Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gangland Shootings in Dublin MOD Warning in Post #1 (updated 29/05/16)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,456 ✭✭✭califano

Relax everyone an end to the criminal feuding in imminent

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Between Priests and a boxer and probably various other buffoons suggesting that there should be mediation could there be any more evidence that this country is bonkers ! !

Its kinda like saying "They are all a lovely bunch of lads and its all just a weeny teeny mis-understanding"

The Gangsters are putting holes in one another and they are the kind of holes that no priest/judge/guard/politician/doctor can fix.

So will priests/buffoons/and even a boxer stop talking about having a cosy wee chat with murdering gangsters that are probably on some sort of power trip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

califano wrote: »

He's not a very good advertisment for getting punched in the head for a living.

Freedom fighter? vinnie?
    In a Golf GTI?

*groans*

Yer man offering to mediate, he probably can help, he knows enough of them.:rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭stuar

califano wrote: »
    I hope so it's all getting out of hand, seems the place is awash with guns, Vinny Ryans crew were suspected of trying to assassinate somebody outside a police station.

http://www.sundayworld.com/news/crimedesk/kill-gill

Seemingly the guy they were going to shoot allegedly kidnapped somebody, I don't know what the world is coming to these days???

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/kidnap-suspect-bought-milk-for-hostage-baby-court-hears-29749588.html

Don't know why he'd want to kidnap somebody after winning the lotto??

http://www.herald.ie/news/garda-alert-as-court-grants-bail-to-suspected-gang-boss-29235760.html

"Detectives are investigating if the botched gangland hit on was carried out by the same crew who murdered slain Real IRA terror chief Alan Ryan"

http://www.herald.ie/news/chaos-as-four-shot-in-horror-pub-attack-29658374.html

i'm pretty sure this didnt happen in Northern Ireland.

This did though.

http://www.sundayworld.com/news/crimedesk/junkie-turns-on-crew

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,940 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

stuar wrote: »

and what precisely is the relevance of that to the funeral party for alan ryan wearing balaclavas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

I couldn't give a shít what kind of funeral he gets but that shooting over to coffin is not on and shouldn't be allowed happen again this time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭armaghlad

Freedom fighter? vinnie?
    In a Golf GTI?

*groans*

Yer man offering to mediate, he probably can help, he knows enough of them.:rolleyes:
    Nearly a decade old too. What car should he drive?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Tilly wrote: »
    I couldn't give a shít what kind of funeral he gets but that shooting over to coffin is not on and shouldn't be allowed happen again this time.

Shooting into the air over the Coffin might be the least shooting to worry about:eek:

Actually I agree with you. Its time to stop this stuff. Fancy dress at funeral !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭JustShon

blinding wrote: »
    Shooting into the air over the Coffin might be the least shooting to worry about:eek:

That's kind of the problem. If they did a rifle salute it'd be the ideal time to hit someone at the funeral. If you did it from enough of a distance you could be long gone before anyone realised someone had been shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭stoplooklisten

Right so the gangsters own pubs
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/revealed-dublins-criminal-rivals-have-interests-in-up-to-half-a-dozen-pubs-across-the-capital-34507896.html

but this bit in the article maddens me

"Gardai have not yet mounted an operation targeting the gangsters who are suspected of murdering Eddie Hutch Snr.
    Two men suspected of involvement in the murder of Eddie Hutch Snr have been formally notified by gardai of active death threats against them from associates of slain Gary Hutch."

Right so the gardai haven't started yet "mounting an operation" against them
    but are running like little bitches "formally notifying" them of threats on their lives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭JustShon

but are running like little bitches "formally notifying" them of threats on their lives

It's all about evidence. You need a sizable chunk of evidence to arrest someone but I don't think there's any legal minimum amount of evidence to warn someone that their life might be in danger.

JustShon wrote: »
    It's all about evidence. You need a sizable chunk of evidence to arrest someone but I don't think there's any legal minimum amount of evidence to warn someone that their life might be in danger.

Why bother using the resources to "warn them". do you think these gangland lads are oblivious to the notion of their rivals retaliating against them?

Gardai: "One-legged mick our investigation tells us, dicko dano is going to shoot you because you shot his bruv"

One-legged mick: "no sh1t sherlock, but I didn't do nuffin"

Gardai: "don't worry, we'll provide you with all the protection you need"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭Rakish Paddy

Gardai: "One-legged mick our investigation tells us, dicko dano is going to shoot you because you shot his bruv"

The Garda and One-Legged Mick are both Cockneys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭wardides

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/revealed-dublins-criminal-rivals-have-interests-in-up-to-half-a-dozen-pubs-across-the-capital-34507896.html

"Gardai have not yet mounted an operation targeting the gangsters who are suspected of murdering Eddie Hutch Snr.
    Two men suspected of involvement in the murder of Eddie Hutch Snr have been formally notified by gardai of active death threats against them from associates of slain Gary Hutch."

