Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Trying to Conceive 2016 onwards Chat Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭Jen44

haha im the very same....had to have two glucose tolerance tests last time...nightmare!! Im a wuss!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭catrionanic

Congrats xalot, that's brilliant news!

My period was due yesterday but still no sign of it. I usually get spotting as a wee warning for 2-3 days before it arrives too, and haven't had any of that.

I've taken a couple of tests and they both came back negative, so I'm assuming I just ovulated later than usual (which is odd, because I'm normally extremely regular) and have missed the boat.

Oh well!

• Registered Users Posts: 12 Nellywelly

Huge congrats xalot! Hoping alll goes fantastic for you.

Anyone else just beginning to ttc? I'm just finished my period but waiting until next month to ttc #3 after a m/c last October @ 12 weeks. I'm feeling very nervous about it all going wrong again.....! I'm so excited one minute, then petrified the next! Head wrecked and I haven't even started yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,649 ✭✭✭✭fits

So I got blood results today. My irregular cycles arent due to PCOS or endometriosis.

FSH 22 AMH 1.0 Essentially low egg reserve and cycles going funny (quiet ovaries)

Doctor said chances of natural conception are extremely low. Advised us to go straight for IVF, said clomid would be a waste of time.

Pretty devastated. I just turned 36.

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

I'm sorry to hear that Fits, :( you'll probably be a bit shocked and reeling for a while, so let yourself process it for as long as you need.

It's no harm to speak to a fertility specialist for a second opinion when you get your head around it. We also have quite a few women going through Assisted conception over on the Long Term thread to chat to if you need - getting to grips with all the medical terminology you may encounter can be a bit daunting.

• Registered Users Posts: 229 ✭✭geez

I know thst must be hard to hear fits. I have endometriosis and it's severe the doc have given me six months, we are on month three to conceive and it's ivf for us too. Very hard but I think it's good to have answers at least you now know where you stand. Still heartbreaker to hear though

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,927 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

After almost 3 months of waiting, FINALLY my LH surge has been detected by an OPK! Better make sure to get the ride tonight :pac: suppose I should probably shave my legs.....

• Registered Users Posts: 731 ✭✭✭StarBright01

Toots wrote: »
    After almost 3 months of waiting, FINALLY my LH surge has been detected by an OPK! Better make sure to get the ride tonight :pac: suppose I should probably shave my legs.....

Very funny! :) best of luck with it!

• Registered Users Posts: 62 ✭✭apple26

This made me laugh! Best of luck!!

Guys I think I have just gotten a very very faint second line!! It's barely there but I remember last time my first bfp was also really very faint so I'm going to test again in the morning I bought a twin pack first response!!

Best of luck Jen44! I'm on day 15, day after ovulation although my ovulation test said i'm not ovulating anymore wonder if its still worth trying tonight again just in case? Or have I missed the boat? We'll just have to wait and see if the last few days worked or not.... best not get the hopes up.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,927 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Oooh Jen fingers crossed for you! I was always told 'a line is a line, no matter how faint' but when I got a really really faint line when I was pregnant on my son, I was convinced it wasn't dark enough so I took about 6 tests :pac: I found the first response ones gave me a positive about 2 days before any other brand, so they're obviously really sensitive.

Starbright I'm sure one extra time couldn't hurt!

Best of luck Jen44! I'm on day 15, day after ovulation although my ovulation test said i'm not ovulating anymore wonder if its still worth trying tonight again just in case? Or have I missed the boat? We'll just have to wait and see if the last few days worked or not.... best not get the hopes up.

Depending on your method of ovulation testing, it could well be worth it. If you are testing using OPK sticks, they test for the hormone that is released about before ovulation (think it might be 30 -48 hrs cant remember now) So if you got a positive yesterday, you may still be due to ovulate.

I've the clear blue ones at the mo and they say when the smiley face comes up to have intercourse within the next 48 hours to maximise chances. I've still got my chart from my period tracker app when I conceived my son (in 2010 :o) and it looks like we did the no pants dance the day before ovulation, and the day after.

