Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 10 *********

1311312313314315317»

• Registered Users Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

Harcrid wrote: »
    Selling my car at the moment and one guy mentioned paying by bank transfer through online banking. If the funds show up in your account immediately is it guaranteed yours or do you have to wait for it to clear fully like a bank draft?

Don't want to get paid and realise a few days later it's all gone so want to be sure.

Is he the same bank as yourself? - I went with my cousin to view a DC2 type R. He was AIB and I was BOI, seller was a BOI customer so I wired him the money there and then it was in his account more or less straight away , cousin wired me the money then.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,701 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Balls.

Still dealing with the after effects of work of "specialists" here too. At least your stuff is blatantly bad... would have any chance of refund?

Would the rocker cover hole for that bolt be the cause of the vacuum leak? Some cars if you go caveman on that you will cracking something and and that will cause vacuum issues. Other times there are gaskets round the spark plug Wells that should be done with the rocker cover gasket.... can be a vacuum leak too.

A haze of easy start (danger danger*) should find any leaks in pipes or tjunctions easy enough. Or inlet manifold if access is handy. I'd only have experience of chasing leaks in NA though, not turbo.

*A haze of easy start and a hot turbo may not be a good start to the weekend...

Refund? More chance of a remington in the face tbh.

Now that you say it could be the bolt on the cover, hard to know though, as the i/c sits on top of it.. They did (well they were given) the seals for the inner plug holes, I do believe they were done as there was oil getting through before and now there isn't.

What exactly does the easy start do? And yeah, awks with an exposed manifold but I can do it before things heat up - probably best on high idle as I'd guess vacuum would be higher so more chance of finding it..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Easy start / lynx /wd40 will be drawn in where the leak is and idle will change.
    I've never used the other two...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,926 ✭✭✭selectamatic

Used lynx myself before and it worked grand. An unlit propane torch works too

Aerosol spray can be misleading, a leak hidden up under or behind something can be tricky. I've never used smoke but it should show up those trickier ones better?

Plus your neighbours will think you're just having a cigar whispering sweet nothings to your engine. Should cut down on the number of callers selling raffle tickets or looking for sponsorship!

Used lynx myself before and it worked grand. An unlit propane torch works too

When your day is done and you wanna run,
    Propane.
    She don't lie, she don't lie, she don't lie,
    Propane.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

When your day is done and you wanna run,
    Propane.
    She don't lie, she don't lie, she don't lie,
    Propane.

Propane! Propane! Reminds me of that episode of The Trailer Park Boys where Lahey tries to kill Ricky.

• Registered Users Posts: 65,212 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Bought a '99 Porsche Boxster a few weeks ago based on my gut feeling being good. Liked the ad, liked the seller. I just went ahead. Didn't check the car out at all, didn't even test drive it myself.

Since I bought it, I had it serviced by a Porsche specialist and I bought a £80 airconditioning unit from eBay (new €800), plugged it in and it worked.

Car flew through the NCT today, first go, valid until 2018. Everything is working, car is in great condition and is superb to drive.

So, the car deserves some love. The least I could do :p

It could benefit from some detailing. The car is very clean, but there is a scruff on the rear bumper, the leather could do with a treatment and just a general beautification session I suppose

I would love one of the detailing heads in here to have a session with the car, but ye are all in Cork / Kerry etc? I'm in Lucan myself, probably best if someone came to me or if I could leave the car in anywhere in the greater Dublin area

Any suggestions?

• Registered Users Posts: 641 ✭✭✭kilianmanning

Cheensbo wrote: »
    Any sure fire way to find a vacuum leak folks? Hearts broken with it, I'm sure there's a slight one somewhere but can't for the life of me find it.

I'm starting to get really annoyed with the crowd who changed my clutch, I can't comprehend the amount of stuff you can make a bollox of while doing a clutch job.

Gearbox drain and filler plugs were put back on with old o-rings that are now seeping,

Vacuum pipe left off the wastegate actuator,

Cv boot/shaft packed out with (not the right type of) grease for some as yet unknown reason which is going everywhere,

2 bolts for intercooler not replaced,

Turbo to intercooler and intercooler to intake mani hoses both damaged from using a screwdriver to remove them (they just pull off)

Clutch hasn't been bled so i can't make high rpm gear changes.

M6 Bolt that pins the coil into the rocker cover at cyl 4 was rung and left out - it's aluminium so quite hard to re-thread. (They did the rocker cover gasket for me) lead to brutal misfire

What a rant, sorry it has to go somewhere :pac:
    Lesson learned, be prepared for the hardship yourself :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

unkel wrote: »
    Bought a '99 Porsche Boxster a few weeks ago based on my gut feeling being good. Liked the ad, liked the seller. I just went ahead. Didn't check the car out at all, didn't even test drive it myself.

Since I bought it, I had it serviced by a Porsche specialist and I bought a £80 airconditioning unit from eBay (new €800), plugged it in and it worked.

Car flew through the NCT today, first go, valid until 2018. Everything is working, car is in great condition and is superb to drive.

So, the car deserves some love. The least I could do :p

It could benefit from some detailing. The car is very clean, but there is a scruff on the rear bumper, the leather could do with a treatment and just a general beautification session I suppose

I would love one of the detailing heads in here to have a session with the car, but ye are all in Cork / Kerry etc? I'm in Lucan myself, probably best if someone came to me or if I could leave the car in anywhere in the greater Dublin area

Any suggestions?

Look over on motors and detailing. There a place not to far from you detailingshed is using upstairs of the detailers and has a great reputation.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭Ryath

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057212731

Brian in Spirit Detailing in Leixlip has a very good reputation or as the lads said talk to Curran if you want to get the products to tackle it yourself.

Look over on motors and detailing. There a place not to far from you detailingshed is using upstairs of the detailers and has a great reputation.

Aye. Have been browsing that forum a bit over the last few days. Lad called Ian in Elite in Blanch. A lot of people had a lot of good things to say about him there. Probably give him a call in the next week or so

I just like the idea of a boardsie taking care of my car, like Foxhole Norman or James :)

Ryath wrote: »
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057212731

Brian in Spirit Detailing in Leixlip has a very good reputation or as the lads said talk to Curran if you want to get the products to tackle it yourself.

Heard good things about him too. I'm not going to tackle it myself by the way, I'm no good at that sort of thing :o

• Registered Users Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭job seeker

Heard good things about him too. I'm not going to tackle it myself by the way, I'm no good at that sort of thing :o

Ah sure learning is half the fun. :)

Not in this case, believe me! I'll try my hand at a few things these days but I know my limitations / weak points quite well. It's a sort of wisdom that comes with advancing age :p

• Registered Users Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Aye. Have been browsing that forum a bit over the last few days. Lad called Ian in Elite in Blanch. A lot of people had a lot of good things to say about him there. Probably give him a call in the next week or so

I just like the idea of a boardsie taking care of my car, like Foxhole Norman or James :)

Ian in elite did a savage job of wet sanding 166man's green 166 to remove the orange peel.
    If you want to get the feel for the kind of work that Ian does, he does an elite wash for 20 quid and it's quite a detailed wash.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

We're closing in on 10K posts so I've created a new thread here