Nothing new. Gilligan pumped money into pubs up and down the country when he got out of jail few years back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭323

i'm pretty sure this didnt happen in Northern Ireland.

Yes. It did!

Internment . The indefinite detainment/imprisonment without trial, began in August 1971 and was in place for a number of years. Know a number of people who were interned for various lengths of time.

Instead of reducing violence, it caused it to increase and was probably one of the best recruiting tools the IRA ever had.

As to OP
    Scumbags killing each other off = less scumbags.

Whats the problem?

“Follow the trend lines, not the headlines,”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭wardides

323 wrote: »
    Yes. It did!

Internment . The indefinite detainment/imprisonment without trial, began in August 1971 and was in place for a number of years. Know a number of people who were interned for various lengths of time.

Instead of reducing violence, it caused it to increase and was probably one of the best recruiting tools the IRA ever had.

As to OP

Whats the problem?

Because innocent people get dragged in too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,634 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Given the extent of Kinahans drugs empire, how many people, who deplore what is going on, are unintentionally giving him money? What I mean is he probably has loads of money pumped into properties, pubs and hotels, among other things. If he is the main importer of coke to this country, why isn't more of it being seized. A lack of resources? A lack of informants? Has he people employed by the state on his payroll? I recall Howard Marks had very sophisticated methods of shippings drugs into the UK, he also had bought off custom agents and other people.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Simon2015

Can someone tell me what pubs these scumbags own so I can avoid them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭bajer101

Simon2015 wrote: »
    Can someone tell me what pubs these scumbags own so I can avoid them.

The Dáil Bar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭SB_Part2

I'd hazard a guess that one of them is the dodgy looking pub in Cabra with no windows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Why bother using the resources to "warn them". do you think these gangland lads are oblivious to the notion of their rivals retaliating against them?

Gardai: "don't worry, we'll provide you with all the protection you need"

Some are aware, some are not. There families may also not be aware. At the end of the day, if a guy is shot and the Gardaí had evidence that he was being targeted before hand then how much hassle would they be in if they didn't even warn them?

As to your concern about the investigations, when you have a victim whose family and friends won't talk to you then an investigation will always be slow.

323 wrote: »
    Yes. It did!

As to OP

Whats the problem?

Do try and keep up. The event i was referring to that did not happen in Northern Ireland was the funeral of Alan Ryan that involved a paramililtary display. I'm well aware of internment. I'm old enough to remember when it happened.

Some are aware, some are not. There families may also not be aware. At the end of the day, if a guy is shot and the Gardaí had evidence that he was being targeted before hand then how much hassle would they be in if they didn't even warn them?

As to your concern about the investigations, when you have a victim whose family and friends won't talk to you then an investigation will always be slow.

If the gardai have evidence they are being targeted, why don't the bring the guys doing the targeting "down town", conspiracy to murder charges

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

If the gardai have evidence they are being targeted, why don't the bring the guys doing the targeting "down town", conspiracy to murder charges

Most likely because the evidence is insufficient or comes from a confidential source.

if the evidence is insufficient why would there be hassle if the gardai didn't warn them?
    ....... At the end of the day, if a guy is shot and the Gardaí had evidence that he was being targeted before hand then how much hassle would they be in if they didn't even warn them?.....

Who would be giving them this hassle, btw?

if the evidence is insufficient why would there be hassle if the gardai didn't warn them?

insufficient to prove in a court of law does not mean that the intelligence is not credible.
    Who would be giving them this hassle, btw?

Do you think that the duty of the gardai to protect members of the public doesnt extend to people they dont like?

insufficient to prove in a court of law does not mean that the intelligence is not credible.

Do you think that the duty of the gardai to protect members of the public doesnt extend to people they dont like?

I do wonder who the gardai are working for. If they know jimmy the robber, the notorious robber in my area, is let out of jail, should they call round to me and tell me my house will more than likely be robbed?

They should by your logic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

Half hour report on BBC Radio 4 now. Ubiquitous Paul Williams being ubiquitous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,392 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

If only there was a central system where you could simply type in a name of a company or person in to it and it would give you a list of all cars that a suspected gang owned they could be tracked all over the city...oh wait there already is.