Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Traffic on Twitter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

So it's ok to break the law if u are celebrating something. What other times is it on then?
    If you're a Sikh riding a motorbike in the UK it's grand apparently.
    I'm sure the Healy Raes could make a similar claim for the religious nature of their headgear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭andrea1983

If you're a Sikh riding a motorbike in the UK it's grand apparently.
    I'm sure the Healy Raes could make a similar claim for the religious nature of their headgear.

your joking!

I suspect you've just made that up lol

https://www.gov.uk/guidance/the-highway-code/rules-for-motorcyclists-83-to-88

Rule 83

On all journeys, the rider and pillion passenger on a motorcycle, scooter or moped MUST wear a protective helmet. This does not apply to a follower of the Sikh religion while wearing a turban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,570 ✭✭✭TheChizler

andrea1983 wrote: »
    your joking!

I suspect you've just made that up lol
    Unfortunately not!
    [QUOTE=Motor-Cycle Crash Helmets

(Religious Exemption) Act

1976 CHAPTER 62]

An Act to exempt turban-wearing followers of the Sikh religion from the requirement to wear a crash-helmet when riding a motor-cycle.

(15th November 1976)
    BE IT ENACTED by the Queen's most Excellent Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Lords Spiritual and Temporal, and Commons, in this present Parliament assembled, and by the authority of the same, as follows :-

Amendment of Road Traffic Act 1972.
    1972c. 20
    1. In section 32 of the Road Traffic Act 1972 there shall be inserted after subsection (2) the following new subsection :-
    "(2A) A requirement imposed by regulations under this section (whenever made) shall not apply to any follower of the Sikh religion while he is wearing a turban."

2. This Act may be cited as the Motor-Cycle Crash-Helmets (Religious Exemption) Act 1976.[/QUOTE]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

They also get to wear them when in Uniform, at least in the RAF. Looks very smart!

Personally I don't have an issue with it. It's purely money of scraping your brains up off the floor v religious freedom argument. It's fair enough the balance falls in favour of religious expression.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭polan

Getting arrested for donuts, jaysis....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭*Kol*

polan wrote: »
    Getting arrested for donuts, jaysis....

Ballycummin is a residential area. Good enough for the ginnit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,596 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,394 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Super slicks :eek:

CdhBjV2WAAAklVf.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭shietpilot

https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic/status/721441688523300864

Do they crush uninsured cars or can they be retrieved for a fee? Would be a pity to see this getting crushed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Driving a Twin Cam with no insurance = full retard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭JC01

shietpilot wrote: »

Do they crush uninsured cars or can they be retrieved for a fee? Would be a pity to see this getting crushed

Land into the yard with a trailer the next day and you get it back once you pay the impound and transport fee.

They don't crush cars here unless in very very unusual circumstances

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,919 ✭✭✭GM228

They can be reclaimed if you pay up for towing and storage.

If the driver proves there was an insurance policy in place at the time and that road tax was paid before seizure then there is no fees payable.

Otherwise there must be a valid policy of insurance for the vehicle in place when collecting the vehicle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,323 ✭✭✭orm0nd

GM228 wrote: »
    If the driver proves there was an insurance policy in place at the time and that road tax was paid before seizure then there is no fees payable.

Otherwise there must be a valid policy of insurance for the vehicle in place when collecting the vehicle.

When did that rule come in?

as JC said could be collected on receipt of towing & pound fee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,919 ✭✭✭GM228

orm0nd wrote: »
    When did that rule come in?

as JC said could be collected on receipt of towing & pound fee

To clarify, the valid insurance requirement only applies if the vehicle is to be driven away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭shietpilot

Lovely tax/NCT discs :pac:

https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic/status/722733143296471040

Night time, no lights, checkpoint and drunk. Recipe for disaster

https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic/status/722528398065680384

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 608 ✭✭✭chocksaway

Hate to see him come up behind a 1l micra in the overtaking lane!

https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic/status/723513832019222534

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭gctest50

shietpilot wrote: »

They should keep them for garda banger racing charity events twice a year

like this except with civics n twincams :

gctest50 wrote: »
    They should keep them for garda banger racing charity events twice a year

like this except with civics n twincams :

I like it, but not with Gardai driving - a kinda hunger games / mad max style competition for criminals with triple digit convictions.

Push the red button now if you want to pay to activate flamethrowers on the home straight.

the unsecured heavy plant is terrifying

No its not, I was going to comment on how I don't really know why they stopped the person for it. A 13 tonne excavator (which that looks like) is going absolutely nowhere on the back of a lowloader tied down or not.

I used to spend my days moving machines with a tractor and lowloader when working for a builder during summer holidays in college. Wheeled vehicles (teleporters, dumpers etc) would be secured with straps but excavators (while I might throw on a strap as a token gesture sometimes) wouldn't budge on a lowloader due to their weight and the tracks rather than wheels, that load was going absolutely nowhere.

No its not, I was going to comment on how I don't really know why they stopped the person for it. A 13 tonne excavator (which that looks like) is going absolutely nowhere on the back of a lowloader tied down or not.
    What happens going over bumps or potholes?

I used to spend my days moving machines with a tractor and lowloader when working for a builder during summer holidays in college. Wheeled vehicles (teleporters, dumpers etc) would be secured with straps but excavators (while I might throw on a strap as a token gesture sometimes) wouldn't budge on a lowloader due to their weight and the tracks rather than wheels, that load was going absolutely nowhere.

yeah
    hobbies include : digging holes and falling off trailers

TheChizler wrote: »
    What happens going over bumps or potholes?

Very little, trailor suspension absorbs the bumps and aside from that it's a lot of weight hitting a bump is not going to dislodge it or its not going to jump around like something small you have in the boot of a car.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,664 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

When are we going to have Operation Lane Discipline and Operation Hatch Markings??

Very little, trailor suspension absorbs the bumps and aside from that it's a lot of weight hitting a bump is not going to dislodge it or its not going to jump around like something small you have in the boot of a car.
    But still a sudden downward movement of the trailer will reduce the downward force significantly, effectively reducing the weight of the load. This reduces the static friction between the load and the trailer and if you happen to be going around a corner you get what happened in the videos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭bpmurray

millington wrote: »
    Front fogs don't glare at all usually, some modern cars even use them as their DRLs. Really can't see why people on here have such an issue with it. People complain about having a headlight out but also complain about having fogs on, ya can't win over here :o

Absolutely not true. Using front foglamps in a built up area with ambient light means that they rarely glare, but out here in the boonies they're blinding. What's worse, many folks don't know a)the definition of a fog light or b)the legal requirements about when you may turn them on.

There's a special place in hell reserved for the idiots who use them as decoration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,427 ✭✭✭Dartz

chocksaway wrote: »
    Hate to see him come up behind a 1l micra in the overtaking lane!

https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic/status/723513832019222534

Is that the high score?

I think someone's been caught going faster.

I wonder what the high score is?

so these are tying them down for the craic then ?