Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 10 *********

• Registered Users Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

shietpilot wrote: »
    That's what the lad replacing it said too. I ended up getting the windshield for peanuts (€100) because he ordered this in and put it into another Focus with a heated screen and a week later the owner realised the heating doesn't work so he pulled it out again.

I dunno why mine doesn't have the heating though. It must have been an optional extra?

Must have been with the mk2. They cost a nice bit more I believe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭shietpilot

Must have been with the mk2. They cost a nice bit more I believe.

Makes no difference to me. If the windscreen gets covered in ice I usually just drive with my head out the window wearing a balaclava :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

Thought they all were heated.

The mk2.5 is heated :P

So did I. My one had it and it was low spec. Handy to have but I never really missed it I just use de-icer. Buy a big can at the start of winter and that keeps me going. Start the car have it heating up get the de-icer spray it on the front and side windows get in the car and go.

Makes no difference to me. If the windscreen gets covered in ice I usually just drive with my head out the window wearing a balaclava :rolleyes:

You know the way you were wondering why the Gardai are so interested in following you I think we know why :pac:

CIP4 wrote: »
    You know the way you were wondering why the Gardai are so interested in following you I think we know why :pac:

Probably. Sure it's either a bally or a motorbike helmet :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 26,282 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

You should get one of these and fill it with de-icer https://www.vat19.com/item/saturator-ak-47-water-gun , nothing could go wrong

"This item has been discontinued." :D

• Registered Users Posts: 7,882 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

fill it with de-ISISer

• Registered Users Posts: 4,863 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

In other news finally got my ensiti :) failed the second time after the lever on one side was bent into an eejit during the last retest :(

Injector seals need doing otherwise roll on the miles :)

26663880921_4d697568ff_k.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Would you pass the NCT if your car does not start and turn off in the normal way. You see I have the ignition all taking apart. You stick the original key with transponder chip into the key hole as normal but you then reach under the steering wheel and use a flat head screw driver or another key to turn the ignition to start or turn off car. Would that be a fail? And I do not want to spend money on it as it is a 1998 e39 and don't know if it will even pass the next nct on other things not just the key barrel being broken.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Fair mileage in 10 days FP :)

YbFocus wrote: »
    Fair mileage in 10 days FP :)

I have a lust for adventures, I get around ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

A credit to it's owner (not me :(). Just detailed and serviced.
    Oh saffy goodness...

IMG_4806e_zpsq9qgbrbd.jpg
    IMG_4786e_zps86kgcma1.jpg
    IMG_4810e_zpsxucv1crz.jpg
    IMG_4833e_zpssuctfc1q.jpg
    IMG_4838e_zpsp5ddf6kw.jpg

Amazing car, I would love to own one. It's a pity they can be seen diffing around cones mostly like the AE86s...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

King of the cone :D.

• Registered Users Posts: 392 ✭✭NickDunne

Thanked and un-thanked that post... just so I could thank it again.

Fanboi-ism aside, you just don't see cars of that vintage in that good condition these days :(

Lately around this place if it's not a BMW it's a ford :pac:

Ah no serious looking car infairness in an unbelievable condition.

Was having a look in Charles Hurst's in Citywest during the week. Someone did serious "damage" with a machine polisher on quite a few cars in there. I was very surprised.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

CIP4 wrote: »
    Lately around this place if it's not a BMW it's a ford :pac:

Ah no serious looking car infairness in an unbelievable condition.

If you are waiting for Renaults to be the big thing.....

YbFocus wrote: »
    If you are waiting for Renaults to be the big thing.....

I know I'll be waiting a while :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Parked my car and then came back to find an A4 behind it like this...

26712180066_79737903a6_c.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭job seeker

Jaysus.. :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 13,597 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

GvidoR wrote: »

[...]

Here's the solution:

384758.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 20,178 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

joujoujou wrote: »
    Here's the solution:

384758.jpg

Range Rover Dildo!! :D

GvidoR wrote: »

Sure that's a new bootlid and respray sorted for ya! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Sure that's a new bootlid and respray sorted for ya! :D

I wish. :o

• Registered Users Posts: 22,260 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Poor Audi hadnt a chance against the Ford babe magnet :D should be proud of your car ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭davycc

Hal1 wrote: »
    A credit to it's owner (not me :(). Just detailed and serviced.
    Oh saffy goodness...

IMG_4806e_zpsq9qgbrbd.jpg
    IMG_4786e_zps86kgcma1.jpg
    IMG_4810e_zpsxucv1crz.jpg
    IMG_4833e_zpssuctfc1q.jpg
    IMG_4838e_zpsp5ddf6kw.jpg

sex wee mercury grey beast almost identical to my old 2wd cossie :D

get saving hal your only young once:D

A therapeutic evening was spent driving round paradoxical southside Dublin talking sh*te and having the craic. I feel much better after that :)

Watching half a town blackout as you drive in the miserable rain by is mesmerising, like the start to a horror film

• Registered Users Posts: 26,282 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

OSI wrote: »
    Anyone heading to C&C this morning?

Is this a dublin based one ? If so where and ill pop down