Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where would you go next...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

carsfan2 wrote: »
    Have you tried getting a value for the car from any of the we buy your car types like Zucars etc,
    If not I would as it might be a hassle free way of moving on, although you obviously won’t get top dollar but time might be running out to import from U.K. if brexit goes off the rails if that’s where you’re thinking.
    I hate to say but I agree a DL reg would put off some buyers.

I did check with zucars....and understandably he offered me less than I'm willing to sell it for as they are a business after all. He was good to speak to in fairness and called me back 5 mins later to advise on a private sale price which I thought was decent.

Would it put you off buying a car that you were otherwise wanting to buy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,069 ✭✭✭Casati

vintagevrs wrote: »
    I did check with zucars....and understandably he offered me less than I'm willing to sell it for as they are a business after all. He was good to speak to in fairness and called me back 5 mins later to advise on a private sale price which I thought was decent.

I had a DL car living in Dublin and it was great, found you could jump into traffic queues and get let out etc a lot more as everybody presumes you haven’t a clue where your going

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭hooch-85

If it was a car I really wanted, no it wouldn't. But some people have a negative image of DL cars. Not just DL either. Friend of mine bought a beautiful Q5 last year, top spec S Line with genuine low mileage from Audi Limerick, the car had a LH reg.

He said one of the first comments he got was "Ah Louth reg, bandit country, sure she was probably ran on the washed stuff", another few said "are you sure that mileage is genuine?".

That's the mentality of some people and I am not trying to make a dig at anyone from those border counties.

No I get all that. I suppose why am asking is I hear it a lot too. But when it comes to it, if there's a car you like and everything checks out, then I'd say most people will buy it. Then the niggle in the buyers mind may be that they'll never sell it because of other peoples notions about a number plate. So in a way it's a self fulfilled type of thing. I stupidly got my Golf registered in Dublin for same thinking so guilty of feeding into this myself.

Reality is now with better national roads that a car that lives in rural Ireland is probably subject to less wear than city/town traffic as average speeds outside cities I would guess are higher. Broad generalisation obviously and a reg doesn't mean a car is bound to that area.

Realistically with a DL reg many folk will be reckoning the car was treated to a life of "when the crossroads are empty give her plenty" etc etc etc.

doughnut-pic-460x247.jpg

I spend lots of time in Donegal and there's a fair amount of well blackened roads around the place to be fair.

An all that is ignoring the culchie / muck savage stuff lots of Dubs come out with.

Loads and loads of folk won't by a DL reg car, I rarely see one in Dublin and to be fair even in Donegal they aren't as common as you'd expect them to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭Technique

Augeo wrote: »
    Realistically with a DL reg many folk will be reckoning the car was treated to a life of "when the crossroads are empty give her plenty" etc etc etc.

doughnut-pic-460x247.jpg

I spend lots of time in Donegal and there's a fair amount of well blackened roads around the place to be fair.

An all that is ignoring the culchie / muck savage stuff lots of Dubs come out with.

To be fair, most of that boy racer nonsense like you quoted comes from outside the county during Donegal Rally time. And the black circles at the crossroads are from Lexus, Sierras, etc. which I doubt many people from here are in the market for. There aren't to many 330d estates getting thrashed like that.

Loads and loads of folk won't by a DL reg car, I rarely see one in Dublin and to be fair even in Donegal they aren't as common as you'd expect them to be.

DL cars aren't common in Donegal? I'd have to disagree strongly with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,678 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

whats the co2 output on that 330d estate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭GustavoFring

130-140 band as they're €280 a year tax, think x drive might drive it up a band though to €390. Bargain for what it is really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,678 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

130-140 band as they're €280 a year tax, think x drive might drive it up a band though to €390. Bargain for what it is really.

yeah that is good I don't know if that comes with paying extra for greenlight but if that could be put on the ad

Technique wrote: »
    To be fair, most of that boy racer nonsense like you quoted comes from outside the county during Donegal Rally time. And the black circles at the crossroads are from Lexus, Sierras, etc. which I doubt many people from here are in the market for. There aren't to many 330d estates getting thrashed like that.