Without giving TMI, my boobs are quite sore today though, wonder if that's a sign i've missed the boat now if I'm a day past ovulation? Has anyone else had experience with this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

The LH spike that triggers a positive ovulation test happens 12 to 36 hours before you ovulate not exactly when you ovulate. Plus the egg will survive 12 to 24 hours after ovulation. So best to assume you are still fertile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Roselm

We should add a poll to this thread of how long it took the 2016 people to conceive.
    What do ye think? Would it be a negative for anyone eg if it was taking you ages longer than everyone else and wouldn't want to see it everytime you came into the thread?

Roselm wrote: »
    We should add a poll to this thread of how long it took the 2016 people to conceive.
    What do ye think? Would it be a negative for anyone eg if it was taking you ages longer than everyone else and wouldn't want to see it everytime you came into the thread?

To be honest it's not something that I would want to see. Everyone is different so no point in comparing to how long everyone else took.

I think it could be very depressing if it's taking you longer than others. Even seeing people posting that they got a BFP can be difficult for someone who's getting negative after negative. It could be quite disheartening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

Hi everyone! Myself and my fiance are officially TTC :D We're in the early early stages, as in I just bought a cervical thermometre which I will start using tomorrow. I've been taking folic acid supplements since the beginning of the year. We don't get too much opportunity to *ahem* do the deed so we're hoping to do what we can to make every deed count! In particular we're staying in a nice hotel next weekend so we'll certainly get opportunity then ;) the only thing I'm concerned about is, should we avoid having a drink with dinner? IS it bad to be TTC on a night where alcohol is ingested?

not at all in fact i would say its better!! haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭catrionanic

My period is now 5 days late and showing none of the PMT signs of arriving

Took another test two days ago and still negative - I'm def not pregnant

I'm just really annoyed now, because I've been regular for so long and now as soon as we start TTC, my cycles go all over the place so I won't know when I'm ovulating 😣

I've ordered some OPKs online so hopefully that will help, but still. SO annoying!

• Registered Users Posts: 932 ✭✭✭brokensoul

rawn wrote: »
    Hi everyone! Myself and my fiance are officially TTC :D We're in the early early stages, as in I just bought a cervical thermometre which I will start using tomorrow. I've been taking folic acid supplements since the beginning of the year. We don't get too much opportunity to *ahem* do the deed so we're hoping to do what we can to make every deed count! In particular we're staying in a nice hotel next weekend so we'll certainly get opportunity then ;) the only thing I'm concerned about is, should we avoid having a drink with dinner? IS it bad to be TTC on a night where alcohol is ingested?

I am sure that the best medical advice would be to abstain from drinking. On the other hand, half the country were conceived after drink!

If you were very concerned, what you could do is have a drink for the first few days of the cycle, then when you've ovulated you could abstain during the 2 week wait until you either get a BFP or AF arrives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

AF arrived on Wednesday. Herself had taken a test on Tuesday and it was negative anyway so it wasn't a massive surprise however she still had herself convinced that she was pregnant.

She was a bit upset after the negative test then her period arriving but is ok now, we had a nice break away which helped her. Gonna get that lube that was mentioned previously and get back in the saddle (so to speak) this month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭Hopeful2016

Well we had a surprise BFP after deciding we weren't going to try for a few months (thought we were out for Feb at that stage), sadly ended in another mc though. I'd definitely recommend the pre-seed, we've gotten BFPs two months out of three when using it. Sadly both ended in mc but that's a different story. Had had a pelvic scan this week which didn't identify anything unusual and going to have bloods done next week and if they're clear we'll think about trying again. Fingers crossed for third time lucky!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Roselm

Well we had a surprise BFP after deciding we weren't going to try for a few months (thought we were out for Feb at that stage), sadly ended in another mc though. I'd definitely recommend the pre-seed, we've gotten BFPs two months out of three when using it. Sadly both ended in mc but that's a different story. Had had a pelvic scan this week which didn't identify anything unusual and going to have bloods done next week and if they're clear we'll think about trying again. Fingers crossed for third time lucky!
    Ah hope you're doing ok.
    Best wishes for third time lucky

Hope you are okay Hopeful2016.

