Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where would you go next...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,593 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Trip computer showed 42mpg on the 530d from the trip home from Dublin to Limerick yesterday. Stretched the legs on a few occasions but was wary of not having any tax or insurance discs on the car yet.

Yes, the x25d from 2011 onwards are all 4 cylinder twin turbo units.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Heres Johnny

bazz26 wrote: »
    Trip computer showed 42mpg on the 530d from the trip home from Dublin to Limerick yesterday. Stretched the legs on a few occasions but was wary of not having any tax or insurance discs on the car yet.

That's not too bad considering you weren't hanging about. But I suppose a 530d isn't bought for out and out economy. Great balance though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,446 ✭✭✭Wailin

So is the newer 525d a 4 cylinder 2.0d also? Have to say that's news to me but I do believe you.

Yes....and also the new 530i is now a 2 litre petrol engine too :(

Old 535i is now replaced with 540i as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

26mpg at best, mixed driving. The owner wouldn't be afraid to press the pedal to be fair though.

Yep, I'm only doing about 25k km per year so fuel economy is not a major concern but I was impressed all the same as I got about 45mpg from the 520d on the same trip.

26mpg at best, mixed driving. The owner wouldn't be afraid to press the pedal to be fair though.

An old work colleague went from e39 530d to x5 with the same engine back in mid 2000s and saw fuel consumption go up drastically due to the extra weight and I assume poorer aerodynamics so I wouldn't be surprised for x6 to be substantially thirstier than same engine 530d.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭carsfan2

Yes, €160 for the remaining 6 months. I paid €700 on the 520d last year so I'm expecting around the €950 mark at renewal time. A 430d would have been about €100 less to insure.

You having second thoughts on the 520d?
    Cant say I didn’t have a little bit of buyers remorse early in the week wondering whether I should have gone for 530d but really I don’t want to spend any more than I already am and the g31 was very impressive in its own right. My wife would take a dim view of another 10 grand going out just so I can enjoy a six cylinder engine. She thinks I do well enough on cars as it is.
    Anyway I love tourings, had a 330d before and f11 520d so looking forward to collecting.

I asked about insurance as my broker previously told me it would be less premium than my 330e to go 520d wheareas a 530d was marginally more.
    Now when it comes to the crunch they’re saying the touring is more expensive than 330e in current policy. Will have to probably go with a different insurer but it’s a pita

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,446 ✭✭✭Wailin

carsfan2 wrote: »
    Anyway I love tourings, had a 330d before and f11 520d so looking forward to collecting.

It's a lovely looking motor in fairness, and very well kitted out too. I see it has adaptive m sport suspension....wondering how that works with the rear air suspension, or did BMW do away with that for the G31?

An old work colleague went from e39 530d to x5 with the same engine back in mid 2000s and saw fuel consumption go up drastically due to the extra weight and I assume poorer aerodynamics so I wouldn't be surprised for x6 to be substantially thirstier than same engine 530d.

full time 4wd would account for some increase in fuel consumption over a rwd e39 also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,283 ✭✭✭digiman

Cant say I didn’t have a little bit of buyers remorse early in the week wondering whether I should have gone for 530d but really I don’t want to spend any more than I already am and the g31 was very impressive in its own right. My wife would take a dim view of another 10 grand going out just so I can enjoy a six cylinder engine. She thinks I do well enough on cars as it is.

I asked about insurance as my broker previously told me it would be less premium than my 330e to go 520d wheareas a 530d was marginally more.
    Now when it comes to the crunch they’re saying the touring is more expensive than 330e in current policy. Will have to probably go with a different insurer but it’s a pita

Did you see the G31 530D xdrive in frank Keanes on Naas Road, beautiful car with amazing spec but had a few marks on her and alloys were in poor enough condition for a 6 month old car. I test drove it an loved it but the cost to trade up was beyond a joke.

Wailin wrote: »
    It's a lovely looking motor in fairness, and very well kitted out too. I see it has adaptive m sport suspension....wondering how that works with the rear air suspension, or did BMW do away with that for the G31?

The tourings all have rear air suspension alright. To be honest I didn’t notice on the test drive if it had adaptive suspension, just thought the ride was really smooth.

digiman wrote: »
    Did you see the G31 530D xdrive in frank Keanes on Naas Road, beautiful car with amazing spec but had a few marks on her and alloys were in poor enough condition for a 6 month old car. I test drove it an loved it but the cost to trade up was beyond a joke.

I didn’t see that car but saw on Bmw Ireland Facebook page, pictures of a 171D 530d x drive in black. Possibly the same car used and abused by journalists?
    I shudder to think how much they want for a car like that. However when you trade it back in a few years they will tell you how everybody just wants 520d’s and the extras are worth nothing anyway!

Incredibly decent mpg IMO..... I'm in a jeep renegade 1.6 petrol at the moment that is heavier on fuel and I'm not driving on at all.

Iirc I got no better from a 1.6 diesel tipo last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

So now the 330e is moving on, how did you find that experience? Im guessing being an early adopter hit you a little harder than you might have hoped. I know on paper it is a better car than the 320d, but unless the owner is doing a lot of short hops/small commute I would think the diesel is still probably the more sensible option?

I didn’t see that car but saw on Bmw Ireland Facebook page, pictures of a 171D 530d x drive in black. Possibly the same car used and abused by journalists?
    I shudder to think how much they want for a car like that. However when you trade it back in a few years they will tell you how everybody just wants 520d’s and the extras are worth nothing anyway!

