Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 2). **Read warning in 1st post**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭evil_seed

This is just history repeating itself in the UFC. Tito, Brock, BJ all have been the cash cow and all fallen out with them. It was only a matter of time this happened IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭JustShon

evil_seed wrote: »
    This is just history repeating itself in the UFC. Tito, Brock, BJ all have been the cash cow and all fallen out with them. It was only a matter of time this happened IMO

Was it this "out of nowhere" with them too? Coz this seems very sudden to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭markcahill1985

EoineyM wrote: »
    I'd say GSP's phone is ringing off the hook since this announcement. Sets the scene nicely. Nate to avenge Nick's defeat etc etc

Would people still be excited about a GSP return? Has lost a lot of the gloss for me, certainly dont think GSP v Diaz would generate anywhere near as many buys as Conor v Diaz

To be fair, no combination of any fighters is going to generate as many buys as Conor v someone at the moment. Even though his recent loss has likely put a dent in his popularity with some, he's still their most popular fighter (or was?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭CurryFlavoured

GSP Diaz wouldn't interest me, GSP Lawler would be monumental. Much more interesting than the Conor Diaz rematch for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,896 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Was Brock out of conract with the UFC when he retired? (genuine question, not being a smartass). I have a feeling Conor will end up in the WWE in the future.

If I remember correctly Brock retired and reached an agreement with the UFC to go to the WWE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

Im just thinking!

And thats never a good idea!!

When this was announced (rematch) nobody thought it was a good idea - or deserved - it was completely out of left field. I can remember being quite shocked at the time at the news and also the reactions in the threads here and elsewhere.

Is this phase 2 of the master plan?? Did they ever intend on having this fight in the first place???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

DrPhilG wrote: »
    If I remember correctly Brock retired and reached an agreement with the UFC to go to the WWE.

Did brock not retire due to his illness?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Cathy.C

2 for 1 Cheese Toasties in MARY'S from 12-2.. but you have to say: "Thanks for the cheese".

THANKS-FOR-THE-CHEESE-MARYS-BAR-e1461147012179.jpg

Cathy.C wrote: »
    2 for 1 Cheese Toasties in MARY'S from 12-2.. but you have to say: "Thanks for the cheese".

Yeah but do you have to participate in their marketing efforts or you get removed from the promotion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭califano

I think the UFC will take the Transdev stance on this issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭RedemptionZ

Well this is bizarre. Will be interesting to follow this.

His retirement tweet has got more retweets than any other athlete this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

Stupid. Conor Cutting off his nose to spite his face. Conor needs this more than they do, not for the money, but because he wants to be the best and is obsessed with fighting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,896 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

ardinn wrote: »
    Did brock not retire due to his illness?

He retired due to illness, but was still under contract with the UFC and so needed (or wanted at least) their blessing to sign with the WWE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭theballz

Hi guys,
    I very rarely post here and tend to lurk more then anything but I felt this news was worth sharing.
    My partner is related to someone heavily involved in the WWE (i'll give you a hint, he's from Cabra.)
    Apparently he received a call yesterday from a very senior exec in the WWE regarding a conversation that was had with an Irish UFC star,
    The reason he was informed was to discuss his experience with the organization to seth UFC star and potentially influence a more serious discussion later this week.
    I've no reason to make this up and to be honest I don't care who believes me and who doesn't but this story is true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭Spudman_20000

Maybe all this is a ploy from both sides to get Conor out of 200 and onto the NYC event. Conor fights winner of Aldo Vs Frankie or GSP Vs Diaz and gets a bigger slice of that PPV pie in return. He also gets to do other projects between now and November to earn some cheese on the side.

Dana was careful not to burn any bridges on the Sports Centre announcement. At the end of the day, these guys are playing chess not checkers and are running a business. They are no fools.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Cathy.C

What's the rough estimate on how much of a difference there would be in PPVs if Nate/McGregor was on the card compared with if a Nate vs ??? was on the card.

I mean, are we talking tens of millions or just single figure millions, money wise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭willowthewisp

theballz wrote: »
    Hi guys,
    I very rarely post here and tend to lurk more then anything but I felt this news was worth sharing.
    My partner is related to someone heavily involved in the WWE (i'll give you a hint, he's from Cabra.)
    Apparently he received a call yesterday from a very senior exec in the WWE regarding a conversation that was had with an Irish UFC star,
    The reason he was informed was to discuss his experience with the organization to seth UFC star and potentially influence a more serious discussion later this week.
    I've no reason to make this up and to be honest I don't care who believes me and who doesn't but this story is true.