Has anyone ever had twinge in ovaries a few days after ovulation? I have it 2 days after ovulation on right ovary and in middle on and off. This is new to me as its usually just usually beforehand.

Well guys I thought I had seen a really faint line the other night but what ever I saw is gone now!! Still no sign of af tho I'm day 28 today!!

• Registered Users Posts: 260 ✭✭Scousemouse83

Well ladies!
    Got the first flashing smiley today! Thankgod for trying opks as I wouldn't have had a clue! Fingers crossed for baby dust for all!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭Meubles

Giving the preseed a go this month - excited about that!! I have 35 day cycles so already feeling impatient for 'go week' one weird thing for me is the last 2 months I've gotten a positive opk the day of my temperature rise so not getting much notice thought about doing the opk twice a day around that week but also trying not to make myself crazy! I did figure out I get at least 1 day of ewcm 2 days before I ovulate every month so going to use that as a guide - listen to my body!

What do you guys reckon about timing is it important to do it every day during fertile week? We've been aiming for every other day but I'm wondering if it's better to try every day?

Big congrats to those of you who've gotten your BFPs! Exciting times ahead! Good luck to everyone this month!

I think both every day and every other day has an equal chance of success based on what I read. I think every day is probably good but I wouldn't be forcing it just for the sake of it then.

• Registered Users Posts: 229 ✭✭geez

Day 14 but no smiley on my clearblue! I'm really hoping I get one soon. I'm worried I could have a very short luteal phase! Google is not my friend

Sometimes I think that knowledge is a dangerous thing as well and I wish I could go back to my parents era when you just had sex and got pregnant at some stage without all this research and testing etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

bee06 wrote: »
    Sometimes I think that knowledge is a dangerous thing as well and I wish I could go back to my parents era when you just had sex and got pregnant at some stage without all this research and testing etc.

The burden of knowledge.

Couldn't agree more. Always tell people dr Google is dangerous, and I'm googling like a maniac!! Hopefully ill get my cycle sorted and the madness/googling will stop!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,649 ✭✭✭✭fits

Couldn't agree more. Always tell people dr Google is dangerous, and I'm googling like a maniac!! Hopefully ill get my cycle sorted and the madness/googling will stop!

Google is a killer but hard to stop. I have just realised in last 24 hours that I have had lots and lots of symptoms pointing to my current situation and I never put it all together until this week. :o

Does anybody else get post ovulation ovary twinges? I'm also really irritable which the other half is delighted about! I'm on day 17. It's new to me but also trying not to Google too much as I've been doing that way too much! Think it's bad for getting hopes up.

I did this month well wasn't aware until this month. Thought it was Af but the opk says it's ovulation.
    I'm imposing a google ban today at least! Definitely not good for the mind or hopes!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭Hopeful2016

I have had what I thought was ovarian pain post ovulation for a few months. At one point it was so bad I went to my GP. His main concern was risk of etopic pregnancy but he said that was very unlikely due to being so early, as according to him pain from an etopic pregnancy wouldn't really occur until the fetus (or embryo or whatever the correct term is at a few days post ovulation) grew big enough to stretch the tube and that would be another few weeks. He said the other possibilies were a cyst or polycystic ovaries, which I had no other symptoms of. I was concerned it might be a cyst but this was ruled out by ultrasound. They did however think I might have a femoral hernia but ultrasound wasn't conclusive and the next step would be referral to a surgeon. I've decided against this for now as the pain is manageable and my GP has reassured me a hernia wouldn't interfere with conceiving or having a healthy pregnancy. My main concern was a cyst and that has been ruled out.

This is just my experience of post ovulation pain in that area, obviously I'm not giving medical advice or suggesting it's the same for anyone else :) .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭greenttc

Haven't written in a while here but i have been reading!

Congratulations to the BFP's recently, it gives the rest of us some hope.

