Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

2016 share picks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭cherrytaz

JoeyD wrote: »
    What broker did you use to buy on the ASX exchange?

I bought Pilbara on the French Stock Exchange on Degiro. No such luck with PIO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Prezatch

There are a couple of penny stocks I'm looking into putting a very small investment into on the ASX. Degiro claim on their website that you can trade on it but there are no prices quoted when the market is open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,443 ✭✭✭positron

cherrytaz wrote: »
    Very big recovery today, hopefully now back on track. No knowledge of PIO, must research it

I got this email from deGiro as well about Pilsbara:
    The company are planning to raise up to 15 million AUD, and will allow eligible shareholders the right to apply for shares with a value of 5,000 AUD, 10,000AUD or 15,000AUD with each share being 0.38AUD.

The deadline is: 12/05/2016 at 16:30 GMT.

I am a total noob when it comes to all this, could someone please help me understand how this could work for me?

Can I ask deGiro that I want to take up this option and shares at 0.38 AUD per share for say for 5000 AUD = approximately 13158 shares.

Currently deGiro shows PILBARA at €0.441 = 0.67 AUD.

As soon as I get these shares, can I sell them at whatever price it's at that time and bank the profit? Or is it likely that offers like this will cause the price to tank? Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭1st dalkey dalkey

A newbie to this thread also. I am more an investor then a trader.
    I find most US stocks over valued at the moment and too much volatility in the UK due to uncertainty over Brexit.
    Where to put the few bob?
    I have to think in terms of basic resources. They have had a hard time recently. The giants in this area have recovered a bit but are still trading way below their peaks. BHP Billiton, Rio Tinto.
    I think oil is not quite dead yet. Bought a little when it was struggling (RDSA), hoping I am right.
    Also like some REIT's for a little protection from volatility. Prefer KWE and Hibernian but looking at Dalata (not technically a REIT) and Land Securities in the UK (despite Brexit). US REIT's too expensive at mo.
    Also like a little exposure to health care or pharma. Have some Bristol Myers and UDG but both a bit expensive at mo, looking at health related REIT's and bigger providers, HCP in US and Ramsey in Oz, waiting for the right price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭ABC101

Also like some REIT's for a little protection from volatility. Prefer KWE and Hibernian but looking at Dalata (not technically a REIT) and Land Securities in the UK (despite Brexit). US REIT's too expensive at mo.

There was a recent article in "The Phoenix" about Hibernian.

In general it was positive, with particular emphasis on the shrewdness of management.

Some good deals were made and the company should continue to get stronger. All positive news.

However questions were raised about the management structure of the company, in which high costs could / may be / might be incurred at the expense of shareholders.

IMO the jury is still out on Hibernian, those who got in early have seen a nice rise in capital. The real test will be dividend payments...... if any?

Time will tell.... it always does!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭1st dalkey dalkey

The REIT is relatively new to Ireland and the rules around them are a bit lax relative to the US. Both Hibernia and Green have unusual structures, although I believe Green has simplified their's of late.
    There does appear to be a bit of leeway for 'fees' which could impact shareholders. But then again, there is also scope for shareholders to address some of those problems, if they can get organised.
    On the dividend, Hibernia paid their first in Feb/15, I think. It was not a huge payout, but a start which they have improved on since. Expecting my next Divi in August.
    The biggest danger for me is their relative small size and concentration in Ireland, Dublin really. While they do have a small exposure to apartments, they are mainly into office and commercial. The last down turn showed just how quickly things can turn in the sector, so it is important to keep an eye on the duration of the lettings as much as the price per square metre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 westside

We rented office space at 20 psm in the IFSC in 2013 - we are looking to move again albeit to a more upmarket office but we are struggling to get anything under 50- one place quoted 70. These were going for 35 in 2013. From talking to the agents, REITs are buying up a lot of office space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

Not so long ago May proved to be a very volatile month for Stock markets, giving rise to the expression ' do not worry, in May stay away' or words to that effect ? Apart from a few yo-yo moments, bluechips on FTSE are holding ground quite firmly and some are growing :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭ABC101

The most recent and best (IMO) description of the markets I read recently was...

"Markets will remain directionless and volatile" for the foreseeable future.

Massive carnage occurred in commodities, and oil producing stocks have been hit very hard. Oil and gas industries have turned into a bloodbath WRT investment and CAPex with corresponding massive employee layoffs. There is also a risk of banks facing heavy losses from lending to energy / exploration / mining companies.

