Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Child Killed in Sulky Accident

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Torricelli

You want to kill the innocent horses? WTF, it's hardly their fault.

Euthanise their owners instead, IMO.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

WHile a tragedy, when is the last time another accident like this happened causing loss of life?

I can think of at least two instances in the last four years where underage drivers caused loss of life in cars, but not sulkies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭BettePorter

Sorry now .........What has euthanising innocent horses got to do with anything???

What an idiotic comment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Whosthis

foggy_lad wrote: »
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/boy-11-killed-when-the-pony-and-trap-he-was-travelling-on-collided-with-truck-34489544.html

When are the authorities going to take proper action and stop this senseless loss of life? When are Horses going to be banned in city areas and taken from children and teens?

How many children have to die before the councils and government get their act together and round up all these horses and euthanise them?

You make it out like there's an epidemic of kids being killed by horses, how common is it?

Well at least you've decided that the truck driver was not responsible, cos it's hard to gauge from the link...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Foggy Lad, when are people like you gonna get your sh!t together and stop demonising young kids of socioeconomic disadvantage?

It's supporting these kids through horse programmes rather than killing their horses that's needed. What an appalling attitude on your part to a young kid that died. No class man. Ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,089 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

Horses have been here before cars and have every right to be on the road but kids shouldn't be allowed to ride a sulky or trap by themselves in a built up area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

They are not old enough to own horses, The horses are rarely microchipped, they don't have facilities or money to keep horses and as shown by the tragic incident today it is unsafe to have groups of kids riding around in heavy traffic with their horses and traps.

Allowing these kids to keep horses only perpetuates low level criminality in the communities involved because it causes a blind eye to be turned to so many breaches of the law.

Safety and public safety first by removing the horses and thereby removing the problem!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,238 ✭✭✭Deank

myshirt wrote: »
    Foggy Lad, when are people like you gonna get your sh!t together and stop demonising young kids of socioeconomic disadvantage?

It's supporting these kids through horse programmes rather than killing their horses that's needed. What an appalling attitude on your part to a young kid that died. No class man. Ffs.
    What?? And what will that do, encourage more sulky's with minors at the helm. Divine logic.

Allowing these kids to keep horses only perpetuates low level criminality in the communities involved because it causes a blind eye to be turned to so many breaches of the law.

Get fu<ked you ignorant <unt.

Whosthis wrote: »
    Get ****ed you ignorant ****.

Super,can't see through the stars, care to start again

Deank wrote: »
    Super,can't see through the stars, care to start again

Just make it up yourself.

I normally do, but it's late, I'm tired and left my mind reading machine behind in work earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

Well at least you've decided that the truck driver was not responsible, cos it's hard to gauge from the link...
    The Irish times article is a bit more informative and it would seem as if the horse/drivers were at fault.
    “I was told the cart veered towards the truck and the three lads were thrown off. The other two lads were just lucky. Maybe the horse was spooked.”
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/boy-12-who-was-horse-mad-killed-in-clondalkin-collision-1.2550110

The area of horse ownership needs stricter regulation. I'm unsure if there is a minimum age for travelling on/driving a horse and trap on a road/built up area but there certainly should be and it should be strictly enforced.
    It's the responsibility of horse owners to educate themselves as to the needs of their animals and act responsibly. If they are unwilling/unable to do this then I think removal of horses is the way to go.

Deank wrote: »
    I normally do, but it's late, I'm tired and left my mind reading machine behind in work earlier.

Edited, how's that for your tired mind??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

If everyone travelled by sulky it would cut road deaths down considerably and would also help reduce pollution and carbon emissions.

Edit. Oil wars would reduce too. Fuel for horses is locally sourced.

Yes, if you don't support the banning of cars and a return to horses you're a supporter of war.

Edited, how's that for your tired mind??

Super, thanks for the insight, still no substance behind the post though.

Kids in charge sulky's on a busy road, and that's okay is it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

If everyone travelled by sulky it would cut road deaths down considerably and would also help reduce pollution and carbon emissions.

Nonsense. It's like saying if people walked their 20 mile commute it would reduce pollution.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Definitely a cause for sulking

Edit. Oil wars would reduce too.

Yes, if you don't support the banning of cars and a return to horses you're a supporter of war.
    I can't wait to see teams of 48 strong piebalds pulling 40fts up the M50 :)

A tragic and preventable accident.