I think it was €84k they were looking for, he was saying it was €105k new I think. I got the feeling they had a lot of wiggle room in it, would say you could get them down close to €70k.

vintagevrs wrote: »
    So now the 330e is moving on, how did you find that experience? Im guessing being an early adopter hit you a little harder than you might have hoped. I know on paper it is a better car than the 320d, but unless the owner is doing a lot of short hops/small commute I would think the diesel is still probably the more sensible option?
    Really enjoy the 330e still and would keep it except I find the seat isn’t supportive enough. I should have specced electric seats with lumbar but felt I spent enough on the car. My wife pretty much refuses to drive it because of the seating position.

As a package it is a great car and as long as you charge regularly it is very economical.
    Main downside besides the seat is restricted boot size and small petrol tank.
    Depreciation has been epic and I imagine subsequent owners will do better but I feel the technology is moving at such a rate that better hybrids will make it very old hat in a short space of time.
    The performance of the car is great though. It’s always swift and economical. I’m still averaging low fifties and I don’t hang around.
    A 320d would have lost as much money I guess and would have been more expensive to buy new at the time for a comparable spec.

digiman wrote: »
    I think it was €84k they were looking for, he was saying it was €105k new I think. I got the feeling they had a lot of wiggle room in it, would say you could get them down close to €70k.

Depreciation is scary on all these cars.
    The car I’m buying retailed for just under 79k when registered last may and I’m getting it with 2.5k miles for a bit over 50.
    As the sales guy said when I complained about the value of my car, it’s come down more than mine in a shorter period. He was trying to make out I’m gaining more than losing.
    I pity anybody that walks into a BMW garage and buys a bog standard 5 series for list on pcp at the limit of their budget.
    They are in for a rude awakening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,915 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Ya I guess as you said before, the current pcp deals should be be looked on as a lease with no equity at end.
    looks like a new se will cost 8k per year over the first 3 years.
    when you go adding spec, it really gets into crazy territory.
    That said, if you look at a 16 plate 520d which is possibly around the 30k mark now, I can imagine them losing a lot of cash over the next 3 years too. When g30 is affordable in 3 years, a 16 f10 couldn't be worth a lot. In summary, cars are expensive no matter how you go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,915 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Ya I guess as you said before, the current pcp deals should be be looked on as a lease with no equity at end.
    looks like a new se will cost 8k per year over the first 3 years.
    when you go adding spec, it really gets into crazy territory.
    That said, if you look at a 16 plate 520d which is possibly around the 30k mark now, I can imagine them losing a lot of cash over the next 3 years too. When g30 is affordable in 3 years, a 16 f10 couldn't be worth a lot. In summary, cars are expensive no matter how you go.

If sterling doesn't fall anymore the prices might stabilise a little bit. I was in Scotland in 2015 when Ireland won 6 nations and a pound was 1.40 euro, was in England 2 weeks ago and a pound was about 1.13 I think. That's a big drop and causing a lot of depreciation between 2015 and 2018 which coincidentally saw a huge uptake in pcp making cars previously unattainable to many all of a sudden seem affordable. Used car values dropped to UK price levels as we all know.

I can't predict future but I can't see the same 20% drop between 2018 and 2021 but the way the UK are handling brexit who knows. And who knows what fiscal and other policies will be applied to diesels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,558 ✭✭✭JoeA3

I spotted this machine today - dealer is on my route to work - look at the spec on it! Savage yoke. It must have been a €80-90k car 12 months ago!

http://www.mwg.ie/vehicles/bmw/5%20series/galway/1973820

JoeA3 wrote: »
    I spotted this machine today - dealer is on my route to work - look at the spec on it! Savage yoke. It must have been a €80-90k car 12 months ago!

http://www.mwg.ie/vehicles/bmw/5%20series/galway/1973820

That car would have been in excess of €100k, has basically every option ticked. Would love it!!

The 530d I drove was on those 20” alloys and what looked like rubber band tyres. The ride was surprisingly good in spite of this, but they said they would put the 19” alloys on for me if I bought.
    Where I live, the roads are very mixed and I felt 20” wheels would not survive either potholes or my parking abilities.

There seems to be a few of these similar cars coming in to both Bmw and high end independent dealers now. I guess they are buying ex Bmw uk staff cars that have come up for auction. They all have similar specs and just under 10,000 miles which I suppose is when they get rid of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,558 ✭✭✭JoeA3

The 530d I drove was on those 20” alloys and what looked like rubber band tyres. The ride was surprisingly good in spite of this, but they said they would put the 19” alloys on for me if I bought.
    Where I live, the roads are very mixed and I felt 20” wheels would not survive either potholes or my parking abilities.

There seems to be a few of these similar cars coming in to both Bmw and high end independent dealers now. I guess they are buying ex Bmw uk staff cars that have come up for auction. They all have similar specs and just under 10,000 miles which I suppose is when they get rid of them.

Yeah the dealers told me that they have to have X amount of miles on them (circa 8k) before its possible / viable to import them into Ireland. Most of the (high spec stuff) is ex BMW UK. I know of a guy who works with BMW UK and he gets to pick and spec out himself a new company car at least every 6 months or so. Last year he spec'd out a 430d in some mad individual green colour... that car will no doubt end up on a forecourt here soon ;)

mickdw wrote: »
    looks like a new se will cost 8k per year over the first 3 years............

To be fair, a Kia Sorento would nearly lose that much too :)

Have nearly 400 miles done in the 530d since collecting it last Wednesday and loving it. Seriously impressed with the fuel economy so far even after a few well spirited journeys. Haven't done the brim to brim calculations but the tank was full when I collected it and still has just over half left. Trip computer has settled @ 38.5mpg.

@carsfan2 - when are you collecting your G31?

The gauge must be well crude to be fair, you're hardly going to knock 800 miles out of a tank :)

very unlikely given the shape of the tank in these cars. I'm sure that gauge will drop quickly once it goes below the halfway mark.