Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is tipping now expected in Ireland?

• 16-12-2015 9:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭

Honestly I'm not big on tipping. I tip only when the service goes above and beyond the acceptable standard. I don't see why I should give someone my hard earned money when they don't work hard to earn it.

This is especially the case in Ireland where tipping has not been the done thing (until recently at least). In America I'd be more flexible but in Ireland people in the service industry would be better paid.

So, do you tip? If so, how much and why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I tip like I like to be tipped.

20% if the service is bad, 50% if it's good :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I would tip taxi drivers and in restaurant. No where else, and only if the service is good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

I would tip except...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,508 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

I've always tipped in restaurants in ireland, I don't think its a new thing. 20% usually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

No it's not part of our culture. In the US these people are on about $2 an hour, plus 15% of the bill on each table they service. Just a different system entirely to what's practiced over here.

Leave the change or whatever if you feel the service was to a very high standard but never feel obliged to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭kettlehead

Lunch - change.

Dinner - 10%

Barbers - €2

Taxi driver - round off the fare if he doesn't go on the scenic route or go on a rant.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

I don't tip and never will because I'm a bleedin miser..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,508 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

kettlehead wrote: »
    Lunch - change.

Dinner - 10%

Barbers - €2

Taxi driver - round off the fare if he doesn't go on the scenic route or go on a rant.

I used to always tip taxi drivers but rarely bother now for the above mentioned reasons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

**** tipping. Load of condescending bollox.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭mattP

Receiving tips doesn't fill me with excitement or good will to be honest. A lot of people just tip because they feel socially obligated, its hard to get positivity out of that. I much prefer a nice chat with someone who doesn't treat me like some dip**** who dropped out of school :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

It is part of the culture here in certain situations, restaurants, some taxis and things like hair cuts. People working in food service rely on it and deserve it if the service is decent. 10% is my standard and if the service is better than normal I'll give a bit extra.

Anyone not tipping as standard in restaurants is a bit of a stingy git.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

mattP wrote: »
    Receiving tips doesn't fill me with excitement or good will to be honest. A lot of people just tip because they feel socially obligated, its hard to get positivity out of that. I much prefer a nice chat with someone who doesn't treat me like some dip**** who dropped out of school :o
    I prefer the cold hard cash :)

I don't feel one bit oppressed by people giving me money. Especially if it's sterling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Whitewinged

I tip the hairdresser, delivery people, taxi, restaurants and also bar staff that serve you at your table.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

A coffee and I'll leave the change. Lunch depends on the service.
    Dinner I'll leave €10 or so.

I don't think in terms of percentages and leave what I think is deserved.

I don't tip anybody else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Aye, thanks never put food on my table or clothes on my kids back. Cash please.

I don't tip delivery drivers. You can flick around in your pockets all you want. I'll wait. You get a delivery charge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Restaurants yes if I get good service - 10%. I don't see why we shouldn't incentivise people to give good service.

Taxis? What are ye tipping taxi drivers for?

I tip takeaway drivers because I know they earn feck all.

Where do you go out to eat and do they have any openings?

50% tip. Feck me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Whitewinged

I don't tip delivery drivers. You can flick around in your pockets all you want. I'll wait. You get a delivery charge.

I do, I'm not sure what it is but I was saying before on another thread that I think it's something where I tip if the service comes to me like the taxi driver collects or drops you at your door, takeaway or furniture delivery or whatever.

I tip in restaurants where there is a waiter or bar staff who come to your table but I'd never tip someone serving me at a counter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,123 ✭✭✭Sarn

From my experience tipping in Ireland has been around the past 25-35 years. I'd tip about 10% in a restaurant or cafe and give a euro or two to the barber.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

hmmm wrote: »
    Restaurants yes if I get good service - 10%. I don't see why we shouldn't incentivise people to give good service.

Aren't they being paid to give good service? Just like the chef is paid to produce good food? I mean, that's why customers go back to restaurants -- good food, good service, good surroundings. That's what we pay for so why should the customer be expected to subsidise the waiting staff and them alone when its the restaurant owner who's supposed to pay them their wages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,623 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

I almost never tip.
    I don't see any reason to tip .
    if the person does their job and reasonably well then they get paid (and usually well)

if they go beyond what I would expect or are especially nice and friendly then a tip is appropriate .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

I never tip unless it's a keep the change type of tip where I don't want to inconvenience myself by wasting time waiting for a small amount of change.

