Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread Part 2 **MOD NOTE POST 1***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Cornerback1

It was on live on YouTube. I just caught 2nd period of extra time and shoot out. I'm not sure if it can be watched back.

A late free for KK drew it after Conor Mc Donald put Wexford ahead with 1min left. Shoot out is a lottery. Wexford missed their first 2 but then won.

3 losses to Wexford in a row - only Walsh Cup but still a good workout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,103 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Seeing as how blatant trolling is now apparently fine on this thread (as evidenced by rebelside being allowed free rein the last week), I presume they've also suspended the rules about accusing people of trolling as well. With that in mind, fcuk off Doltanian you sad troll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Topcat32

Always annoying to lose to your neighbours but wouldnt be that bothered about the result, we all forgot that we won the 2017 Walsh cup by the end of the year, interesting things to come out of it were Lester Ryan being on the panel despite reports that he had dropped himself off it and Cody not bringing on TJ even in such a tight game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,103 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

How did they respond to the sweeper?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

Topcat32 wrote: »
    Cody not bringing on TJ even in such a tight game.

TJ wasn't there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 The sensation

Tj not togged. Also can you mute people on this ?

citykat wrote: »
    TJ wasn't there.

I guess that explains that then, he was listed on the program.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭brookville

What was Reid sent off for?despite losing on frees and considering the team out you'd have to pleased with some of the lads.Joey was excellent apart from the goal.mossy tried hard wally got better as it went on.
    We slipped after the sending off but showed good character to keep it going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

brookville wrote: »
    What was Reid sent off for?

Pulling the helmet off Hanlon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Alpha Centauri

Looked like the ref made a Faceguard pulling motion after the red card... was that what it was for?

He'll obviously be gone next weekend so?
    The Walsh cup has being good to expose lads wexford finished with a strong team
    I was happy considering the inexperienced team. Alan Murphy could of had another goal he should of kicked the one in the first half.I thought oillie Walsh done some good things.Silly from Reid to do that he was going OK.
    Tj,leahy,donnelly,hogan,colin,murphy will all help when they come back i wouldn't be too downbeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 The sensation

How did they respond to the sweeper?

Some intelligent play but under pressure reverted to high aimless ball again at times. Stood off ball carrier at times too as if we were too concerned about runners. Pat Lyng won aerial ball too which is a positive. Joey seems to have some confidence back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭babyjesus14

Seeing as how blatant trolling is now apparently fine on this thread (as evidenced by rebelside being allowed free rein the last week), I presume they've also suspended the rules about accusing people of trolling as well. With that in mind, fcuk off Doltanian you sad troll.

Dude attention seekers like him are best ignored he has absolutely nothing constructive or interesting to say! And it also drives them nuts which is a bonus!!😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

Belter of a game.

Personally, I've never been as negative about a Kilkenny team - the standard of hurler just isn't there. Our best attacker is Padraig Walsh and he's still anchored at full back. We can't deal with any high ball into the square. We can't hold our shape and end up with just waves of lads running between both 45s and usually end up pumping the ball into space to a spare defender or getting pulled to one side of the field and leaving acres on the other side where we get totally exposed. The only way to beat a sweeper is down the wings and hold the width and we only did that a handful of times.

That attempt by John Walsh at a 65. Mother of God.

Great entertainment though and if all Kilkenny games are like that this year I'll be happy enough as long as we win an odd one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭FCIM

Still watchable on YouTube from what I can see. I might have another look at it myself later.

We started well but faded before half time and could of being more ahead at half time.
    We were sluggish after half time and didn't score for near 15 mins.
    We lost all shape after the sending off but I thought we showed good spirit despite finding it hard to win a free or any breaks.
    Wex should of won it in normal time a terrible wide on the stroke of full time.
    Walsh def

We started well but faded before half time and could of being more ahead at half time.
    We were sluggish after half time and didn't score for near 15 mins.
    We lost all shape after the sending off but I thought we showed good spirit despite finding it hard to win a free or any breaks.
    Wex should of won it in normal time a terrible wide on the stroke of full time.
    Walsh definitely wasted at 3 he'll have to come back out to 5.
    Deegan finished up at 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,309 ✭✭✭randd1

brookville wrote: »
    What was Reid sent off for?despite losing on frees and considering the team out you'd have to pleased with some of the lads.Joey was excellent apart from the goal.mossy tried hard wally got better as it went on.
    We slipped after the sending off but showed good character to keep it going.