Sorry to hear of some of the difficulties too like miscarriage and fertility problems, it is just highlights the reality of the fears we all have. This is not an easy an easy process for so many of us.

Despite my own hurdles to get over (with the poor sperm morphology) i decided to get some preseed too! Have used it this week and its grand! Had read things about it being a bit messy and decreasing sensitivity but i just used two thirds of the amount recommended and mr green seems to like it too, hasn't caused him any problems anyway! It has certainly gotten my hopes up after reading so many positive stories about it.

Would be so amazing if it worked even though our chances of conception are much lower than the average. My only fear is that it will help one of his bad swimmers to make the journey and that it will just end in miscarriage but when i weigh up pros and cons i think i would rather risk miscarriage and deal with it than dealing with nothing.

The fear is just massive, how do we cope with all of this at all? aren't we all just amazing?

What do you guys make of this: I'll be 14 DPO on Paddy's day, so that'd be the day I'd assume my period would be due if I'm not preggers. However, Fertility Friend is telling me not to test until the 20th which will be 17 DPO. What would ye do? I don't know how I'd restrain myself even until Paddy's day! I'm useless at waiting for random little things in general, but this 2ww business is just torture :o

I think the reason FF told you this was because (if I remember correctly) it's your first time ovulating so it doesn't know your luteral phase length based on past cycles so it adds a couple of days on. That's what it did for me.

Anyway, to test or not to test, that is the question! My rule is don't test until I'm a couple of days late because I'm not the most regular anyway. I did break it this month because it was Valentine's Day and I really wanted a special valentines pressie for himself. It wasn't to be though.

I'd say that must be what it is. I did have one ovulation with it before this one, but I reckon because my cycles are so all over the place it's erring on the side of caution. I'm in 2 minds whether to test on the 17th now, because I remember when I was pregnant with my son I had a negative test the day before my period was due, and then a positive one the day it was due. Maybe I'll meet in the middle and test on the 18th :pac:

I'm all over the place with my ovulation too. Ff adjusted for me too as I'm unsure when I last ovulated. Fingers crossed for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭greenttc

I think there is somewhere in fertility friend that explains this, like it might be in one of those little information bits that they give you every time you go on but i think bee06 has pretty much explained it. You dont have to do what it tells you though, it wont know! :-)

Now,you will think i am mad altogether with how cope but I have a little stash of the dealz pregnancy tests just to use and satisfy my desire to test early, i know it makes no sense cause they are not as strong or accurate as the clearblue etc and are likely to just say negative anyway just cause they arent as sensitive but it satisfies my curiosity and the way i see it is if it is positive, amazing! If it is negative there is still hope till af arrives. Its a bit of a silly way to do it but it gets me over the wait anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

You can buy in bulk online. A lot of the long termers use this site :)

http://www.accessdiagnostics.co.uk/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭Emmal14

I bought a rake of tests online for the same reason so that when i couldn't hold back anymore im using those instead of a clear blue/ first response to settle my irrational urges! It does work wonders for the psyche as you don't get too far into building up massive expectations

Lucyfur wrote: »
    You can buy in bulk online. A lot of the long termers use this site :)

http://www.accessdiagnostics.co.uk/

Oh and fyi - I got a positive test on out of date ones too (OOD 2014), so don't chuck them away!

You can use them for the days you want to test on a whim, but obviously if you have reason to doubt the result you can always retest with one from your good stash.

Access also accept back unused sealed boxes. So if you do buy in bulk and discover you are pregnant, you could get a refund on what you don't need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭xalot

As an FYI you can use an ovulation test as a pregnancy test (but only from the day your period would have been due).

I got a faint + on a First Response and a negative on the internet pregnancy cheapie at 10dpo

I got a a + on a clear blue digital and negative on internet cheapie at 11dpo.

It took until 17dpo for the internet cheapie to turn positive but the ovulation strips turned positive from 12dpo (I usually get my period on 12dpo) . So if you have a load of spare ovulation tests it might be handy to use them and not waste the expensive First Response / digital tests.