Who knows what will happen next?

All I recommended PIO last week, since then 160% increase and will go further today, I hope you all got in like PLS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Prezatch

All I recommended PIO last week, since then 160% increase and will go further today, I hope you all got in like PLS

Very well done, hope it continues for you.

I think just on a sidenote for the new investor or someone browsing for ideas it should be said that these type of stocks are extremely volatile and risky. There can be a lot of market manipulation and relatively scarce information. If you can't take the risk of loosing a lot then you should probably sit on the sidelines in relation to lithium mining investment as these can swing down in value as quickly as they swing up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,744 ✭✭✭irishgeo

anyone getting on the Philips lighting ipo?

JoeyD wrote: »

Very well done, hope it continues for you.

I think just on a sidenote for the new investor or someone browsing for ideas it should be said that these type of stocks are extremely volatile and risky. There can be a lot of market manipulation and relatively scarce information. If you can't take the risk of loosing a lot then you should probably sit on the sidelines in relation to lithium mining investment as these can swing down in value as quickly as they swing up.

Fully agree about being cautious

I am anxiously awaiting the trading halt on PIO to be lifted, big results to be released Thursday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭ballyharpat

I was in Oil a little early in 2015, then heavier and very heavy in late 2015. at one point I was down about 50% of my portfolio, currently I am down about 10-12%, I see it making me some money, I plan on being at break even by mid july, and should be up 50% by november…….$70 per barrel will get me there…..

Oil has jumped a lot faster than I expected, I am currently down about 2% of my initial investment, at $50 per barrel, I am back in the black-Apple has pulled me down, mainly because of Carl Icahns statements and selling, but he likes to create waves anyway, I see apple going back to $130/140 a share by next year, I think they will release some news about iPhone 7 and things will move on again for them. Buffets purchase has been the driving force behind the recent rise.

I see that people are looking at REIT's, I bought NRF a few years ago at $3.50. sold on at 12, it kept going up, but at the time I was happy, it was very volatile, I currently own REM, I like the dividends on these funds.

CUBA is one of my other speculative purchases, I'm down about 20% on it, I should have sold last year when I was up a bit, but I thought they may start paying dividends again, so I hung on,

So far, it's been a good few months-I hate to sell when so much can happen in the market in May, I believe the saying is'Sell in May, and go away' I generally lose money, but it's always back again by september, and this year, Oil has made massive gains, even in the last few weeks, so I'm glad I didn't try and time the market too much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,476 ✭✭✭championc

My 19 year old son is mad I into PC's and gaming. A few weeks ago, he told me to get NVIDIA since the had some great new graphics card coming out. He kept going on and on about it so feck it, I threw in eur500 at about 40.80 each. They just tipped over 47.00 this evening.

Maybe I'll ask him for his next tip :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭irish_major

Surmodics are in my opinion the best stock of the year to buy

Surmodics gone from $18 to near $30. Will sell once the $30 mark has been hit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Surmodics gone from $18 to near $30. Will sell once the $30 mark has been hit.

Good call.

What made you think they were a good pick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭irish_major

Good call.

What made you think they were a good pick?

Still think they'll climb beyond $30 too. They've a really good business model as it is in Minneapolis, and they acquired 2 companies last year, one in Galway and one in England, they're probably going to make a serious profit alone on the one in Galway as they'll be expanding their coatings to include drug coatings there and they could possibly sell them exclusively, i.e. not allowing other companies to use SurModics drug coating. They've the potential to be a powerhouse like boston scientific

championc wrote:
    My 19 year old son is mad I into PC's and gaming. A few weeks ago, he told me to get NVIDIA since the had some great new graphics card coming out. He kept going on and on about it so feck it, I threw in eur500 at about 40.80 each. They just tipped over 47.00 this evening.

Over 59 and still rising 😀

Not so long ago May proved to be a very volatile month for Stock markets, giving rise to the expression ' do not worry, in May stay away' or words to that effect ? Apart from a few yo-yo moments, bluechips on FTSE are holding ground quite firmly and some are growing :)

The FTSE 100 has jumped to its highest point in over a year :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 460 ✭✭iainBB

The FTSE 100 has jumped to its highest point in over a year :)

S & p at at all time record also with very little volume. Down turn on it way but could be September by now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,196 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

championc wrote: »

Maybe I'll ask him for his next tip :)

Hope you held :)
    Earnings report shortly there new cards the GTX 1080 should help earnigns (grand theft auto never looked as good:) ). Their rise rattles me a bit, it's up and up and up just doesn't stop.
    A lot of business from Oculus to Tesla rely on them not to mention your son, the future is bright but are they overpriced or a bargain?

iainBB wrote: »
    S & p at at all time record also with very little volume. Down turn on it way but could be September by now

What crystal ball are you using? :rolleyes:

Hope you held Earnings report shortly there new cards the GTX 1080 should help earnigns (grand theft auto never looked as good ). Their rise rattles me a bit, it's up and up and up just doesn't stop. A lot of business from Oculus to Tesla rely on them not to mention your son, the future is bright but are they overpriced or a bargain?

