Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Alan Partridge Superthread - Sponsored by Dettol

• Registered Users Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

Have you got a battery for an Ericsson?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,229 ✭✭✭✭Penn

It's me
    It's me
    It's Alan
    It's Alan
    On I
    On I
    On Partridge
    It's me
    It's me
    It's Alan
    It's Alan
    On I
    On I
    On Partridge
    It's me
    It's me
    It's Alan
    It's Alan
    On I
    On I
    On Partridge
    It's me
    It's me
    It's Alan
    It's *chokes*Alan
    On I
    On I
    On Partridge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,364 ✭✭✭.red.

Have you got a battery for an Ericsson?

How did it take 5 pages before that came up?

• Registered Users Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Evil_g

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

.red. wrote: »
    For me the best episode of I'm Alan Partridge was "Watership Alan". I still cry when i see it. My favourite quote is probably the rant he goes on about the farmers.

"You are a big posh sod with plums in your mouth, and the plums have mutated and they have got beaks. You make pigs smoke. You feed beef burgers to swans. You have big sheds, but nobody's allowed in. And in these sheds you have 20ft high chickens, and these chickens are scared because the don't know why they're so big, and they're going, "Oh why am I so massive?" and they're looking down at all the little chickens and they think they're in an aeroplane because all the other chickens are so small. Do you deny that? No, I think his silence speaks volumes"
    That and the
    "Old Robert a bit slow on the uptake there, dunno what he had for breakfast this morning... Presumably an infected spinal column in a bap"
    Dr. No, Vocal Chrods is another classic.

"I'd love to have it off with her. MMMMmm breasts"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,382 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Funeral jacket
    2uh7dd2.png

"You know the breakfast buffet, all you can eat but from an 8-inch plate? 12 inches. Keep it in my room."
    29xyxpj.jpg
    screen-shot-2012-05-03-at-20-32-32-300x230.png
    869ecfacbe07d67860e2e694eeb79a1a.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Evil_g

"Got your big plate Alan?"

"Are you going to the 4th floor Alan? Or are you going all the way with me?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭griffin100

Dan, Dan, Dan, Dan.............,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭bur

And, here are U2. Who seem to be describing my search for a new washer dryer with 'I still haven't found what i'm looking for'

Some great stuff on MMM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

I love the moment when Alan and the hotel porter (not Michael, the younger guy) were talking about ladyboys and Alan was saying that you'd never know what women are actually men. Then, Sally Phillips' character Sophie, who is completely oblivious to the conversation, comes around the corner and Alan suddenly asks "Are you a man Sophie?". Her simple deadpan reply of "No" is perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,107 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

I got 4 - yer man really knows his Alan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

"Sue Cook's pulled out..."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

RayM wrote: »

Looks like he's up slack alley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,259 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Alan compering the finals of Miss Norwich...

Alan: Contestant number four is Maria McNulty. Maria is an Irish Roman Catholic. She says that before each beauty contest, she says a quick prayer.

She has a 36'' bust...AVE MARIA!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

Alan's hatred for The Laughing Guy who is also staying at the hotel. The face on Alan when he gets stuck in the lift with him :) (cant post a clip :( )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,964 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Olishi4 wrote: »
    Alan's hatred for The Laughing Guy who is also staying at the hotel. The face on Alan when he gets stuck in the lift with him :) (cant post a clip :( )
    That was the episode where he had a mystery object in the drawer in his bedroom and people kept trying to look at it :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,666 ✭✭✭thecretinhop

Maasive alan p fan. I thought this series was epic. When he was getting a massage simon asks him a reply for critics alan in a sleepy voice says " i i hope... they get... cancer..

"Stop getting Bond wrong"

And then later he's outside the caravan pretending he has a gun and throwing grenades like a kid. Then he takes a bottle of Sunny Delight and spills it like its oil and he is going to light a fire :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,364 ✭✭✭.red.