DL cars aren't common in Donegal? I'd have to disagree strongly with that.

What I said was ........
    ............ and to be fair even in Donegal they aren't as common as you'd expect them to be.

Regardng the boy racer nonsense you are correct but it's why folk don't want a DL reg car ....... and stuff like Donegal font etc etc

https://www.eireplates.com/product/donegal-font-on-white-acrylic-plate-single

Yeah tax is 390 with the xdrive, not sure on exact co2.

Thanks for that thought. Gonna get the fairy liquid out and take some new photos later, and bump the ad.

First time I have heard of a "Donegal font" for a reg....

As said above most of the rally weekend carry on is from people from outside the county. The reputation creates the behaviours and the behaviours feed into the reputation. People think they can do as they please, partly because of the sheer volume of people that take part it's almost impossible to police. That twin cam you quoted was driven by someone from Ballymena, and is also a UK reg car yet that image impacts DL reg plates somehow...

Anyway, don't want to derail this thread anymore.

How's that Fiesta treating ye Mark?!

First time I have heard of a "Donegal font" for a reg....

As said above most of the rally weekend carry on is from people from outside the county. The reputation creates the behaviours and the behaviours feed into the reputation. People think they can do as they please, partly because of the sheer volume of people that take part it's almost impossible to police. That twin cam you quoted was driven by someone from Ballymena, and is also a UK reg car yet that image impacts DL reg plates somehow.............

It might be the first time you've heard it but it's still a relatively well known description of a reg plate font. I'm sure loads of folk have no idea what "German plates" are :)

Doughnuts and all that t0ss are associated with Donegal. If you don't think so fair enough. I put a pic of a twincam so what if it's a UK reg .......... you yourself said this
    I stupidly got my Golf registered in Dublin for same thinking so guilty of feeding into this myself..........

Regarding rally weekend carry on, there's lads pr1cking about on public roads most nights in Donegal (and other counties also of course). I see the tyre marks myself every time I'm there (which is frequently)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭un5byh7sqpd2x0

It’s more the ****e roads, the multi death collisions etc rather than the doughnuts on the roads that would turn me off tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,841 ✭✭✭maddness

Have you tried R Kings.? Your car is exactly the kind they have frequently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

maddness wrote: »

That is actually quite a good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

maddness wrote: »

That is actually quite a good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,610 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Might not end well:

0vTe9A5JIXQn.gif

. I put a pic of a twincam so what if it's a UK reg ..........

Not just a UK reg, but as I said the fella was from Northern Ireland. My point was that some fella from a different county brings his car to another county, does some skids and that is then interpreted as a reflection of how local people drive and look after their cars. I agree though that is how a lot of people see it, but it's a flawed logic.

My point was.....

The twincam pic was just a pic of a twincam in Donegal. Plenty of donegal folk are into diffing.... I hear it whenever I'm down there and see the circles at junctions also. I didn't establish that view from a pic on the internet.

Ignore the pic if you want..... & my view.... Glws

Regarding how the locals drive Donegal has consistently had road fatality statistics that are in the highest percentile per population in the country. Roads are as sh1t elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭carsfan2

Any thoughts on pros and cons of this?
    half thinking of making an enquiry.

https://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/audi/a7/fpa/202009013162468?journey=Search

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Heres Johnny

Any thoughts on pros and cons of this?
    half thinking of making an enquiry.

https://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/audi/a7/fpa/202009013162468?journey=Search

Pros
    It's beautiful inside and out. See a good few of them around (not a common car but not super rare either I think it's the same 2 or 3 I see over and over again to be honest) and they are up there with best looking car in the road.

Cons

Might be slightly less practical than a similar A6 in back seat but boot should be actually more practical.
    You can get a mechanically identical A6 3.0d with same spec and all for far cheaper. Although A6 is a cracker the A7 is far more special looking outside though and will turn heads more.
    Not sure it's a 55 grand car though... 3 years old very soon. I'd say big savings available in UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,446 ✭✭✭Wailin

Beautiful car. Main con would be the ****ty trade in deal if that's the route you'd be going.