Why does nobody tip those who serve in shops but do for people who serve in restaurants?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

If its excellent service, sure. Not for some hard faced teenager slamming plates and drinks onto my table like a hammer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,985 ✭✭✭DopeTech

Don't eat yellow snow, that's one of my favourites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,193 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

I don't think I've ever tipped in Ireland. Maybe if I was getting a taxi and it came to 18 euro I'd just give the driver 20, more so for convenience than anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,057 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

50%?! Are you out of your mind?!

10% is standard. 20% is very generous.

I give 10% as a rule and generally round up from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Aren't they being paid to give good service? Just like the chef is paid to produce good food?
    I look at it like this - I go into a restaurant expecting to pay the cost of my meal + 10% by default. I'll remove that 10% if the service is bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

I look at it like this - I go into a restaurant expecting to pay the cost of my meal + 10% by default. I'll remove that 10% if the service is bad.

Surely the cost of the meal is supposed to cover everything involved in getting the food to the table including the people who serve you.

I do tip, unless the service is bad. But I don't like tipping.

I dont mind tipping delivery drivers cos they seem to get shafted by the system in terms of how much they get paid (as far as I know it's fairly low) but people waiting on tables in restaurants etc are at least getting minimum wage. And min. wage is set to go up in the new year.

I'm not saying it's an easy job or anything, but they are already getting paid well enough for what they do. It's not like the US where there's a reliance on tipping. Generally speaking, I'd hazard a guess that most of the people working in restaurants, when the tips are added in, are probably making more money than those they're serving.

A waiter chased me out of a cafe in San Francisco once and said, "Excuse me sir, was there something wrong with the service? Your tip was kinda small." I don't be dealing with that shyte in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Tipping barbers ?!€??!

When TF did that become a thing ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

When I'm back in Ireland I will tip in a restaurant if the service has been exemplary. This means the type of service that is friendly yet not overbearing. A strong knowledge of the wine list with recommendations on a wine to match each course if serving by the glass. No tattoos, silly beards or converse runners - which seems to be a look in vogue these days even in more formal restaurants. It's the type of service that comes naturally to some waiters and waitresses. The amount of the tip will vary depending on the level of service, the atmosphere of the establishment, and the quality of the food.

I always leave a €6 tip for my barber here in Frankfurt; two twenty euro notes for the combined cut and tip. I've been going to the same barber for four years now and always enjoy his company, as well as always being guaranteed a damn fine haircut that has me looking my best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,057 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Amazed that tipping barbers is a thing.

Does cow tipping count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭oceanman

I never tip in restaurants ect...it just encourages employers to pay crap wages to their staff.

When I'm back in Ireland I will tip in a restaurant if the service has been exemplary. This means the type of service that is friendly yet not overbearing. A strong knowledge of the wine list with recommendations on a wine to match each course if serving by the glass. No tattoos, silly beards or converse runners - which seems to be a look in vogue these days even in more formal restaurants. It's the type of service that comes naturally to some waiters and waitresses. The amount of the tip will vary depending on the level of service, the atmosphere of the establishment, and the quality of the food.

I always leave a €6 tip for my barber here in Frankfurt; two twenty euro notes for the combined cut and tip. I've been going to the same barber for four years now and always enjoy his company, as well as always being guaranteed a damn fine haircut that has me looking my best.

Are you from the 19th century?

oceanman wrote: »
    I never tip in restaurants ect...it just encourages employers to pay crap wages to their staff.

Not exactly true, we have minimum wages as a statutory requirement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,541 ✭✭✭anothernight

I leave a bit of change after a lunch out, if I happen to have some. Same with dinner, unless the service was bad (no tip at all then) or very good, in which case I'll leave at least 10% or more if the service is really exemplary.

I don't tip hairdressers. I also don't tip taxi drivers, but then I can't see how I would when they nearly always round down the fare anyway. Come to think of it, is that a common thing or is that just me? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

6 Euro tip for a barber makes him more like from the 24th century, with a period of hyper inflation thrown in somewhere.

€6. :eek:
    WTF has happened to the world? Did I miss a referendum, state takeover by totalitarian barbers, or do a Woody Allen Sleeper? :confused:

I'll wake up in the morning and everything will be normal again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,600 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Take away? Only if delivery is free.