The air guitar is another classic scene. I love how he goes to take the guitar strap off his shoulder at the end

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=nNDqzpgzdis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

"Stop getting Bond wrong"

I love how Alan's commentary syncs up exactly with the real intro to The Spy Who Loved Me. Lovely Stuff.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,795 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

My favourite moment is at the 'An Audience With.....' at the hotel at the when a cheap keyboard is playing Knowing Me, Knowing You and Alan tries to stop it but ends up playing a few different sound effects before he eventually stops it and when comes back "Sorry about that, a few gremlins in the system, ghosts in the machine, perhaps a metaphor for...............good evening"

Also at the same event when two fella's interrupt him by opening the door, just take a quick look at him and leave without saying a word, Alan turns to the crowd and says "Why do people do that"

"Very clever men, but I don't trust them, Gerry Adams looks like a Deputy Headmaster and Martin McGuinness looks like a clown without make up"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

It's great to see so many AP fans here.
    I thought of some more snippets that I loved:

-When Michael has drawn a "baby H" on the ground incase a helicopter flies overheard.
    -When Alan tells Lynn she "couldn't present a cat."
    -When Alan calls to Michael who won't let him indoors but gives him a cup of beans and Alan says the sausage is like a spoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,170 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

North Norfolk hunt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,281 ✭✭✭Valentina

Cook Pass Babtridge

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Torricelli

Alan revisits his old school and meets his headmaster:

Raphael: That was an appalling thing to say, you’ve placed me in a rather invidious position.
    Alan: Don’t know that word. Carry on.
    Raphael: You leave this school again and we’re left with the detritus.
    Alan: Knock it off with the fancy words mate. Say it like it is, it went tits up. Y’know, you speak like you’re from the 19th century. And you sweat.
    Raphael: I’d like to see you sweat over your work like I do over mine.
    Alan: I don’t, because I use Lynx Africa. Gonna cane me?
    Raphael: No, but I might throw a chair at you.
    Alan: It’s still corporal punishment. See you in Strasbourg.

“That was Big Yellow Taxi by Joni Mitchell, a song in which Joni complains they ‘Paved paradise to put up a parking lot’, a measure which actually would have alleviated traffic congestion on the outskirts of paradise, something which Joni singularly fails to point out, perhaps because it doesn’t quite fit in with her blinkered view of the world. Nevertheless, nice song.”

Some of the radio show sketches to be re-released on vinyl for Record Store Day! :)

Can you play them on a Bang And Olufsen? :D

http://recordstoreday.co.uk/exclusive-releases/rsd-2016/alan-partridge/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,170 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Some of the radio show sketches to be re-released on vinyl for Record Store Day! :)

Can you play them on a Bang And Olufsen? :D

http://recordstoreday.co.uk/exclusive-releases/rsd-2016/alan-partridge/

Lovely action

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭take everything

Played by the actor Kevin Eldon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭prinzeugen

Thargor wrote: »
    That was the episode where he had a mystery object in the drawer in his bedroom and people kept trying to look at it :D

They revealed what it was.. A Dutch special interest magazines called "Dikke Vrouwen op de Toiletten" (Fat women on toilets).

Watching I'm Alan Partridge now, delighted to discover it's on Netflix. "3 words. Wash. My. Car. Oh right, wash your car. Sorry Mr Partridge".

I’m going nowhere, Lynn. Quite literally, I’m on the ring road. Third time round. I’ve just been into B&Q for a bag of tungsten-tipped screws. Never gonna use ‘em. Never gonna use ‘em.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Torricelli

"don't rub your fanny on me"

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

Ipso wrote: »
    I’m going nowhere, Lynn. Quite literally, I’m on the ring road. Third time round. I’ve just been into B&Q for a bag of tungsten-tipped screws. Never gonna use ‘em. Never gonna use ‘em.

I only noticed, after my millionth rewatch, that this is the set up of a joke that we get the pay off for later in the episode.

Did we? What did he use the screws for?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

At the end when he dresses up as a zombie (shower curtain cape etc) he has the screws taped to his fingers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

"Did you know that there are no Dutch Elms left in Britain?

Completely wiped out.