What version is it, as in bhp?

It’s 286bhp version.
    I like the practicality of the hatch and like the looks/tech.
    Worried about the size though and probable resale but when I look on Carzone they seem rare enough and hold their value lot better than beemers.
    Possibly an inferior drive to BMW too?
    Would see what they offer on a trade in but it’ll probably be a higher cost to change than I want.
    Isn’t it always?!
    Edit I assumed it was the 286bhp version for some reason but no mention on the ad so checked on cartelI and it’s 231bhp so my interest has ended.
    Needs the bigger output to do it justice.

What are you in at the minute carfan?

2017 520d m sport touring With all the options ticked pretty much. Really comfy and luxurious but hanker after something slightly more poke and smoother. We have 3.0d x5 as well and love the engine in that but the size not so much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Heres Johnny

It’s 286bhp version.
    I like the practicality of the hatch and like the looks/tech.
    Worried about the size though and probable resale but when I look on Carzone they seem rare enough and hold their value lot better than beemers.
    Possibly an inferior drive to BMW too?
    Would see what they offer on a trade in but it’ll probably be a higher cost to change than I want.
    Isn’t it always?!
    Edit I assumed it was the 286bhp version for some reason but no mention on the ad so checked on cartelI and it’s 231bhp so my interest has ended.
    Needs the bigger output to do it justice.

The 3.0 tdi in old model was 231bhp so early versions of new model must have got them too. Even the newer 2.0 tdi in a6 is 204bhp.

Youd get absolutely walloped on that trade in anyway carsfan, I'm guessing 25k to come up just 1 year as the a7 is a good price above likes of a6 and 5 series

The 231 bhp version is still available newbut doesn’t hold any interest for me.
    I was thinking I’d not be happy with the trade in anyway but am not bothered to pursue it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,610 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

@Carsfan2 - you know the drill, once your trading in a non Audi brand then they will just give you the trade value of your G31 as they won't retail it. Probably not as bad as BMW dealers for low ball trade in offers but won't be too far away from them either would be my guess.

On a similar note I'm hoping to get to Dublin this week to have a look at two cars, a 430d GC and a 530e. I'm in two minds though, on one hand the 430d is a bit dated now but it's still a good looking car, more nimble than a 5 Series and this one is very well speced plus has a good colour combination, I also quite like the torque and smoothness from the 6 cylinder engine (even a diesel). The 530e is a year younger and has the upgraded Comfort Napa seats, the 252bhp is attractive but I don't really need/want a car that big anymore and don't have any charging point at home for the foreseeable future so lugging around heavy batteries seems a bit pointless unless you can recharge them. A 430i/530i would be more favorable but they are rarer than hen's teeth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,965 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

bazz26 wrote: »
    @Carsfan2 - you know the drill, once your trading in a non Audi brand then they will just give you the trade value of your G31 as they won't retail it. Probably not as bad as BMW dealers for low ball trade in offers but won't be too far away from them either would be my guess.

On a similar note I'm hoping to get to Dublin this week to have a look at two cars, a 430d GC and a 530e. I'm in two minds though, on one hand the 430d is a bit dated now but it's still a good looking car, more nimble than a 5 Series and this one is very well speced plus has a good colour combination, I also quite like the torque and smoothness from the 6 cylinder engine (even a diesel). The 530e is a year younger and has the upgraded Comfort Napa seats, the 252bhp is attractive but I don't really need/want a car that big anymore and don't have any charging point at home for the foreseeable future so lugging around heavy batteries seems a bit pointless unless you can recharge them. A 430i/530i would be more favorable but they are rarer than hen's teeth.

Oddly I got a much better trade in offer from Audi this time around trading a merc versus what they offered for my a5 previously which was the reason I was in a merc this time round !