That child should have been in school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭screamer

Kids on a sulky almost killed my brother and his family recently. The car was badly damaged the horse died as far as I know and the gards said there is SFA they can do about it. No insurance, no parental responsibility. There is no way kids should be in charge of an animal travelling at speed on a public road. It's dangerous for the kids in the sulky and for everyone using the road, and the horse too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,591 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

How many MPHB (miles per hay bale . That's how it's measured) does an average horse get?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

The Irish times article is a bit more informative and it would seem as if the horse/drivers were at fault.
    “I was told the cart veered towards the truck and the three lads were thrown off. The other two lads were just lucky. Maybe the horse was spooked.”
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/boy-12-who-was-horse-mad-killed-in-clondalkin-collision-1.2550110

The area of horse ownership needs stricter regulation. I'm unsure if there is a minimum age for travelling on/driving a horse and trap on a road/built up area but there certainly should be and it should be strictly enforced.
    It's the responsibility of horse owners to educate themselves as to the needs of their animals and act responsibly. If they are unwilling/unable to do this then I think removal of horses is the way to go.
    People in charge of or driving animals must be over 18 afaik and the ownership and keeping of horses especially in urban areas is heavily regulated but mostly ignored by these kids and their parents
    http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/environment/animal_welfare_and_control/control_of_horses.html

We are in enough trouble over our dairy herd emissions without adding hundreds of thousands of horses to the mix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Please bear in mind what the thread title says here folks.

A child lost their life here. Irrespective of what 'community' they come from, that is so sad and something the parents will have to live with and cope with.

A child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Feel sorry for the truck driver, his life wont be worth living.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

A tragic and preventable accident.

That child should have been in school.

He was off school today due to voting and for the people making disrespectful comments on this.....remember one thing..

A child has died. A child.

NIMAN wrote: »
    Please bear in mind what the thread title says here folks.

A child lost their life here. Irrespective of what 'community' they come from, that is so sad and something the parents will have to live with and cope with.

A child.

The child in question was not from that particular "community"

Any chance a mod can close this?

Really not appropriate when its so raw for people having just lost a child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Didn't know that. Just assumed, wrongly.

NIMAN wrote: »
    Didn't know that. Just assumed, wrongly.

That's the problem with these threads sadly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭yqtwqxqm

Not two weeks ago, I nearly killed someone on a skulky at the back of Dublin airport. I actually ended up in the ditch to avoid hirring them head on coming around a bend.

Get fu<ked you ignorant <unt.

Do you kiss your mother with that mouth?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

As The Bull said, "its not the stupid animals fault"

before the councils and government get their act together and round up all these horses and euthanise them?

Without knowing the ins and outs of the story, theres a lot of people potentially at fault - maybe the truck driver, maybe other traffic, maybe the child's parents, and most tragically of all maybe the child himself.

It's a horrible and upsetting situation that I hope the courts and the guards get to the bottom of ASAP, but one way or another I can promise you it wasn't the poor horse's fault. Only thing that needs to happen the horse is that it gets put out to pasture/stud/etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

I think horsing around like this can result in dire consequences like we have seen yesterday, a total night-mare. Should children be allowed ride sulkys? I say neigh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

You've been on the sauce again.

Nonsense. It's like saying if people walked their 20 mile commute it would reduce pollution.

You took him seriously?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

They're a danger to road users. A child under 16 should not be operating any sort of a vehicle on public roads. Who's going to take responsibility for this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Child Killed in Sulky Accident
    On what grounds, and by who, has it been decided that this was an accident - some unpreventable, random incident?
    Boy (11) killed when the pony and trap he was travelling on collided with truck
    On what grounds, and by who, has it been decided that the pony and trap collided with the other vehicle, thereby implying blame on the deceased's part?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

There is a huge need for more education regarding driving around animals. Some people are down right retarded when it comes to animals. I can't count the number of times I've been put into what could have been a fatal situation, and only got out of it because of either the horse I was in just happened to keep its cool, or from sheer luck. You will hear similar stories from every single horse rider. There is a chance that the sulky driver is to blame, there is a higher chance it was the driver at fault. It's terrifying the situations ignorant drivers (and cyclists but they also unknowingly put themselves at risk) can out you in, and on a shockingly regular basis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭TG1

sup_dude wrote: »
    There is a huge need for more education regarding driving around animals. Some people are down right retarded when it comes to animals. I can't count the number of times I've been put into what could have been a fatal situation, and only got out of it because of either the horse I was in just happened to keep its cool, or from sheer luck. You will hear similar stories from every single horse rider. There is a chance that the sulky driver is to blame, there is a higher chance it was the driver at fault. It's terrifying the situations ignorant drivers (and cyclists but they also unknowingly put themselves at risk) can out you in, and on a shockingly regular basis.

I don't want to comment on the particular case as its still all unclear, a truck drivers life is irreversibly changed and a family have lost a child.

But in general people who don't deal with horses have no idea how unpredictable they are. They deal with them the same as bikes when they come across them on the road, revving engines, trying to get past asap, ignore hand signals.

They are big unpredictable flight animals, it will cost drivers two minutes max to let the rider/ person in control get to a spot they are comfertable with and allow the car to pass without danger. This needs to be highlighted, whether you come across a horse being ridden, driven or led, slow down, wait until you can give it a wide berth and heed any hand signals the person in control gives.