He was given a straight red for pulling Hanlons helmet off.

Hanlon gave him a dig, Reid gave one back, they started wrestling, Hanlons helmet came off, Hanlon started shouting at the linesman, linesman called the ref, ref sends off Reid, Hanlon gets nothing.

Summed up the ref all day.

Kilkenny were very good in parts, when they hurled with smarts they were clearly the better side.

However, they were poor with the short ball, and the longer the game went on, the more we reverted to type with lumped balls, the more we handed Wexford the initiative.

We have some serious work to do if we want to even make a Leinster final this year, but there was signs that if we do get it right we could be a handful.

Need a full back and push Walsh to No. 5. I'd go with Joey at full back next well. He's played there before and has experience in their. Eoin Murphy knows him well also in playing terms.

Need to have a settled full back for league. Game V Cork next week. Had a few games in Walsh Cup to try different lads but I'd go with Joey at full back next week.

Any thoughts?

Stupid from richie regardless simply can't do that although there was a lot of pulling and dragging going on.will he miss next weekend?wonder how will they deal with cody.

Need a full back and push Walsh to No. 5. I'd go with Joey at full back next well. He's played there before and has experience in their. Eoin Murphy knows him well also in playing terms.

Need to have a settled full back for league. Game V Cork next week. Had a few games in Walsh Cup to try different lads but I'd go with Joey at full back next week.

Any thoughts?

I thought full back line done OK.
    Deegan and joey were OK but Walsh needs to go to five.tom alyward or delaney are our best bet.
    No lennon or joe lyng on the panel it was mostly fringe players with mossy and murphy the standout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭dubcat51

Agree with joey going to full back.bad day in 16 final but many good days.walsh has to play in his best position.

dubcat51 wrote: »
    Agree with joey going to full back.bad day in 16 final but many good days.walsh has to play in his best position.
    Joey was good today but caught for the goal definitely looked to have a bit of confidence back

I have my doubts that we will have a settled full backline in the league, id guess at a full back line of O Shea, Lennon and Deegan, halfback Lyng, Buckley and Walsh, midfield of fogarty and Ollie Walsh, half forwards Walter Walsh, TJ Reid, Richie Leahy and full forward line of Blanchfield, Murphy and Conor Martin for any have to win match.

Just have to hope that Murphy, Fennelly and Hogan come back into the team at some stage and a few more of the younger lads step up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭babyjesus14

Any thoughts?

Agree Padraig is better at 5 just doesn't look comfortable at full. Don't know if Joey is the solution, played well today, but it wasn't just the '16 final on Callanan that he struggled. Got roasted by Harney in the league match down in Cork and by Conlon in the league semi in the same year and one thing they all have in common is they are big physical guys who can hurl. It's a shame Delaney is unlikely to be risked as I would like to get a look at him at this level. But with himself, Leahy, Donnelly and Blanchfield all having two Fitzgibbon cup matches this week asking any of them to play any part next Saturday would be a recipe for disaster.

I have my doubts that we will have a settled full backline in the league, id guess at a full back line of O Shea, Lennon and Deegan, halfback Lyng, Buckley and Walsh, midfield of fogarty and Ollie Walsh, half forwards Walter Walsh, TJ Reid, Richie Leahy and full forward line of Blanchfield, Murphy and Conor Martin for any have to win match.

Just have to hope that Murphy, Fennelly and Hogan come back into the team at some stage and a few more of the younger lads step up.

There's no way I'd have lennon full back.Joe Lyng was worth a go at 3.I'd say we won't see the college lads yet.Deegan and joey done well today both will start next week.You'd hope walsh will go out to wing back with Buckley and o shea,oillie and fogarty mf.I liked the look of mossy today his an honest hard worker
    Is reid suspended for next week

On a more positive note congratulations to Ballyragget for reaching the all ireland today.

And no Kevin Kelly either - knee injury by all accounts.

Is Richie Reid gone for next week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭PeterCasey

Doltanian wrote: »
    The video shows otherwise, and Cody sent to the stands, the most cynical team to play the game expose themselves early this year.

Chinn trying to throw a hurl into the stand kids sitting there he calls himself a sportman.