Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread Part 2 **MOD NOTE POST 1***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭PeterCasey

brookville wrote: »
    So with tj also out this weekend we'll be scarce on experience especially up front.also doubts over buckley and fogarty.
    You'd expect maybe the backs and mf to stay much the same for Saturday.Lester will probably start somewhere.Joe lyng could start if his available but it's the bit experience up front that we could miss but the lads couldn't be faulted for effort last weekend.
    Leahy would be a help and maybe this game might suit john Walsh.
    When is the fitzgibbon on again?

You certainly couldn't fault them for effort I was happy enough with the way they played the ref was terrible, the linesman all he was looking for was headline news he didn't put up the flag or the umpire didn't do anything when Enda Morrisey was pulled on after Wexford scored the goal that Wexford player should have been sent off. I think you need a player like Joe Lyng in there he wouldn't be afraid Leahy hurled well in the colleges match yesterday . We are going to have be patient this thing of lads critizising that players were sloppy Saturday shows they have no respect for lads that went out on a shocking day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭brookville

I'm heading down saturday night it's being years since I was down.Any tips on parking etc would be appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Stopitwillya

Any tips on parking etc would be appreciated.

I presume you are a woman if your not great at the parking. Check your mirrors and make sure you use the handbrake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Cornerback1

I'd have Lester starting in midfield. He's a good option there to win a few breaks and get stuck in at ruck time. Pitch could be rough enough if rain contuines!

It'll not be pretty but lads needs to stand up and get stuck in from first whistle. Good game for us to start the league season after a decent run in the Walsh Cup. That should have brought the lads on a bit and it would be good preparation for Cork on Saturday evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭barneygumble99

Did anyone find it strange the amount of Wexford players that ‘lost’ their helmets during the match on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Village87

Did anyone find it strange the amount of Wexford players that ‘lost’ their helmets during the match on Sunday.

Did it happen more than once ?

Big over reaction from Brian Cody, his post match thoughts should have been kept to himself. Need all our focus for Saturday now.

Should be a quality game

Should be a good game.kk should be sharp enough.I'd expect joe lyng and lester to start.I'd also like to see leahy and delaney starting but with college commitment its unlikely.How long is richie Reid gone for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭barneygumble99

Village87 wrote: »
    Did it happen more than once ?

Big over reaction from Brian Cody, his post match thoughts should have been kept to himself. Need all our focus for Saturday now.

Should be a quality game

Yes it happened a good few times, at least 5. I think that’s what Cody was going and over. A culmination of a lot of things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,087 ✭✭✭kk.man

I am sure Cody was right and saw fit in his protest against the perceived injustice. However refusing to take orders from the ref is a different matter and by doing so he shows a bad example to his players but it lowered him into the same category as his opposite number who took the opportunity like I expected he would.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭PeterCasey

I presume you are a woman if your not great at the parking. Check your mirrors and make sure you use the handbrake.

Wouldn't like to meet you out are you a man or a woman you could do a crocodile Dundee on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Mankbag

The players themselves won't know what the team is next week but will have to fight once they get the jersey. I don't see an All Ireland in us but I am happy that we have started a process where as last year we came back and tried very little new guys.[/QUOTE]

Yes, let's hope that this year we try very big new guys instead.

Its going to be interesting to see what lads will hold on after the Walsh cup..the panel will be reduced around this time..I think there's around ten in from the 21s.Brian has a large group the last few months he probaly has an idea of what he has
    I would of liked to have seen tom alyward or more of simon alyward or mansfield because I liked the look of a few of the Vegas men I seen last year.there's no going back with them anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭Nedflanders02

I think we’ll probably see a similar team to last weekend out. With the colleges lads playing again Thursday, we mightn’t see too many of them at the weekend. Hopefully we might see Tom Awlyard on Saturday and that would allow us to push Padraig further out the field. I think Ger Awlyard is nearly back aswell so hopefully he’ll make it on Saturday too. The team is like too see assuming we won’t have some of the college lads would be:

E Murphy
    J Holden, T Awlyard, P Deegan
    E Morrissey, C Buckley, J Lyng
    C Fogarty, O Walsh
    M Keoghan, P Walsh, R Leahy
    A Murphy, W Walsh, G Awlyard

Hopefully at some stage in the league we might see Luke Scanlon, Seanie Morrissey and Billy Ryan tried aswell.

Local radio are saying cody won't face any suspension from the other day and richie reid will be back because it's a different competition his suspension won't come in to affect till next year walsh cup.I'd expect reid to start at 11 saturday

Is it the same with Pat Horgan ?

Village87 wrote: »

Is it the same with Pat Horgan ?

Going by media reports, he's suspended. Not sure why but maybe Walsh Cup is provincial competition?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 320 ✭✭VonZan

I think we’ll probably see a similar team to last weekend out. With the colleges lads playing again Thursday, we mightn’t see too many of them at the weekend. Hopefully we might see Tom Awlyard on Saturday and that would allow us to push Padraig further out the field. I think Ger Awlyard is nearly back aswell so hopefully he’ll make it on Saturday too. The team is like too see assuming we won’t have some of the college lads would be:

E Murphy
    J Holden, T Awlyard, P Deegan
    E Morrissey, C Buckley, J Lyng
    C Fogarty, O Walsh
    M Keoghan, P Walsh, R Leahy
    A Murphy, W Walsh, G Awlyard

Hopefully at some stage in the league we might see Luke Scanlon, Seanie Morrissey and Billy Ryan tried aswell.

According to some Ger Awlyard won’t be involved this year, nor will Farrell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭Nedflanders02

VonZan wrote: »
    According to some Ger Awlyard won’t be involved this year, nor will Farrell.

Johnjo is definitely gone from the panel this year but Ger is still involved with the county panel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Topcat32

Going by media reports, he's suspended. Not sure why but maybe Walsh Cup is provincial competition?

It's treated as a standalone competition so the suspension is carried over to next year.

Ger definitely still involved his trying to get all the injuries cleared up in doubt he'll be available this weekend though

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/cody-wields-axe-on-walsh-and-farrell-with-aylwards-future-in-doubt-36524132.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

Ger Aylward was flat out in TJs gym on Sunday anyway. Didn't look like a lad who wasn't involved.

https://www.kilkennypeople.ie/news/sport/293181/kilkenny-hurling-richie-reid-available-for-cork-game-despite-seeing-red.html
    Cody says himself that ger is still involved. I thought john joe and walsh left themselves

Game is on Eir on Saturday evening. Any way of watching it in house without having that channel?

Not unless you have internet

Can it be got as a 1 off match?

Doubt it..buff will probably be at it if you follow him on snapchat you'll see a lot of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Irish Beef

Ger Aylward was flat out in TJs gym on Sunday anyway. Didn't look like a lad who wasn't involved.
    Ger is definitely still involved, talking to a Club man of his only yesterday and says he's training away with county panel, didn't say what was holding him up or anything, He says Ger tells them feck all, I think that's the way they operate , somebody had it here last week that Lester Ryan was gone of panel only for him to play last Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭jelutong

Game is on Eir on Saturday evening. Any way of watching it in house without having that channel?

It's on Freesports @ 18:40 folks.

jelutong wrote: »

It's on Freesports @ 18:40 folks.

What's and where is that?