Taxi drivers?! With the prices they charge in Dublin?! Grumble all you want you ****, you're getting nowt more and yes, I'm waiting here until you give me the last 50c of change you left off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,518 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Nah I'd be pretty much the same as Aongus (though when dining out, I don't base tipping on the atmosphere of the restaurant as they're always excellent and the staff provide an excellent service). I'd tip my barber because they always make that extra effort to squeeze me in if they have full books and so on, I get an excellent haircut regardless! I'd tip in taxis, cafes bars and hotels just if I feel like it tbh, I'm never pushed, and certainly if I'm paying by card, I'm not going to be tipping.

I'd prefer to see card payments become more common tbh, or cashless transactions by phone, as I hate carrying cash anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,600 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

6 Euro tip for a barber makes him more like from the 24th century, with a period of hyper inflation thrown in somewhere.

€6. :eek:
    WTF has happened to the world? Did I miss a referendum, state takeover by totalitarian barbers, or do a Woody Allen Sleeper? :confused:

I'll wake up in the morning and everything will be normal again.

Never mind the 6e tip, it's the 34e haircut he needs to worry about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 966 ✭✭✭Mourinho

I have to say the only time I've ever heard of tips been given to workers in Ireland is on this site, honestly never seen or heard anyone on about it in RL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,623 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

Nah I'd be pretty much the same as Aongus (though when dining out, I don't base tipping on the atmosphere of the restaurant as they're always excellent and the staff provide an excellent service). I'd tip my barber because they always make that extra effort to squeeze me in if they have full books and so on, I get an excellent haircut regardless! I'd tip in taxis, cafes bars and hotels just if I feel like it tbh, I'm never pushed, and certainly if I'm paying by card, I'm not going to be tipping.

I'd prefer to see card payments become more common tbh, or cashless transactions by phone, as I hate carrying cash anyway.

what. you tip him because he allowed you to cut in line

if I was in that queue I would be mad and wouldn't put up with that crap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,518 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I leave a bit of change after a lunch out, if I happen to have some. Same with dinner, unless the service was bad (no tip at all then) or very good, in which case I'll leave at least 10% or more if the service is really exemplary.

I don't tip hairdressers. I also don't tip taxi drivers, but then I can't see how I would when they nearly always round down the fare anyway. Come to think of it, is that a common thing or is that just me? :confused:

Rounding down the fare? I'd doubt it's as common as taxi drivers rounding up the fare tbh. If they try rounding up the fare on me, I'll just point to what's on the meter, but if they say nothing I'll round it up and possibly tip them anyway -

A fare of €17.20, if they round it up to €18, I'll pay them €20 and wait till I get my change. If they round it down to €15, I'll give them €20, and tell them hold the change, and if they don't say anything, I'll just hand them the €20 and wish them a safe journey home themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

Never mind the 6e tip, it's the 34e haircut he needs to worry about.

I get a wash and condition with a premium shampoo and conditioner. A fantastic haircut by a true professional that is exactly to my specifications. He's a genuinely nice man to boot. I enjoy his company. This is followed up by a hair tonic, head and neck massage, and my choice of styling product.

It's very much worth it. I've a customer facing role, and a good haircut is part of the package I present to our clients.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

Jayop wrote: »
    It is part of the culture here in certain situations, restaurants, some taxis and things like hair cuts. People working in food service rely on it and deserve it if the service is decent. 10% is my standard and if the service is better than normal I'll give a bit extra.

Anyone not tipping as standard in restaurants is a bit of a stingy git.

No, they don't. I've worked in minimum wage jobs for years -- I learned to budget. If you want to tip, then fine. But don't judge the rest of us for normal practice.

That being said if I had a better job then maybe I'd tip more.

It's a sad situation if people need an incentive to do their job well. A tip is appreciated but should never be expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

J Mysterio wrote: »
    50%?! Are you out of your mind?!
    The whole % thing is ridiculous, if he buys a 200 euro bottle of champagne does the waiter really deserve 100euro for opening it?
    , but they are already getting paid well enough for what they do. It's not like the US where there's a reliance on tipping. .
    This is no longer the case in most states. There was a law passed whereby if the workers did not make up min wage from tips the employer had to pay them the shortfall. So in most, if not all states, they are all effectively on the min wage. Some restaurants have banned tipping, and have notes on the menu along the lines of "please do not tip, we actually pay the staff a reasonable wage already and they are aware of our policy"
    Take away? Only if delivery is free.
    a lot of places with "free delivery" will have "walk in discounts", i.e. there is a delivery charge. They should be getting paid a min wage, otherwise you are just encouraging nixers and black market employment. No sympathy for them, I know several people who were drivers and cleaned up.