Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Convective/Thunderstorm Discussion: Spring/Summer 2016

• Registered Users Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Jeepers looks like a wall cloud there.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,068 ✭✭✭Iancar29

Great shot redsterveireland ! Its not a wall cloud but definitely a nice beefy looking hail curtain ! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Iancar29 wrote: »
    definitely a nice beefy looking hail curtain ! :)

12d59296c8c028207fee5a1310500726.jpg

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Meteorite58

SE England getting peppered this evening

u3zj46X.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 28,878 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

SE England getting peppered this evening

trying to find some web cams

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

First day has felt like Spring in London. That humid feeling.

Active storms in the Thames estuary at the moment, a few cracks in central London around 7pm.

Anyone in wexford have visual of that storm cell? Looks nice on radar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,170 ✭✭✭WheatenBriar

Iancar29 wrote: »
    Anyone in wexford have visual of that storm cell? Looks nice on radar

We can hear it here,its quite distant but very dark in that direction
    Its overall cloudy though ,too cloudy yet to see cb's and lashing rain from a connected shower here in Arklow
    I'll post back if I get the chance to see lightning

• Registered Users Posts: 5,858 ✭✭✭Chris_5339762

Driving up the M7 this evening there was a feast of rainbows.

Saw at least two doubles, and I reckon maybe one very faint triple.

Some nice matured CBs and sheared anvils about this afternoon. That deep layer shear, even though just a small amount makes a huge difference.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,127 ✭✭✭pad199207

Big shower of hail and sleet in Naas a while ago. Gusty enough too

• Registered Users Posts: 6,215 ✭✭✭emo72

West dublin Armageddon commences

• Registered Users Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭dexter647

A couple of garden chairs and a wheelie bin down in that last hail shower..The showers are indeed packing quiet a punch today:)

Yeah that Dublin cell was pretty exciting here for a few mins! Nothing photogenic though from here.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,055 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

Doomsday! That squall was almost scary - cant believe there wasn't a flash and a rumble in it, very dark too.

5.3c now - the mean temp for December was 9c

• Registered Users Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭DominoDub

Big squall line hitting Dublin CC now ...not fun watching two poor building crane drivers having to quickly drop their loads at the old "Windmill Lane" location along the quays Must not be fun seeing those fronts come in from that vantage point ..as it hit them they quickly turned with the wind.

**Back to work for those Cranes ...just as the line passed ..no time wasters these lads ...feck that , they must get extra danger money for days like this !

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 17,761 Mod ✭✭✭✭DOCARCH

Heavy hail shower, with gusty winds, here (in Dublin 16). A lot of burglar alarms going off now!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,903 ✭✭✭pauldry

thunder n lightning in sligo this morning

tried to take photo but only a flash and rumble so only black sky as per
    Irelands weather fb page where all my pics are

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 17,761 Mod ✭✭✭✭DOCARCH

Boom! Lightning and thunder here (in Dublin 16) with hail.

More thunder...raining now.

My view towards Swords a short time ago.
    382459.png

• Registered Users Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

A beast!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,466 ✭✭✭Lumi

My view from above - Happened to be flying over Dublin at the time.
    382470.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 10,080 ✭✭✭✭Oscar Bravo

Lightning west of Tralee , some very heavy showers in the west now

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Meteorite58

Thought I heard a rumble about that time here near Tralee, had a massive shower of hail about that time

I2yXAQs.jpg?2

recent lightning just north of Longford and some also off the north coast

• Registered Users Posts: 136 ✭✭Ryan Mac Sweeney

Heavy hail shower in Cork City now. All the place is white .

Hail shower (in Dublin 16).

Big hailstones too. Just measured one. 10mm. Biggest hailstones I have seen in a long time!

• Registered Users Posts: 366 ✭✭kittyn

DOCARCH wrote: »
    Hail shower (in Dublin 16).

Big hailstones too. Just measured one. 10mm. Biggest hailstones I have seen in a long time!

Looks like there is sleet mixed in with the hail here too DOC ....... Or maybe my eyes are deceiving me lol

Fairly nice thunderstorm just north of Clonmel town now

Beauty of a cell just north of Derry also, loads of lightning from it