Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where would you go next...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,610 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Frank Keane had a 2018 540i G30 for sale earlier this year and were asking around 65k for it. There is no 340i G20 afaik as the M340i slots in there. M340i XDrive starts at nearly 74k here before you get to the options list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭carsfan2

Would be about 80k really for one because like all BMW's you need a few options.
    I would hope though that after 6 to 12 months that should really be a 60k car which is more realistic.
    I looked at 540i from the UK and they are ok value but vrt on one year old cars was over 15k on the calculator which was twice what it is for a 530d.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I saw a 540i a few weeks ago. Very very rare and would be a great choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 450 ✭✭WacoKid

I have always driven 6 pot BMW petrols but with the way things are going with 'climate change' I have 'resigned' myself to getting a G30 530i (4 pot) in the next few months. Looked at G30 540i's but they are indeed a pretty penny (VRT incl.).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

I saw a 540i a few weeks ago. Very very rare and would be a great choice.

Was behind one yesterday. Was X-Drive too. :)

Was also an SE :(

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Was behind one yesterday. Was X-Drive too. :)

Was also an SE :(

The one I saw was an MSport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭what the hell!

Guys I'm in a bit of a dilemma. Currently driving Leon 184 FR. I had intended on changing it for another one as I really like the car but realistically the new ones aren't going to be arriving into the country until 2021. Same with the new GTIs. I priced a new Cupra but I think it's working out a little expensive even though it would be savage and there are no demos available around the place. Should I keep an eye out for good second hand ones? Or any other suggestions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭hooch-85

Are you doing big mileage? Is a diesel car warranted? If i was in a position to change back to a petrol i'd be looking at the i30N, great value on 1 year old models now.

hooch-85 wrote: »
    Are you doing big mileage? Is a diesel car warranted? If i was in a position to change back to a petrol i'd be looking at the i30N, great value on 1 year old models now.

Not doing big mileage- 65000km over 4 years. Not pushed on petrol or diesel really. What's the power like in the i30N? I'll take a look anyway thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,884 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

270hp-ish
    Great fun to drive and I think they look lovely, especially in the performance blue
    Quite thirsty apparently

Thanks guys it actually looks nice online anyway. Wouldn't have thought of it.

It’s a very viable alternative alright. There appears to be good value on demos and the warranty would be good.
    I think MarkN who started this thread did a video review of it.
    Check Nobby on cars on YouTube.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Heres Johnny

Well folks, my 530d is gone, guy just collected it. I got the price for it that I paid about 16 months ago from a UK auction so happy to let it go. We still have the A6 so I'm probably going to be using that most of the time even though it's in fiances name. Now, she still wants a car so have to get something else. She does very little driving so having 2 big cars like those was always a bit silly really but she loves her a6 so the BMW was the one to make way.
    Only stipulation is that it has to be automatic (she has never driven a manual apart from lessons and test), probably petrol/hybrid and a bit stylish. Doesn't have to be a premium brand and we will probably spend about 10k. Can be up to 5 years old I suppose.

I could be wrong but I think you will struggle to get a decent automatic under 5 years old in Ireland?
    Have you anything in mind? Would it be you driving it or your other half? If she's used to an auto A6, I can't see a supermini fitting the bill!

carsfan2 wrote: »
    I could be wrong but I think you will struggle to get a decent automatic under 5 years old in Ireland?
    Have you anything in mind? Would it be you driving it or your other half? If she's used to an auto A6, I can't see a supermini fitting the bill!

Maybe I should frame this as what car would I be happy to drive when she wants the A6!
    Any of the parameters can change none of the 10k,the automatic gearbox or the 5 years max age are absolute deal breakers. She can still drive the A6 when she wants. It's just to have a second car in the house. I'm going to drive the A6 into work anyway, she gets the train. I was driving both cars up to now to make sure they got a decent run as despite telling her she didn't do the mileage to warrant either a diesel or a big car at all she just loved the A6 and kind of got it as a present to herself for passing test.

