Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If Isis were to attack Ireland, what places would be target?

• 14-12-2015 12:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 Celtickate

My guess would be the Luas in Dublin, president's house, some award show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭Lights On

The Rock of Cashel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Raven Runner

The GAA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Whosthis

Bray, please be Bray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

This is a great idea, let's make a handy list for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Gaygooner

The cliffs of moher - there will will trouble if they try to avoid the car park fees!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Housewife Of The Year Awards.

Hopefully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,206 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

Celtickate wrote: »
    My guess would be the Luas in Dublin, president's house, some award show.

Red line? Prob would go unnoticed.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Why give them ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

if someone was to do something here I think they would want the most people in the smallest confined space like croke park or the ploughing match

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

Lisdoonvarna.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Shannon. But probably A large unguarded Urban area like cork city for example. Somewhere they could do maximum civilian murder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Not Waterford, anyway.

#UpTheDaesh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 854 ✭✭✭dubscottie

Should it not be "try to target"??

I know of at least 3 places where the feckers are watched for..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭kevincool

Why would they attack? Ireland does not poke it's nose in anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,286 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Trinity. The Dail. The Late Late Show. Etc etc.

kevincool wrote: »

We are on the list we have extremists and the MB here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

if someone was to do something here I think they would want the most people in the smallest confined space like croke park or the ploughing match

That would be any pub on Harcourt Street on a Thursday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Stheno wrote: »
    Why give them ideas?

If they're reading AH looking for ideas then they are even more unhinged than any of us have ever realised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

Stheno wrote: »
    Why give them ideas?

I think these people are smart enough and part of the local culture that they could easily think of much worse than what we will post

Attack boards!!! Hack the servers and replace reasoned discussion with right wing bigotry...

Durka Durka Dundrum town centre!!!

The indo would go into innocent southsiders slain meltdown

• Closed Accounts Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Vandango

If they're reading AH looking for ideas then they are even more unhinged than any of us have ever realised.

And possibly even too thick to mount an attack.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 59 ✭✭Geoffrey Dalton

All the ESB hydro dams. It would wipe Cork out of the equation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭kevincool

We are on the list we have extremists and the MB here.

You all are just paranoid. There was never an Islamist attack in Ireland and will not be unless ireland send their military for the war on terrorism.

But if there is hardly any military for ireland why would they send?

Collie D wrote: »
    That would be any pub on Harcourt Street on a Thursday

Coopers would be like shooting pigs in a blanket... Wait no, fish on.a barrell

You all are just paranoid. There was never an Islamist attack in Ireland and will not be unless ireland send their military for the war on terrorism.

But if there is hardly any military for ireland why would they send?

We are Europeans and western that's all they need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

Please be Tipp town pleaseeeeee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

We have or had forces at one stage or another in Lebenon, Liberia, Kosovo, Lybia, Sierra Leon. We have Private Military Companies and security forces working in Afganistan and Iraq right now made up of ex Ranger Wing members providing private security protection services.

We poke or nose in plenty and that's without mentioning Shannon stop overs and the fact we let military aircraft use our airspace.

Every halting site in the country please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭VickieVexed1

Think I have posted this before but anyway...

I was driving back from Cork to Dublin recently when I picked up a hitch-hiker who was obviously Muslim. He was very grateful I had stopped as it was pissing out and he was in a rush to get to the airport to fly to Syria. When we got to Dublin he said he would be eternally grateful and said as a thank you he would give me some advice "Do not go back to Cork" he said with a grave look on his face. "Why? Is there going to be an attack?" I asked. He looked at me again with the same look on his face and said...

"No, it's a ****ing $h1thole"

Athlone- put it out of its misery at least...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

tommybrees wrote: »
    Every halting site in the country please

Considering what happened in Carrickmines, that post is even more unpleasant than the usual anti-traveller stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

They need to target Drumshanbo....sure there was a massacre there already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭Ludikrus

Probably my ex wife's house (DM for details) cause she's always slagging off Allah and ISIS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Get Rid of Carlow, Longford and Bray and we say nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

The boards servers so they don't get their hands on this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,423 ✭✭✭✭josip

Dennys

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 187 ✭✭warpdrive

In all seriousness they could do serious damage in Dublin or Cork if they planned it the way they did the Paris attacks where they struck multiple areas at once. We're unprepared for anything like this. Anyone can walk into croke park or aviva with no security checks or anything so they'd be able to do what they planned to do in the stadium in Paris except successfully this time. Security checks in the three arena are very minimal so they could do terrible damage there since security guards aren't armed so they could just shoot any security guards in their way and then they're free to enter. Popular pubs and clubs like coppers. Other events that are on throughout the city on any given evening. And since our armed response units are so limited, what if they targeted events in multiple cities at once which they could do since Ireland is such a small country...

It actually sucks thinking about how vulnerable we really are and what makes it worse is the head in the sand mindset of "sure everyone loves the Irish, we'll be grand"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

warpdrive wrote: »

It actually sucks thinking about how vulnerable we really are and what makes it worse is the head in the sand mindset of "sure everyone loves the Irish, we'll be grand"

I think it's more that we can't stop doing what we do as that's what they want us to do, by changing anything we do they've already won.

There's still more risk in driving to work than getting caught in a terrorism attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

warpdrive wrote: »
    In all seriousness they could do serious damage in Dublin or Cork if they planned it the way they did the Paris attacks where they struck multiple areas at once. We're unprepared for anything like this. Anyone can walk into croke park or aviva with no security checks or anything so they'd be able to do what they planned to do in the stadium in Paris except successfully this time. Security checks in the three arena are very minimal so they could do terrible damage there since security guards aren't armed so they could just shoot any security guards in their way and then they're free to enter. Popular pubs and clubs like coppers. Other events that are on throughout the city on any given evening. And since our armed response units are so limited, what if they targeted events in multiple cities at once which they could do since Ireland is such a small country...

Sure if that's the case forget about it, we all just close our doors and never go outside again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭NomadicGray

Del2005 wrote: »
    There's still more risk in driving to work than getting caught in a terrorism attack.

So you're saying I shouldnt go to work in the morning?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭The Randy Riverbeast

Crash a plane into the spire. It would be our 9/11.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭Th3B1tcH

RTE please :D (and maybe dail bar )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 457 ✭✭CaptainInsano

Coppers with a bag of hand grenades.

I don't think the OP meant for this thread to be some kind of evil Santa's wishlist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Jaysus lads are you all thick? It's clear the OP is one of them and is using us for intel gathering (god help her coz yizzar all thick). She even uses a very strong "Irish" username to throw us off the scent.

Smart yon Isis boyos.

But I agree the GAA would be a good place to start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

any stadium really during a big game. Any airport or port as well, they are pretty much not defended at all. A ferry even.

We havent been attacked because it suits ISIS to not attack. Were not paying them much attention, probable doing all sorts via Ireland and that would change with an attack. The UK, US and France are far more active against ISIS as is Germany and Spain for example so we should be ok for a while

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 59 ✭✭Geoffrey Dalton

Get Garth brooks to do a few gigs, round a few lads up.