.people who try to be sexy, like being seen as risqué, talk about it too much, they're normally have **** all else going on in their empty heads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭catbear

I'm more interested in what it represents than actually watching it.

There was time when nations only had a few channels and everyone talked about the same thing, "did ya see such and such last night on telly?".
    Some ground breaking taboo would have been broken in some soap and from then on you could almost feel everyone at the same time getting it.

There was a sense a national observance that's completely dissipated since, everyone can now pursue their own current media consumption independent of schedules.

In a way gogglebox feels like a parting ode to a nation watching the same programmes at the same time. When people watching telly is telly then it's over and we can only watch with nostalgia for a time gone.

I got rid of TV over a decade ago and am only exposed to it again because I'm fixing up my mums old house. When we move on again telly will be gone from our lives again.

Actually I found an old eighties set in storage, took out the tube and wiring and am going to put a fishtank into the TV box. Says it all really.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,414 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

The interaction between the families is always funny and fascinating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

catbear wrote: »
    I'm more interested in what it represents than actually watching it.

There was time when nations only had a few channels and everyone talked about the same thing, "did ya see such and such last night on telly?".
    Some ground breaking taboo would have been broken in some soap and from then on you could almost feel everyone at the same time getting it.

There was a sense a national observance that's completely dissipated since, everyone can now pursue their own current media consumption independent of schedules.

In a way gogglebox feels like a parting ode to a nation watching the same programmes at the same time. When people watching telly is telly then it's over and we can only watch with nostalgia for a time gone.

I got rid of TV over a decade ago and am only exposed to it again because I'm fixing up my mums old house. When we move on again telly will be gone from our lives again.

Actually I found an old eighties set in storage, took out the tube and wiring and am going to put a fishtank into the TV box. Says it all really.

My father said something very similar to this to me a while ago.

I remember dying to go into school on a Tuesday morning so we could all reminisce about the new Father Ted episode shown the night before. But also even just family jokes about characters that you all knew, things like that.

My oh watches Countryfile every Sunday. It was like a routine in his house growing up and he said Sunday just doesn't feel right without it.

• Registered Users Posts: 46 112togo

This really is a new low. I've heard reality tv described as the modern equivalent of the Victorian freak shows, and this programme fits right in to that.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,137 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Ally Dick wrote: »
    The people who take part in these shows are vain beyond belief. It's like the celebrity sex tape. When you hear that there is one on the go, you just know that the celebrity in question ha is a massive tool ! They're so proud of it that the film it and accidentally/on purpose let the tape leak for all to see e.g. Colin Farrell.

I corrected that for you. ;)

Where does reality TV go from here.
    We have had the sex guide programs, the embarrassing bodies program, the dating shows for disfigured people, the guy with the massive balls, etc.

It is akin to the old freakshows where people get to gawk at the risque, the helpless, the less fortunate.
    All the better if it involves sex organs.

Oh wait haven't they already done a show about the current elephant man as he tried to get his tumors removed.
    Granted that poor guy had an excuse as he was really poor and not from someplace with widely available free western healthcare.

Sad that this what TV has degenerated into.

kneemos wrote: »
    The interaction between the families is always funny and fascinating.
    Each to their own but I find nothing fascinating about watching people watch TV.

Well just don't watch it then and leave others to it.

You don't get the show, it's about how TV impacts their lives and how programmes are perceived. I find it very entertaining and interesting and also funny.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,682 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Yeah didn't Colin "Be Jaysus" Farrell upload the video himself and flood facebook and twitter with links to it ?

Yes he did. He has a <cough> impressive appendage, it has to be said

Well just don't watch it then and leave others to it.

You don't get the show, it's about how TV impacts their lives and how programmes are perceived. I find it very entertaining and interesting and also funny.
    I don't. I'm just taken aback at how popular it is... then again x factor is also quite popular.

I hate X factor too but different strokes for different folks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

I hate X factor too but different strokes for different folks.

What you talkin bout Willis?

• Registered Users Posts: 217 ✭✭MacauDragon

Yeah sign me up.

Although I would be walking into the box alone.

Quick wave to the audience as the tears of loneliness well up yet again. Back out in two minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

I don't watch gogglebox myself but did you ever watch the comedy sitcom, "The Royal Family"? It's not unlike the concept of gogglebox.

Embarrassing bodies has got to be the absolute worst show for reality tv.
    Oh look, I'm too embarrassed to go to a doctor in private but let's go on a tv show and see if I can cure blue waffle.
    F'ing idiots

I think people go on it because they get to see specialists quicker, and have some of their medical expenses paid for?

Either way that show is one of my guilty pleasures; I love seeing fúcked up cases on it! :o

Olishi4 wrote: »
    I don't watch gogglebox myself but did you ever watch the comedy sitcom, "The Royal Family"? It's not unlike the concept of gogglebox.
    The Royle Family was a sitcom. Gogglebox is reality TV. They are literally poles apart in terms of concept and entertainment value.