Still holding - but I only bought 15 shares (about 500) so not really sure it's worth cashing in on really ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,136 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Nothing like a surging stock market to make you feel like a genius! Nvidia now at $62 in pre-market trading. Trading at stiff looking 30 times forward earnings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭Cute Hoor

FTSE 100 at its highest point in a year, which is good news for UK based investors. However for Euro based FTSE 100 investors there is little comfort in those figures, the £ is down against the Euro around 23% compared to this time last year which means that in real value terms Euro based FTSE 100 investors are down around 20%. Hard to see that improving (other than the FTSE keeping going on up) anytime soon with the exchange rate unlikely to improve any time soon with the Brexit uncertainty continuing.

Now of course if you had sold all your FTSE based shares on 23rd June, converted your money back into Euro, and waited a few weeks to get back in, you would be as happy as a pig in sh1te now.

Cute Hoor wrote: »
    FTSE 100 at its highest point in a year, which is good news for UK based investors. However for Euro based FTSE 100 investors there is little comfort in those figures, the £ is down against the Euro around 23% compared to this time last year which means that in real value terms Euro based FTSE 100 investors are down around 20%. Hard to see that improving (other than the FTSE keeping going on up) anytime soon with the exchange rate unlikely to improve any time soon with the Brexit uncertainty continuing.

Now of course if you had sold all your FTSE based shares on 23rd June, converted your money back into Euro, and waited a few weeks to get back in, you would be as happy as a pig in sh1te now.

FTSE share prices up is good news for all shareholders. Buy in £ win in £, sell in £ keep in £, simple as. Using your logic, twist it round and see buying opps based on exchange rates (though in my opinion never really a good reason to buy shares).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭Cute Hoor

FTSE share prices up is good news for all shareholders.

Hard to argue with that

Buy in £ win in £, sell in £ keep in £, simple as.

All very good, provided you have 2 separate streams of income (and 2 separate locations of expenditure), one euro (assuming one is in a Euro based economy) and one in sterling, 2 streams that you keep totally separate, then the above is valid. For most people here though I would imagine they have only a Euro based income stream, this means that they have to convert their Euros to sterling to buy their FTSE shares and change back to Euros again after selling when they want to fund their Santa Ponsa holiday.

As an example: With the FTSE now being at its highest point in a year, say you had bought United Utilities 1 year ago:

15/8/2015 buy 1,000 shares in United Utilities @ £9 per share = £9,000
    Cost of buying (broker + UK tax) say £60, total cost £9,060
    Exchange rate on 15/8/2015 £0.70 to the Euro.
    Total cost of purchase (in Euro) - €12,942

United Utilities now at £10.07, a 12% increase, happy days on the face of it.

15/8/2016 sell 1,000 shares in United Utilities @ £10.07 per share = £10,070
    Cost of selling (broker) say £20, total sale £10,050
    Exchange rate on 15/8/2016 £0.865 to the Euro.
    Total sale (in Euro) - €11,618, down over 10% on your original investment.

You have to take the exchange rates into account unless you have 2 totally separate streams for buying and expenditure.

Using your logic, twist it round and see buying opps based on exchange rates (though in my opinion never really a good reason to buy shares).

Tremendous opportunities immediately post Brexit with the FTSE share price drops, and still probably opportunities with the exchange rate as it is although who knows what is going to happen to the exchange rate in the future.

@Cute Hoor, your maths are correct but surely the key point arising from your analysis is that investors buying/selling shares in another currency are best advised to do so in same currency and avoid undermining investment performance by currency fluctuations.

I would have thought this fundamental to investing in any foreign shares?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,196 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Any reason to not throw the kitchen sink at shorting USD/TRY?

I can see Turkey turning into a complete basket case of a country and they won't be joining the EU in our lifetime by the looks of it.