You know Hornswoggle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

Alot of people making alot of excuses for McGregor on here, no one seemed to show any sympathy when people pulled out with injury when facing Mc Gregor. Complete double standard.
    And I don't for one second believe that the reason he is reassessing his UFC career is the death in Dublin.
    He needed to be completely committed to training in order to have the slightest chance of beating Diaz and as a result couldn't do the media obligations as agreed.
    That's his decision and the UFC are right to drop him if that's the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,950 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Anyone think its stunt so they can make GSP v McGregor in New York ?

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

My thoughts on things:
    - has he retired from the UFC or retired from UFC200
    Is this all just a play on words for the media circus.

All fighters are not fan of the promo work, it breaks up the rhythm of training, a few long haul flights...it's not perfect for him given that the Atlantic is between him and the 'home' of MMA. But the UFC has set out there approach to this, no promo, no fight.
    I imagine that Conors tweet is a reaction to that and that has backfired.

I also imagine that he doesnt want to face the press, there would probably be alot of focus on last weeks events in Dublin which he probably doesn't want to go into.

But, but....I still suspect that this is some sort of stunt, he'll be added back to the card when someone pulls out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭bmcc10

seannash wrote: »
    Alot of people making alot of excuses for McGregor on here, no one seemed to show any sympathy when people pulled out with injury when facing Mc Gregor. Complete double standard.
    And I don't for one second believe that the reason he is reassessing his UFC career is the death in Dublin.
    He needed to be completely committed to training in order to have the slightest chance of beating Diaz and as a result couldn't do the media obligations as agreed.
    That's his decision and the UFC are right to drop him if that's the case.

Haven't you completely contradicted yourself by saying when people pulled and UFC dropped him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭akelly02

Why is it pathetic? a lot of people (Irish people in particular) only started watching UFC because of Conor, only natural that those people drift away from the sport if he retires.

so they are a fan of the man and not the sport...quite sad i reckon if you give up watching MMA for that reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

bmcc10 wrote: »
    Haven't you completely contradicted yourself by saying when people pulled and UFC dropped him?
    I said pulled from fights due to injury. I'm guessing you know the difference between that and this scenario.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

Quite relieved he's not injured and he's hardly retiring for good. Obviously we don't know the full details yet, I doubt he was pulled because of a single missed presser ( although it's happened in the past with Nick Diaz). He's just angling for more money again and Dana finally pulled rank. Coming off a loss doesn't help his position either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭ronanc1000

He's done lads. He got in, made as much money as he possible could and got out, with his head intact. Fair play to him. Brought joy to many regarding his persona and style, he's can be an enigma at times but that's the character so many people enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭CageWager

All sounds a bit too convenient to me. Since when has McGregor ever had a whinge about doing a press conference? Wasn't his whole shtick that he did media better than anyone else and worked harder than anyone else.

With the rumblings about a GSP return again last week, I wouldn't say it's beyond Dana/Conor/GSP all to be in on a plan where Conor gets "pulled" to create a huge media furore (which has happened), next they'll make GSP-Lawler for the title at 200 and then do GSP v Conor at MSG in November at WW which would pretty much smash all previous ppv records and give a big FU to all the detractors who were keeping mma out of new york for so long..

In terms of a size matchup, I far prefer GSP than Diaz at welterweight..

GSP-2-696x457.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭eddie73

Most likely true. Except for a couple of things.

He could have made a lot more money, but not on his terms. His bargaining leverage must have come down a lot since Diaz beat him.

He was creating a celtic tiger bubble within the ufc in terms of wages. I think that it was going to be extremely unsustainable in the short term never mind the long term. Dana White is not stupid, nor is the organization.

I was really looking forward to this rematch. It makes Diaz look mediocre now. Pity, as he really deserved his big pay day after 10 years in the ufc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

No doubt edgar will be along soon with his weekly period rant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭lougal88

CageWager wrote: »
    All sounds a bit too convenient to me. Since when has McGregor ever had a whinge about doing a press conference? Wasn't his whole shtick that he did media better than anyone else and worked harder than anyone else.

With the rumblings about a GSP return again last week, I wouldn't say it's beyond Dana/Conor/GSP all to be in on a plan where Conor gets "pulled" to create a huge media furore (which has happened), next they'll make GSP-Lawler for the title at 200 and then do GSP v Conor at MSG in November at WW which would pretty much smash all previous ppv records and give a big FU to all the detractors who were keeping mma out of new york for so long..

In terms of a size matchup, I far prefer GSP than Diaz at welterweight..

GSP-2-696x457.jpg

GSP was so excited he wet himself :pac: