Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UCD Ag science banter

• 06-02-2016 4:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,886 ✭✭✭

200 odd students involved in revenge porn sharing in a Facebook group.

Have students gotten a bit thicker since my time in college? My mates response was 'what do you expect from ag science students'

Apparently they were involved in a similar scandal last year. Disgrace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Bet it was only pics of sheep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

That's Ag Science for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Bet it was only pics of sheep

Possibly goats. Kinky lot them feckers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

Calling it "banter" is part of the problem. So is accepting (and expecting) it because the're students.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Oh those AG students, what will they do next?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,886 ✭✭✭One More Toy

PucaMama wrote: »
    Calling it "banter" is part of the problem. So is accepting (and expecting) it because the're students.

I shouldve put the word banter in quotation marks. I don't condone it, if this passes as banter these days, jesus wept

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Ruu wrote: »
    Oh those AG students, what will they do next?!?

Stick their cocks in a pigs mouth, or is that just for posh universities?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,886 ✭✭✭One More Toy

Stick their cocks in a pigs mouth, or is that just for posh universities?

I guess they have opportunity, just lack motive now

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

"Revenge porn", two words I never imagined I'd live long enough to read. WTF is wrong with such morons?

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭Lights On

There's no laws over here yet for revenge porn is there? I remember the UK bringing it in last year and people being charged over it, won't be too long before it's brought in over here too I'd imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

I hope anyone who has had pictures of them shared brings these losers to court.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Arrange these words in order

Useless
    Is
    Pics
    Thread
    Without
    This

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Ag science is wild

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭Kev W

Useless
    Is
    Pics
    Thread
    Without
    This

Of
    Example
    Rape Culture
    An
    Your
    Is

Kev W wrote: »

Of
    Example
    Rape Culture
    Your

Nah. Doesn't work.

And it isn't.
    No one was raped.

Nah. Doesn't work.

And it isn't.
    No one was raped.

You don't know what Rape Culture means.

Enlighten me.

200 odd students involved in revenge porn...

I'd say more than "odd", how about "downright weird"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,450 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Ahh rape culture me bollix tbh. I do know what some people need it to mean, and all this incident is, is a couple of scumbags that were that sad that they got their jollies out of this craic.

Calling it "rape culture", most people won't have a clue what you're talking about, it's an utterly pointless term. I hope UCD kick the fcukers out tbh, there should be no place for that sort of shìt going on anywhere.

In your own words
    I'm f*cked if I'm reading anything from a website that's as impartial as everydayfeminist.

In your own words
    I'm f*cked if I'm reading anything from a website that's as impartial as everydayfeminist.

I'm equally ****ed if I'm explaining something to someone too lazy to Google who's only pretending to want to know anyway. I've better things to do with my Saturday night.

Like attributing derogatory tags to something which is anything but?

Nope.

Like polishing your armour?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Useless
    Is
    Pics
    Thread
    Without
    This

I sincerely hope that was a bad attempt at a joke but, just in case, anyone who posts pictures in this thread will find themselves swiftly banned.

Cut out the trolling.

Mod

I get it! Because I'm a "white knight"! Because what earthly reason could a man have for caring about how society treats women except as a facade to get them to sleep with me!

I should have known I was dealing with a man too smart not to see through my ruse when you made that joke implying you'd like to masturbate to the stolen nudes of those young women!

You wily thing!

Of course that was just some witty, Wildean banter from you, which in no way could be seen as another contribution to the commodification of female sexuality that leads men to think of women as goals or points to be scored rather than people with inherent value.

God no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

Of
    Example
    Rape Culture
    An
    Your
    Is

I bet you don't call out Jezebel and Buzzfeed over being part of "the rape culture though" because that would make you associated with "evil" MRA's rather than the image you wish to give.

(will supply links if needed, their hosting of hulk hogans sex tape, Lenny kravitz wardrobe malfunction, list of hot male teachers creepshots etc)

I bet you don't call out Jezebel and Buzzfeed over being part of "the rape culture though" because that would make you associated with "evil" MRA's rather than the image you wish to give.

(will supply links if needed, their hosting of hulk hogans sex tape, Lenny kravitz wardrobe malfunction, list of hot male teachers creepshots etc)

You would lose that bet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

You would lose that bet.

Give me some example posts then cos as far as I have seen it only works one way for you

You want examples of me not liking Jezebel or Buzzfeed? Do opinions only count if they've been posted on Boards previously?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Do they always feel duty bound to observe the Ag abbreviation for extra culchie points or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭JohnnyChimpo

Ahh rape culture me bollix tbh. I do know what some people need it to mean, and all this incident is, is a couple of scumbags that were that sad that they got their jollies out of this craic.

"Couple of scumbags"

And yet OP mentions 200+ people in a FB group. plus I guess you can lump in the classy lads here asking for pics. Don't think the "few bad apples" defense applies here, its not the RCC...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Fr_Dougal wrote: »

Sadly, it seems to be. I've had the occasional lecture in the Agriculture and Food Science centre in UCD, and the general atmosphere there is as grim as the building itself (which almost makes the Arts block look bright, airy and positively welcoming). I've overheard some fairly rotten conversations in the corridors, usually from 'lads' with obnoxiously loud voices and barely decipherable accents. Even by Ag Science standards, this is nasty though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

plus I guess you can lump in the classy lads here asking for pics
    Jesus ****ing wept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭Blue giant

Anyone actually bother to read the article it originally came from. The papers source was from an anonymous post on an app called yikyak. Not saying it doesn't exist but you'd think there should be a need for some hard proof before printing an article on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭Digital Solitude

Much talk around town on it Blue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Antar Bolaeisk

Studying silver all day for three whole years sounds like it would drive anyone to do crazy things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Fr_Dougal wrote: »

It's not even a real SCIENCE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

True.
    "Couple of scumbags"

And yet OP mentions 200+ people in a FB group. plus I guess you can lump in the classy lads here asking for pics. Don't think the "few bad apples" defense applies here, its not the RCC...

given this may ended up as a criminal case it is only fair be reasonably assume that all 200 were not involved receiving unsolicited photos doesn't make you a bad person.
    Lets hear the full truth before we rant on about 200 ***** preying on women.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

I may be hammered for this but I don't give a hoot .
    Firstly sharing initimate photos given to you by a lover is low.
    and doing some makes you a cnut and the law should apply.

However I think the backlash against anybody who questions the victims behaviour in situations like this does society especially young women no help at all. Comments like "nice victim blaming , man" or similar do nothing to help people be responsible for their own actions.

people who pass out photos in these situations are completely wrong.
    But people need to use some common sense and personal responsible in these situation to minimise the risk to themselves.

as for photos saying that's how people "do sex" these days is not an appropriate answer as it absolves one party of any responsibly for their behaviour. The risks involved in allowing these photos to be taken are plain to see.
    It's not unreasonable to suggest the people query how these ladies ended up in this situation.
    The answer is poor judgement. I classify it as similar to not wearing protection and taking a chance.

Sexual consent classes are a good call at secondary level (depends on the content) but they should include modules on being sexually responsible for yourself and working on people ability and confidence to say "No" which I believe is a huge issue in the whole area.

For these victims (if proven of course) it should serve as a warning.
    You are (or should be ) responsible for your own behaviour and the decisions you make and because somebody took advantage of you it shouldn't be your behaviour is above reproach either.
    This in no way mitigates or absolves any perpetrator of their crime and that's the difference between demanding common sense and victim blaming.

My thoughts are based on the premise that these photos were taken with consent , if they weren't that's a different situation

arayess wrote: »
    I may be hammered for this but I don't give a hoot.

My thoughts are based on the premise that these photos were taken with consent , if they weren't that's a different situation

Nobody should be hammered for coming out with something stupid. The person who shared the photos is the only person responsible for passing them around online. Trying to suggest that the women are in any way responsible for anyone else's behaviour is just nonsense. They weren't forced to share the photos, they chose to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭tritium

"Couple of scumbags"

A few asshats did something pretty dispicable, they should be dealt with severely assuming the facts are as they appear.

To quote the line oft used by another group, you can't assume that these one or two people represent all Ag science students

(and no, being part of a facebook group that something was shared on doesn't make you accountable, and no, this is not an example of rape culture )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

tritium wrote: »
    A few asshats did something pretty dispicable, they should be dealt with severely assuming the facts are as they appear.

To quote the line oft used by another group, you can't assume that these one or two people represent all Ag science students

(and no, being part of a facebook group that something was shared on doesn't make you accountable, and no, this is not an example of rape culture )

They were part of a private chat where they all shared photos they were given privately and trusted to keep to themselves

"Couple of scumbags"

200 people is only a couple of scumbags. Perhaps that's what you mean by including the RCC in your post? Because I don't see how it's relevant otherwise. I don't need to defend anything here, I'm able to view things in proportion, so I don't come out with meaningless, trivialising, minimising sound bites like "an example of rape culture". It's trivialising rape IMO, and it takes the focus off actual perpetrators, by trying to suggest we're all perpetrators of this "rape culture", just to different degrees.

I can see why some people like to use the phrase, but it says more about their lack of perspective, than it does anything about social attitudes to sexual violence.

They were part of a private chat where they all shared photos they were given privately and trusted to keep to themselves

From what I can make out from a quick Google, the core of this seems to be a small number of members in a private Facebook group sharing stories and in some cases photos (most links don't imply anything pornographic there) about girls they've slept with. One link I found detailing the story mentioned some nudes were shared. As I said before, if there was any element if revenge porn then the culprits should be dealt with severely.

There are however several links where someone tells us how this "revenge porn" is an "example of the unfettered lad culture rampant in UCD". Very little in an admittedly quick Google search to make the fairly large jump between the two positions, certainly I don't see many reference to the classic understanding of revenge porn, I.e. compromising photos and videos. Nothing either to indicate this is anything but a small number of individuals. The mention of their previous sin: the " I'd shift her when tipsy" Facebook group is beyond ridiculous- inelegant perhaps but not exactly a hate crime unless we plan on locking up everyone (male and female) who's ever drooled to their friends over a member if the opposite, or indeed same sex.

Not particularly nice behaviour by the Facebook members I agree (and nude photos would be obviously crossing a line here) but recounting stories in a private group, while not very nice behaviour is not really the image implied by the headline is it?

As I said, a few individuals that shouldn't be taken as an example of the wider student or faculty body. But of course its much easier for certain folks to generalise about " unfettered lad culture" and "rape culture ". If I didn't know better I might think the poor (potentially abhorrent) behaviour of a small group had been seized upon as an opportunity to push an agenda by some......

200 people is only a couple of scumbags. Perhaps that's what you mean by including the RCC in your post? Because I don't see how it's relevant otherwise. I don't need to defend anything here, I'm able to view things in proportion, so I don't come out with meaningless, trivialising, minimising sound bites like "an example of rape culture". It's trivialising rape IMO, and it takes the focus off actual perpetrators, by trying to suggest we're all perpetrators of this "rape culture", just to different degrees.

I can see why some people like to use the phrase, but it says more about their lack of perspective, than it does anything about social attitudes to sexual violence.

Pretty much this. It always amazes me how certain. Group can use selective variations of the no true Scotsman defense for their own ideology while happy supporting sweeping generalisations and the intentional misuse of hugely offensive terms to demonize those they perceive as their opponents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭Mehaffey1

It's not even a real SCIENCE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tried to read this thread to get a hold on what this story is about but unfortunately didn't.

This post stood out though as of course there is no science involved in how the steak ends up in your freezer, the bread ends up in your cupboard or your milk ends up in your fridge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

People need to stop sharing nude pictures sent to them by people they half know.
    People also need to stop taking nude photos of themselves and sending it on to people they only half know.

Now, wasn't that easy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

Edit: Boards double post 2016