If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Garda Traffic on Twitter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,118 ✭✭✭Vic_08

The flaw in the plan is the signs can't be seen once there are cars on the road, as they are painted on the road.

Is this a local road for local people? you are the second person at least to say "the locals know it, sure be grand"

Maybe put a sign up "local road, not for outsider gob****es?"

Did you even read my post? The exact same behaviour happens at roundabouts with clear signage, I could post up dozens of them from across the country.

Yes there should be a roadside sign at the above roundabout but are you honestly suggesting that the vast majority who were caught were new to the area and were driving so close to the car in front they couldn't see the road markings?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭mackerski

xabi wrote: »

That's wonderful - this is a really common occurrence outside Blanchardstown station, taking up the entire footpath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,994 ✭✭✭ironclaw

esforum wrote: »
    the poster didnt suggest anpr though did he? He said a dash cam. Dash cam requires rewatching.

If the poster was suggesting a dash cam, then they were not suitable qualified to be commenting on such matters in the first place :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

That roundabout is a joke

All roundabouts should have the same rules
    Left lane for taking the first exit or second exit, if it's less than 180 degrees
    Right lane for taking any exit after 180 degrees
    And if going straight ahead, right or left lane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,682 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

That roundabout is a joke

All roundabouts should have the same rules
    Left lane for taking the first exit or second exit, if it's less than 180 degrees
    Right lane for taking any exit after 180 degrees
    And if going straight ahead, right or left lane

What if two cars in separate lanes arrive at the 'straight ahead' exit (which could be only one lane) at the same time.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭duffman3833

What if two cars in separate lanes arrive at the 'straight ahead' exit (which could be only one lane) at the same time.......

it really depends on the location and size of roundabout and how many exits. I generally stay left if taking the first or second exit and right hand lane for other exits after that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Car on the left has right of way
    Car in right hand lane has to let car in left lane exit first

Unless he's faster :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭theShire

Vic_08 wrote: »
    How many years does the sign need to be there before you think it should be obeyed?

Why should everything be a "sure don't do it again lad" in Ireland?

Considering how often such checks are made here it is extremely unlikely the same motorist would ever be stopped again for the same offense even if they repeated it daily.

A fine is a warning, get caught doing it again should be a dangerous driving prosecution.

I would wager the vast majority caught use that road regularly, if they are truly so unobservant or ignorant not to have ever seen or understood the meaning of a left arrow or are fully aware but choose not to abide by it I don't know, either way they are dangerous gobshytes.

There are countless roundabouts where a ridiculously high % of motorists do this constantly, my favourite has to be the ball at Naas going towards Dublin from Naas town. You could make an absolute fortune putting a camera there to catch them. And the "no sign" excuse is not on here either as there are 2 signs on approach as well as painted road markings, makes no difference, the muppets still use the wrong lane, even the google streetview car has caught one doing it behind them.

http://rsa.ie/RSA/Road-Safety/Education/Road-safety-tips/Using-roundabouts/
    Basic rules of the road say you should be in the left lane for the second exit. Imagine the annoyance/horns with people trying to merge in from the left if someone genuinely made the mistake of being in the wrong lane and tried to correct their road position, and then blocking traffic behind them trying to turn left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

ezra_ wrote: »
    Is doing a lap of the roundabout actually illegal? As long as you go in the correct lane to do it, where is crime in taking the 6th exit (out of 4)

Have been really tempted to this a few times.

I do this frequently at the N20/N72 roundabout in Mallow. Really does save a few minutes
    If that many people are making the same mistake at the same junction

There is something wrong with the road markings.