Disgusting.

Absolutely disgusting."

Alan: It's nearly 7 o'clock, this is Dave Clifton.

Dave: Yes, indeed! Good morning, it's Dave Clifton! And there goes Alan Partridge..."Cone" but not forgotten!

Alan: *a bit annoyed but laughing*

Dave: You must've seen a film like, "Cone"an The Barbarian.

Alan: Yeah, good one.

Dave: Then watch a bit of TV like, "Cone" dancing.

Alan: Yeah, not so good but... fine.

Dave: Come on Alan, whats the matter with you? "Cone" you take a joke?

Alan: Oh, F**K OFF!

Dave: I am speechless! Dave Clifton is actually speechless! I don't believe you just said...

Alan: You don't sound it! I wish you were!

Dave: I mean, I really don't know what to say! I find it really difficult to find the words...

Alan: Try saying nothing!

Dave: You and I both know that dead air is a crime, and I think it's terrible that you have to fill it with swearing on your show!

Alan: Fortunately Dave, you are bang wrong! It's 1 minute past 7, it's your show, you're responsible for the output. I am technically a guest and you failed to control me...READ THE SMALL PRINT ON YOUR CONETRACT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,229 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Needless to say, I had the last laugh!... Now f*ck off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

Rolled on the thighs of a Virgin!

Knowing me, Alan Partridge. Sacking you, Glen Ponder

I will remain impartial. I will be Pontius Partridge

o Arm wrestling with Chas n' Dave

o Youth hostelling with Chris Eubank

o Cooking in prison

Two of those concepts are now a reality.....

Ciaran_B wrote: »
    At the end when he dresses up as a zombie (shower curtain cape etc) he has the screws taped to his fingers.
    Oh yeah :p

love the way Micheal is going to hit him:

Ten years ago, I spent months staying at the Watford Hilton for work. No joke.

Effectively I lived in the Linton Travel Tavern.

It was grand. Not like a troll living in a lay-by.

One night, I had to call reception to make porn come on my telly

Dr. No Vocal Chords

Alan: It's nearly 7 o'clock, this is Dave Clifton.

Dave: Yes, indeed! Good morning, it's Dave Clifton! And there goes Alan Partridge..."Cone" but not forgotten!

Alan: *a bit annoyed but laughing*

Dave: You must've seen a film like, "Cone"an The Barbarian.

Alan: Yeah, good one.

Dave: Then watch a bit of TV like, "Cone" dancing.

Alan: Yeah, not so good but... fine.

Dave: Come on Alan, whats the matter with you? "Cone" you take a joke?

Alan: Oh, F**K OFF!

Dave: I am speechless! Dave Clifton is actually speechless! I don't believe you just said...

Alan: You don't sound it! I wish you were!

Dave: I mean, I really don't know what to say! I find it really difficult to find the words...

Alan: Try saying nothing!

Dave: You and I both know that dead air is a crime, and I think it's terrible that you have to fill it with swearing on your show!

Alan: Fortunately Dave, you are bang wrong! It's 1 minute past 7, it's your show, you're responsible for the output. I am technically a guest and you failed to control me...READ THE SMALL PRINT ON YOUR CONETRACT.

Enough to make you hit the boddle.

When he is asking that red head woman on a date and says "I know a cracking owl sanctuary?"

There's a scene, i cant find it but Alan is staying at the hotel and he looks out the window and sees michael. He "shoots" Michael with an imaginary gun sort of like a nod of appreciation :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,822 ✭✭✭stimpson

Jimbob1977 wrote: »
    o Arm wrestling with Chas n' Dave

o Youth hostelling with Chris Eubank

o Cooking in prison

Two of those concepts are now a reality.....

Monkey tennis?

Alan: Well done, Lynn. Now, before we get up, I’m just going to warn you...I have popped out again. It’s in no way connected with our proximity, so just don’t turn round.

[Alan untangles himself from the phone and adjusts his crotch.]

Alan: Right, the boys are back in the barracks! [Singing] Take a pinch of white man…