Victor wrote: »
    On what grounds, and by who, has it been decided that this was an accident - some unpreventable, random incident?

On what grounds, and by who, has it been decided that the pony and trap collided with the other vehicle, thereby implying blame on the deceased's part?

What?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Rocket19

I know exactly what you mean, but your argument is out of context.

I also own/ride horses, and will often hack them on the road, but it's not relatable to the incident which occurred yesterday.

These kids are, in many cases, weaving the horse and cart through traffic at high speed, and often on busy roads. It's just not in any way comparable to you or me hacking our horses out on the road.

Oftentimes, the drivers of the sulkies do not consider the danger they impose to everyone involved (drivers of the sulky themselves, the people on the road and in their cars, and of the course, the poor horses).
    This is amplified by the fact that many of the 'drivers' are indeed children, who can't possibly anticipate or comprehend fully the consequences of their actions.
    It's why 'accidents' happen.

For you to imply that the general communitiy is at fault for lack of education is just plain wrong. I also do not agree that there is a "higher chance" the truck driver was at fault.
    These vehicles should not be allowed on the roads, full stop.

There needs to a tightening of the laws surrounding this kind of thing, and zero tolerance shown.
    The potential for loss of life like we saw yesterday is too great. People die, horses die, lives are ruined. And why? For a bit of craic and culture..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭Hannibelle Smeeeth

I didnt know what a sulky was...read the thread title totally differently and wondered what the hell kind of a sulk could kill a child :o

Obviously very sorry to read of a child dying, whatever the circumstances. Condolences to family and friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Johngoose

It is a terrible tragedy,but this ethnic group have been flaunting road traffic laws and maybe now they will realise that the rules of the road are there for a reason.Also is it responsible parenting leaving three young fellas on a horse and cart on a public road.Put "sulky race" into YouTube and you will see this ethnic group breaking all rules of the road as the guards follow them along main roads.They don't respect the law of the land,they recklessly endanger themselves and now we see the outcome of all of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

Rocket19 wrote:
    Oftentimes, the drivers of the sulkies do not consider the danger they impose to everyone involved (drivers of the sulky themselves, the people on the road and in their cars, and of the course, the poor horses). This is amplified by the fact that many of the 'drivers' are indeed children, who can't possibly anticipate or comprehend fully the consequences of their actions. It's why 'accidents' happen.

I despise sulkies and their usual drivers. It makes my blood boil to see them. I am not by any means defending them (for the most part).
    Rocket19 wrote:
    For you to imply that the general communitiy is at fault for lack of education is just plain wrong. I also do not agree that there is a "higher chance" the truck driver was at fault. These vehicles should not be allowed on the roads, full stop.

The RSA are massively at fault because there is very very little education when learning to drive about approaching animals. Also, many people do not proceed with caution around horses and completely ignore rider signals.
    This is just a one incident out of many. Unfortunately, this one ended in the death of a child, but how many near misses is there on a daily basis?

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Nearly a daily occurrence out by me. Many a times I have gone through a junction, and a horse and cart fly through a red light on the other road. Additionally, Ive nearly been hit by them going through pedestrian lights with my daughter.

Basic rules of the road are required if you want to use the road, regardless of vehicle or age.

In either case, RIP to the child. Didnt need to die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭billie1b

Johngoose wrote: »
    It is a terrible tragedy,but this ethnic group have been flaunting road traffic laws and maybe now they will realise that the rules of the road are there for a reason.Also is it responsible parenting leaving three young fellas on a horse and cart on a public road.Put "sulky race" into YouTube and you will see this ethnic group breaking all rules of the road as the guards follow them along main roads.They don't respect the law of the land,they recklessly endanger themselves and now we see the outcome of all of that.

The child/children in question were not part of any 'ethnic' group or 'culture'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Rocket19

I despise sulkies and their usual drivers. It makes my blood boil to see them. I am not by any means defending them (for the most part).

The RSA are massively at fault because there is very very little education when learning to drive about approaching animals. Also, many people do not proceed with caution around horses and completely ignore rider signals.
    This is just a one incident out of many. Unfortunately, this one ended in the death of a child, but how many near misses is there on a daily basis?

I agree with this, but again, it has nothing to do with the incident which occurred yesterday.

You are 100% right when you say more needs to be done to educate drivers on how to handle a situation where they encounter a rider/horse on the road.

However, it just isn't helpful to compare the situation of a safety conscious rider like you or me, where how the driver behaves on the road plays a big part in the safety aspect (not slowing down, speeding by the horse, etc). It's not the same situation.
    These are kids handling vehicles (horse and cart), and weaving them through traffic at high speed.

All the education in the world on the part of the driver (of the car) will not stop these incidents/accidents happening, as the horse and carts should not be there in the first place.
    There is nothing the driver of a car can do in this situation to minimise risk, bar stopping their vehicle together.