In the picture shown it looks like there is a glitch in the road

Something like this, on the 'green' at Parnell St/Lord Edward St near the bus station

v7FxdOR.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

ironclaw wrote: »
    If the poster was suggesting a dash cam, then they were not suitable qualified to be commenting on such matters in the first place :rolleyes:

thus my comment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,682 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

The rust wouldn't, ahem, get pasteurise without noticing it

You got to hand it to him/her, in terms of bad jokes, that was brilliant :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 331 ✭✭roverrules

You got to hand it to him/her, in terms of bad jokes, that was brilliant :D

Don't praise them or they'll just milk it from now on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

that milk one is udderly disgrassful they should put him out to pasture. pat on the back for the gardai for dealing with those cowboys.

might have been a misteak to try make those puns

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

that milk one is udderly disgrassful they should put him out to pasture. pat on the back for the gardai for dealing with those cowboys.

might have been a misteak to try make those puns

You're gonna get pun-ished for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,994 ✭✭✭ironclaw

marno21 wrote: »

Get in lane sign

Nearly on every junction in the US and they are incredibly handy. No idea why we can't put a few up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,917 ✭✭✭GM228

I guess it's true, BMWs arn't immune to speed cameras - damm I best slow down! :)

https://twitter.com/gardatraffic/status/701346996951654400

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

blah wrote: »

That's the roundabout at the dock road in Limerick! There is a long, long line of traffic all the way from.Perry Square down to that roundabout and it can take 20 minutes to get there. Right lane for straight on and left lane for turning left onto the dock road. Sooo many arseholes driving past the entire line of traffic indicating left to turn, 'forgetting' they wanted to go straight all along and booting it past everyone.
    Those fcukers should be garotted by the side of the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭duffman3833

just glancing through the posts, i noticed all the cars that are done with no TAX or Insurance are all older cars, pre 08. Does this not say something. People cant afford to tax cars or they refuse to as its so high?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

A couple of new ones...

Bald tyres on a car in Portarlington...
    CcjNgCDW8AA9rw4.jpg

No licence, no insurance, no waste permit but does have the hi vis vest...
    Ccknr-mW4AADOqm.jpg

Learner driver, 7 times over the legal drink limit, collides with 3 parked cars, clearing the window of frost might have helped...
    CcXytjPW8AQqfsU.jpg

Unsecured load...
    CcT4hS0WIAAhcxy.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭andrea1983

just glancing through the posts, i noticed all the cars that are done with no TAX or Insurance are all older cars, pre 08. Does this not say something. People cant afford to tax cars or they refuse to as its so high?

If they cant afford to tax them maybe they should try using the bus or the luas tbf. Or even a bike. If they refuse to pay tax as its so high, that's a bit ridiculous...you cant just choose witch laws to obey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭vjmcdonnell

I tweeted them a pic of the newly elected TD from kerry on a Motorbike with out a helmet and no response.

One lay for them and one for us!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

I tweeted them a pic of the newly elected TD from kerry on a Motorbike with out a helmet and no response.

I'd be more concerned at the car in this video at 17 seconds in their convoy with campaign signage on the car and flashing blue light on centre dash, appears to be a Skoda Superb...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Shtop it lad, don't talk to me! Disgraceful carry on. Don't get me started on Paddys day parades, children up and down the country standing in tractor trailers playing instruments. Won't somebody think of the children!!!

?width=630&version=1362756

Holy mother of jesus, dancing, DANCING they are! In a moving vehicle - they'll kill us all!
    st-patricks-day-in-ireland-galway-2013-irish-dancing-float-600-wm.jpg

I'm taking about an elected official who is not bothered to follow the law and will get away with it. Great country we have

And I'm talking about a bit of cop on.

Passenger on motorbike for a victory procession through a town. If that is a serious issue, a trangression that must not be allowed under any circumstances, surely ever Paddys day parade must be either banned or insured to the max (ie effectively banned)? You can't pick and choose if zero tolerance is the order of the day.

In reality they only harm likely to come from that incident is nit-pickers campaigning for zero tolerance for novelty events in rural Ireland. Jaysus, next thing you'll be outlawing the local GAA team driving round the parish hanging out windows with the cup, a whoopin and a hollering. And passing it around full of drink? JM&J! Think of the germs!

So we can pick and choose when they will obey the law. And we wonder why the political system is so corrupt.

I'm all in favour of the punishment fitting the crime. Moderation and common sense in all things.
    You sound like you want a Sharia law "50 lashes for jaywalking" scenario.

So it's ok to break the law if u are celebrating something. What other times is it on then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭andrea1983

Bit of common sense always helps tbf lol