We've 20k in cash now from the sale but don't think we need to spend it all just because we have it so that's where the 10k budget came from. It will free up cash for a newer A6 in a year or 2, I love the new a6 c8 and prices are falling fast.

Both the 5 series and the A6 put 10k kms on them in 2019 and I'd say I did 18k out of the 20. I was certainly in the cars for 18k anyway. So she drives feck all on her own really but still wants to have one. I don't think we need another one but she does! However she said it's my job to find it but I'm struggling to come up with something.

Golf petrol probably where I'm at for the moment. A nice sporty trim model but not a gti or anything like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,715 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

I'd stick to you golf plan, or A3 or Leon.
    The 1.4 or 1.5 petrol tsi with dsg

Bought leon fr lately.
    Nice and sharp on the road.
    Nice bit of road noise.
    Golf or leon be nicer.

Slightly left field. Mini with bit of poke?
    Had one couple years ago as loaner from bmw.
    Loved it.

I'd stick to you golf plan, or A3 or Leon.
    The 1.4 or 1.5 petrol tsi with dsg

Bought leon fr lately.
    Nice and sharp on the road.
    Nice bit of road noise.
    Golf or leon be nicer.

Slightly left field. Mini with bit of poke?
    Had one couple years ago as loaner from bmw.
    Loved it.

Possibly an a3 yeah that's an option.
    I had a loan of a mini from BMW a few years ago and loved it too. I'm a hairy 16 stone bearded rugby player so I looked stupid in it but I thought it was a great car to drive but I don't think I'd own one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,610 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Do you mean cut price M3?

no, cut price current model m5.
    rear biased four wheel drive and smaller car with a bit less power.
    What's not to like except the price tag??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,532 ✭✭✭MarkN

I work with a guy who woke up two days ago to find the M5 on the driveway gone. 2017 car, no key needed. I asked did he want any help on social media and he said the guards said it would already be long gone! You’d be sick really.

Jes that is sickening. At the same time maybe he's better off they didn't need the key..

MarkN wrote: »
    I work with a guy who woke up two days ago to find the M5 on the driveway gone. 2017 car, no key needed. I asked did he want any help on social media and he said the guards said it would already be long gone! You’d be sick really.

I think in a situation like that I’d nearly be glad they didn’t go looking for keys and not sure I’d want it back either.
    Although very hard car to replace, as there can’t be many of them around and I’ll bet the insurance company will fight with him over it’s value.

I think in a situation like that I’d nearly be glad they didn’t go looking for keys and not sure I’d want it back either.
    Although very hard car to replace, as there can’t be many of them around and I’ll bet the insurance company will fight with him over it’s value.

This annoys the hell out of me. You insure it first for a certain amount and the following year you want to reduce the value due to depreciation but they !always! say that reducing the value makes no difference to the insurance premium. Yet when you need to claim, they give you a lower value :mad: :mad: :mad:

Insurance companies say they will give you market value of your car but I would say it’s very hard to accurately value 2017 M5.
    There would be a broad spread of values but I would look for a main dealer to give a price for one.

This annoys the hell out of me. You insure it first for a certain amount and the following year you want to reduce the value due to depreciation but they !always! say that reducing the value makes no difference to the insurance premium. Yet when you need to claim, they give you a lower value :mad: :mad: :mad:

I've dealt with a few insurance claims over the years in my job, mainly transit vans written off (we have a fleet of 30 so the odd accident unfortunately occurs) and I've been surprised with some of their valuations being on the high side. If they ever come in low I tell them to go away and think again and they always do come back with a proper figure. Once it's only valuation on a vehicle they are OK... Just once there's no injuries that can run to crazy money.

An m5 might be different but it's probably still only a personal injury or 2 in value.
    Midpoint on asking values on carzone is normally achievable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

There would be a broad spread of values but I would look for a main dealer to give a price for one.

You'd be laughing with that valuation. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,532 ✭✭✭MarkN

Gap insurance which is usually €300 quid or so for 3 years is worth it on something like an M5.